Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,155 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Branch of Service
Material Facilities Specialist (Former Employee), Eielson AFB, AKNovember 24, 2014
Pros: free parking
Cons: limited opportunities for promotions
The best beginning to any career, great people with solid work ethics. Long days and nights, but very rewarding to all of the people assigned and a great place to start and finish a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAF review
Logistic/Distribution manager (Former Employee), Sumter, SCNovember 24, 2014
Pros: best organization to work in the world
Cons: locations are not the best
USAF is a good place to work to grab job knowledge and experience. I recommend anyone who loves to travel to work for the USAF.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aircraft Structural Repair Specialist
Aircraft Structural Repair Specialist (Former Employee), U.S. Air ForceNovember 24, 2014
Responsible for structural repair and integrity of military aircraft. I dealt with flight line aircraft and all back shop activities. I have received a FAA Aircraft Mechanic Certificate 3657142.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work, but good supervisors
Assistant Professor of Physics (Former Employee), USAF Academy, CONovember 24, 2014
The job was heavily demanding. I found it hard to maintain a good work/personal life balance. However, the supervisors were very good and professional and always seemed to try to make sure that proper recognition was given for accomplishments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting but heavy politics
Data Analyst / Shift Leader (Former Employee), Patrick Afb, FLNovember 24, 2014
great experience, but your enjoyment of working for the United states air force is based upon how good your leadership is. If you do not have good leadership then you may not have a good experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured and stable work envirnometn
Law Enforcement/Nuclear Security/Administrative (Former Employee), Minot AFB, NDNovember 23, 2014
Pros: job security, leadership, enforcing the law to keep everyone safe
Cons: extremly long hours, physically and mentally demanding, pay was low
When I began a typical day started at 430 am. I would arm up and then we would began our security procedures of the day. We had to study non stop the our duties in order to keep our nuclear security as its best. We would be tested through out the day and do at least one exercise to keep us on our toes. The day would normally in around 6 pm but could – more... last until 7 or 8. When I received an office job my schedule become much more normal. I started the day at 730 and began any administrative duties such as back ground checks, filing, making copies and creating badges for individuals. The day would end at 430 pm. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and Challenging but Extremely Rewarding Job
Aircraft Maintenance Manager (Current Employee), Holloman AFB, NMNovember 23, 2014
This Job was extremely rewarding! It was challenging and it required numerous skills to excel at it. I learned lot of life lessons in this position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 23, 2014
Joining the Air Force was the best decision i made for my life. But I am ready to move on work hard for a great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Logistics Analyst Team Lead (Current Employee), Barksdale AFB, LANovember 23, 2014
Pros: amazing benefits
Cons: work schedules may fluctuate drastically from month to month
Inflated and unjustified rating system. A typical day may vary from job to job and at times there is a buddy system that doesn't promote the need for productivity in certain occupations. This can lead to inefficiencies in management and inadvertently costly decision making on projects. Overall it was a fulfilling experience and worth while.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Career opportunity
EMT Medic (Current Employee), Fort Lewis, WANovember 22, 2014
Pros: great education and benefits
Cons: being away from family
Great Experience and training. Love the diversity and real world experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frequent fellowship within the organization
E-4 SENIOR AIRMAN (Former Employee), Ellsworth AFB, SDNovember 22, 2014
Great chance to serve the country and learn technical skills at the same time. Lots of social hours with co-workers. Requires flexible schedule due to deployment and occasional training. Great benefits including health insurance, life insurance, education costs, housing cost, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is the military
Journeyman Aircraft Hydraulic Technician/E-4 (Former Employee), Travis AFB, CANovember 22, 2014
Pros: closest thing to a hero that you can be, travel to places people can only dream.
Cons: 16 hours shifts, 8 days a week.
You do as you are told, and you keep America safe. This is the most necessary evil, most demanding, most rewarding job in America.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An experience that propelled my growth.
