Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,264 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable job but can be fast pace
Subject Matter Expert (Current Employee), Laughlin AFB, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: healthcare, paid vacation, paid sick days
Cons: location, enviornment at work functions
A normal day of work with me starts with a 3 mile run. I report in to work at 830. I pull rosters concerning member's records to ensure data is 100% correct. I manage another coworker who is new to the Air Force. I have trained and mentored the member. He has won Employee of the Quarter in his first year. The hardest part of my job is the unnecessary – more... stress that our leadership places on us. The stress comes from the training and requirements that need to be met, as well as furthering our education and volunteering in the community. Adjusting to this packed schedule of life was difficult but I've mastered it. The most enjoyable part of my job was the 30 annual days of paid vacation that i earned. Looking forward to a vacation and having something to motivate you is very important in life i believe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with world wide travels
Fuels Supervisor (Current Employee), world wideJuly 28, 2014
Mostly not for the family oriented. Work demands most of your time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Air Force
Munitions Systems (Former Employee), Nellis AFB, Nv.July 28, 2014
It's a great way of life, gives someone an opportunity to get a start on life and serve their country. If forces you to be responsible for yourself, gives you a direction and education and a career path. And the possibility is there to change your job to a different one, plenty of opportunities to see the world while doing it. A great benefit beyond – more... this is there's always opportunity to advance your education as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically and mentally tough, but affectively mind altering
Employed by father (independent contractor) (Former Employee), Rosamond, CAJuly 28, 2014
The hardest part of my job was the mental anguish that came along with working with family and friends, as the jokes apply to me and cannot to my father, and since I was the for-mans son people expected more from me than I could give at the time. I was looked up to with no experience. The hardest part was trying to be someone that I am not. Although – more... I did not have a lot of great skills in the construction field compared to my father I was able to use my interpersonal skills to live up to my dad, mostly I could talk to talk but not walk to walk when it came down to actually using the tools.

Alternatively there were enjoyable days from time to time. Just watching a house be finished and a family be able to move in, or fixing a cooler for a military mans wife was quite enjoyable, not exactly the work but the smile on peoples face when they can finally feel cool air again or walk into their new house. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Sumter, SCJuly 28, 2014
Pros: salary based/ leave days given each month
Great place to start a career and serve your country.
working at the company was a joy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good foundation for strong work ethic
Network Watch Officer (Current Employee), Colorado SpringsJuly 28, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: deployments
I was lucky enough to work in the United States Air Force for 9 years. Through my tenure there I learned many invaluable skills necessary to diligently work as a productive team member. This foundation, I believe, will be instrumental as I convert to a civilian job. I was able to serve in many different capacities with an array of responsibilities, – more... thus helping me to adapt to almost any situation or circumstance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something every young person should do for a few years.
Sergeant (Former Employee), Charleston, SCJuly 28, 2014
Pros: job security and a learning expirience
Cons: you are locked in for years at a time
I think every young person should spend at least a few years in the military. It teaches you so much. Discipline, responsibility and a good work ethic are just a few things that you get from it. You also have a chance to advance at your own pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A strengthening and beneficial service to our country.
