Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,907 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life as a C130 Mechanic
C-130 Crew Chief (Current Employee), Dyess AFB Abilene TexasOctober 22, 2014
Pros: the people i work with.
Cons: very long shifts. (14+ hours a day, sometimes weeks without a day off)
A typical day as a Mechanic on the C130 requires working in all elements out in the open. Managing around 30 employees and controlling all aspects of maintenance done to the aircraft. To include; refueling, defueling, towing, jacking, inspections, forms/documentation, annual evaluation writing on subordinates. Hardest part of the job would have to be – more... working in extremely hot temperatures or extremely cold temperatures. The most enjoyable part of the job was traveling the world to foreign countries and working hand in hand with their military personnel and learning their culture and ways of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good workplace with good benefits
Aerospace Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Arkansas and GermanyOctober 22, 2014
Pros: benefits and seeing the fruits of my labor
Cons: long work days and little to no breaks
I worked as a Aircraft Maintenance Technician for the C-130 cargo aircraft. I worked all shifts but mostly nights, i love night shift (11-7). My management was overall good and i had even better co-workers. The hardest part of the job was the unexpected long days that would turn into sometimes 16 hour days. The most enjoyable part of my job was getting – more... to see my work as a mechanic go out on missions and come back knowing a purpose was served whether it be delivering goods and supplies to bringing back wounded brethren to where they could get the care they needed to training with other nations and their troops. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Very Diverse Culture
Vehicle Management & Analysis Journeyman (Former Employee), Nellis AFB, NVOctober 22, 2014
Pros: camaraderie and unique experience
Cons: draw down and budget cuts reducing the military might of america
The Air Force has been great to me while I am serving. They provided me with everything that I needed to succeed. Unfortunately, with the draw down and budget cuts, a lot of servicemen are being converted back to the civilian life. People that I've worked with comes from all types of back grounds and walks of life, including me. The most enjoyable part – more... of being in the Air Force is the camaraderie you won't just get anywhere else. The unique experience and honor of serving for the greater good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of travel!
Dir of Network Infrastructure/Network Admin (Former Employee), Travis AFB, CAOctober 22, 2014
A typical day in the USAF starts with a flag raising. Each day brings new challenges as you never know what the mission requirements may dictate for the day. So I learned to be flexible and keep my subordinates informed of changes as they come. I learned to work with people from many walks of life. Civilian contractors with varying levels of physical – more... abilities, and military personnel from every ethnic and religious background imaginable. The hardest part was being away from family and friends while serving in hostile environments. The most enjoyable part of it was seeing the mission through to completion and knowing I've had a part in keeping my country safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAF
Certified Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), Bellevue NebraskaOctober 22, 2014
Pros: medical benefits, job security
Cons: deployments
The Air Force gave me a wealth of experience in the medical world. I was able to work in several different job position which made a well rounded individual. The management in the Air Force is not always great, but I did have a lot of amazing people in my leadership over the years. The hardest part of the job was when there were recalls and time away – more... from family when it was mission essential. The best part off my job was the amazing military family and how we supported each other in the good and bad times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great trade schools
Missile Facility Specialist (Former Employee), Minot, NDOctober 22, 2014
Pros: it was an 8-5 job for the most part.
Cons: uniforms and military protocols. but knew that going in
Learning a trade in the Air Force was great! Basic electronics, elevator repair, security systems, power electric generation, and 1600lbs. lead acid battery refurbishing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Description
Safety Specialist (Current Employee), Langley AFBOctober 22, 2014
Duties and Responsibilities:
1.Plans, organizes, and directs safety activities. Develops policies and procedures for implementing and evaluating
safety programs. Coordinates with staff activities and operational sections to ensure safety requirements are integrated
into the organization program. Maintains close liaison with federal, state, municipal, – more... and private agencies sharing
common safety concerns. Establishes work priorities and maintains systems to effect accomplishment of program
processes. Arranges for group meetings or individual instruction through coordination with commanders and
supervisors.
2.Conducts and assists in managing safety programs. Evaluates safety program effectiveness. Coordinates with
agencies and staff activities on safety related matters. Prepares and conducts briefings, meetings, training classes, and associated functions. Determines safety education requirements for groups or individuals. Develops training plans to
ensure worker qualification and training. Prepares and conducts training programs for collateral duty safety personnel.
3. Performs inspections, surveys, and program evaluations of areas and operations to identify mishap potentials and
assess integration of risk management approach, safety equipment, and procedures. Performs periodic and special
inspections of facilities, flightlines, maintenance, and industrial areas; missile launch complexes and support functions;
munitions facilities and operations; and non-industrial and recreational areas. Reports findings, assigns risk assessment
codes, recommends corrective actions, and conducts follow-up inspections. Participates in Hazardous Communication,
Environmental Compliance Assessment Management Program, and other environmental programs. Reviews explosives
quantity distance waivers and deviations, and processes hazardous air traffic rep
4. Reviews purchase, service, and construction contracts. Prepares safety criteria. Reviews contract proposals,
statements of work, local purchase orders, and work requests for inclusion of safety criteria. Participates in workload
planning and preconstruction conferences, pre and post award meetings, and pre and final inspections.
5. Reviews engineering plans and drawings. Reviews base master plans and site plans affecting construction, airfield,
and explosive safety criteria. Recommends revision in drawing or rearranging materials.
