Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,155 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Ever Changing
Security Forces Member (Former Employee), FWB FLJuly 11, 2014
Pros: excellent health benefits and travel oppurtunites
Cons: poor management, on call at all times, hostile work enviroment
My time in the United States military was definitley one of the hardest, most challenging and rewarding positions that I have ever held. At this job I learned respect, inititive, character strengths, punctuality and so much more.

While working here I was responsible to maintain 100% hands on Identification checks to all individuals on our instillation. – more... I maintained security for multimillion dollar assests and air crafts. I monitored security check points and systems flawlessly. I worked in teams and both held positions of leadership and as a follower.

I was on call every day at all hours, waiting to be mobilized at a moments notice. I maintained my weapons, an M9 Beretta and a M4 Carbine up to our instalations standards and was responsible for knowing said weapons inside and out.

The hardest part of my job was also my favorite part of the job. We would travel with 72 hour notice to an unknown destination and be gone for an undetermined amount of time. I loved the adventer the whole thing but hated to be so far from my family.

My co-workers and I worked as a flawless unit, all knowing that the job we were doing was for the greater good. Even when times were tough we would work our best to get along. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inside transportations
Contract Linguist, ALC, Iraq (Former Employee), IraqJuly 11, 2014
Pros: free military clothes
Cons: meetings and activities inside base
it varies base on the commander sometimes outside patrols and sometimes in Medic facilities. The hardest part of the job out mission with no piece.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great jobs for recent graduates
Instructor (Current Employee), Langley AFB, VirginiaJuly 11, 2014
The US Air Force, is a great place for highly motivated individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Force
Human Resource Assistant (Former Employee), FloridaJuly 11, 2014
Pros: paid time off
Cons: deployments
Received valuable training. Core values instilled. Managed office personnel and assisted with problem solving. Great job security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer
Pavements and Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), WorldJuly 11, 2014
Met a lot of different people. Working on base is a plus, get to deploy and go on TDY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looks good on the outside but once your in, not so much.
Aerospace Ground Equipment (Former Employee), Holloman AFBJuly 11, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: got screwed at least once a week
A typical day at work consisted of working on mechanics. I learned how to do preventative maintenance and troubleshooting on equipment. Co-workers were good. Hardest part of the job was consistently getting screwed by the people in charge of you. Best part of the job is what I learned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, excellent opportunities for furthering education and/or work skills
Aircraft mechanic on stealth bomber (Current Employee), Whiteman AFB, MissouriJuly 11, 2014
Pros: pride in work, camaraderie, easy chain of command to follow
Cons: might not get along with everyone you work with, dont always get the "big picture", doing the dirty jobs
Typical day starts with basic cleanliness of work area followed by a meeting to have a common sense of what needs to be done and when. I learned many skills such as documenting problems and furthering my knowledge in my own career. The camaraderie between everyone working makes for a relaxed but professional environment. Hardest part of the job is putting – more... the job and the wants of others before yourself and doing the small jobs, the most enjoyable part of the job is the finished product and pride in knowing that everyone's hard work went into this to make it possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Productive Entity in the World
Contract Surveillance Evaluator (Former Employee), PacificJuly 11, 2014
Pros: money for college and free medical care. how to be a leader and work well within a team.
Cons: deployments and bureaucracy at it's worst.
Capital Hill; don't mess with benefits and pay checks! You are forcing the military globally to make cuts at all levels and soldiers are losing confidence in thinking that the military will secure their future. So not only are the cuts going to be dramatic it is going to continue to be the reason for soldiers to pursue careers some where else.(copy – more... & paste) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Life Choice
Programs Manager (Current Employee), Kirtland AFB, NMJuly 11, 2014
Pros: pay / benefits / education/ travel / pt
Cons: n/a
•A typical day at work:
Everyday is different and presents new challenges
•What you learned:
Life Skills / Multiple skillsets
•Management:
Highly Trained
•Your co-workers:
Team players / culturally diverse
•The hardest part of the job:
Being away from family
•The most enjoyable part of the job:
There is no "typical" day / Co-workers / Travel / Daily – more... challenges – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saving lives
Firefighter/Medic (Former Employee), USJuly 10, 2014