Telecommunications Technician (Former Employee), Randolph AFB, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: financial security, medical benefits, educational advancement
Cons: high stress environment, high risk environment
Every day started off with a sense of mental discipline. You started off with taking the time to have a professional appearance. Then organize a daily schedule and then get it done whatever it may be with a sense of urgency and with an attention to detail. All levels of leadership communicated their tasks and set realistic goals.Overall there was always – more... a sense of comradery. My coworkers had a great work ethic and drive to perform with excellence. The hardest part of the job were the hours and time spent away from loved ones. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to serve our country and learn first hand how are country is run. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Airman (Former Employee), Sheppard AFB, TXJuly 27, 2014
I loved working for the military, i learned many things applicable for daily life from the military. I was always treated with respect and fairly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Airman (Former Employee), Altus, OKJuly 27, 2014
Pros: awesome benefits
Cons: away from family and friends alot
There is no typical work day working in the military, I have learned to adapt to stressful situations and the co-workers are excellent at what they do. The hardest part of the job was getting deployed away from family and friends yet at the same time it was very enjoyable and rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Force review
Communications/Navigation Technician (Former Employee), Kirtland AFB, NMJuly 27, 2014
There was no such thing as a typical work day in the military we took the obstacles that happened case by case as they presented and worked as a team to overcome the challenges we faced. I learned great training that will last a lifetime learned the importance of a team and how to lead others to get the job done I have various certifications and tech – more... training first aid and security training all in all great life experience. Hardest part of the job was a hectic work schedule we were always on call and worked 10 plus hours a day 12-14 hours for months straight if needed but by this schedule we where able to adapt and overcome. The team was probably one of the best perks of the job we all worked together and were able to become a family help each other out and look out for one another we were more productive and knew what the person next to us was thinking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding medical job
Active Duty Aerospace Medical Technician (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMJuly 27, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: dealing with unruly patients
A typical day at work consisted of screening in several patients a day to include obtaining vital signs, documenting their health status, assisting providers with procedures such as specimen collection, and following up with patients. I also handled administrative duties such as scheduling appointments, records keeping, and assisted with referrals. – more... It was a friendly working environment with helpful co-workers. The hardest part of the job was keeping calm while caring for patients with life-threatening situations, but I still maintained a professional attitude. The most enjoyable aspect is knowing you're helping others when they need you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place with room for potential
Geospatial Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee), Clovis, NMJuly 26, 2014
Pros: free healthcare
Cons: low wages, high rent
Long hours, enjoyable career field. Co workers were great. Management has lots of room to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Government Job
Electronics/Aerospace Engineer (Current Employee), Tinker Air Force BaseJuly 26, 2014
Pros: benefits, security (most times)
Cons: boring, paperwork, bureaucracy
The job is fairly secure, but that security does depend on Congress as we saw with sequestration and the Government shut-down. There's tons of paperwork and bureaucracy, but its also really tough to get fired. There are systems you'll have to get the hang of, but once you do the job is pretty easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job security and benefits
Precision Guided Munitions Crew Supervisor (Former Employee), RAF Lakenheath, UKJuly 25, 2014
High-paced and challenging with high expectations and standards. Great workplace camaraderie where leadership is fostered at all levels. Away from home often for long periods of time. Service to country and colleagues is unmatched.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Crew Chief (Former Employee), MacDill AFB, FLJuly 25, 2014
Pros: travel, respect, benefits, rewarding
Cons: leaving family for extended time
Great job, made many friends around the world. Traveled very often. Management was good, changed every 2 years. Hardest part of my job varied. I would have to say leaving my family for an uncertain amount of time. Most rewarding pat was the overall satisfaction of serving my country and seeing how my job played in that roll.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALJuly 25, 2014
It was ok. I enjoyed it most days and no complaints. The hardest part was when we lacked hours but other than that it was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Career Development Specialist (Current Employee), Biloxi, MSJuly 24, 2014
Apart from basic training everyday was prety much great. great bosses work environment and quality of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Maintenance Operations Controller (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OklahomaJuly 24, 2014
I have no regrets in joining the military. Everyday new challenges were presented which I enjoy because it kept me challenging myself and abilities. It gave me the tools to know how to be able to push myself, but to also encourage the people around me. My co-workers were people who you can rely on and they can rely on you. It was a trustworthy and fun – more... environment to be in. The hardest part of my job was the lack in communication. Communication is key in any work environment. Luckily I was able to overcome this obstacle by initiating a new process in the way information was being shared to make it more effective and efficient. Management took care of the people and put our needs first.

While the military has been a huge blessing in my life I have decided that I would like to explore the civilian workforce and where my knowledge and skills can be put to great use. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Security Police (Former Employee), NJJuly 24, 2014
The only reason I left is because my weight limit was 203 pounds and it was getting difficult to maintain that weight.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more