Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,920 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and equally rewarding career opportunity to learn skills for a career
Structural Journeyman (Former Employee), Eielson AFB, AKOctober 23, 2014
Pros: benefits, paid time off
Cons: irregular hours
-Most days began with Physical Training at 6:30AM, immediately fallowed by a morning meeting where progress reports and important information was announced.
- Over the 6+ years of service, I learned the skills required for a successful career in maintenance and construction. The skills acquired include carpentry, masonry, welding, dry wall, trim, wood – more... working, and some roof repair.
- I have attended a 23 day Leadership and Management course. I have successfully trained and mentored four subordinates. I was selected to stand in as Shop Lead for 3 months. During that time I oversaw 15 military and 9 civilian personnel. Their day to day progress was reported to me and reported to leadership.
- The hardest part of the job was dealing with the winter in interior Alaska. With wither temperatures dropping as low as -60F, it made for a harsh work environment outside during emergencies.
- The most enjoyable part is seeing the progress or finished product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned valuable leadership skills that will be a great asset.
Cyber Transport Specialist NCOIC (Former Employee), Holloman AFB, NMOctober 23, 2014
Pros: extensive training every day, opportunity for advancement.
As a member Of the US Air Force I was able to learn great discipline, fallowership, and leadership. I have have taken charge in a stress environments including tours in Afghanistan and Kuwait. On a typical day I would be in charge of 10 personal; delegating work, mentorship meetings and moral boosting. My most enjoyable part of my job was my ability – more... to effectively communicate with my subordinates and lead by example for them to fallow in my wake of success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable
Aerospace Ground Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Beale AFBOctober 23, 2014
- teamwork is crucial
- you learn to go with the flow
- learned what kind of a leader to be and not to be
- usually had an idea of what needed to be done
- have job security (as long as you stay out of trouble)
- get to fix stuff
- a typical day was inspecting equipment for serviceability, changing oil, filters, and doing required data entry and paperwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, High level operational responsibility
Manager, Network Integration (Current Employee), Langley AFB, VAOctober 23, 2014
Being in the Network Management field is a job that is fast paced and requires a high degree of professional and technical responsibilities. Installing / Maintaining networks that an entire AF base relies on has a very rewarding feeling as well as a high degree of responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best in the world
Education and Training Manager 3S271 (Former Employee), Luke AFB, AZOctober 23, 2014
Where else can you travel the world and gain a valuable education? Meet people with different skills, backgrounds and cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honorable yet demanding job in the U.S. Military
Tactical Aircraft Maintainer (Former Employee), Eglin AFB, FLOctober 23, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, steady pay, diverse culture
Cons: time away from family, unpredictable work
A typical day would start at approximately 6:15 am. Aircraft Maintenance was 80% of my involvement of the Air Force. Within the maintenance I would oversee and maintain the airworthiness of the F-16 Fighting Falcon. The additional 20% would consist of other Air Force duties including but not limited to, supervising, training, and general duties within – more... my career field. During my time I was able to achieve an Associates Degree in Business. Management within the Air Force was ever changing but the goals and mission always stayed the same. Sometimes management was very demanding and stern, other times they were willing to work along side to achieve the main goal. My coworkers, like management, were also ever changing. I was honored with the ability to work along side a very diverse group of men and women learning different cultures and ways of life. The hardest part of the job was the time away from my family. Although I enjoyed what I did, my family would often suffer from long hours, days, months, away from home. The most enjoyable part of my career in the Air Force was the honor of serving my country and giving back to the country I have always loved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aerospace Maintenance
Aerospace Maintenance Journeyman (Former Employee), Charleston, SCOctober 23, 2014
Pros: great healthcare, free college
Cons: very little family time
Meet great people, Learn new skills, Home life is put on hold work always comes first
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Military Branch
AFE Supervisor/ MSG (Former Employee), Puerto RicoOctober 23, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: travel
Working for the Air Force is the best job experience for anyone looking for growth, self-development and leading experience. But above all is the best way to travel and see the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career building experience
SECURITY FORCES - LAW ENFORCEMENT (Former Employee), GlobalOctober 23, 2014
The U.S. Air Force instills leadership and combines that experience and technology. There is no better service to serve in. The education you can receive both in life lessons and on the technical side is life long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life as a C130 Mechanic
C-130 Crew Chief (Current Employee), Dyess AFB Abilene TexasOctober 22, 2014
Pros: the people i work with.
Cons: very long shifts. (14+ hours a day, sometimes weeks without a day off)
A typical day as a Mechanic on the C130 requires working in all elements out in the open. Managing around 30 employees and controlling all aspects of maintenance done to the aircraft. To include; refueling, defueling, towing, jacking, inspections, forms/documentation, annual evaluation writing on subordinates. Hardest part of the job would have to be – more... working in extremely hot temperatures or extremely cold temperatures. The most enjoyable part of the job was traveling the world to foreign countries and working hand in hand with their military personnel and learning their culture and ways of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good workplace with good benefits
Aerospace Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Arkansas and GermanyOctober 22, 2014
Pros: benefits and seeing the fruits of my labor
Cons: long work days and little to no breaks
I worked as a Aircraft Maintenance Technician for the C-130 cargo aircraft. I worked all shifts but mostly nights, i love night shift (11-7). My management was overall good and i had even better co-workers. The hardest part of the job was the unexpected long days that would turn into sometimes 16 hour days. The most enjoyable part of my job was getting – more... to see my work as a mechanic go out on missions and come back knowing a purpose was served whether it be delivering goods and supplies to bringing back wounded brethren to where they could get the care they needed to training with other nations and their troops. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Very Diverse Culture
Vehicle Management & Analysis Journeyman (Former Employee), Nellis AFB, NVOctober 22, 2014
Pros: camaraderie and unique experience
Cons: draw down and budget cuts reducing the military might of america
The Air Force has been great to me while I am serving. They provided me with everything that I needed to succeed. Unfortunately, with the draw down and budget cuts, a lot of servicemen are being converted back to the civilian life. People that I've worked with comes from all types of back grounds and walks of life, including me. The most enjoyable part – more... of being in the Air Force is the camaraderie you won't just get anywhere else. The unique experience and honor of serving for the greater good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of travel!
