Twin City Fan Companies, Ltd. Employee Reviews

Found 34 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, SDJuly 11, 2017
Ok place to work but they need work on creating blue prints that actually give u dimensions and descriptions on how to put together and build there parts not just assume u know what they want or how they want it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
forklift
Shipping/Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mitchell, SDJune 12, 2017
Very employee unfriendly, Not truthful about pay. Supervisors don't supervise,training for job a joke,people very unfriendly to people not from area.,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
many oprertunties for diferent jobs, great pay
Brake Press Operator/Shipping Clerk (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, SDJune 5, 2017
Work starts early at 6 am. Busy most days although somes days are slower. Lots of overtime throughout the year. When orders were low they ruduced hours instead of laying people off which was appreciated. The low hours lasted only a few weeks.
Pros
good healtcare and competative Vacation time
Cons
short term disability only pays $200 a week before taxes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work , had an excercize room as a bonus.
Telemarketer for Fingerhut (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MinnesotaMay 18, 2017
I liked this job too. I ran reports and did general office work, data entry etc.
This was a very interesting job and enjoyed all the people I worked with.
Pros
Job Security, had excercize room for employees to use
Cons
None I can think of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Mitchell, SDMarch 30, 2017
Worked here for alot of years. Not a horrible place to work. Pay was ok, sometimes not enough for the stress you had to deal with. Opportunity for growth, but takes alot of years. Management is very strict.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Lots of stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of lip service to Quality, but actual focus on Quantity
Employee (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, SDMarch 26, 2017
This company at this location struggles with identity, at least three upper management changes in the five years I have been there. During a typical day I spend a considerable amount of time fixing items that could have been done correctly the first time through. Middle management is mainly promoted from within, but with more focus on longevity rather than ability. The workplace culture is quick to criticize and slow to praise. The hardest part of working here is knowing how badly things need to change and knowing that they never will. The most enjoyable part is that the pay is good for the area, and a four day forty hour workweek.
Pros
four day/forty hour workweek, pay scale
Cons
local management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNJanuary 9, 2017
My manager was incredible, he always had time to teach me new skills as well as helping me to improve others. He also always provided helpful constructive-citicism.
Pros
Great management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sioux Falls Plant
Welder (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDDecember 27, 2016
Terribly managed, favoritism, they promise weekends off with the possibility of working the occasional saturday. more like every saturday mandatory. the pay is the only positive. The other plants were good that i was apart of. But if your looking at the one in Sioux Falls look elsewhere. It is just terribly run
Pros
pay over time
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good stepping stone. Turn over is very high
Employee (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MNDecember 25, 2016
You better know how to lie and play the game.Because you will get run over. Management in my department is a joke.They hire anyone off the street and make them lead lol. Good luck with your job search.... It's all smoke and mirrors.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Back stabbings
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay and co workers
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Elkton, SDNovember 22, 2016
Long days and hard was worth it. Great training to learn the ropes. Though need to work on the environment for the women because the guys make it hard for the women to work there comfortably.
Pros
great pay
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and stressful
CNC Press Brake Operator (Former Employee) –  Elkton, SDOctober 22, 2016
I worked at Twin City for two years with expectations of climbing the employee ladder. My job and shift was the best aspect. The administration and Hr were unorganized and racist. On several accounts i didn't receive funds that were due to me. It took the first year for my employees to except me which was bothersome but never effected my work performance. The most enjoyable part of my job was when i was able to go home for the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Workers Compensation Risk Manager (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDSeptember 22, 2016
Avoid this company at all costs. Nothing they promise you will be delivered and you will end up miserable. Privately owned Corporation controlled by the patriarch of the family who in his mind "knows absolutely everything". Very arrogant and condescending at all times.
Pros
Enjoyed my coworkers.
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an alright place to work but they seriously need to update their welding equipment
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDSeptember 21, 2016
They never maintain their welding equipment. You have to be really good at cleaning up your welds otherwise you'll be finding another job. The management offers little incentive for you to work harder. They don't provide a whole lot of necessary tools. They do however have pretty decent pay and they do let you have plenty of time off.
Pros
tons of hours and decent pay
Cons
the welding machines are junk and part organization is a joke
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work but not good either
Drafter II (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MNJuly 7, 2016
Management is very indecisive.
Sales knows nothing about the products they sell and promise deadlines that are impossible to meet.
Drafting and Engineering are the only departments that hold the company together as orders are a mess and must be straightened out before heading back to OE or on to manufacturing.
Automation department is complicated and lacks resources to do its job.
Both Drafting and Engineering lack personnel to get orders out.
Company makes 300+ million a year but can't afford enough licenses.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
bad management, horrible practices, HR is a joke, pay is a joke.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't get injured. You won't be treated well by management.
Welder (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDJune 30, 2016
Coworkers were friendly and easy to work with. Supervisors and welding trainer were not easy to work with. Extremely lacking in the training aspect. They have a high turnover rate in the welding department due to that shortcumming in training.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Attitude of management and welding trainer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace with good advancement opportunities
Wheel Balancer/Welder (Former Employee) –  Mitchell, SDMay 30, 2016
Worked 10 hour shifts
learned how to weld and powder coat over the duration of the year that i was there just by asking what i could learn to do to advance my job
Pros
lots of food given for employee appreciation, job advancement opportunities
Cons
long hours, terrible training
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work. High turn over rate. Poor home time for family.
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee) –  Pulaski, TNMarch 24, 2016
Wouldn't weld for this place again. Only use this place a a crutch. They very disrespectful, and don't care bout any employees there. Schedule and ship dates are impossible to meet. You suffer for there lack of comprehension of how to treat employees
Pros
None
Cons
Its ran poorly
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company
Plant Manager Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Covington, OHJanuary 5, 2016
The employee turn over rate was very high.
compensation was low in comparison with industry average.
Expected hours ranged from 50-65 hours per week
Pros
systems
Cons
standardization was sometimes a fault
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Factory Job
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Brookings, SDNovember 17, 2015
I was able to work in several different units. Hot in the summer, cold when you needed to go to the other buildings in the winter. Storage is needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
un organized
Welder/Fitter/Fabricator mig,tig,flux , (Former Employee) –  pulaski tnAugust 3, 2015
Poor leadership and managment most part co workers are helpfull .company managment very unorganized show favortism allows certain co workers to get away with things they fire others for. Unsafe work practices. Saftey training and meetings are conducted by person who only cares if papers get sighned and not if you undestand what he is preaching. Others can take company property home sale it do whatever and keep job others can take something out of garbage fix it keep and use for 8 mnths then bring home and be arrested and fired from shop floor while welding for bringing home something the plant manager seen as garbage 8mnths prior. BEWARE before quiting a current job to go to clarage
Pros
cheap hat for being safe all year
Cons
favortism have to be part of circle to get anywhere or not be fired
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Twin City Fan Companies, Ltd.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.5
Culture
2.6

Twin City Fan Companies, Ltd. Reviews by Location