U-Haul Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Services Representative (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJ 07208October 9, 2017
Clean and inspect rental equipment (Trucks, Trailers and store). Stock up the shelves with inventory and maintain the stock room up-to-date and clean. Maintain the facility by cleaning up and removing garbage. Maintain countertop clean. Dispense propane.

Other duties also involved moving trucks, parts and/or machines, fumes or irritant chemicals. My position also required some physical exertion such as long periods of standing, walking, recurring bending, crouching, stooping, stretching, reaching or similar activities, and lifting a minimum of 50 lbs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent co-workers, lack of management with regard to employees
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 7, 2017
CSR: typical duties as a "yard dog" are to check in and dispatch all trucks,trailers as needed. You will be required to perform cleaning /check-in duties of all equipment. Dispensing propane and forklift operation are down the line. The hardest part of the job is when you are very busy and are the only one on the lot. The most enjoyable part is the wonderful co-workers.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love UHaul
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, AROctober 7, 2017
Great place to work and would always go back in a heart beat if I had one close enough to me. I grew up with the company, you have your busy days but you have your slow days. There is always ways to move up in the company!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Work Enviroment
Reseravtion Agent (Former Employee) –  Work From HomeOctober 7, 2017
I worked from Home You would expect to have lots of advantages with this fact but reality was they never scheduled you more than 20hours per week they wanted you to live off the amount of pay for less than 20 hours the commisssion was .10 per order it was a waste of time. They Never offered overtime you could never pick up shifts because that means you would be getting overtime and that was a NO NO for them please spare yourself the headache of purchasing all the equipment you need just to work less than mininum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool job
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 6, 2017
its a great job for a collage student not for a person that needs a lot of hours. its a fun place to work i really enjoyed my time there.fun fast pace
Pros
cool place to work.
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time only
Store manager (Former Employee) –  FloridaOctober 5, 2017
The facility I worked at was privately owned by first time business owners, man and wife, who ran the business very different from each other. Everything was too inconsistent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick reliable rental to assist in moving,hauling,etc.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDOctober 5, 2017
great company to get assistance of vehicle,equipment,storage for any moving needs-reliable personnel and equipment at affordable prices-storage available in any part of town or location nationally
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FL 33435October 5, 2017
a good place to work very cool people good pay everyone is nice is a very slow pace u get things done at your time your not rushed and managers are the best
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and stressful
Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 4, 2017
there was no communication especially for work from home clients, hours was okay during high season, but low season you could only get 10 hours if not let off early
Pros
work on own pace
Cons
lack of communication, breaks min
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regional Office
Reservations Manager/Call Center (Former Employee) –  Somerville, MAOctober 3, 2017
I enjoyed my specific job doing reservations. Some people in the centers didn't like their job so much. My manager was really awesome, and I would go back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helps if you know the boss
PM Technician (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 3, 2017
you only stay if you are apart of the cool people. if not you will be pushed outso they can find only the cool people, asked to do jobs way out of line
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uhaul gave me an opprotunity to do something that I had never done before.
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOOctober 2, 2017
Everyone was really great at U-Haul. I got along with everybody and the managers treated everyone equally. One supervisor and I didn't get along but I think he was just a bitter bully who only worked at UHaul so he could talk down to people. Personally I think his home life was not ideal so he made up for it by being a bully at work. other than that, I loved the place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Meridian, MSOctober 1, 2017
UHaul was a great place to work the managers and fellow co workers were easy to get along with and everyone was easy going. If the money was more for me personally i would probably still be there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
E-sales & Reservation Agent (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 1, 2017
I loved my job, only reason I left is to care for an ailing parent.

My favorite part is that I had the best management team who worked with me every week to make me a better sales agent!

My pay was minimum wage plus commission, usually averaging around $15-16 per hour, which is great, considering commute is non-existent!

No landline needed for this job, which is great since most people ditched their landlines!
Pros
Work from home; management works with you to make you better; good pay
Cons
Moving people generally are not happy people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement and low pay!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Roseville, CASeptember 30, 2017
Got into U-haul as an assistant manager and was promised promotions. Customer service reps I was in charge of were getting promoted to General Manager Trainee before me. I later found out the were making less than me as I was making $14/hour. I probably didn't get promoted because they didn't want to pay more. Not mention our store is the busiest out here. We could have afforded to pay more.
Pros
Relaxed work place
Cons
low pay and promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enjoyable
PM Technician (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLSeptember 29, 2017
didn't learn much, they expect you just to already know everything. They don't train you. They have little patience. your at work from 6 to 5 with one break at 11, im sure thats prob illegal. would not suggest it.
Pros
hr long lunch
Cons
only break is after 5 hours of working, stricked manager, treat you like kids, hot, no training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty relaxed job to work
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 28, 2017
Pretty relax sometimes real busy stay after hours to finish job. Everyone tried to play team player some wore OK at it some wore not team player at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money was good, poor management and computer programs
RESERVATIONIST (Former Employee) –  Marseilles, ILSeptember 28, 2017
Very unstable software programs with non existent tech support. They would rather blame the employee instead and not take responsibility for their faulty software issues.
Pros
Good Money
Cons
inconsistent software problems, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 26, 2017
Great company. Offers work from home option. Wish they offered a hire pay. Opportunities for advancement. Many different job departments to choose from. Over all great company.
Pros
Advancements
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
CUSTOMER SERVICE REP (Former Employee) –  Sharpsburg, GASeptember 26, 2017
While working at uhaul i did enjoy most of my time as a part time employee. Everyone worked together and made sure than we were always happy. It was a drama free environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U-Haul. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,286 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4