Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,504 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Senior Master Sergeant (E-8) (Former Employee), clovis, NMApril 21, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: being gone all the time/
I have over 23 years of aviation service in the Air Force. I got to do a lot of traveling and see great places. I wouldn't trade it for the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic as well as adverse and structured
Senior Airman (Former Employee), minotApril 21, 2014
Pros: people and the feeling to serve
Cons: deploying and not knowing if you would come back home
A typical day as an A.G.E. Journeyman is waking up at 0600 getting to work at 0700 and working on equipment until 1600. Before I joined I knew nothing about engines or anything to do with engines. By the end of it all I was able to change out diesel engines and turbine engines within several hours. I have learned numerous skills as well as met some – more... amazing people. I learned a lot about the job and life. The hardest part of the job would have to be knowing that one day you would have to leave your family behind and fight for our freedoms. The sacrifice is by far the hardest part of the job, but the most enjoyable part is knowing that everything you do matter and everyone depends on you to help support the mission. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benifits with travel
Aerospace propulsion mechanic (Former Employee), dover deApril 21, 2014
Military. Awesome job a feeling of real accomplishment making a difference in the world.working with the largest plane in the world
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Section Supervisor (Former Employee), Dyess AFB, TXApril 21, 2014
know exactly what was expected every day would have done it for 20 more years if possible
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours with decent people
fir (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 21, 2014
Pros: a lot of days off, self motivated, self supervised, huge responsibility
Cons: needed better instructors, cut throat
I would go into work at seven in the mourning every other day and would stay for a twenty-four hour shift. The days consist of regular inspection of the fire suppression equipment and the overall condition of the fire apparatus. This would normally be about an hour to an hour and a half depending on the specific day of the week. After the routine checks – more... are completed we then go into a series of training classes that ranged from fire theory to actual live fire rescue. This would continue to about four four thirty with a lunch in between. Usually consisting of an hour. After witch we are free to do as we please, but we are not permitted to leave the fire station unless we left as a truck. I studied, worked out, ate and went to sleep till seven a.m. roll call. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, but rewarding
Aircraft Maintainer (Current Employee), Hill AFB, UTApril 21, 2014
Being a member of the Air Force requires sacrifice, but provides many rewards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiences with great people
Biomedical Equipment Technician (Former Employee), Offutt AFB, NEApril 20, 2014
Pros: great travel and education opportunities, great people
Cons: deployments away from family
The job had it's ups and downs but there were a lot of lessons to be learned about the job, the military, and being a BMET. It fostered a great environment for gaining more knowledge and skills for the career field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Foorce
RF TECH. (Former Employee), lasvegas , NVApril 20, 2014
Pros: good pay, good health care, able to travel
Cons: loong days, short, nights, stress, and not able to see family as much
The Air Force is a good carrier for people that may not know what they want to do or be right out of high school and can create a life for people In need while at the same time supporting the country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aim High!
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS (Current Employee), Hampton, VAApril 20, 2014
I am a life-long military professional. The Air Force is a huge organization and every locations will be different. The Air Force expects Integrity, Service Before Self and Excellence in Everything you Do. As such, the leadership, management and work life balance varies from assignment to assignment. You can expect high expectations and there is a clear – more... path for advancement if you follow that path. Overall it is a good good, but also requires full committment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging yet rewarding career field
Database Base Manager/Maintenance Analyst (Former Employee), Hurlburt Field AFB, TXApril 20, 2014
As a database manager, I was responsible for the upkeep of a system that housed information for over 80 different type of aircraft valued at over $15.5 billion. I was responsible for anything from a password reset to locking down the entire system no matter if it were day or night.

As an aircraft analyst, I provided logistical support for supervision – more... to base their missions on. Using extreme attention to detail and statistics, I would use algorithms to determine which aircraft needed improvement and what section of the aircraft posing the weakness.

As a Staff Sergeant, I was an immediate supervisor to personnel in my office. I was responsible for ensuring that: all training was current, ensuring that workflow was uninterrupted and counseling subordinates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding
Superintendent (Current Employee), Holloman AFB, NMApril 20, 2014
I've served in the military for 25 years and thoroughly enjoy coming to work every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Force Life
AGE FLIGHT CHIEF (Current Employee), Langley, VAApril 19, 2014
Typical day in AGE is 0700-1600 with a 1 hour lunch and two 15 minute breaks. 24 hour maintenance support M-F with rotational weekend duty. Great vacation benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unlimited Opportunity
NCO, Client Systems Administrator, Program Manager (Former Employee), New MexicoApril 19, 2014
This can be one of the most rewarding jobs yet you have to be willing to pursue your own opportunity and paths all while remaining flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Force
Air Traffic Controller (Current Employee), Nellis AFB, NVApril 19, 2014
Pros: stability
Cons: moving often
I learned to be disciplined and hard working. I learned how to effectively manage other people and their work habits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits a lot of work
Staff Sergeant (Current Employee), Warner Robins, GAApril 19, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: gone a lot
I loved the military, but it is very hard on a family. I've found myself overseas more than being at home. I learned a lot about mechanics, diesel, hvac, hydraulics, etc..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just like any other Customer Servce job just different uniform
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Wrightstown, NJApril 19, 2014
Work days were varied at most. Some days, the office would be packed with people and others would be dead silent. I learned how to use other Mircosoft programs other than Word (ex: Excel, Powerpoint.) I would consider my coworkers like a second family since most of us lived on base. At work, we all got along and worked together to get jobs done. The – more... hardest and most enjoyable part of the job was the customers. Basically, how they came to you could make or break your day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reserves
Police Officer (Current Employee), McGuire AFB, NJApril 19, 2014
Reserve Squadron where you do one weekend a month two weeks a year
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greates job on earth
F-16/MQ-1L Predator Avionics Specialist (Former Employee), Nellis AFB, NVApril 18, 2014
Pros: respect, hard work pays off, dedication, integrity
Cons: leaving the military behind when discharged, long deployments
Respectable job position. What is better than serving your contry and doing your best to keep the world safe. Loved serving two tours in Iraq.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours with the best benefits in the world!
Production Superintendent (Current Employee), Honolulu, HIApril 18, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: on-call 24/7/365
A typical day is just like a non-military job but with long hours.
Learned almost anything under the sun.
Micromanagement at its best.
Co-workers are some of the best friends I will ever have.
Hardest part is that you are on-call 24/7/365.
The travel and benefits are unmatched by any other company on the planet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAF;not for everyone.
KM (Current Employee), Dover DEApril 18, 2014
Pros: honor, service, training, benefits
Cons: long days, almost no breaks, constant change.
Some days are hard, some days are really hard, but the people are usually good people. Leadership needs work on communication between each other and their members, but it does keep things interesting. Serving your country is an honor that I think all able body Americans should experience, at least just to understand what protects their freedom.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more