Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,219 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aircraft Structural Maintenance
Aircraft Struct Maint Sect Chief / QA Inspector (Current Employee), Ramstein-Miesenbach, RPJuly 20, 2014
It is a tough life being a maintainer in the USAF, with the "doing more, with less" mentality. Overall, the USAF has great benefits and is great environment to have a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Network Manager (Current Employee), Shreveport, LAJuly 20, 2014
Its the military, good beneifits if you fit well with the culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Commradity
Management of Technical Support (Former Employee), Nellis AFB, Las Vegas NVJuly 19, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: some employers not being efficient at their job, but was still put in leadership positions.
I enjoyed working in a "team" work environment. I looked forward to going to my duty section daily. I enjoyed the career field that I decided to be apart of. My co-workers and management were supportive to my needs. One of the hardest parts of the job was deploying while being a single mom. The most enjoyable part of the job was the tasks. I always – more... felt good for a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily plan
Personnel 3S031 (Current Employee), Andrews AFB, MDJuly 19, 2014
A typical day at work is productive and successful. The plan for each day is to show up in either uniform or civilian clothes and complete the mission, and take on any task at hand; regardless the level of simplicity or difficulty. This is done with enthusiasm and a positive attitude, ensuring a great environment for myself, employees, customers etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When we weren't busy we played basketball and Foosball.
Fuel Fixed Facilities Technician (Former Employee), Nellis AFB, NVJuly 19, 2014
Pros: paided well longer you were in the military and usually 8hr days.
Cons: can't promise they won't kick you out when they need to make room, along with deploying anywhere they want when they want.
Typical day was go to work and Refueling aircraft inspect the Fueling trucks along with any other task assigned to us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Duty
Radiology Technician (Former Employee), VariousJuly 19, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: high stress
Military Duty during a war.
Medical and Technical Service Provided.
Handled injured and deceased persons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Force Police
Security Forces Member (Current Employee), TucsonJuly 19, 2014
The days are long but overall rewarding. Everybody is fun but understands the importance of taking our job serious. On a daily basis we are responsible for over 18,500 lives at any given time. The hardest part about being in law enforcement are the call we are sometimes dispatched to, its hard to get a call to a domestic violence and remain neutral – more... in that situation, but you have to. The best part about this job is the people you come in contact with, knowing that at the end of the day you saved a life, you helped someone and they are grateful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would say that overall, the Air Forces provides the necessary lifestyle that i needed to get and keep me going for 20 years.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 18, 2014
Pros: a career that provided for me after completion, friendships, serving my country, learning alot
Cons: spent alot of time away from my kids and family, long days sometimes
A typicaI work day always started early and mostly consisted of checks to ensure the security of the AF installation and it's personnel and resources. I liked the job because it allowed me to meet different people on a daily basis as well as become a better leader. learn different leadership styles and techniques. My co-workers came from various walks – more... of life and ranged in age from 18 to their early to mid 30's. I think the hardest part of the job was being out in some extreme elements from time to time either cold or hot. And the what i enjoyed most about the job was that it allowed me to reach a goal and still be able to carry it over to my next career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acquisition Engineering Officer's Perspective
Lead Engineer, Upgraded Early Warning Radars (Current Employee), Hanscom AFB, MAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: amazing people, early leadership opportunities, and unparralled benefits
Cons: deployments, inconsistent worlkload
The air force offers a very unique experience in engineering and leadership. There are very few problems that repeatedly present themselves and the movement from one program to another offers an opportunity to really grow in breadth of knowledge. You meet and learn to work with many different personalities and cultures from across the country. All of – more... these qualities in the job lead to a unique experience in technical management. There isn't an opportunity or need for the air force to develop military engineering experts. The air force needs and desires leaders and that is what they will groom you to be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional workplace
Firefighter/ Driver/ Operator/ Crew Chief (Current Employee), Mountain Home AFB, IDJuly 18, 2014
Shift starts at 0730 with the Chief and Deputy giving out information and then is turned over the Assistant Chief and Station Captain. After crew assignments are told, trucks and trailers are checked out, along with daily details. Then training classes are taught in the training room, as well as upgrade training. During the work day you are responsible – more... for learning new material for your job, making sure your truck is in working order and training personnel that need help. Official duty day ends at 1530 and continues again at 0730. Between those hours, it is personal time to workout, clean, study or relax. Shifts are 48 hours long and can be longer depending on formations, ceremonies, promotions, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Management Analyst (Former Employee), Robins AFB GAJuly 18, 2014
Pros: stayed very busy. learned something new every day.
