Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,274 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience Galore
Wing Information Assurance Manager (Current Employee), Dyess AFB, TXDecember 16, 2014
Working here provides excellent training and broadening opportunities. I have learned a variety of IT related skill sets from working for this organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Air Force
Dietary Technician (Current Employee), Chicopee, MaDecember 16, 2014
The Air Force is wonderful. It is the Air Force. I have learned a lot about being a team member. Management is great. My co-workers are wonderful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointingly non professional work environment.
Architect/Design Project (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, CODecember 16, 2014
Pros: 40 hr work week with very little overtime
Cons: low pay and no incentive pay.
No job security and very low pay. I would not recommend to any professional Architect or Engineer.

The work environment was fraught with deception and backstabbing. The company had no regard for saving tax payers money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work loads of benefits
Munitions Specialist / Support Lead (Former Employee), Tyndall AFB, FLDecember 16, 2014
a lot of work but all worth it at the end of the day
plenty of room for self improvement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and defending the US
Aircraft Metals Technology (Former Employee), WorldwideDecember 16, 2014
Typical day is waking up and being to work bright and early. Getting to work and start working. Machining, welding, brazing, production, fabrication. You name it, we did it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with air force
Personnel Apprentice (Current Employee), Shreveport, LADecember 15, 2014
Busy, but easy going. updating awards, decorations, processing in-out, overall costumer service. Very beneficial, 100% healthcare, benefits, offer per diem, and free lodging, also housing allowance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Service
Military Training Leader (Former Employee), Sheppard AFB, TXDecember 15, 2014
The honor of serving the United States everyday. Hard part about being the the U.S. Air Force was being away from family for extended periods of time. But I still am willing to do so. Anything to get the mission done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, Progressive Culture
Personnel Security Manager (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKDecember 15, 2014
Pros: professionalism, advancement, job security, dealing with various people, benefits, teamwork
Cons: time away from family, some leadership decisions
In my career field in the Air Force each day was different. I was a part of a flying career field which held a variety of different tasks to be completed each day. On mission planning days there were tons of coordination, planning, supervising, and updates to be done for each section of operation. On these days I supervised 3-8 airmen in accomplishing – more... tasks. On days where I did actually fly we showed up at the scheduled time to execute while remaining flexible to changes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worthwile
Vehicles and Equipment Technician (Former Employee), F E Warren AFB, WYDecember 15, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Difficult but rewarding work days. Being part of the U.S. Air Force is something I will never regret doing. I learned allot and was tasked with a wide variety of responsibilities.
My main responsibilities included Inspecting and maintaining various tools and equipment, building work loads for dispatching teams, loading, unloading work vehicles, and – more... making sure teams were able to dispatch in a quick and efficient manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job details
RF Transmission systems technician (Current Employee), EuropeDecember 15, 2014
Pros: free healthcare
Performs/supervises wireless radio and satellite systems and equipment maintenance activities. Oversees work in progress and reviews completed repairs for sound maintenance practices. Establishes requirements for maintenance equipment, support equipment, tools, and spare parts. Requisitions, accounts for, and turns in supplies and material. Interprets – more... inspection findings and determines adequacy of corrective action. Reviews and ensures compliance with maintenance management publications and procedures. Identifies maintenance problem areas and recommends corrective action. Recommends methods to improve equipment performance and maintenance procedures. Evaluates justification and practicability of proposed modifications. Develops and enforces safety standards for ground RF system maintenance activities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close knit workcenter
Production Manager (Former Employee), Kirtland AFB, NMDecember 14, 2014
Pros: work center management fair and family oriented
Work center operates 24/7 with 3 shifts and is integrated with the New Mexico Air National Guard. Both active duty and NMANG personnel trade weekend duties. Work center performs 18 weekly scheduled inspections and average 2,700 weekly ground support equipment deliveries to 37 aircraft with 8 different air frames.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiance
Aircraft Electrical Specialist (Former Employee), Eielson AFB, AlaskaDecember 14, 2014
Pros: experience, job security
Cons: could be stationed anywhere
Great experience if your willing to travel and commit to the life style.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal Driven work place
Missile Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Cheyenne, WYDecember 14, 2014
Pros: camaraderie
Cons: long days and nights
A typical day for me included getting up early, working long hours and going home late. I learned a host of skills that include: problem solving, management, delegation, hazardous waist cleanup and handling. My upper management was closely involved with our day to day operations. Co-workers knew who to make our time fun and enjoyable during our long – more... job, and our long days. The hardest part about being a Intercontinental Ballistic Missile Technician, was the training days and the very long days. The best part about my job was the camaraderie. The group of people that I worked with were a very tight-nit group of family from all walks of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great career
B-52 Specialist Section Superintendent (Former Employee), Barksdale AFB, LADecember 14, 2014
Pros: great people, an education, experience i still use today.
Cons: 24/7/365 requirement. you were always on the clock.
Typical day involved repairing Aircraft avionics systems. Skills learned involved troubleshooting and repairing complex Avionics systems. Learned how to work in team environment, how to lead others in team environment. I learned communication skills and how group dynamics plays a major part in trying to accomplish a project. Hardest part of job was – more... leading 153 people and trying to get them to move in a common direction for a common goal. Most enjoyable part of job was seeing those working for me earning their due with awards and decorations for a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Just a job
Production Superintendent (Former Employee), WorldwideDecember 14, 2014
Learned a lot about aviation, leadership, and management. Not a career for everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice benefits
Aerospace Medical Technician (Assistant) (Former Employee), Travis AFB, CADecember 14, 2014
Many Opportunities, with a chance to travel the world. A lot of experience, and a head start on competition when getting a job outside of the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to start a career
Technical Advisor/Special Projects Lead (Former Employee), Numerous locationsDecember 14, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: it's a government organization
I enjoyed my time in the Air Force. I worked with some amazing people and had some opportunities that I could not have ever imagined. That said, there is a lot of bureaucracy and sometimes you just feel like a fish in a large pond. Because it's a government organization, there are a lot of ridiculous requirements and inefficiencies that can drive you – more... crazy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working in the Air Force
Senior Airman (Former Employee), Las Vegas NV, Ghedi ItalyDecember 14, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: where you are sent is not entirely up to you
Had amazing opportunites to travel! For the most part I had great leaders but there are a few I'd rather not have worked with. The money was good and they really care about your home life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Senior Au=irman (Former Employee), Goldsboro, NCDecember 13, 2014
I worked with, and lead, some of the best people i have met to date. Through the good and bad, our team always delivered the best quality while following the Tech. data given. While in the Air Force I have learned a tremendous amount. Our career field covered Sheet metal fabrication, hazardous waste management, and corrosion control (paint). Though – more... what i have learned can be applied to many different careers, while I was active duty I specialized in F-15's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am all Air Force - loved every minute.
Commissary Store Control Clerk (Former Employee), Charleston, SCDecember 13, 2014
Pros: challenging but very rewarding.
Cons: none.
Writing up instructions for operating Automated Commissary Operations Systems.

I learned to operate the Accounting and Communications System, and the National Cash Register computers.

All my co-workers were a pleasure to work for and with.

The hardest part was trying correct an error when someone keyed in the wrong item.

When everything balanced – more... with the Accounting and Finance records – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more