Dir of Network Infrastructure/Network Admin (Former Employee), Travis AFB, CAOctober 22, 2014
A typical day in the USAF starts with a flag raising. Each day brings new challenges as you never know what the mission requirements may dictate for the day. So I learned to be flexible and keep my subordinates informed of changes as they come. I learned to work with people from many walks of life. Civilian contractors with varying levels of physical – more... abilities, and military personnel from every ethnic and religious background imaginable. The hardest part was being away from family and friends while serving in hostile environments. The most enjoyable part of it was seeing the mission through to completion and knowing I've had a part in keeping my country safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAF
Certified Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee), Bellevue NebraskaOctober 22, 2014
Pros: medical benefits, job security
Cons: deployments
The Air Force gave me a wealth of experience in the medical world. I was able to work in several different job position which made a well rounded individual. The management in the Air Force is not always great, but I did have a lot of amazing people in my leadership over the years. The hardest part of the job was when there were recalls and time away – more... from family when it was mission essential. The best part off my job was the amazing military family and how we supported each other in the good and bad times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great trade schools
Missile Facility Specialist (Former Employee), Minot, NDOctober 22, 2014
Pros: it was an 8-5 job for the most part.
Cons: uniforms and military protocols. but knew that going in
Learning a trade in the Air Force was great! Basic electronics, elevator repair, security systems, power electric generation, and 1600lbs. lead acid battery refurbishing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Description
Safety Specialist (Current Employee), Langley AFBOctober 22, 2014
Duties and Responsibilities:
1.Plans, organizes, and directs safety activities. Develops policies and procedures for implementing and evaluating
safety programs. Coordinates with staff activities and operational sections to ensure safety requirements are integrated
into the organization program. Maintains close liaison with federal, state, municipal, – more... and private agencies sharing
common safety concerns. Establishes work priorities and maintains systems to effect accomplishment of program
processes. Arranges for group meetings or individual instruction through coordination with commanders and
supervisors.
2.Conducts and assists in managing safety programs. Evaluates safety program effectiveness. Coordinates with
agencies and staff activities on safety related matters. Prepares and conducts briefings, meetings, training classes, and associated functions. Determines safety education requirements for groups or individuals. Develops training plans to
ensure worker qualification and training. Prepares and conducts training programs for collateral duty safety personnel.
3. Performs inspections, surveys, and program evaluations of areas and operations to identify mishap potentials and
assess integration of risk management approach, safety equipment, and procedures. Performs periodic and special
inspections of facilities, flightlines, maintenance, and industrial areas; missile launch complexes and support functions;
munitions facilities and operations; and non-industrial and recreational areas. Reports findings, assigns risk assessment
codes, recommends corrective actions, and conducts follow-up inspections. Participates in Hazardous Communication,
Environmental Compliance Assessment Management Program, and other environmental programs. Reviews explosives
quantity distance waivers and deviations, and processes hazardous air traffic rep
4. Reviews purchase, service, and construction contracts. Prepares safety criteria. Reviews contract proposals,
statements of work, local purchase orders, and work requests for inclusion of safety criteria. Participates in workload
planning and preconstruction conferences, pre and post award meetings, and pre and final inspections.
5. Reviews engineering plans and drawings. Reviews base master plans and site plans affecting construction, airfield,
and explosive safety criteria. Recommends revision in drawing or rearranging materials.
6. Performs and assists in mishap investigations, prepares reports, and maintains records. Gathers factual mishap
data, identifies causes, and recommends corrective actions to prevent recurrence of a similar mishap. Maintains a
follow-up system.
7. Analyzes mishap data. Performs trend analysis and recommends measures to correct unfavorable conditions or
procedures.
8. Provides safety consultation to commanders, supervisors, and functional managers on technical directives, safety
criteria, and operational techniques.
9. Conducts safety education. Performs or assists in planning and scheduling safety education programs. Prepares or
assists in preparing and distributing safety promotional and informative materials. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If I had it all to do again I wouldn't do anything different!
Senior Master Sergeant (E-8) (Current Employee), Seymour Johnson AFB, NCOctober 22, 2014
The people I've met, the places I've been, and things I've experienced will making the USAF my life and career have left an indelible mark on me and has redefined who I am as a person.

While everyday was not rainbows and roses I cannot thank the USAF enough for what it has given me and taught me!

Integrity - Service Before Self - Excellence In All – more... We Do – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and ever evolving job.
Security Forces Instructor - Craftsman Course (Current Employee), San Antonio, TxOctober 21, 2014
Pros: stable
Cons: relocation
I have spent 9 years in the United States Air Force. I can honestly say this has been the most challenging and constantly changing job I have ever had. The only reason I am not continuing my service is I have children now and I'm looking to settle down. I would recommend this job to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure and stable foundation for future endeavors
Readiness Superintendent/ Instructor Loadmaster (Former Employee), Dyess AFB, TXOctober 21, 2014
This organization allows young adults to become more self sufficient and independent. They train you to levels higher than most civilian facilities, which makes most very qualified for employment after four years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a pleasure to serve for the United States Air Force!
2A374 Tactical Fighters Avionics Technician (Former Employee), USAOctober 21, 2014
Great, Outstanding and served with Honors. The USAF provided great opportunities and education. Job advancements.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more