Find companies:
Twin Rivers Unified School District
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Twin Rivers Unified School District Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple environmental settings
Substitute Instructional Paraeducator (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 11, 2014
A typical day of work consisted on strict schedules, cranky students, sometimes cranky co-workers. The hardest part of this job was keeping calm when students were being disrespectful, but its rewarding at the same time; especially when you get through to the student how important their education is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very qualified teachers
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee), North Highlands, CAJuly 11, 2014
My day consisted of spending time in a classroom of special needs children, primarily middle school age, helping with classroom work, doing odd tasks for the classroom teacher, and attending to individual needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Although the district is corrupt I enjoy working with the youth of the future.
Substitute Instructional Para educator (Current Employee), North Highlands, CAMay 6, 2014
Pros: the variety of people i meet
Cons: on-call, paid once a month, constantly having to show that i am worthy of respect
As a substitute every day is a different structure unless you are in a long-term subbing job. A para educator assumes many different job roles in special education including but not limited too: Mild/Moderate, Moderate/Severe, Emotionally disturbed, Orthopedically Impaired. A general day consists of assisting in the education and overseeing of the students. – more... I have learned a variety of skills from this job but mainly I have mastered patience for the diversity of youth, parents, and co workers. Co workers generally are not fond of subs especially in regards to my age. With that being said, I do my hardest to excel in my work ethics and help out all I can so I may me asked to come back because substituting is an on call job. That is probably the hardest part of the job because I am not fond of the negative energy attached to the thoughts of subs and always having to prove my worth. At my current long-term job now, I enjoy the environment from the children to the teachers I work with. My current job has been one of the most rewarding experiences as a sub so far. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very rewarding place to work and help children.
Library Clerk (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 30, 2014
Pros: summers off
Cons: very structured school schedule
Being a lover of books this job was a lot of fun. The library had recently acquired new computers so there was much to learn and many challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
little bit chaotic
Instructional Para educator Student Support Tutor (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 13, 2014
I loved my school site, the staff, and students as well as the supervisors, however the district its self is a little bit of a mess.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work experience
paraeducator (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 12, 2014
Pros: friendly community, plenty of snacks
A typical day consists of working with students at different levels, reviewing homework or classwork, teaching new concepts, practicing clean area management and learning skills with students. I learned corrective behavior for children and basic math and english up to the high school level. Co-workers are friendly and open.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment
Clerical Substitute (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 7, 2014
Many positions held with this company. Please inquire within for each position held.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school district to work for in a large metropolitan area
Teacher (Current Employee), McClellan, CAJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: good hourly pay
Cons: only part time work available with no benefits
I work part time three days a week. The management lets me do my job and provides support as needed. I learned that it is important to know the learning styles of your students and to develop a caring relationship with each student. I found it helpful to make school meaningful and interesting for students. My co-workers are easy to get along with because – more... we share similar responsibilities. The hardest part of the job is only being able to work part time with no benefits or opportunites for advancement. The most enjoyable part of the job is working one on one with each student using supplemental learning materials online. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paying me to go to school
Cafeteria Aide (Former Employee), Rio Linda, CAOctober 10, 2013
Pros: free lunch, positiveness
Cons: time
I worked for two periods at school. I went from a classroom environment to the school cafeteria with all the cafeteria workers. It was so much fun. Positive attitudes, smiles, positive criticism, and loads of laughter. Hardest part of the job was short amount of time to get everything ready. Most enjoyable part of the job was the co-workers, the friendships – more... made, serving my fellow students, and the relaxation of a private lunch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted tutor, environmental gardener, merchandise seller
Student Worker (Former Employee), Sacramento, CASeptember 26, 2013
Pros: free merchandises after no sale.
Cons: healthcare
During the day, assisted students in their homework's or questions pertaining to their studies. Students in 9th grade English class may have difficulty in understanding the material. For instance, certain students may need bilingual translation as to the materials given to them to read. Later in the evening, I work in the schools environmental garden – more... organization assisting students with planting various products of vegetation, crops, flowers, etc. Many products are sold on the premise for staff members of the school or locals. Merchandise products of bouquet flowers, salsa and chips, and 3 weeks grown vegetables are sold to all buyers.

The difficult part of the job is translating bilingual speech to a written document. Not all sentence structure spoken in the language is the exact proper announcement in the given English language. Therefore, a few reword or added grammar is acceptable in all dialogue, video recorded projects, and bilingual translation in general.

The enjoyable part of the job is interacting with locals, foreigners, and staff members. Sharing ideas of environmental garden growth and old or new customs of what farming was. For example, many immigrants plant their own gardens due to fear of chemical pesticides in the market, the cost of products, and the trend of keeping the history of gardening as part of their daily lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive ,team work,
sub custodian (Current Employee), North Highlands, CASeptember 1, 2013
as a sub custodian i would sometimes work 12 hours shifts ,also would open the school up.Open gates,bathrooms and i would start my day as cleaning bathrooms classrooms that needed to be done for that day,and start in cafeteria then wait til lunch time came and would dump trash daily and sweep and mop ,my co workers were my best trainers and supervisor – more... and their wasn't nothing hard about my job i enjoyed it very much – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TRUSD is a nice place to work.
Spanish Bilingual Paraprofessional (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 26, 2013
Pros: dealing with students at any academic level.
Cons: short lunches.
A typical day starts at 8:50am to 3:00pm. During these times, I would be teaching, re-teaching, or pre-teaching subjects dealing with phonemic awareness, math, or science. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with students and seeing the joy of learning through their eyes. Once the student understood the material, one can see a sparkle of knowledge – more... in their eyes. Dealing with my co-workers was pleasant since they respected me and my ideas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed a lot working for a school
Attendance Clerk/Office Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 15, 2013
Pros: staff meetings with meals, fun holiday parties, family friendly place
I learned to keep calm and patient with all the customers no matter how angry they can be. Always smile and try your best to see what you can do to help them out. Sometimes there were harder days but nothing I couldn't handle. Loved working with students, teachers, and staff. And loved when parents were satisfied with my help. Had a great staff, very – more... friendly and great environment. Never a dull moment. Love staying busy. And also making sure my Manager is always satisfied with my work. Love staying organized, love to type. Always provide great customer service in every way I can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working with kids
Instructional Paraeducator (Current Employee), North Highlands, CAAugust 21, 2012
Pros: kids, work/life balance
Cons: not hiring permanent employess, no benefits low pay.
It is great working with kids every day. Immediate managers and co-workers are great people. Autistic kids can be a challenge, but the reward with a smile is terrific.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secretive job environment and preferential treatment
ACCOUNTING TECHNICIAN IN BUSINESS & FINANCE (Former Employee), 5200 Dudley Avenue, McClellan, CA 95662July 30, 2012
Cons: suppressed personality
worked at district office and was able to observe many years of environmental attitudes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great difficulty receiving pay
Elementary Intervention Program Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 13, 2012
Cons: hard time getting benefits, hr mixups.
Its a good school district but I had to quit I was there for two months and I had THE HARDEST TIME trying to get my pay. Their HR dept made mistakes when entering my info and so everything went downhill from there. The staff is nice though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good company to work for.
Paraeducator (Former Employee), North Highlands, CAJune 9, 2012
Pros: seeing progress
Cons: not sure if any
I have grown as an educator while working at Twin Rivers. Ive learned team-work, patience, and diversity. My co-workers were both fun to work with and knowledgable in their field. The hardest part of the job was working with special needs children. The most enjoyable part was seeing those same children succeed during the school year.