Find companies:
Tyler Technologies
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Tyler Technologies Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, informative and fun workplace
Property Appraisal/Data Collector (Former Employee), East Orange, NJMay 16, 2014
I learned a lot about collecting information on residential properties and their histories. The most enjoyable part of the job was measuring the houses and drawing a blueprint of the floor plans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting edge technology for government clients
Application Specialist (Former Employee), Plano, TXMay 10, 2014
Pros: moving up on the stock market, company stock plan, happy people
Cons: management in some departments is immature and untrained.
I worked for this company for 12 years. As the corporation stepped in to normalize all companies under their umbrella the working atmosphere became less comfortable, though for the most part the people in this company are highly intelligent and easy to work with. Management, on the other hand depends on the department. The support department management – more... is immature. I enjoyed most of the 12 years I worked for this company, especially as a programmer/developer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard
Data Collector (Former Employee), Santa fe nmApril 23, 2014
work good alone and great with others. also like working outside
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, competative and growing Software Company.
ERP Financial & Payroll, HR Project Manager (Current Employee), Tempe, AZApril 21, 2014
Pros: travel, always learning, helping the clients to be more efficent in a job.
Cons: several software versions per year and no formal pm training program.
Tyler is a leading Software company with several software applications to serve and empower the public. Tyler is committed to helping the industry be more efficent in the everyday in tasks requried to be successfull in Local Government entities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice company to work for. Good people in the field and with management.
Driver (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 25, 2014
It was a good experience. I wish it could have lasted longer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
IT Specialist (Current Employee), Plano,TXSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: stability, growth
Cons: communication could be better
Tyler Technologies is a great company to work for, with constant growth and market leading technology solutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medium Sized Company going for the Big Fish
Implementation Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Plano, TXMay 21, 2013
Pros: great compensation
Cons: no work life balance
Tyler is a fast growing software company that caters to all facets of the public sector. Tyler Technologies - Courts and Justice department is on the cutting edge of new technology with is SessionWorks Judges Edition software and Tyler Jury.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Implementation Consultant (Former Employee), Yarmouth, MEMay 7, 2013
Pros: great travel perks and opportunity to meet people.
Cons: minimal training education for new implementers
I was in the Tyler Munis financials division. I enjoyed working with the other implementers, the supporting personnel in Maine and of course the clients. The hardest part I had with this position was learning the finite details of financials. I further learned that clients can be very political with their demands. I found saying the slightest wrong – more... thing would reverberate back to the Tyler management. Over all, this was very educational for me. It was an experience I learned from and I now have a much better understanding of what and how to be an implementation consultant. However, I do believe I would be better consulting in a field I had more experience, such as law and justice (e.g. courts) or the grocery business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful company with a family environment
Implementation Consultant (Current Employee), Billings, MTApril 16, 2013
The most enjoyable part about this job are my coworkers. This company is a very friendly environment to work with.
I graduated college and was hired straight into this company. I had never worked in a professional environment before this job. Since I started I have learned a lot and have become a professional employee.
The only downfall was I got hired – more... probably at the wrong time. In the middle of my internship my company aqcuired multiple companies. I was in a department that needed to merge these 3 companies with my department. I was still in training, but I ended up being used as a guinee pig to let them test the best way to train a new employee to be used with all 4 styles (trying to be unified and merged into 1) in our department. I ended up being trained 8 different ways which only delayed how quickly I could learn the software and be utilized the way I wanted and the company wanted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel, travel, travel
Implementation Consultant (Former Employee), Yarmouth, MEApril 9, 2013
Pros: travel incentives, successful company
Cons: self-study focused, intensely travel focused
Very successful company - lots of great positions. Implementation is very travel focused, it is your managers job to keep you on the road. With that said, it is tough for training because everyone else in your position is on the road so need to be self-study able. If you love living out of hotels and seeing different areas while on the job - that is – more... what you will get. Great fit for some people, not great for others. Supportive coworkers! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tyler Review
Senior Manager, Marketing and Pre-Sales (Current Employee), Lubbock, TXMarch 28, 2013
Pros: work-life balance
Cons: senior management
Solid software comapny with huge potential but need some management changes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible experience
Software Developer (Former Employee), Plano, TXMarch 22, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: arrogant people, unorganized management, stressful environment
I had a really bad experience working for this company. Management is completely unorganized. I can say some departments are good because experiences from friends but my department which dealt mostly with developing, supporting and maintaining the software was really in bad shape.
On the other hand, some co-workers are great but others are arrogant – more... jerks.