6. Performs and assists in mishap investigations, prepares reports, and maintains records. Gathers factual mishap
data, identifies causes, and recommends corrective actions to prevent recurrence of a similar mishap. Maintains a
follow-up system.
7. Analyzes mishap data. Performs trend analysis and recommends measures to correct unfavorable conditions or
procedures.
8. Provides safety consultation to commanders, supervisors, and functional managers on technical directives, safety
criteria, and operational techniques.
9. Conducts safety education. Performs or assists in planning and scheduling safety education programs. Prepares or
assists in preparing and distributing safety promotional and informative materials. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If I had it all to do again I wouldn't do anything different!
Senior Master Sergeant (E-8) (Current Employee), Seymour Johnson AFB, NCOctober 22, 2014
The people I've met, the places I've been, and things I've experienced will making the USAF my life and career have left an indelible mark on me and has redefined who I am as a person.

While everyday was not rainbows and roses I cannot thank the USAF enough for what it has given me and taught me!

Integrity - Service Before Self - Excellence In All – more... We Do – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and ever evolving job.
Security Forces Instructor - Craftsman Course (Current Employee), San Antonio, TxOctober 21, 2014
Pros: stable
Cons: relocation
I have spent 9 years in the United States Air Force. I can honestly say this has been the most challenging and constantly changing job I have ever had. The only reason I am not continuing my service is I have children now and I'm looking to settle down. I would recommend this job to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure and stable foundation for future endeavors
Readiness Superintendent/ Instructor Loadmaster (Former Employee), Dyess AFB, TXOctober 21, 2014
This organization allows young adults to become more self sufficient and independent. They train you to levels higher than most civilian facilities, which makes most very qualified for employment after four years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a pleasure to serve for the United States Air Force!
2A374 Tactical Fighters Avionics Technician (Former Employee), USAOctober 21, 2014
Great, Outstanding and served with Honors. The USAF provided great opportunities and education. Job advancements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work to set your training foundation.
Aviation Electronics Technician (Current Employee), Cannon AFB, NMOctober 21, 2014
Pros: great training and awarded aa for tech school through ccaf
Cons: subject to a location you don't want to be
Great place to work to set your training foundation. The Air Force has a community college that you're enrolled into when you enlist that grants credit hours for the tech school you complete. Great way to earn an AA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bulk of my experience
Telephone Switching Systems Journeyman (Former Employee), WorldwideOctober 21, 2014
Had a great time and enjoyed every aspect of this job. I worked on various projects and deployed during my time in the USAF.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working on aging F-15's.
Lead Technician (Former Employee), Eglin AFB, FLOctober 21, 2014
Pros: people, working outside, and a hands on job.
Cons: not being able to stay in one place
My typical day consisted of troubleshooting and diagnosing any problems with the jets that were unable to fly due to a mechanical issue, and insure everyone on the flight line did not have any questions or need help. I learned to be very resourceful, how to manage a shift, and how to troubleshoot many types of aircraft problems. Management and co-workers – more... worked very well together making for a smooth operation. Hardest part of the job was diagnosing problems that people had never seen before on an ever aging jet, but that was also the part i enjoyed the most. I enjoyed digging in the books and learning more about the jet. I worked on F-15's for a long time and the one thing they taught me was that you will never know everything about them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity for Growth and Learning
Public Affairs Specialist (Current Employee), Riverside, CAOctober 21, 2014
The Air Force has been a great learning experience for me. It helps you grow as a person personally and professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding Career
Assistant Director of Operations (Current Employee), Tinker AFB, OKOctober 21, 2014
Pros: benefits, job satisfaction
Cons: moving
As a senior officer and Assistant Director of Operations, I get to work with some of the finest people in the Service. Our schedule is fast-paced with tight deadlines, unexpected projects, and the occasional materiel/personnel/financial challenges. I have learned balance between "mission" and "people" as well as project/time management, concise communication, – more... public speaking, mentoring, and leadership. The hardest part of the job is moving every few years to a new location and new environment professionally. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting directly with my leadership on a daily basis and having immediate and profound impact on operations with my contributions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training program
Medical Laboratory Technician Apprentice program (Former Employee), Wilford Hall at Lackland AFB, TXOctober 21, 2014
Pros: laboratory experience
I love working for the United States Air Force. They take care of their Amn and they care about properly training their laboratory technicians. Attention to detail is instilled in us throughout our training. I believe it is vital in the laboratory environment. A typical day at work involves working in a section of the lab. Running specimens, analyzing – more... data, reporting critical values. The most enjoyable part of the job is learning something new everyday. I work with a lot of seasoned laboratory technicians and they are so knowledgable. It is great to have them as a reference source. They definitely add to the quality of training. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Careers Based on Mission
Facilities Advisor (Former Employee), McChord AFB WAOctober 21, 2014
Every Command has its own identity and culture.
It is vital to marry your own personal drive, motivators, and sense of self actualization with the right command.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aim High
Air Transportation Journeyman (Former Employee), McChord AFB, WAOctober 20, 2014
It's the best branch of the military. See exotic places, meet people that will be your friends for life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable
Avionics Technician (Current Employee), Hurlburt Field, FLOctober 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: little to no empowerment.
Stable job and good benefits. Great amount of practical hands on experience.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more