Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,445 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duties in the Air Force
Team Chief (Current Employee), Honolulu, HIAugust 13, 2014
Pros: challenging work material and exciting work environment
Cons: difficulties with joint command
My typical day consists of reviewing daily reporting and directing further analysis and reporting. I attend weekly collection management meetings and ensure that analysis and reporting are making full use of the information that is collected.

On a monthly basis I conduct in depth training with analysts from across the organization and Pacific Command.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging,
Infrastructure superintendent (Former Employee), CaliforniaAugust 13, 2014
Pros: deployments
Cons: benefits, retirement
U.S. Air Force provided me the opportunities to excel. Challenged my abilities to perform to my outmost potentials. Provided all necessary trainings necessary to perform my duties and responsibilities. It gave me the opportunities to travel around the world, worked alongside with people with different ethnic and racial background. The hardest part of – more... the job was deployment to Iraq and be away with my family. The most enjoyable part of the job was traveling in different part of the world and meet other people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Works pays off
Agency Program Coordinator and Records Manager (Former Employee), Shaw AFB, SCAugust 13, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: deployments
Work was always a new and exciting challenge. Even though the work was the same there was something to always look forward to when dealing with customers. Whether it be incoming drop-offs, performance reports or drug urinalysis it was always rewarding to help people out. The management was flexible when it came to letting problems be sorted out at the – more... lower level before stepping in. Co-workers were always willing to help and we had a very cohesive unit where ever i was stationed. The hardest part of the job was deployments and being away from family. The most enjoyable part of the job was people working together to get the job accomplished. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Foundation
United States Air Force Security Forces (Current Employee), Goldsboro, NCAugust 13, 2014
The Air Force taught me a lot about how to excel. It showed me that event though the mission is important, the people that make it happen are just as important.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Career with opportunities for personal growth.
Cryptologic Linguist (Former Employee), Fort Gordon, GAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: leadership training, free education, growth opportunities
Cons: constant fear of loss of benefits, downsizing, political interference.
Most of my previous job was classified, but on a general day to day basis I had the opportunity to learn something new. The demand was high and the pace was incredibly fast but at the end of the day I left feeling as though I had pushed myself to a new level and expanded my capabilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace was extremely productive and the break room did actually have a ping pong table
PMEL Journeyman (Former Employee), Luke AFB, AZAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great benefits, breaks, base access to gyms and cafeteria, free housing, great management, and a great work environment
Cons: cluttered with politics and useless time wasting when it came to wing management visiting.
Typical day: Arrive at work at 7, get the morning briefing and review the current state of the lab to delegate that days task to the airmen and nco's. Get into the lab around 7:15 and begin calibrating or continue a calibration from the previous day. At 11 we got an hour lunch break. continue to calibrate until 3:30 (1530) at which point go to PT and – more... exercise.

What I learned: The military taught me how to be a professional in everything I do and hold myself to a higher standard, not to cut any corners and that quality will be around much longer than I am. I became very well trained in the calibration and dealings of electronic equipment, understanding components and how they interact with eachother, the laws and principles of electronics as well.

Management was always on point, the flight chief and technical manager were always very well aware of what was going on in the lab and how everything was running with the airmen and supervisors and were quick to efficiently handle any situations as they came alone all while keeping the morale high.

