Find companies:
Tyler Junior College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Tyler Junior College Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment, educated fellow students
Math Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Tyler, TXJune 16, 2015
I enjoyed working at Tyler Junior College, I made some great friends during my time there. The management was supportive and intuitive for their students' needs and concerns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Faculty music dept.
ADJUNCT MUSIC FACULTY (Current Employee), Tyler, TXFebruary 1, 2015
Great college atmosphere
Excellent faculty
great benefits
great teaching environment
excellent opportunities for students.
Excellent support staff
excellent facilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours, Good people
Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Tyler, TXJanuary 2, 2015
The hours were low but that was expected, all of my fellow coworkers were wonderful people who were a joy to work with. A daily routine included grading papers, washing dishes, and mixing chemicals for use in a lab experiment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We support and act upon the 3 promises our college stands for
Library Assistant (Current Employee), Tyler, TXDecember 30, 2014
Pros: great people, staff, and environment
Cons: not enough hours
We help provide the necessary tools for a quality education, provide space for help promote a vibrant student life, and provide a service to our TJC community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to work
Part-time Temporary Assistant (Current Employee), Tyler, TXNovember 12, 2014
Great people, interesting work. i was lucky enough to be hired initially as a student assistant. When I transferred to The University of Texas at Tyler, my boss found a way to keep me because she and I have a great working relationship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional
Adjunct Professor / Instructor (Current Employee), Tyler, TXNovember 8, 2014
Pros: free lunches and expenses
Cons: no cons
Part time classes typically 8 weeks, very professional environment. This review on indeed is nothing but fluff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time there!
Staff Technician (Former Employee), Tyler, TXSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: great immediate supervisor!
Cons: again, the pay makes you feel unappreciated and sad!
Customer service is key to be successful at Tyler Junior College. I learned a variety of skills and got very effective at multitasking. Management was not very successful or inspiring, but had great co-workers. The hardest part of the job was to be happy with the salary, the most enjoyable was to be able to be part of the TJC's family!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Resident Director (RD) (Former Employee), tyler texasSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: no privacy. no work/personal life division
Cons: various skills are learnt
It was definitely a very good learning experience. Many skills were learnt. Such as: in office work, mediation, costumer service etc..
Being a college dorm director doesn't provide much privacy, let alone that separation between home and work. It was certainly difficult living under the same roof as your co-workers and costumers per say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a fun work place because you got to interact with a lot of people everyday
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), 1327 S Baxter Ave,Tyler, Texas,75711September 18, 2014
I love my job at TJC , I have learn a lot on how to treat people with any behavior they have, i am a people person and having to meet and help people really makes my day at work because of the passion i have for it. I love doing campus tour, i get to meet people from different background, different culture and race and get to learn a lot from them as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Position was enjoyable for the type of job it was
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee), Tyler, TXMarch 13, 2014
Pros: teaching older students a complex subject matter
Cons: passive management
- Mature students made the work fun
- I learned how to teach to older students
- Management was mostly passive
- Co-workers were always helpful
- Hardest part of the job were the hours
- Most enjoyable part of the job was the teaching
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Place to be
Head Lifeguard (Former Employee), Tyler, TXJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: swimming, mandatory meetings with meals, use of the gym
Cons: waking up early, difficult parents during swim classes
I start off unlocking the pool doors after I've inspected the pool and the area for any hazardous activity. Classes and students come in and swim throughout the day and I would make sure they are safe and having fun. I honestly learned way too much to place in this review. My boss was very insightful.
Management was AMAZING. They take extreme care of their employees, and they remind us that they care and want this place to grow in numbers. My co-workers were like a family to me. My boss would encourage us all to get to know each other better and keep in constant communication.
The hardest part of the job was waking up at 4:00 in the mornings for work. The thing I enjoyed the most was swimming my mandatory laps every two hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
EMT Basic Student (Former Employee), Tyler, TXDecember 17, 2013
I was a student that was getting my EMT basic and my prerequisites for nursing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviornment
Director/Instructor for our school Fire academy (Former Employee), Tyler, TXDecember 14, 2013
Pros: working with my twin
Cons: worry about students damaging facility
Great work environment. I got to work with coaching and the faculty at the college. It is one of the best colleges I have ever worked for. It is both diverse and intelligent ranging from our students to our employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved every minute at TJC
Assistant Athletic Trainer (Former Employee), Tyler, TXNovember 18, 2013
I loved every minute at Tyler Junior College. The Athletics Dept is very supportive of the Athletic Training Education Program, which is awesome. I chose to leave to pursue an opportunity to work in professional baseball.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Family Atmosphere
Professor of Mathematics (Former Employee), Tyler, TXAugust 21, 2013
Pros: people, facility, students
Cons: dean, supervisor
The best job I have ever had. Extremely supportive faculty. It felt like family. Everyone always ready to help for any reason.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place could been better
Student (Former Employee), Tyler, TXAugust 7, 2013
learned how to cook and manage money.Co-workers were fun to be around.The hardest part was when we fell behind during lunch hours. I enjoyed being around my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Campus Services (Current Employee), Tyler, TXJuly 22, 2013
Typical day would include loading boxes on delivery truck, driving around campus dropping off packages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great place to learn and make new relationships
I.T Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Tyler, TXJune 20, 2013
Pros: flexible hours and awesome people
Cons: promotional opportunities and benefits
Working in the I.T world of Tyler Junior College is wonderful! I started here my freshman year and was promoted two years later. It is a great learning experience to work with other students and tutor them in computer basics as well as explaining how the college life works.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every one is a Team player and a Great Group in IT to work with and always willing to help in anyway.
Programmer Analyst (Current Employee), Tyler, TXMarch 5, 2013
Pros: holidays, breaks, and time off can vary
Cons: salary
Every one is a Team player and a Great Group in IT to work with and always willing to help in anyway.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start my college life style while teaching others during my spare time.
Computer Science Tutor (Former Employee), Tyler, TXFebruary 19, 2013
When tutoring at Tyler Junior College I learned to have plenty of patience with most of the students there.

Tyler Junior College Salaries

Academic Advisor
$25,730 per year
Service Desk Associate
$28,280 per year
Student Supervisor
$36,096 per year
Physical Therapist Assistant
$30.00 per hour
Police Officer
$27,050 per year

Tyler Junior College Photos

Mercy Ships to the rescue.