Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,141 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Weapons Load Team Chief (Former Employee), Minot AFB, NDNovember 21, 2014
For the most part everyday was different. You would go in 15 min prior to shift checkout your tools, go to roll call, get your list of jobs for the day and go to work. I learned too many things to put into words. Management was ever changing and had great ups and the deepest downs. My fellow airmen are my and will forever be. The hardest part was leaving. – more... The best part was the friendly competition in everything and the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Airman 1st Class/E-3 (Current Employee), State College, PANovember 21, 2014
Great supervisors and awesome experience. I fix problems with user accounts and reset passwords
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse environment with challenging issues that developed me professionally.
SENIOR HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGER (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 20, 2014
Pros: the comraderie, respect, and sense of mission accomplishment not only tactically but through watching people recover, thrive, and professionally develop.
Cons: military lifestyle is dangerous and people did die, i hated when we lost people, it's something that you'll never get over, you just have to live with it.
As the First Sergeant I was in charge of morale and discipline of the enlisted workforce. A typical day at work consisted of maintenance of personnel records, mentoring of junior enlisted Airmen as well as Commissioned Officers. Reviewing legal issues involving disciplinary actions and ensuring the Commander was within the confides of protocol and UCMJ – more... standards of non-punitive and punitive disciplinary actions as well as rehabilitative efforts to get personnel back in compliance with standards. As a part of the executive management of the squadron I lead by example on the daily and led my personnel in areas of physical fitness, dress and appearance, as well as maintaining a healthy representation of an Air Force Senior Non-Commissioned Officer. Daily interaction with my unit members was the best part of the job in leading them to achieve and push themselves to be the best they could be encompassing the whole person concept while keeping tabs on their personnel pillars of strength. You had to know your people and have an attitude of wanting to take care of them. You had to be in tune with their emotions and know when they were having a bad day. You had to discipline those that needed it with a spirit of rehabilitation and motivation to accept that they made a mistake and had to take their lumps but they could still achieve great heights in their career despite their personal shortcomings. The best part of the job was my troops, my people, my brothers and sisters in arms. Taking care of them and them knowing that I had their six in combat and professionally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting environment to work in
Aerospace Propulsion Journeyman (Former Employee), Dover AFB, Dover, DENovember 20, 2014
Pros: diverse people, busy work
Cons: twelve hour shifts with no breaks
A typical day at work involved working on aircrafts, mainly C-17 engines, installing parts or removing them, occasionally changing the oil and fuel from proper components. I learned how to navigate the politics of the military, learn something new everyday about my job, and learned how to delegate jobs amongst my co-workers. Management was decent, there – more... were some good and bad supervisors but all in all they weren't too terrible. My co-workers were diverse in that they came from different parts of the country and everyone had their own interests but everyone had a niche they belonged to and you either were with them or you weren't. You learned quickly to fend for yourself. The hardest part of the job had to be the pressure to perform well with little sleep, during the times working 7 days a week straight, twelve hour shifts. The most enjoyable part of the job were the nights I worked night shift and got to see the sun come up while working on the flightline and it was like the world stopped for just a moment and then it got busy again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace.
Logistics Management Specialist (Current Employee), Moffett Field, CANovember 20, 2014
Great pay and benefits. Lots of incentives. Easy going supervisors and co-workers. Helpful management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Program manager
ORDERLY ROOM PROGRAM MANAGER (Former Employee), Pope AFB, NCNovember 20, 2014
Managed several programs on a daily basis. Managed and maintained personnel files for over 400 members, including taking many extended duty days to ensure compliance with all regulations and orders
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Referral Management Director
DIRECTOR, REFERRAL MANAGEMENT/CENTRAL APPOINTMENTS (Current Employee), Luke AFB, AZNovember 20, 2014
My responsibilities include serving as the manager of the Referral Management Center and Central Appointments call center; coordinating between clinics, providers, civilian specialists, and patients regarding referral management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational, and Tactical
Aircrew Fight Equipment Technician (Current Employee), North Kingstown, RINovember 20, 2014
Being an airman and DOD employee for the United States Air Force is an expierence like no other. The skills and relationships you obtain are made to help you suceed and grow. I feel this expierence has prepared me for any future challenges and obstacles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Records and Training (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, CONovember 20, 2014
My managers and co-workers were wonderful. There was not a ton of work to do but there was enough to keep busy. Management was very supportive. However due to budget cuts there was not alot of room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Built to last
Assignment Clerk - Personnel (Former Employee), Langley AFB, VANovember 20, 2014
Air Force is good at training personnel (that's the area I was in) from the basics to where you see yourself 20 years from now. Take advantage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving my country was an honor
Oversight Branch Chief (Former Employee), Arlington, VANovember 20, 2014
Pros: job opportunities, professional development, career progression
Cons: lack of time
What better way than to serve one's country. I have had the opportunity to go places I would have never went on my own. I have had significant responsibilities that I would not have had if I would not have joined the military. The military has instilled in me the character trait of accountability. That is, I am not only responsible for my own actions – more... but for the actions of those around me. I will forever be a fan of the Air Force.

