Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,884 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aim High
Air Transportation Journeyman (Former Employee), McChord AFB, WAOctober 20, 2014
It's the best branch of the military. See exotic places, meet people that will be your friends for life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable
Avionics Technician (Current Employee), Hurlburt Field, FLOctober 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: little to no empowerment.
Stable job and good benefits. Great amount of practical hands on experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and AMAZING experience
7-Level Craftsmen Dedicated Crew Chief F-22 Raptor (Former Employee), Tyndall AFBOctober 20, 2014
I loved my duties as an F-22 crewchief. If you love maintenance and want to be apart of the worlds greatest Air Force, than look into becoming a Tactical Aircraft Maintainer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Force Aircraft Armament System Specialist is one of the most important jobs in the Air Force and the reason for its existence.
Manager (Former Employee), Shaw AFB, SCOctober 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: sometimes the lack of common sense
• a typical day at work
A typical day at work started with taking roll call ensuring everyone is present and accounted for, at which time jobs, scheduled appointment, and details are given out to start out the day. Secondly, review emails for relative importance to jobs at hand. Check multiple programs for accuracy and data mining. No day is quite ever – more... the same and must deal with situations as they arise.
• what you learned
Learned to Time management, management of resources, judgment and decision making, critical thinking, active listening, speaking, and writing.

Management
Prepare and review operational reports and schedules to ensure accuracy and efficiency. Analyze internal/external processes and recommend and implement procedural or policy changes to improve operations. Oversee the maintenance and repair of machinery, equipment, and electrical and mechanical systems. Supervise construction and renovation projects to improve proficiency and to ensure that personnel meet safety, policy, and security standards, and comply with government regulations.

