Tyson Chicken Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was long hours and lots of work!
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Green Forest, ARSeptember 25, 2017
Given this is a chicken plant it was a good job. I had job security and also opportunity to bid on other jobs. Good insurance and offers. It is a lot of hours and work but keeping to yourself and showing up is worth it.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Berlin, MDAugust 18, 2017
Hard work consistent good to work with coworkers lot of opportunities smelly at times convenient they also provide transportation the environment is healthy serve good food
Pros
Keeps you busy
Cons
Have to stay until your job is done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just your average factory
Labeler/Packer (Former Employee) –  NCNovember 10, 2016
It is one of the only jobs in the area. it pays okay with long hours. management is good. lots of druggies work here. did not learn much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very great place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Carthage, TXMarch 24, 2016
Go to your work station assigned to you on production line wait for start up work begins.I have learned the does and don't management is great co-workers very out going the hardest part of the job is staying awake in a wet place the most enjoyable when work is done clock out going home.
Pros
free lunch can be a advantage when the company buys
Cons
15 mins required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excitng place to work
Production Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Sedalia, MODecember 7, 2015
The satisfaction to know that I was part of the team to produce quality products to be sold to customers, the opportunity to work overtime, the management team worked with each employee to ensure has the knowledge to perform their job satisfactory, they keep the employees updated on work schedules and production requirements at the begging of each shift.
Pros
excellent work ethics and ability to help the employee
Cons
I did'nt find anything with this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Set your own hours
Route Merchandiser, Crossmark (Former Employee) –  Ft. Wayne, INNovember 17, 2015
This was fun and challenging. I could set my own hours and really needed to in able to meet up with each store/meat manager. Freedom to travel from store location to store location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
crew lead (Former Employee) –  indendenceJuly 28, 2015
great place very organized with great pay with great benefits, learned a lot about meat processing and packaging. Great teamwork and team building with supervisors.
Pros
great pay
Cons
sometimes 7 days a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the people worked with
breast debone dept (Former Employee) –  Berryville, ARMay 7, 2014
learn new things in the food industry . the managers and supervisiors where good to work with and help with learning
Cons
short breaks, lng 3hour drive to and from work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Assembler/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Hope, ARApril 30, 2014
It was an experience working at Tyson chicken the pay was good and good hours the managers was okay when they want be the environment was cold but other that I like working at Tyson chicken
Pros
free lunch
Cons
health care, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold work enivirmoment Great Co-workers, become Family
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMarch 10, 2014
Hard Laborer
Teamwork
Fastpaced enivorment
weekly compensation
Cons
little guidences and abilty to futher carrer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick and easy money after you pass your 90 days
labeler (Former Employee) –  Wilkesboro, NCDecember 30, 2013
overall tysons was good to me they kept me working steadily even when i didnt want to
Pros
easy work
Cons
short breaks and no room for advanced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to many hrs
hanger (Current Employee) –  Noel, MOSeptember 27, 2013
Tyson is an ok company overall, however, they want Tyson to be your entire life,we work six days a week half the time,with only sunday off,most of management is Spanish as are most of the workers, and you never know what they are saying to each other because they speak Spanish,i can continue to work there if need be but I would like to find a forty hr a week job,not a fifty hrs a week
Pros
great benefeits, blue cross, blue sheild
Cons
no life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a Fun Work Place.
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Carthage, TXJuly 10, 2013
Tyson was my first job when i got out of high school i really liked working at Tyson Chicken i learn a-lot working there. The Management and Co-Workers where great people very enjoyable place to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun palce
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Blountsville, ALJune 24, 2013
you had your slow days and fast but overall good place to be good benefits and good co-worker and different cultures
Pros
good food
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work at
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Carthage, TXJune 2, 2013
One of the best places I've every work for.... the Management was awesome when you have a problem they will take care of it right there no waiting. The co-workers are like family i love it made me feel right at home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Poutlry Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Broken Bow, OKMarch 19, 2013
12 hours constantly standing only 1 30 minute break during the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work in the freezor
fillet line (Former Employee) –  Waldron, ARMarch 18, 2013
flip chicken in the freezer set hour and days.tyson chicken in arkansas
Pros
set days and hour with benifits
Cons
working in a freezor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shipping department is busy which makes that good with great co-wokers and management. We get half hour breaks with three tvs they had bought for us
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Broken bow, OklahomaJune 5, 2012
I work sunday to wednesday sunday 8 to 4 monday threw wednesday 8 to 8 day shift.At tysons i drive a forklift in the freezer i put produce up i also pull load or order select threw out the day i also load trucks and recieve inbound produce.The management is great as well as my superivors they are very helpfull as well as my co-wokers it makes it enjoy able to go to work. the hard part of the day for me would be staying i the freezer for long periods at a time
Pros
couple times a year we have company bbqs in shipping department
Cons
to many poeple at one time durning break time not enough room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producation
Tender clipper (Former Employee) –  Glen AllenMay 21, 2012
I learned how to work in a place with a large number of people, some of my coworkers was fun and kind other was not. the hardest part about working at tyson was learning to skills of how to cut up chicken, I enjoyed that job because not only was i a tender clipper i learned how to do other jobs also and worked as an assistance to the team leaders.
Pros
pay
Cons
fights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tyson Chicken. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8