Managed and acted on fire protection operations, Small arms expert, aircraft rescue firefighting, HazMat command and operations, Structural firefighting, wild life firefighting, emergency command and control management, Alarm room dispatch management. Graduated top 10% of Fire Protection School and excelled at journeymen upgrade evaluations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Electrician (Current Employee), Bossier City, LAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: military side duties, meetings
The job itself is fun and Easy, sometimes you get annoyed by the military side of the , work, benefits are great no matter how many hours you have to work is worth it expect to be recall at any time without extra pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but Fun
Manager (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJuly 10, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, career advances at my pace, great people
Cons: long hours
The Air Force was the best choice of my life. I was trained in career of choice and had many opportunities for advancement. Most days at work were filled with the completion of evaluation reports, feed backs, and training. I learned that life is what you make of it and your career is large part of your life. We worked hard and played hard. Coming through – more... the ranks I learned that an effective manager has an eye on the mission and their finger on the pulse of their people. Paying close attention to my people and meeting their needs made them more effective to meet the needs of the mission. The hardest part of the job were the long hours during exercises which gave me a better appreciation and use of my time outside of exercises. The most enjoyable part of my job was the satisfaction of successfully completing a exercise meeting or exceeding the grading criteria that we were being evaluated against. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Career
Air Traffic Controller / RAPCON (Former Employee), GloballyJuly 10, 2014
Spent 10 years in the Air Force and loved every day. Learned so many great skills and meet life long friends
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love to travel, do ministry with a diverse population and be part of an incredible team---Become an AF chaplain
Chaplain (Former Employee), WorldwideJuly 10, 2014
Pros: meeting extraordinary people
Cons: deploying for up to one year away from family
Air Force chaplains experience a diverse range of responsibilities, tasks, people, religious groups, educational opportunities and worldwide locations both in combat and non-combat assignments. The ability of keep close to one's religious traditions while welcoming those of all faiths and no faith is an exciting tension that is experienced daily. Watching – more... chaplains and chaplain assistants mature under your leadership is the greatest joy of the position. The most difficult job is delivering a death notification to a spouse that their partner is not coming home. The most enjoyable part of the job is the travel and the opportunities to experience other cultures and people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teamwork
Jet Engine Technician (Former Employee), Bossier City, LAJuly 10, 2014
I learned all my skills here as an adult. The hardest part were all the deployments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
F-16 Dedicated Crew Chief (Former Employee), Nellis AFB, NVJuly 10, 2014
Pros: experience
Cons: long hours, short breaks
A typical day of work consisted of 12 hours of work in all weather conditions, but also a very fun and close environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Career
Aerospace Physiology Journeyman (Former Employee), Columbus, MSJuly 9, 2014
THe Air Force is an amazing career and it sets you up for your entire future because of the GI Bill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Job and Travel
Network Systems and Computer Administrator (Former Employee), Yokota, Japan / Warner Robins, GAJuly 9, 2014
A typical day at work you're sitting around waiting for something to happen.When you're needed you feel accomplished.

Great work experience, learned how to manage time and people to get the job done.

Management depends on where you work. My first station had more overhead than my last.

Co-workers are usually the best perk of work, very friendly and – more... accepting.

The hardest part of the job remembering that you can't be at work 24/7. It's alright to take a break every now and then and enjoy life.

The most enjoyable part of the job was getting out in the world and experiencing different cultures and seeing beautiful locations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good morale
Public Health Medical Technician (Former Employee), Langley AFB, VirginiaJuly 9, 2014
the morale was good with co workers, I learned food inspections and teaching. the hardest part of the job is there was no efficiency and consistency in work habits. the most enjoyable part of the job was the morale in co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would like to do it all over again
Aircraft Hydraulics Craftsman (Former Employee), Ellsworth AFB, SDJuly 9, 2014
Pros: it's like the family you never had
Cons: time away from wife and kids
I very diverse mixing pot of cultures. It was a great experience and I have learned a lot over those years. I would do it all over again.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more