Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,878 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Services Journeyman (Former Employee), Mountain Home AFB, IDOctober 19, 2014
Became A better and more responsible person while in my 6 years of service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
K9 for life
Military Working Dog Handler (Current Employee), Tyndall AFB, FLOctober 19, 2014
I love being a K9 Unit!!!!!!! most fulfilling job in the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shut up and color
Aviation Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, AROctober 19, 2014
Pros: travel, life change, education, money, friendships, skills, security clearance, benefits
Cons: management, rank, gossip, pettiness
Teaches you patience.
You may not get the job you want but the job will give you real world skills.
Money is good, travel is awesome.
Management generally is terrible across most jobs and the promotion system is very competitive.
Keep your personal life to yourself, do your job, shut up and color.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work that was fun and very rewarding
Aircraft Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Goldsboro, NCOctober 19, 2014
Pros: working on fighter jets
Cons: long hours
There is no typical day. You get to learn about airplanes on a firsthand basis with co-workers that you will be friends with forever. The hardest part of the job is the long hours, 12-16 hours. The most enjoyable part of the job is standing on the runway watching the jet you just helped to fix take off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Air Force
LINGUIST (Former Employee), Fort Meade, MDOctober 18, 2014
Pros: benefits, training
Cons: job is priority over family
You are part of an organization larger than yourself. They provide good training and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and laid back environment
Intern (civilian) (Former Employee), Wpafb, OHOctober 18, 2014
Gave me the opportunity to have a student internship in the Air Force Research Laboratory at the Wright Patterson Air Force Base as a civilian. A typical work day consist of working in an office to check/send emails, research literature related to project, and using microsoft office. I also work in the labs to process, characterize, and test material. – more... From this experience, I learned how to carry myself in a professional environment, utilize active listening techniques, and work with a team of engineers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAF
Maintenance Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Dover, DEOctober 18, 2014
Standard Military LIfe. Four years, pay is good. Deployment life is a great opportunity to make and save extra money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the military, either you love it or you don't
Personnelist (Former Employee), Minot AFB, NDOctober 18, 2014
I joined the Air Force in March of 2008. Some would say that there is no typical day of work in the military, but for a personnelist, there was. Lots of filing, lots of copying, and more emails and phone calls than I can count. But it was a good way of life for a while, depending on if you had a good supervisor. The military is where I gained over 3 – more... years of knowledge pertaining to the clerical work skills. I also learned basic data entry in Excel, creation of numerous projects in PowerPoint, and learned how to use Microsoft Outlook. My co-workers were like my family. Sometimes we all got along wonderfully, and sometimes, not so much. But in the end, we were each other's Wingmen and that's what mattered most. The hardest part of the job was knowing that at any moment, you could be called for deployment. It can put some strain on people, especially who are still new to the military. I never deployed due to a medical issue, but still supported my friends that did go. The thing I enjoyed most was hearing the stories from men and women who I processed Retirement for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked F4 and F16 JETS
crew chief (Former Employee), macdill afb flOctober 17, 2014
Pros: military
Cons: none noted
pre flight, thru flight, and post inspections repaired any defects found
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving my country
Services Journeyman (Current Employee), Minot AFB/Ellington Fields AfbOctober 17, 2014
Pros: core values, fitness, pay, benefits
Cons: being away from family, horrible duty stations
The Air Force is hard at time because you do give up your freedom to provide other's theirs but it's that very sentence that makes it all worth it. You meet life long friends and partners. You learn in basic to come together as a family to make it through. The instructor's break you down and instill in you the core values of the Air Force that will – more... forever be apart of you. You get mentally and physically fit. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting the people that are just so grateful for what my fellow soldiers put on the line for this country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun times, great experience, once in a life time deployment
C-130 Crew Chief (Former Employee), Clovis, NMOctober 17, 2014
Pros: deployments, and trips to florida on the regular, owning my plane.
Cons: lived in new mexico
the typical day at work would be launching out aircraft, inspecting them, and repairing whatever needed fixed and servicing fuel, oil, hydraulic fluid, and liquid oxygen.