Dental Assistant (Former Employee), Shreveport, LANovember 21, 2014
Pros: diversifying, developed communication skills
Cons: diversifying
My time served in the military was an experience. Throughout my time I became more proficient and learned how to skillfully multi task. As a dental assistant I scheduled dental appointments, assisted with filing/retrieving records, and verified patient's eligibility for dental care. I enforced OSHA guidelines for infection control all while counseling – more... patients on healthy oral hygiene. I prepared treatment rooms to assist dental providers with the execution of routine and complex dental heath care. Assisted with four-handed dentistry; seated, established rapport, dismissed patients, and obtained vital signs. The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting new patients and expressing the importance of overall health. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Weapons Load Team Chief (Former Employee), Minot AFB, NDNovember 21, 2014
For the most part everyday was different. You would go in 15 min prior to shift checkout your tools, go to roll call, get your list of jobs for the day and go to work. I learned too many things to put into words. Management was ever changing and had great ups and the deepest downs. My fellow airmen are my and will forever be. The hardest part was leaving. – more... The best part was the friendly competition in everything and the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Airman 1st Class/E-3 (Current Employee), State College, PANovember 21, 2014
Great supervisors and awesome experience. I fix problems with user accounts and reset passwords
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse environment with challenging issues that developed me professionally.
SENIOR HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGER (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 20, 2014
Pros: the comraderie, respect, and sense of mission accomplishment not only tactically but through watching people recover, thrive, and professionally develop.
Cons: military lifestyle is dangerous and people did die, i hated when we lost people, it's something that you'll never get over, you just have to live with it.
As the First Sergeant I was in charge of morale and discipline of the enlisted workforce. A typical day at work consisted of maintenance of personnel records, mentoring of junior enlisted Airmen as well as Commissioned Officers. Reviewing legal issues involving disciplinary actions and ensuring the Commander was within the confides of protocol and UCMJ – more... standards of non-punitive and punitive disciplinary actions as well as rehabilitative efforts to get personnel back in compliance with standards. As a part of the executive management of the squadron I lead by example on the daily and led my personnel in areas of physical fitness, dress and appearance, as well as maintaining a healthy representation of an Air Force Senior Non-Commissioned Officer. Daily interaction with my unit members was the best part of the job in leading them to achieve and push themselves to be the best they could be encompassing the whole person concept while keeping tabs on their personnel pillars of strength. You had to know your people and have an attitude of wanting to take care of them. You had to be in tune with their emotions and know when they were having a bad day. You had to discipline those that needed it with a spirit of rehabilitation and motivation to accept that they made a mistake and had to take their lumps but they could still achieve great heights in their career despite their personal shortcomings. The best part of the job was my troops, my people, my brothers and sisters in arms. Taking care of them and them knowing that I had their six in combat and professionally. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting environment to work in
Aerospace Propulsion Journeyman (Former Employee), Dover AFB, Dover, DENovember 20, 2014
Pros: diverse people, busy work
Cons: twelve hour shifts with no breaks
A typical day at work involved working on aircrafts, mainly C-17 engines, installing parts or removing them, occasionally changing the oil and fuel from proper components. I learned how to navigate the politics of the military, learn something new everyday about my job, and learned how to delegate jobs amongst my co-workers. Management was decent, there – more... were some good and bad supervisors but all in all they weren't too terrible. My co-workers were diverse in that they came from different parts of the country and everyone had their own interests but everyone had a niche they belonged to and you either were with them or you weren't. You learned quickly to fend for yourself. The hardest part of the job had to be the pressure to perform well with little sleep, during the times working 7 days a week straight, twelve hour shifts. The most enjoyable part of the job were the nights I worked night shift and got to see the sun come up while working on the flightline and it was like the world stopped for just a moment and then it got busy again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace.
Logistics Management Specialist (Current Employee), Moffett Field, CANovember 20, 2014
Great pay and benefits. Lots of incentives. Easy going supervisors and co-workers. Helpful management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AF Communication Squadron
Client Service Center Manager / Team Lead (Former Employee), Scott AFB, ILNovember 20, 2014
Professional environment, enjoyable but also stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Program manager
ORDERLY ROOM PROGRAM MANAGER (Former Employee), Pope AFB, NCNovember 20, 2014
Managed several programs on a daily basis. Managed and maintained personnel files for over 400 members, including taking many extended duty days to ensure compliance with all regulations and orders

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more