• your co-workers
Knowledgeable well trained leaders

• the hardest part of the job
Dealing with the many different personalities

• the most enjoyable part of the job
Being around people working for one same common goal, that ultimately ensures the safety and security of these great United States of America. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved every minute
Structural Superintendent (Former Employee), world wideOctober 20, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: travel
Had a great career and enjoyed seeing the world. Would do it again and highly recommend everyone to spend time in military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting Technician
Accounting Technician (Current Employee), Warner Robins, GAOctober 20, 2014
•Develops, implements, modifies, and document recordkeeping and accounting systems, making use of current computer technology
•Prepares, examines, or analyzes accounting records, financial statements, or other financial reports to assess accuracy, completeness, and conformance to reporting and procedural standards
•Establishes tables of accounts and – more... assign entries to proper accounts
•Maintains and reconciles subsidiary and control accounts
•Compiles basic data for special and regular financial statements and reports
•Determines whether expenditures have been made in accordance with valid procedures and within budgetary constraints
•Analyzes business operations, trends, costs, revenues, financial commitments, and obligations, to project future revenues and expenses or to provide advice
•Prepares expenditure and revenue claims, and routine periodic accounting reports
•Analyzes and examines accounting data and accounts to resolve complex, non-standard transactions, complaints, or discrepancies
•Prepare contract documentation to assign commitment and obligation data
•Maintain various logs, reports, and listings regarding voucher payments, schedules, and records
•Prepares reports and performs or oversees other miscellaneous technical tasks in support of the accounting function
•Receives, reviews, and classifies complex transactions where guidelines lack specificity to requirements, circumstances, or problems and/or frequently change
•Subject Matter Expert in resolving complex problems, and revising accounting procedures, and providing liaison factions between base organizations and the Defense finance and Accounting Service (DFAS)
•Performs duties involving examination, verification, and maintenance of accounts and accounting data as part of an accounting system
•Exercises appropriate judgment in answering questions and releasing information; analyze and project consequences of decisions and/or recommendations – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Services Journeyman (Former Employee), Mountain Home AFB, IDOctober 19, 2014
Became A better and more responsible person while in my 6 years of service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
K9 for life
Military Working Dog Handler (Current Employee), Tyndall AFB, FLOctober 19, 2014
I love being a K9 Unit!!!!!!! most fulfilling job in the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shut up and color
Aviation Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, AROctober 19, 2014
Pros: travel, life change, education, money, friendships, skills, security clearance, benefits
Cons: management, rank, gossip, pettiness
Teaches you patience.
You may not get the job you want but the job will give you real world skills.
Money is good, travel is awesome.
Management generally is terrible across most jobs and the promotion system is very competitive.
Keep your personal life to yourself, do your job, shut up and color.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work that was fun and very rewarding
Aircraft Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Goldsboro, NCOctober 19, 2014
Pros: working on fighter jets
Cons: long hours
There is no typical day. You get to learn about airplanes on a firsthand basis with co-workers that you will be friends with forever. The hardest part of the job is the long hours, 12-16 hours. The most enjoyable part of the job is standing on the runway watching the jet you just helped to fix take off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Air Force
LINGUIST (Former Employee), Fort Meade, MDOctober 18, 2014
Pros: benefits, training
Cons: job is priority over family
You are part of an organization larger than yourself. They provide good training and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and laid back environment
Intern (civilian) (Former Employee), Wpafb, OHOctober 18, 2014
Gave me the opportunity to have a student internship in the Air Force Research Laboratory at the Wright Patterson Air Force Base as a civilian. A typical work day consist of working in an office to check/send emails, research literature related to project, and using microsoft office. I also work in the labs to process, characterize, and test material. – more... From this experience, I learned how to carry myself in a professional environment, utilize active listening techniques, and work with a team of engineers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAF
Maintenance Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Dover, DEOctober 18, 2014
Standard Military LIfe. Four years, pay is good. Deployment life is a great opportunity to make and save extra money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the military, either you love it or you don't
Personnelist (Former Employee), Minot AFB, NDOctober 18, 2014
I joined the Air Force in March of 2008. Some would say that there is no typical day of work in the military, but for a personnelist, there was. Lots of filing, lots of copying, and more emails and phone calls than I can count. But it was a good way of life for a while, depending on if you had a good supervisor. The military is where I gained over 3 – more... years of knowledge pertaining to the clerical work skills. I also learned basic data entry in Excel, creation of numerous projects in PowerPoint, and learned how to use Microsoft Outlook. My co-workers were like my family. Sometimes we all got along wonderfully, and sometimes, not so much. But in the end, we were each other's Wingmen and that's what mattered most. The hardest part of the job was knowing that at any moment, you could be called for deployment. It can put some strain on people, especially who are still new to the military. I never deployed due to a medical issue, but still supported my friends that did go. The thing I enjoyed most was hearing the stories from men and women who I processed Retirement for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked F4 and F16 JETS
crew chief (Former Employee), macdill afb flOctober 17, 2014
Pros: military
Cons: none noted
pre flight, thru flight, and post inspections repaired any defects found
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving my country
Services Journeyman (Current Employee), Minot AFB/Ellington Fields AfbOctober 17, 2014
Pros: core values, fitness, pay, benefits
Cons: being away from family, horrible duty stations
The Air Force is hard at time because you do give up your freedom to provide other's theirs but it's that very sentence that makes it all worth it. You meet life long friends and partners. You learn in basic to come together as a family to make it through. The instructor's break you down and instill in you the core values of the Air Force that will – more... forever be apart of you. You get mentally and physically fit. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting the people that are just so grateful for what my fellow soldiers put on the line for this country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun times, great experience, once in a life time deployment
C-130 Crew Chief (Former Employee), Clovis, NMOctober 17, 2014
Pros: deployments, and trips to florida on the regular, owning my plane.
Cons: lived in new mexico
the typical day at work would be launching out aircraft, inspecting them, and repairing whatever needed fixed and servicing fuel, oil, hydraulic fluid, and liquid oxygen.

I learned how to work on aircraft, and how to run a team of mechanics to accomplish a job.

management was always changing, but I trusted their call and performed every job to the – more... best of my ability

my co-workers were great mechanics and people that I could trust and respect.

the hardest part of my old job was the beginning, when I was learning how to work with new people , but at the same time I love meeting new people and gaining trust and showing others what I am capable of doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in an office alone but the people in the offices around me were awesome!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Warner Robins, GAOctober 17, 2014
Its hard to describe. I had to fill so many peoples shoes that each day was different. It kept me busy and my day went by fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work for great adventure
Strategic Analyst (Current Employee), Scott AFBOctober 16, 2014
Pros: high volume / operational / strategic development
Cons: long hours, stressful timelines
Fast paced, high volume, very fluid operational tempo, with many moving parts. I enjoy the collaborative involvement of all parties working to create a collective solution that is globally applied. It is not for the weak or timid minded performer, very autonomous working environment that you have to be confident in your ability to solve or know who – more... to invite into the session to solve the current equation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Lasting Legacy
DIRECTOR OF PETROLEUM MANAGEMENT ANALYST (Former Employee), Shaw AFB, SCOctober 16, 2014
Work load is intense at times yet rewarding at the end of the day. The toughest part is being deployed and away from family for six months. The greatest part is the lasting relationships built and the people you work with. No other job compares to the benefits.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more