I am glad I got myself another job in a much better environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be good or bad, depending on your department
Content Developer (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXMarch 12, 2013
Pros: fancy building, free soda, company parties/events, generally friendly culture.
Cons: inexperienced management, low salaries, executives are usually blocked off.
Some people who work at Tyler are amazing. Some people who work there should be fired immediately. It all depends on which department you work in, and who your boss is. Unfortunately, Tyler has been growing so fast for the last several years that many people in management positions simply shouldn't be there, and have no training in leading others. The – more... head of HR also believes in trickle-down fear tactics to keep people in line.

Cross-promotion and upward mobility are almost non-existent unless you have a degree that matches the new position. Unfortunately, an overemphasis is placed on masters degrees and certifications, even when they aren't necessary.

When going to negotiate your salary, make sure to be confident and ask for more. Tyler generally hires people for very little, expecting the low cost of living in Lubbock to excuse it. Also be aware, they almost never give raises of more than 2% a year. They also recently went to paying scales based on job title, rather than experience or longevity. This is seriously frustrating several current employees I'm still friends with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some departments are pretty good, some terrible!
Developer (Former Employee), Lubbock, TXJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: free sodas, nice building, and tyler often has parties/family game days
Cons: siloed projects/services, hr is no help, inconsistent leadership and salaries
Depending on what department and manager you get, you may have a wonderful time working at Tyler, or hate every minute of every day. Most people are friendly, but the trouble is with leadership. The head of HR is a hypocrite of the highest order, and several people throughout the company end up being promoted to managers who are either scared of their – more... position or unqualified to lead at all. Almost no advancement opportunities are available for anyone that does not meet clients face-to-face. There's also a major problem with nepotism.

For development, there are three different versions of the same product being developed simultaneously and separately! It's a nightmare to try to transition clients from one version to another. More than half of all Tyler's software still runs on Cobol! Salaries are also wildly inconsistent. The only positions with decent pay are executives, developers, and managers. QA, support, and other less glamorous roles really get the shaft.

Worst of all, executives often make large decisions personally without regard to actual data. They also tend to fire long-standing employees for no reason and without warning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Data Entry (Former Employee), New Orleans, LADecember 16, 2012
Pros: every weekend off
Cons: messy co workers
A typical day at work would be to enter data in the computer that the supervisor assign us to do that day. What I learned was how many properties was appraised. My management was awesome/ My co workers was very nice and some were not to nice which that they have that on every job. The hardest part of the job was making sure that you didn't enter incorrect – more... data for properties because that can really cause problems. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning different types of things that are valued on a property. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Reassessment Division Specialist (Former Employee), LaPorte, INOctober 25, 2012
Pros: great work environment
Cons: out of state
This was a very temporary position but I loved it. The employees were all great and the managers made the job a better experience. They were contracted out by the county government in my area all the way from Texas. Had they been closer so that I wouldn't have to re-locate, I would have stayed on with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company was a joy to work for.
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Providence, RISeptember 13, 2012
Pros: the hours, the pay, the location
Cons: being laid off.
I worked at city hall in the tax assesors office. I was to enter data collected, answer phones, make appoint ments, fax information and explain the worksheets sent to customers. I learned ow to enter data in that setting. The manager was neutral and let us work independently. The hardest part about the job was meeting the weekly quota. The best part – more... about the job was the hours. I worked from 9am to 3pm which was comfortable for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Dry Culture
Support (Former Employee), PlanoAugust 2, 2012
Pros: free coffee, tea and soda
Cons: bunch of wierdos
Was there for a few months, was separated because I did not 'git-it'. No personalities, they ignore you. No positive structure ~ stay away from Appraisal & Tax in Plano TX. Manager has a cold bladed personality and the rest of the members are just the same.. rug mats. If you have no personality, then knock yourself out.

Some of the Programmers and – more... Developers were awesome hard working folks. All of Management needs to be dropped in the middle of Harlem NY for a few weeks to learn how to communicate and deal with people better. – less

March 22, 2013

I had pretty much the same experience when I worked for them.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, and great place to work
Divisional Controller (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 12, 2012
Pros: great people work with
Cons: no advancement opportunities
Great place to work management fair. Not much advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing co-workers and atmosphere.
Appraisal Supervisor (Former Employee), Columbus,OHMay 3, 2012
Great place to work if you like to travel. Co-workers still close friends.