I learned how to work on aircraft, and how to run a team of mechanics to accomplish a job.

management was always changing, but I trusted their call and performed every job to the – more... best of my ability

my co-workers were great mechanics and people that I could trust and respect.

the hardest part of my old job was the beginning, when I was learning how to work with new people , but at the same time I love meeting new people and gaining trust and showing others what I am capable of doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in an office alone but the people in the offices around me were awesome!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Warner Robins, GAOctober 17, 2014
Its hard to describe. I had to fill so many peoples shoes that each day was different. It kept me busy and my day went by fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work for great adventure
Strategic Analyst (Current Employee), Scott AFBOctober 16, 2014
Pros: high volume / operational / strategic development
Cons: long hours, stressful timelines
Fast paced, high volume, very fluid operational tempo, with many moving parts. I enjoy the collaborative involvement of all parties working to create a collective solution that is globally applied. It is not for the weak or timid minded performer, very autonomous working environment that you have to be confident in your ability to solve or know who – more... to invite into the session to solve the current equation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Lasting Legacy
DIRECTOR OF PETROLEUM MANAGEMENT ANALYST (Former Employee), Shaw AFB, SCOctober 16, 2014
Work load is intense at times yet rewarding at the end of the day. The toughest part is being deployed and away from family for six months. The greatest part is the lasting relationships built and the people you work with. No other job compares to the benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time in the Air Force
Senior Airman (Former Employee), USOctober 16, 2014
Pros: af culture
Cons: pay
Great place to work and serve your country. Highly Recommend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintained constant state of awareness: in excellence, safety, and improvement.
F-16 Avionics Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCOctober 16, 2014
Maintain excellent character and faithfulness with coworkers with whom I would entrust my life and safety. Reviewed work orders and communicated with prior shift to assess work needs for the day. Planned work and determined appropriate tools and equipment. Ensured proper troubleshooting and repair through accurate reading of schematics. Consistently – more... promoted shop safety by working in a safe manner. Performed preventative maintenance on F-16 avionics systems, saving taxpayers millions of dollars. Employed wide variety of hand and power tools including hoists, drills, precision measuring instruments and electronic testing devices. Ensured customer satisfaction by providing highest quality of products by ensuring all equipment was properly installed and working correctly. Excelled and recognized for communication skills and customer relations abilities. Calmly performed tasks under duress and emergency situations resulting in the saving of life and equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Summary
Division Supervisor, Communications Focal Point (Current Employee), Hampton, VAOctober 16, 2014
Pros: you are part of a team.
Cons: the pay does not relate to civilian salaries.
Being a member of the U.S. Air Force has been a rewarding experience in which I have gain invaluable experience and expertise in managing team growth, mentoring others as well as working as part of a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life can be tough
General Purpose Repair Shop Supervisor (Current Employee), Grand Forks AFB, NDOctober 16, 2014
Pros: housing allowance, clothing allowance, special extra pay
Cons: deployments
The typical work day isn't bad at all, but you have to be willing to leave your family behind and go on deployments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Air Force taught me alot, I'll never forget that. Aside from the politics, I liked the Air Force and most likely would have made a career of it.
Aircrew Life Support Technician (Former Employee), Spangdahlem, Germany Andrews AFB, MDOctober 16, 2014
Pros: all the different people, the commradary, seeing different countries, made some friends that i still talk to till this day
Cons: politics everywhere, making great friends and then moving on and never seeing them again, not knowing day to day what will happen
Well, there was never a typical day in the Air Force. We always had a plan for the next day, but instead of putting the parachutes in ejection seats, we might end up building up palets on a fork lift for example. We would try to do our daily duties without as much distraction as possible but when an officer comes in and rquests help we would ablige – more... and end up doing something completely different. You just go with it. I learned alot from the AF, such as how to be independent, manage money, and respect for elders. The hardest part of the job was not knowing what you would walk into everyday. You may be told you are deploying or half the squadron is deploying, then you have to make arragements quickly,get packed and get the palets built up, and try not to forget anything! The most enjoyable part of the job is just like tattoing, you meet so many different people and hear all kinds of stories. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique opportunities.
Aircraft Hydraulics Systems Journeyman (Former Employee), F E Warren AFB, WYOctober 15, 2014
I cannot speak for all jobs within the Air Force, I however can speak of aircraft maintenance. A culture unlike any other. A lot of rare opportunities coupled with meeting diverse people from all over the globe. Team driven work environment, a mission oriented job, and long hours. There's nothing else like it.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more