Fly, Fight, Win - Aim High - Go Air Force! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot about Logistics and myself.
Senior Airman (Former Employee), Valdosta, GANovember 20, 2014
I worked on the flight line at the C-130/HH-60 Aircraft Part Store over two years then transferred to Individual Protective Equipment from June until I separated in September. I learned a lot about how Logistics operates (shipping, receiving, inventory) and picked up some valuable qualities such as global perspective, attention to detail, teamwork, – more... and communication. I also saw that taking initiative came rather naturally to me. A typical day included assisting customers with their orders, researching/correcting out of balance stocks, unloading property coming in, and returning unwanted property back into inventory. I had great supervisors and co-workers, we bonded rather quickly which made it easier and more fun to accomplish all of the daily tasks and maintain cleanliness. The hardest part of the job was tracking down missing property without any kind of paper trail. The most enjoyable part of the job was the accolades/awards from upper management that came with a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a student at DLI
Student in Training (Former Employee), Monterey, CANovember 20, 2014
Pros: free lunches, speaking other languages.
Cons: short breaks, long work days.
I was a student at DLI learning the Farsi language. Every day I was in class from 8 to 4 learning to speak, read, and listen to Farsi. I was always working with a team of 8 students, and throughout the day we had a total of about 10 teachers. The most enjoyable part of this job was learning about foreign cultures that were completely new to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Air Force had great challenges
Material/Quality Assurance Manager (Former Employee), Peterson AFB, CONovember 20, 2014
US Air Force was 25+ years of my life. It had it's sacrifices but opened up many opportunities to serve my country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay and benefits
Okay to contact this Supervisor (Former Employee), Tinker AFB, OKNovember 20, 2014
has best pay and benefits then any other job i have previously had. but my recommendation is to go in as an officer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAF
Security Forces (Former Employee), Malmstrom AFBNovember 19, 2014
Provided me with the education and training needed for the next step in my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always going hard working days
Water and Fuels System Maintenance Journeyman (Former Employee), Valdosta, GANovember 19, 2014
normal work day would start at 6am , we would hand out job and who would lead the jobs those days. after morning meeting we would go out check are trucks and get to work. you could be working alone or uup to a 6 man group. we would work to keep the base up and running doing all kinds of maitnes from repairing water lines to fixing pumps. i loved that – more... we always kept busy and we were always learning . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unparalelled experience with a great family oriented atmosphere, great co-workers and leadership
Materiel Manager (Current Employee), Goldsboro, NCNovember 19, 2014
Pros: co-workers, training, benefits, brotherhood atmosphere
Cons: base salary, 6+ month periods of being away
While many things have changed since I first joined, mainly due to the ending of two conflicts and the need to wrangle the every growing budget, the overall experience I have had in the US Air Force has been great.

I have met many great people and have been able to experience many places I would have never been without joining. The pay isn't going – more... to make anyone rich but the benefits are amazing, health care, life insurance and tons of free help both monetary, mental and physical. The job can be very rewarding if you put the effort into it, the feedback system plays into favoritism from supervisors but hard work does not go unnoticed.

A great experience with memories I will take with me for life as well as the skills and knowledge gained that I think is invaluable. The military forces a person to grow and mature, and puts the focus on being detail-oriented and working on a team. We do not accomplish what we do because of one person, without team work we would not be the worlds greatest Air Force. I am excited to move onto the next chapter of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too demanding
power Production (Former Employee), Tucson, AZNovember 19, 2014
Long hours but same pay. Good vacation days and bonuses.But deployed alot and away from home. Hard to have a family. Great medical insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Aircraft Structural Maintenance Specialist (Former Employee), USANovember 19, 2014
Pros: jobs rewarding
Cons: long hours, always on call
You operate metalworking equipment and tools to form, cut, and fasten or repair parts to damaged aircraft structures. You Inspect, assess damage, fabricate, repair, and assemble tubing and cable assemblies for aircraft as well.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more