Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
6,278 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to start a career
Technical Advisor/Special Projects Lead (Former Employee), Numerous locationsDecember 14, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: it's a government organization
I enjoyed my time in the Air Force. I worked with some amazing people and had some opportunities that I could not have ever imagined. That said, there is a lot of bureaucracy and sometimes you just feel like a fish in a large pond. Because it's a government organization, there are a lot of ridiculous requirements and inefficiencies that can drive you – more... crazy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working in the Air Force
Senior Airman (Former Employee), Las Vegas NV, Ghedi ItalyDecember 14, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: where you are sent is not entirely up to you
Had amazing opportunites to travel! For the most part I had great leaders but there are a few I'd rather not have worked with. The money was good and they really care about your home life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Senior Au=irman (Former Employee), Goldsboro, NCDecember 13, 2014
I worked with, and lead, some of the best people i have met to date. Through the good and bad, our team always delivered the best quality while following the Tech. data given. While in the Air Force I have learned a tremendous amount. Our career field covered Sheet metal fabrication, hazardous waste management, and corrosion control (paint). Though – more... what i have learned can be applied to many different careers, while I was active duty I specialized in F-15's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am all Air Force - loved every minute.
Commissary Store Control Clerk (Former Employee), Charleston, SCDecember 13, 2014
Pros: challenging but very rewarding.
Cons: none.
Writing up instructions for operating Automated Commissary Operations Systems.

I learned to operate the Accounting and Communications System, and the National Cash Register computers.

All my co-workers were a pleasure to work for and with.

The hardest part was trying correct an error when someone keyed in the wrong item.

When everything balanced – more... with the Accounting and Finance records – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Craftsman Technician (Former Employee), Fairfield, CADecember 13, 2014
I got to see the work and get first hand training on job skills that I could use the rest of my life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good experience and enjoyed traveling different place in the world. Good place to start out on your own in the world.
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee), U. S. Guam, Alaska, and ItalyDecember 13, 2014
Pros: pay, new challenges. traveling, 30 days vacation a year, and promotions
Cons: being stationed away from your family from time to time.
I was stationed at many different Air Force Bases in the world. I was in the Administrative career field and worked in many different administration offices. Primary responsibilities were to oversee the operations of the offices I was assigned to. These duties included the in and out processing of personnel, processing and reviewing incoming and outgoing – more... correspondence, and overseeing supervision of personnel of the office. I enjoyed the traveling and meeting new people all over the world. Retiring after 23 years of service was difficult. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USAF
Vehicle Maintenance Production Supervisor (Current Employee), MacDill AFB, FLDecember 13, 2014
Great people, great environment for the most part. Its the military, so expect a lot of stress, high pressure time sensitive situations and time away from the family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintain basewide computer system/network
IT Support Tech (Former Employee), Point mugo, CADecember 13, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: distance from residence
I supported and implemented basewide computer support. It may be a short stint but it gave me a good way of understanding the US Airforce Reserve,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't beat the benefits
Resource Management Flight Commander (Current Employee), Lompoc, CADecember 13, 2014
You wont find better healthcare coverage. Long hours expected but chance to incorporate ideas and innovation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Wheel & Tire Journeyman (Current Employee), Charleston AFB, SCDecember 12, 2014
great work,awesome benefits and awesome people
hard work ethic and great environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for a transitional job
Security Officer (Former Employee), Hampton, VADecember 11, 2014
Pros: it's a federal job, ample vacation time
Cons: it's a temp position
Relegated to the duties of an E1-E3. Very monotonous duties. Little in the way of promotions or raises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Force
Security Patrolman (Current Employee), Clovis, NMDecember 11, 2014
I loved the Air Force, gave them everything for 10 years. Train hard, work hard, play hard, its hard work but someone has to do it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job ever
Maintenance Mechanic and Clerk (Former Employee), March AFB, CADecember 11, 2014
Pros: free benefits for life for my self and family
Cons: always away from family
Learned different skills, knowledge and abilities. Received free educations and trainings. Visited many places around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Personnel Manager (Former Employee), Buckley AFB, CODecember 11, 2014
Limited resources, but the ultimate take-away was I was able to truly help so many in need. That part was extremely rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome career with lots of training
Structural Craftsman (Former Employee), Minot AFB, NDDecember 11, 2014
Good opportunity to see the world and get an education at the same time!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A multi-faceted career with many benefits other than just monetary
Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Maxwell AFB, ALDecember 10, 2014
Pros: paid college tuition, benefits, healthcare
Cons: physical demands, reduction in forces... had initially planned on retiring from the military
A typical day in my career field could be anything from paperwork and data entry, driving forklifts and 40 ft tractor-trailers to participating as a member of the base honor guard team performing military funerals all over Alabama or posting the Colors on the pitchers mound at Atlanta Braves baseball games for pre-game ceremonies. I learned so many – more... things such as being a member of a great brotherhood/sisterhood. I was even afforded opportunities to train some of my supervisors even though they outranked me because I had the skills of on-the-job experience. The hardest part of the job was the physical demands placed upon me. The most enjoyable part of the job was paying respects to our nations flag and to family of deceased service members and veterans. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but diverse in experience
health services management (Former Employee), Whiteman AFB, MODecember 10, 2014
Pros: guaranteed paycheck and benefits, lunch guaranteed for the most part, most supervisors understanding of life circumstances
Cons: no break, stressful at times, no opportunities for a second job, hard to advance
My days at work were good for the most part. I dealt with the healthcare of pilots and their families so at times people were a little bit pushy but we did our best within reason to accommodate their needs. My coworkers were awesome and easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job was trying to scrub new patients medical records all while constantly – more... dealing with patients urgent acute medical needs due to being undermanned the majority of my job which caused inflexibility a lot of the time. The best part of the job was working with and getting to build relationships with many others within the military community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
PMEL Technician (Former Employee), world wideDecember 10, 2014
Got some great experiences here, excellent benefits, pay not very good, had lots of fun in the Air Force, I recommend everyone to join a branch of the service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FIRE PROTECTION
FIRE PROTECTION (Former Employee), Davis-Monthan AFB, AZDecember 10, 2014
Pros: the job
Cons: always working
Great job great benefits , whats not to like about it helping people and driving crash trucks. Its a brotherhood no other job like it in the world everyday is different. Some stations work 24 on 24 off shifts with a kelly day every other week.Some work 48 on 72 off just depends on the station.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress higher rewards active life style!
Aircraft Maintenance (Former Employee), Holloman AFB NMDecember 9, 2014
Pros: they make you the best at what you do
Cons: its only as good as you make it
I loved the Air Force, gave them everything for 10 years, do to an unwelcome life event i am no longer able to serve and that hurts. But i would do it all over again. Train hard, work hard, play hard, its hard work but someone has to do it. Some days you think "why am i hear" and the next you launch an F-16 with full munitions and see it come back empty, – more... brings a tear of joy to your eye. – less

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more