Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,514 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Productive Work Place
Knowledge Operations Manager (Current Employee), Arlington, VAApril 22, 2014
Pros: 1.5 hour gym time
My typical day at work starts off with checking emails, phone calls, messages received after I have already left work the day before. Then checking in with my Supervisor for any questions/work he/she may need from me. What I learned was how to manage multiple tasks and balance projects to complete in a timely manner. My co-workers are all professional – more... and work together as a team to complete the daily mission. The hardest part of the job is not getting all the resources in a timely manner to complete the assigned missions. The most enjoyable part of the job is the team work of my fellow co-workers to get the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Officer (Current Employee), McChord AFB, WAApril 22, 2014
9-5 job, can be very frustrating, but worth the effort. Air Force benefits are unmatched, free medical, dental, etc. Medical care is not always the best, but it's worth it when it's free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with rewards
Staff Sergeant (Former Employee), Glendale, AZApril 22, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: short breaks, long hours
The Air Force was challenging if you allowed it to be. I gained rank because I wanted to lead and have more responsibilities and I excelled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Operations and Relationship Manager (Former Employee), New YorkApril 22, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outbound Assignment Technician
Supervisor of Reenlistment/Extension (Former Employee), Shaw AFB, SCApril 22, 2014
Advises officers and airmen on military personnel issues and programs. Conducts interviews to determine individual interests, qualifications, and personnel data. Briefs provisions of personnel programs such as assignments, promotions, separations, retirements, benefit programs, retention, bonus, classification, training and retraining, and personnel – more... reliability program, personnel readiness and career progression. Helps commanders develop career information and motivation programs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Professional Work Environment
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKApril 22, 2014
I was honored to serve in the USAF for six years. It taught me everything I need to know to excel in life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that can your life.
Instrument & Flight Control Systems Journeyman (Former Employee), Hurlburt Field, FLApril 22, 2014
Pros: healthcare, education
Cons: n/a
The USAF helped me on a lot of things. I was able to build a great deal of discipline among myself. I learned so many lessons that I cary on with my life. Even through my downfalls, I was able to learn something good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Expereience
o Materiel Management Journeyman (Current Employee), An AFBApril 22, 2014
Great Experience and great opportunity to travel and meet people from all sorts of backgrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Senior Master Sergeant (E-8) (Former Employee), clovis, NMApril 21, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: being gone all the time/
I have over 23 years of aviation service in the Air Force. I got to do a lot of traveling and see great places. I wouldn't trade it for the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic as well as adverse and structured
Senior Airman (Former Employee), minotApril 21, 2014
Pros: people and the feeling to serve
Cons: deploying and not knowing if you would come back home
A typical day as an A.G.E. Journeyman is waking up at 0600 getting to work at 0700 and working on equipment until 1600. Before I joined I knew nothing about engines or anything to do with engines. By the end of it all I was able to change out diesel engines and turbine engines within several hours. I have learned numerous skills as well as met some – more... amazing people. I learned a lot about the job and life. The hardest part of the job would have to be knowing that one day you would have to leave your family behind and fight for our freedoms. The sacrifice is by far the hardest part of the job, but the most enjoyable part is knowing that everything you do matter and everyone depends on you to help support the mission. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benifits with travel
Aerospace propulsion mechanic (Former Employee), dover deApril 21, 2014
Military. Awesome job a feeling of real accomplishment making a difference in the world.working with the largest plane in the world
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Section Supervisor (Former Employee), Dyess AFB, TXApril 21, 2014
know exactly what was expected every day would have done it for 20 more years if possible
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours with decent people
fir (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 21, 2014
Pros: a lot of days off, self motivated, self supervised, huge responsibility
Cons: needed better instructors, cut throat
I would go into work at seven in the mourning every other day and would stay for a twenty-four hour shift. The days consist of regular inspection of the fire suppression equipment and the overall condition of the fire apparatus. This would normally be about an hour to an hour and a half depending on the specific day of the week. After the routine checks – more... are completed we then go into a series of training classes that ranged from fire theory to actual live fire rescue. This would continue to about four four thirty with a lunch in between. Usually consisting of an hour. After witch we are free to do as we please, but we are not permitted to leave the fire station unless we left as a truck. I studied, worked out, ate and went to sleep till seven a.m. roll call. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understand what you are getting into
1N1x1 Intelligence/Imagery Analyst (Former Employee), McClellan AFBApril 21, 2014
Pros: peers
Cons: lack of commerical industry understanding of what you do
I enjoyed my time in the military. I do not think there is ever a time when I didn't enjoy it. Most recruits think it is a way to pay for college but after 9/11 that mindset changed. You will work, you will be put in harms way, and you will succeed if you understand that situational awareness is key. The hardest part of the day is turning off your senses – more... and come back to the reality that you are semi safe and secure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, but rewarding
Aircraft Maintainer (Current Employee), Hill AFB, UTApril 21, 2014
Being a member of the Air Force requires sacrifice, but provides many rewards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Skill
Professional Recruiter (Current Employee), ChambersburgApril 20, 2014
Pros: travel, benefits
Cons: can't think of any for me.
Get certifications, earn a degree that is paid for by the Air Force
Get experience
Best benefits for new employees
Could be working 8 - 4 or run 8 to 12 hour shift work
retirement eligible after 20 yrs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiences with great people
Biomedical Equipment Technician (Former Employee), Offutt AFB, NEApril 20, 2014
Pros: great travel and education opportunities, great people
Cons: deployments away from family
The job had it's ups and downs but there were a lot of lessons to be learned about the job, the military, and being a BMET. It fostered a great environment for gaining more knowledge and skills for the career field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Foorce
RF TECH. (Former Employee), lasvegas , NVApril 20, 2014
Pros: good pay, good health care, able to travel
Cons: loong days, short, nights, stress, and not able to see family as much
The Air Force is a good carrier for people that may not know what they want to do or be right out of high school and can create a life for people In need while at the same time supporting the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aim High!
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS (Current Employee), Hampton, VAApril 20, 2014
I am a life-long military professional. The Air Force is a huge organization and every locations will be different. The Air Force expects Integrity, Service Before Self and Excellence in Everything you Do. As such, the leadership, management and work life balance varies from assignment to assignment. You can expect high expectations and there is a clear – more... path for advancement if you follow that path. Overall it is a good good, but also requires full committment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging yet rewarding career field
Database Base Manager/Maintenance Analyst (Former Employee), Hurlburt Field AFB, TXApril 20, 2014
As a database manager, I was responsible for the upkeep of a system that housed information for over 80 different type of aircraft valued at over $15.5 billion. I was responsible for anything from a password reset to locking down the entire system no matter if it were day or night.

As an aircraft analyst, I provided logistical support for supervision – more... to base their missions on. Using extreme attention to detail and statistics, I would use algorithms to determine which aircraft needed improvement and what section of the aircraft posing the weakness.

As a Staff Sergeant, I was an immediate supervisor to personnel in my office. I was responsible for ensuring that: all training was current, ensuring that workflow was uninterrupted and counseling subordinates. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more