Find companies:
U-Haul
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
487 reviews

U-Haul Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grounds Maintenance
Grounds Maintenance (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAMarch 21, 2014
Pros: nice company.
Cons: i was not able to utilize my skills.
My day would start with servicing the trucks through out the day to confirm tires, fluids were topped off and trouble shoot any type of mechanical issues. Installation and wiring on the hitches. This job was not challenging in comparison to my experience but my manager and co-workers were great to work with.

Please note this was a part-time job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamwork
Customer service Representive (Former Employee), Medford, ORMarch 20, 2014
We all had are little part to do. I inspected checked an washed u-hauls equipment. make sells, install hitch's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked 50 to 70 hours per week.
TCM/Reservation Man./CSR (Former Employee), Atl. Ga.March 18, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no days off, sometimes for weeks at a time
I loved the people I worked with! I didn't like having no days off, sometimes for weeks at time. Other than that Its an awesome place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for college student bad for career
CSR (Current Employee), Murrieta, CAMarch 17, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: they don't really give you your 10 minute breaks. bad pay.
The upper management can be a hit or miss depending on what marketing company you work for. The company is well run and you will always get a pay check which is nice. They ask a lot of you for little pay though despite your experience and knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small place
customer service representative (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: calm work enviroment
Cons: pay rate
day consist of helping customers with rentals, managing lower level employees, cleaning store and rental vehicles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looong hours no reward
Management (Former Employee), AllMarch 13, 2014
Pros: none come to mind
Cons: really
If you like to work mandatory 55 to 60 hrs a week, get yelled at by customers and get one day off a week then this is the perfect job for you. As manager you have many many duties. The company does pay your insurance making it look like a good deal but, when you figure the hours you work over 40 you are paying for it. The owner of the company knows – more... people aren't happy about moving so you would think they would have what the customer wants when they get there, but thats not the case. They are always out of dollies, pads and alot times the call center over books the trucks. Instead of blocking it off the website it lets them reserve equipment you do have and when the customer comes in fireworks begin. Over all poorly ran company and the fact that there is no other company that offers what they do is what keeps them in business! Don't do it to yourself! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked from home
Storage Affiliate (Call Center/ Work From Home) (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 11, 2014
Pros: work from home
Cons: not enough hours
Love working from home. The job is a part time only. Not enough hours per week and no benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management doesn't really care about personal problems
CSR (Former Employee), Wyoming miMarch 11, 2014
rent out 10 foot to 26 foot trucks. clean incoming equipment. assets customers in all moving needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 1, 2014
Good part time job. Low pay and no benefits for part time employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Mechanic (Former Employee), Pompano Beach, FLMarch 1, 2014
Pros: no free lunch
Cons: breaks (1 hour)
Learning to repair vehicles, it was a pleasure working with the other workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The U-Haul Experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Philadelphia,PAMarch 1, 2014
While working U-Haul, there were many challenging and unique aspects of the job. I was responsible for cleaning and performing inspection on rental trucks and trailers, and ensuring the equipment was safe, clean, and customer ready. In addition, I was also responsible for dispensing propane, and ensuring that all operations of the propane station were – more... on par with federal, state, and local regulations. Handling customer complaints, scheduling reservations, collecting payment from delinquent storage customers were all part of my duties while working the counter at U-Haul. Most of the time, I had the privilege of working side by side with a general manager along with three to four customer service representatives. I do not like to call parts of the job hard, but rather challenging, and the most challenging part of this job was dispensing propane as attention to detail while keeping a swift pace at the same time was crucial when dispensing propane. In terms of enjoyment, every part was enjoyable as I enjoy a challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to rent for moving
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Laurel, MDMarch 1, 2014
If you are moving or getting things for moving.. This is the place you want to be at.. U-Haul has just about everything you need as far as moving..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moving and packing needs!
Customer service/sales rep (Former Employee), Gresham, ORFebruary 28, 2014
typical day of renting moving trucks storage units, and trailers. Also installing hitches, and selling propane and moving box's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 27, 2014
productive and fun workplace with a food truck and snacks for all employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend!
Reservation Specialist (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: was able to work from home
Cons: horrible hours, no clear understanding on who the manager was.
The position was an at home reservation specialist with absolutely no guidance from one of your fifty managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was very laid back
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: being on your own and not having someone standing over and watching everything
I enjoyed working with my co workers and my boss was very understanding and down to earth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck rentals
Customer Service (Former Employee), Bronx, NYFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: good co workers
it always kept me busy and there was never a dull moment. we always made sure that customers were always put first and that they enjoyed there rental.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Customer Representative (Former Employee), Alexandria, LAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits.
Cons: union rules and dues.
Been a while since I worked there but it was laid back and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Storage Administrator (Former Employee), Athens, GAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: chose ur own schedule
Cons: lost mng. there
It was a work on ur own and at ur own pace that i enjoyed so much. The ppl were great to work with when i got the chance to. Nice enviroment.,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding environment, due to running the store alone because of low payroll, but manageable and enjoyable at the same time.
General Manager (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: great raport with my co-workers, friendly environment with plenty of regulars
Cons: no chance for lunch, 68 hour weeks/low salary, low payroll/no helping hands
I started as a CSR, but was promoted to a Field Relief Manager almost instantly. I mostly worked at the Governor's location, and it was slightly hectic due to the fact that most of my 10 hour shifts were spent alone. But it was only a matter of dispatching and hookup/unhooking of trailers for different people at once without any help that proved to – more... be demanding. But for me the hardest part of the job was installing hitches on certain vehicles while also operating the store. The job was very enjoyable though, keeping me busy with plenty of things to do. I had a Profit & Loss chart filled out, transaction projection, daily cycle count report done, Recommended Reorder report completed, and any product received left from the CSR closing the previous night all completed before 7:00 am which was opening time. – less

About U-Haul

U-Haul International, Inc. is an American equipment rental company, based in Phoenix, Arizona, that has been in operation since – Read more