Find companies:
U-Haul
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
719 reviews

U-Haul Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun , love this company
Customer service - Team Lead (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 14, 2014
Cons: not enough hours, pay is extremely low
Management is good , learned a lot from working here customer service wise. the hardest part of the job is going home every night because once you are there you never want to leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 12, 2014
You meet a lot of new people, co-worker hard worker I learn a lot of new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall positive experience with a lot of room to grow.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Salem, ORAugust 10, 2014
The environment at U-Haul was very positive. This job gave me the opportunity to learn a wide array of new skills through the U-Haul University program. Every day was an opportunity to use creative problem solving skills to meet an end. Whether it was finding a way to make a disgruntled customer happy, or organizing the lot, this is a place for people – more... who want a little challenge. U-Haul is a great place to work, but the busiest days of the week are the weekend, and the busiest part of each day was typically the last hour of business. That's the nature of working in Customer Service, though. It can eat into your time off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work From Home
Center Sales and Reservation Agent (Current Employee), WFHAugust 9, 2014
• Responsible for making equipment rental reservations.
• Provide customer service for various customer inquiries.
• Take an average of 80-100 calls daily.
• Assist customers with various billing inquires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
General Manager (Former Employee), Gardena, CAAugust 6, 2014
Pros: monthly meetings
Cons: short breaks
great company to work for. very fast paced environment. Learned how to work in a team with awesome co-workers. The hardest part of my job was to satisfy every customer. the most enjoyable was seeing a satisfied customer walking out the door.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Facility Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Moreno Valley, CAAugust 4, 2014
management lacks leaders ship and team work. its a job to get by till you can find a company that will pay you for your skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company enjoy helping others
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 3, 2014
Pros: bouses
Cons: not enough money
Since I been with the company, I had the experience of how to run a company, I enjoy helping the customer at the most stressful time, (moving). I work with a team here at U haul, sometime it get to be a challange. but we make it through. i do not like the end of the months due to we do not have enough equipment to services everyone in Houston.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on Location
CSR (Former Employee), Spring, TXAugust 3, 2014
Pros: will work your schedule around personal life, school, primary job
Cons: sub par tools, no breaks, no accountability, disengaged management
Your experience will depend in which location you choose to work at. I see that this company has many high reviews. So at this point I can only base my review off of my personal experience at the Spring, TX location. This has got to be the most unorganized, undertrained, non compliant organization I have ever worked for. They expect you to work 10-24 – more... hours in the hot sun with no break due to understaffing. This particular store expects their inside help to do the same. Management is extremely disengaged and the supplies needed to do the job are sub par. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), spanaway waAugust 2, 2014
working at this company was not the best/ the way they run the business wasnt a good work envirnment/ could only work part time/
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, management is friendly and work with you.The customers are friendly
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Prince George, VAAugust 1, 2014
There is no such thing as a typical day at U-Haul. Everyday at
U-Haul is different. my co- workers are fun to be around. The Hardest part of the job is telling people we don't have any truck for rent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware
Storage customer service rep (Former Employee), New Smyrna Beach, FLJuly 31, 2014
Cons: rude and unprofessional
I was a dealer and then after I closed my business I was hired on. At first I like the job, but after the manager sniffed my shoulder which is considered crossing a line. I saw the true colors of management. They are rude, inconsiderate, unprofessional and pretty much jerks. Very in sensitive to my needs. Fired me after they found out I had put in a – more... transfer. I would never recommend this company to any one not even to my enemy. Management was always complaining and didn't want to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clients are difficult
Customer Service (Former Employee), brooklynJuly 30, 2014
Pros: helping others
Its important to keep a happy attitude, usually people who rent out truck are in a hurry or are dealing with a lot .

So problems while renting out a truck is the last thing they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant / Jr. Accountant (Former Employee), phoenix, azJuly 23, 2014
After putting 18 years of hard working, I really don't have much to say about this company after manager eliminating my position out of spite. I really did enjoy working there and I love working with all my co-workers. Hardest part of job was at year end dealing with all confirms and keeping track of all accounts for year end audit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Burbank, CAJuly 22, 2014
Pros: flexible, manager
Cons: pay
you can range from doing a hitch on a car, to using a forklift, driving a 26 foot truck across the city, filling propane, etc.
each uahul is different and doesnt have the same items at other uhaus
for example mine only has hitches and trucks; no forklifts or propane
pay is a tad over minimum wage, and is very flexible
good second job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best company to work for
OFFICE CLERK (Former Employee), Placentia, CAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: stedy work schedule
Cons: manager doesnt care about his employees.
I was hit by a large U-Haul truck and thrown into the open door of another U-Haul pick up truck here. The managers hired someone that didn't even have a license. So after I was hit with the truck, they put me in the office, and they cut my hours way back because I was getting everything done so fast. I surly didn't think it was fair that I was losing – more... out on hours because I was working efficiently as well as my being struck with a moving truck and slammed into the open door of another. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work from home customer service
Sales Consultant/Customer Service (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 14, 2014
This company started out great and i was going to be starting to school that fall and i asked if they were able to work with my school schedule i was assured that they could and would. After 2 years on the job they no longer wanted to work with my school schedule and made a strong suggestion that i needed to decide if i wanted a job or wanted to finish – more... my degree and that was not a hard decision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Missoula, MTJuly 10, 2014
Good work environment but not much room for advancement.
Low Pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Road warrior day.
Detail Specialist (Current Employee), Smyrna, GAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: serving professionals was important.
Cons: sometimes constant driving was tedious.
Challenging work day routing and making delivery deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uhaul
Home Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), TNJuly 10, 2014
Answering phones for customer complaints about rentals.
Answering questions about equipment, services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Lafayette, LAJuly 10, 2014
You learn how to do alot of stuff. Great company to work for. Lots of chances for advancement.

About U-Haul

U-Haul International, Inc. is an American equipment rental company, based in Phoenix, Arizona, that has been in operation since – Read more