Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,716 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personnel Technician
Personnel Systems Technician, Personnel Resources (Former Employee), United StatesSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: work compensation
Cons: posibility of deployment.
Worked the consolidated personnel office doing various aspects of personnel from manning statistics to separation and re-enlistments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mandatory training
Test Engineer (Former Employee), EuropeSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: survivor skills in any environment, strong tech challenge
Cons: mandatory.
Special force training, gained strong survival skills . Information confidential, strictly military business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
veteran
Career Development Advisor (Former Employee), McConnell AFB, KSSeptember 29, 2014
top notch camaraderie among airman, loved everything about my 13 years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, outstanding peers, long hours, numerous military requirements
Director, Medical Materiel (Current Employee), Keesler AFB, MSSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: serving my country, traveling around the world, meeting people
Cons: long days, deployments, away from family
Manage the day-to-day Medical Logistics operations at Keesler AFB, MS. Supervise 26 active duty personnel, and 6 contractors, working in 5 various sections. Performed healthcare management duties during past 5 years, in a military clinic and hospital setting. Looking forward to retiring soon and moving to Texas; would like to have a healthcare administration – more... job in the Houston area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots to learn and never a dull moment
Munitions Systems Craftsman (Former Employee), United States, GermanySeptember 29, 2014
Pros: benefits and travel
Cons: buisness before family
During my tenure with the USAF, I learned so many various skills from basic follwership to leadership. I saw high stress environments and low stress environments. Leadership can make or break an assignment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall excellent experience in my time in the US Air Force
KC-135 Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee), Spokane, WASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: the benefits and traveling opportunities are unparalleled.
Cons: very long hours without overtime pay.
A typical day of work for me in the Air Force was an excellent way day-to-day operations could be ran. I went into work and was provided the full list of tasks that needed to be accomplished that day. My co-workers and I split into teams and chose what jobs we could accomplish on shift. Our team would gather our own tools, managed our own time including – more... lunches, and set out to do that days tasks. This method of working lets you quickly learn from people who have more experience than you doing specific tasks. It also teaches you how to train and manage co-workers who have less experience on certain tasks. The hardest part of the job was not having a steady schedule. I could work anywhere between 8-13 hours in a given day with no prior notice. Lastly the most enjoyable part of the job was getting to travel worldwide for work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Global Command & Control Systems Administrator (Current Employee), Wright-Patterson AFB, OHSeptember 29, 2014
The military is a good job to start with and you can make it a 20 year career. It gives good benefits and training. Money is decent and good enough to support a family comfortably.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAF
Deputy Chief, Cyber Requirements Division (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 29, 2014
The Pentagon is like a city in itself and you really don't have to leave during the day. You can eat, you can work out etc.. Runners love the route options around the Pentagon and you see tons of folks on the trails/roads in the area. The cost of living is high and it is crowded. On the other hand you have so much to do and see, it is a fun area and – more... a place many folks really enjoy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Ambridge, PASeptember 28, 2014
Great lifestyle. You get to learn a specific skill set and attend college for free.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job for everybody.
Musician, Finance Resource Advisor, Logistics Rep (Former Employee), Travis AFB, CASeptember 28, 2014
A great colleague once said to me "Working here, the good is very good and the bad is very bad." Overall, I enjoyed my time in the Air Force. But her quip about the good and bad is quite true.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but Rewarding
Assistant Superintendent (Former Employee), Moody AFBSeptember 27, 2014
Lot of great Airman to Lead. Great mission as Close Air Support
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAF
Logistics Journeyman (Former Employee), Nellis AFB, NVSeptember 27, 2014
Being in the military gives a sense of pride, and appreciation. I suggest to you people to go and at least do one enlistment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a part of the US Air Force is a very unique experience. I've seen and accomplished a lot in my military career.
Superintendent of Readiness Logistics Specialist (Current Employee), Robins AFB, GASeptember 27, 2014
Pros: medical benefits, job security, ta for college, gi bill
Cons: long deployements
Being a part of the US Air Force has awarded me the tools and skill-set, that I feel there is no challenge ahead of me that I cannot accomplish. It has given me the confidence to tackle any task placed in front me head on. The level of managerial skill-set that is required to be in the military, gives you the tools and understanding to complete your – more... mission/task in a timely and proficient manner. The most enjoyable part of my job is that I have a new challenge every day to accomplish. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way of life
Executive Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Scott AFB, ILSeptember 27, 2014
I would highly recommend the US Air Force to anyone thinking of military life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential for growth working with people from diverse backgrounds making the Air Force a super power
Vehicle Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Various LocationsSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: potential for growth, great pay, great benefits
Cons: long hours
Usually the day starts at 7 a.m. until the end of the duty day at 4 p.m. Work may consist of training, scheduling and data entry. There is something to learn everyday as we all learned from one another to make a complete team efforts.
The key to any successful company starts from the top. But at the same time the ones that make a team easy to manage – more... begins with the people that do all the work forming one complete and diverse team.
The hardest part of working in the Air Force was working with a group of people from various backgrounds. Of course working with people with different background brings many challenges. But if I had to choose one it would have to be the multitude of different personalities that come from all these co-workers. And of course with different personalities comes problems that may arise and your ability to defuse each case.
The most enjoyable part of my 20 year career would have to be the many different people that I encountered throughout and the bond that you build along the way. Along with the people would have to be the many places I have either lived or deployed to that highlighted my experiences in the Air Force. Whether deployed to Germany or riding in a security convoy down the dangerous roads of Iraq I wouldn't put one experience over another. But I would embrace my 20 year career as something I can cherish forever and one that I have no regrets of doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAF
Technical Sergeant (E6) (Former Employee), OregonSeptember 26, 2014
The USAF is good for people that are looking for getting training or a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Force Life
United States Air Force (Former Employee), Anchorage, AKSeptember 26, 2014
The daily life of a military member is stressful, but also very enjoyable. The benifits are outstanding, and it helped my support my two kids and learn a new way to adapt in each and every life style and situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I had
Missile Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Vandenberg AFB, CASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: health insurance, housing, everything
Cons: nothing
I really this job going out the silo every day working with Security Forces and performing maintenance on missiles. I love the structure and how uniform everything is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Mental Health Technician (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 25, 2014
Responsibilities: Leader of other technicians on duty
-Delegate and define responsibilities for shift of duty day
-Create and update mandatory shift reports
-Aided in move from 7W to 6T in Feb ’13; team player in the passing of the 2013 Joint Commission accreditation for SAMMC
-Training of new Air Force, Army, and Navy behavioral health technicians
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job managing many squadrons for supply accountability
Logisitics Supply Manager - Recently (Former Employee), Patrick AFB, FLSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: i made the warehouse schedule according to flight scheduling times.
Cons: sometimes working through lunch was necessary.
The typical day is very high operational tempo getting aircraft prepared for the day's flying schedule.
I learned about all the missions and work involved within every squadron for me to give them better supply support.
The management appreciated my inputs and came to me for assistance as required.
My coworkers and employees enjoyed being part of the – more... process and the experience they gained by working for me.
The hardest part of the job is sometimes going unnoticed for the accomplishments and the hard work that went into the job to make it successful.
The most enjoyable part of the job were the customers that came in to say hello and spend time visiting while getting their supplies for their aircraft. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more