Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,224 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High workload with amazing payoff
Chief, Regional Weather Operations (Current Employee), Barksdale AFB, LAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: immense satisfaction of job well done, some flexiblility of hours
Cons: shift work, long hours in supervisory positions
Working for the US Air Force Weather Agency is a careful business of cost to benefits. There are numerous missions, airframes, ground support and combat operations tat have to be orchestrated everyday. The numerous flight and hazard criteria can easily overwhelm you if you have a hard time multi-tasking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment with great benefits
Senior Airman (Current Employee), Maxwell AFB Montgomery, ALJuly 21, 2014
I have learned alot while being in the military. I have been deployed overseas and experience things I never would have without joining the military. The Air Force has molded me into a very hard working individual as well as a professional at all time. My most enjoyable part of the job is being apart of something bigger than myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive, educational, exciting job.
Crew Chief (Current Employee), Goldsboro, NCJuly 21, 2014
Pros: hour lunch break, great people to work with.
Cons: changing time table
Work with a very wide variety of tools, machinery, and all proper safety procedures. Ensure everything is used in its proper way while the job is getting done quickly and efficiently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Puncual environment
Administrative Assistant, Clerk (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TexasJuly 21, 2014
Pros: contributing to help my country
Cons: working with military families during deployments
A day at working for the Air Force was early and productive. I started at 0700 to 1530, but on some days I would start at 0600 and work till 1630 or later. If there was a deployment to prepare for weather it be incoming troops or outgoing troops the schedule would change depending on the flight schedule. One time I had to be there at 2200 and worked – more... till 0600. One of the most difficult parts of the job was nothing was ever set in stone until the last minute. Often as not changes were required and accomplished to meet different suspense‚Äôs. Every day I looked forward to doing my duties and learning new training skills that helped me at the time and also prepared me for my future endeavors. I enjoyed being a team player and working with others to accomplish the mission. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Career
MANAGER, MAJCOM Network Situational Awareness (Current Employee), Wright-Patterson AFB, OHJuly 21, 2014
Every day is different working with the greatest employees in the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aircraft Structural Maintenance
Aircraft Struct Maint Sect Chief / QA Inspector (Current Employee), Ramstein-Miesenbach, RPJuly 20, 2014
It is a tough life being a maintainer in the USAF, with the "doing more, with less" mentality. Overall, the USAF has great benefits and is great environment to have a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Network Manager (Current Employee), Shreveport, LAJuly 20, 2014
Its the military, good beneifits if you fit well with the culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Commradity
Management of Technical Support (Former Employee), Nellis AFB, Las Vegas NVJuly 19, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: some employers not being efficient at their job, but was still put in leadership positions.
I enjoyed working in a "team" work environment. I looked forward to going to my duty section daily. I enjoyed the career field that I decided to be apart of. My co-workers and management were supportive to my needs. One of the hardest parts of the job was deploying while being a single mom. The most enjoyable part of the job was the tasks. I always – more... felt good for a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily plan
Personnel 3S031 (Current Employee), Andrews AFB, MDJuly 19, 2014
A typical day at work is productive and successful. The plan for each day is to show up in either uniform or civilian clothes and complete the mission, and take on any task at hand; regardless the level of simplicity or difficulty. This is done with enthusiasm and a positive attitude, ensuring a great environment for myself, employees, customers etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When we weren't busy we played basketball and Foosball.
Fuel Fixed Facilities Technician (Former Employee), Nellis AFB, NVJuly 19, 2014
Pros: paided well longer you were in the military and usually 8hr days.
Cons: can't promise they won't kick you out when they need to make room, along with deploying anywhere they want when they want.
Typical day was go to work and Refueling aircraft inspect the Fueling trucks along with any other task assigned to us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Duty
Radiology Technician (Former Employee), VariousJuly 19, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: high stress
Military Duty during a war.
Medical and Technical Service Provided.