Cons: lack of resources to get the job done.
I have been retired from Robins for almost 2 years in August.
My typical day at work was very busy. I have learned that you do your very best with the resources you have and leave it at work when you go home. The hardest part of my job in the past was not having all the available resources need in order to get the right person at the right time in the – more... right place. I enjoyed my co-workers. I was in office alone but I am the type person that can get along well with others and offer to help them in anyway possible.

The most enjoyable part of my job was the processing of the fill actions and setting up interviews. It was an awesome feeling to get someone placed in the right job for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Experience
Superintendent, SARM (Former Employee), Travis AFB, CAJuly 18, 2014
This was one of the best jobs that I have ever had. I got to do more at my final station then I did at other assignments. My leadership was fantastic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud work
F-22 Maintenacne Technicain (Former Employee), Panama City, FLJuly 18, 2014
Pros: bennefits, pride in work, comrodory
Cons: work life and balacne, pay, hard work and stressful
You know you are making a difference and supporting operations that in the long run will make the world a better place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and detailed oriented organization
Inmate Liaison (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 18, 2014
There are many facets involved with Department of Defense corrections; more specifically Navy corrections. There is a lot that can be learned not only on the job but about human nature and how a person can transition from good to bad or vice versa.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Career
Superintendent, Asset Management (Former Employee), Minot AFB, NDJuly 18, 2014
I enjoyed my 21 years in the USAF. I enjoyed all the opportunites given to me throughout my career. The best part of the job is getting to work with so many amazing people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Management in the Air Force
Production Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, Germany, Japan, New Mexico, LouisianaJuly 17, 2014
There were anywhere between 2-4 meetings daily to discuss the status of aircraft, planning schedules, and other items dealing with maintaining and operating aircraft. This job affected various agencies and it was vital that good working relationships were established so the mission could be accomplished. Just like any other job, there was a wide variety – more... of management styles that were employed. Through experience, I found the need to be flexible in my leadership style to ensure that the mission was being taken care of and more importantly, the people were being taken care of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5star Company, 3star Jop
Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee), Osan AB, S. Korea; Luke AFB, Phoenix, AZJuly 17, 2014
Pros: travel, tuition assistance, medical/dental/life insurance
Cons: not guaranteed breaks, over-worked & under payed
A typical day at work could last anywhere between 9 and 13 hours. I learned a lot of technical skills and safety standards that I feel will help me in the civilian world. Most of my co-workers and supervisors were cool, but the people above them (supervision) usually weren't. For me the most enjoyable part of the job was making friends from all walks – more... of life, and the most difficult was going into work knowing that I was being over-worked and under payed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAF
Aircraft Loadmaster (WIC) (Current Employee), McGuire AFB, NJJuly 17, 2014
Aircraft Loadmaster
United States Air Force
Fly Missions and locals
Airdrop
Help after natural disasters
Deployments
Good Pay
Good Benefits
Bonuses
Good people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 5 Years Of Service
MWD Handler (Current Employee), Goodfellow AFB, TXJuly 17, 2014
Pros: career progression, pay, benefits, travel
Cons: long hours, deployments, no real time with family.
It was a blast. I was a Security Forces K9 Handler so the people were great. The hours can be long. There's always room for career progression you just have to go for it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Force was the greatest job I've ever had
Organization Managerial Inspector (Former Employee), Hill Air Force Base, UTJuly 17, 2014
Pros: benefits, making new friends, experience, education, travels, and a since of accomplishment
Cons: being away from family often, life in danger at times, and you are on duty all the time.
A typical day varied for me over the years. Maintenance days were busy and taxing but rewarding once you have seen what you have accomplished. I learned to be patient with people and to work for something bigger than I am. I also learn to deal with individuals as individuals and putting them all in the same category. Management always was changing so – more... there was always something different to adapt to so good some bad. Since this is the Air Force many cutural differences amongnst my co-workers was probably one of the hardest adaptations to deal with. The most enjoyable part of my job was the experience I gained, travels made, and new and exciting things to experience. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more