Co-workers were amazing, kept the environment relaxed yet productive. Keeping a professional relationship with eachother in the work place and being good friends when we're at home.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with all of the politics of being in the military, the dog and pony show that started whenever the squadron commander was stopping in for a tour, to brief us, or to give an airmen a new decoration or announce an achievement. All work and production would come to a halt so we could clean the lab from top to bottom to get it ready for one person to be there for 5 minutes than leave.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the morale of the flight, every once in a while, usually once a month, everyone would get together for some paintball, or a hike, or we'd have a barbecue on our lunch break. It was like a family and everyone looked out and took care of eachother, there was never a problem I had that I couldn't take to a supervisor or another airmen and they'd give me all the help I could ever need on getting that problem solved whether it was with work or my personal life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough at times, easy at times, had to be flexible and adapt to constant change.
Vehicle Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Tyndall AFB, FLAugust 13, 2014
The toughest part where the years spent away from family due to deployments. Initially I had a me-first attitude however that quickly changed once realizing its a team effort, no one individual can do everything on their own. Once I became part of a team and had that mentality the job became much easier and after progressing and moving on to supervisory – more... roles it was much easier to instill that type of environment onto others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to learn and grow
Y.A.R.S-Airman (Current Employee), Youngstown, OHAugust 13, 2014
Pros: new learning experience
Cons: money sucks
its a reserve base it feels good to get away from your civilian life and experience things you normally wouldn't.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Senior Airman (Current Employee), Grand Forks, NDAugust 13, 2014
The military allowed me the opportunity to learn a trade and skills that would have otherwise taken me many years to master in the civilian world. I would recommend this job to anyone interested in it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and always changing
Vehicle Fleet Quality Assurance Inspector (Current Employee), Dover AFB, DEAugust 13, 2014
Different challenges daily, often multi-tasking to get different tasks completed within a strict time frame.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace and with a ping pong table
Structural Journeyman (Former Employee), Clovis, NMAugust 13, 2014
Pros: being in the military and having great benefits
Our shop was more like a family. We got along great, worked together well, and took time to know each other's strengths and weaknesses so we could be more productive. I learned many different skills from the people that I encountered and from the job that I had. I learned how to weld, do wood work, metal work, locksmith, work on doors and different – more... structures and their issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplaces, with awesome people
Superintendent, Deployment & Distribution (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 12, 2014
The Air Force has taught me great job, leadership and management skills. I've met some of the best people and lifelong friends while serving along side my peers and subordinates. Sometimes the hardest part of the job were the long hours, but as long as you have a good team, the long hours worked, did not matter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Medical Technician/EMT-B (Former Employee), Tinker AFB, OKAugust 12, 2014
Its the military... just saying. You are property of Uncle Sam
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Opportunities
Functional Manager (Current Employee), Andrews AFB, MDAugust 12, 2014
Pros: professional growth
Cons: limited to your own abilities and initiative
Professionally developing leaders to accomplish any functional or personal task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Information Manager (Former Employee), MSAugust 12, 2014
Go to college even if you have to borrow the money. It is a much better decision. The rewards are much better pay off in the long run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits
Propulsion Flight Chief (Former Employee), Marysville, CAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: travel, education benefits, medical
Cons: n/a
If you like to work hard, travel this is the job for you. The Air Force offers you job training, and the ability to obtain certifications for your job as well as an undergraduate or graduate degrees using the Air Force tuition assisstance program. Managment is great, promotional and job opportunities are available. The hardest part of the job was deployments – more... in austere locations. The best part of the job all the benifits I just mentioned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad at start, turn for the worse towards end of my career.
Air Transportation Craftsman (Former Employee), Charleston AFB, SCAugust 12, 2014
Pros: medical, dental, pay
Cons: deployments, micro managing, no say in opinion, yes sir attitude
Co-workers were great. Deployments were getting out of hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and proactive place to work
Airman (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 12, 2014
Great place to work. There really is no typical day. Everyday brought something new for me to work for and I grew as a person. The management is exactly how you would expect it to be in the military. Co workers were a huge part of my day to day life in. They made the time worth while. Hardest part was not being able to see family. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was the fact that I was serving my country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Radar and Communication Technician (Former Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 12, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: life style
Great place to start life for a young man. Great place to gain experience for life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get to meet new people to learn from
IT Project Manager, Shop Supervisor (Current Employee), Barksdale AFB, LAAugust 12, 2014
The Air Force changes with the times and you are constantly getting training to keep up.

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more