Handled injured and deceased persons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Force Police
Security Forces Member (Current Employee), TucsonJuly 19, 2014
The days are long but overall rewarding. Everybody is fun but understands the importance of taking our job serious. On a daily basis we are responsible for over 18,500 lives at any given time. The hardest part about being in law enforcement are the call we are sometimes dispatched to, its hard to get a call to a domestic violence and remain neutral – more... in that situation, but you have to. The best part about this job is the people you come in contact with, knowing that at the end of the day you saved a life, you helped someone and they are grateful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would say that overall, the Air Forces provides the necessary lifestyle that i needed to get and keep me going for 20 years.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 18, 2014
Pros: a career that provided for me after completion, friendships, serving my country, learning alot
Cons: spent alot of time away from my kids and family, long days sometimes
A typicaI work day always started early and mostly consisted of checks to ensure the security of the AF installation and it's personnel and resources. I liked the job because it allowed me to meet different people on a daily basis as well as become a better leader. learn different leadership styles and techniques. My co-workers came from various walks – more... of life and ranged in age from 18 to their early to mid 30's. I think the hardest part of the job was being out in some extreme elements from time to time either cold or hot. And the what i enjoyed most about the job was that it allowed me to reach a goal and still be able to carry it over to my next career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acquisition Engineering Officer's Perspective
Lead Engineer, Upgraded Early Warning Radars (Current Employee), Hanscom AFB, MAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: amazing people, early leadership opportunities, and unparralled benefits
Cons: deployments, inconsistent worlkload
The air force offers a very unique experience in engineering and leadership. There are very few problems that repeatedly present themselves and the movement from one program to another offers an opportunity to really grow in breadth of knowledge. You meet and learn to work with many different personalities and cultures from across the country. All of – more... these qualities in the job lead to a unique experience in technical management. There isn't an opportunity or need for the air force to develop military engineering experts. The air force needs and desires leaders and that is what they will groom you to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional workplace
Firefighter/ Driver/ Operator/ Crew Chief (Current Employee), Mountain Home AFB, IDJuly 18, 2014
Shift starts at 0730 with the Chief and Deputy giving out information and then is turned over the Assistant Chief and Station Captain. After crew assignments are told, trucks and trailers are checked out, along with daily details. Then training classes are taught in the training room, as well as upgrade training. During the work day you are responsible – more... for learning new material for your job, making sure your truck is in working order and training personnel that need help. Official duty day ends at 1530 and continues again at 0730. Between those hours, it is personal time to workout, clean, study or relax. Shifts are 48 hours long and can be longer depending on formations, ceremonies, promotions, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Management Analyst (Former Employee), Robins AFB GAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: stayed very busy. learned something new every day.
Cons: lack of resources to get the job done.
I have been retired from Robins for almost 2 years in August.
My typical day at work was very busy. I have learned that you do your very best with the resources you have and leave it at work when you go home. The hardest part of my job in the past was not having all the available resources need in order to get the right person at the right time in the – more... right place. I enjoyed my co-workers. I was in office alone but I am the type person that can get along well with others and offer to help them in anyway possible.

The most enjoyable part of my job was the processing of the fill actions and setting up interviews. It was an awesome feeling to get someone placed in the right job for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Experience
Superintendent, SARM (Former Employee), Travis AFB, CAJuly 18, 2014
This was one of the best jobs that I have ever had. I got to do more at my final station then I did at other assignments. My leadership was fantastic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud work
F-22 Maintenacne Technicain (Former Employee), Panama City, FLJuly 18, 2014
Pros: bennefits, pride in work, comrodory
Cons: work life and balacne, pay, hard work and stressful
You know you are making a difference and supporting operations that in the long run will make the world a better place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and detailed oriented organization
Inmate Liaison (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 18, 2014
There are many facets involved with Department of Defense corrections; more specifically Navy corrections. There is a lot that can be learned not only on the job but about human nature and how a person can transition from good to bad or vice versa.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Career
Superintendent, Asset Management (Former Employee), Minot AFB, NDJuly 18, 2014
I enjoyed my 21 years in the USAF. I enjoyed all the opportunites given to me throughout my career. The best part of the job is getting to work with so many amazing people.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more