Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,477 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and eager to learn
Vehicle Maintenance Craftsman (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 11, 2014
Very productive person able to multi-task. Working in the Air Force is great and it was a wonderful expereince.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
E-5 Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant (Former Employee), WYApril 11, 2014
Good out of high school occupation; worked in hospital administration in Germany and Wyoming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Enlisted Accessions Military Program Manager (Current Employee), Universal City TexasApril 11, 2014
Great place to work. Helping the military complete the mission of this country!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
HVAC/R Technician NCO (Former Employee), Beale AFB, CAApril 11, 2014
Learned something new everyday. Always a job to be done, NEVER A DULL MOMENT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workforce
administrative assistant (Former Employee), McChord AFB, WAApril 11, 2014
Pros: job security, free medical, free dental.
Cons: getting deployed overseas during the holidays
During a typical day I worked with my supervisor and her supervisor amongst many customers approaching the personnel counter. I answered telephone calls, created orders, filed paperwork, managed supervisor yearly reports, did data entry, and did mail runs for the squadron, commander, and commander's secretary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got to travle all over the world and loved my job.
Egress Systems Apprentice (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 11, 2014
Pros: great benefits and free housing.
Cons: having to be away from family
I loved getting up each morning and getting on my uniform and looking good for everyone to see. I liked knowing what I done would save a life if they had to use what I worked on. I really enjoyed my co workers cause we all felt like family. The hardest part of my job was having to say goodbye to another solider when they woiuld have to go to another – more... duty station to do their job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Nutritional Medicine (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 11, 2014
A typical day at work involved setting up and preparing for the day, making sure everything was stocked and ready to go. We would make the patient trays as they were ordered. The hardest part of the job, I would say would be the hours. We worked shift schedules so one week we would work 5am to 1pm the next week we would work 10am to 7pm. It was a hard – more... schedule to work around with my family. The most enjoyable part of my job was getting to interact with the patients, especially the little ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful constant work-load
Client Systems Technician (Former Employee), Ellsworth AFB, SDApril 11, 2014
Pros: very standardized procedures.
Cons: it's the military.
The average day would start with a team meeting, going over tickets\work orders and assinging them. Throughout the rest of the day it would be working on what you were assigned. Mostly consisting of setting up a new printer, troubleshooting MS Office, installing new software or re-imaging a PC for a new user. The end of the day would be going over what – more... was accomplished and what was not, and why. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to gain knowledge and experience
Aerospace Maintenance Craftsmen (Current Employee), McGuire AFB, NJApril 11, 2014
Pros: world and cultural experiances
Cons: time spent seperated from family
I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in the United States Air Force. I have gain a tremendous amount of knowledge and experience. I have also loved the travel opportunities. I have lived and visited all over the world in 12 years. That is also the hardest part of the job, the numerous deployments causing me to be separated from my family is always stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Followed dreams lead to great careers.
Assistant Dedicated Crew Chief (Former Employee), Tinker AFB OklahomaApril 11, 2014
The USAF has built the foundation for my career. I Joined out of high school and plan on serving in the Air national guard up until I am eligible for retirement. Srving in the US military have been te most enjoyable part of my life. The friendship of each person that I served with will last a lifetime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job but service commitment is up
Aerospace Propulsion System Supervisor (Current Employee), Davis Monthan AFB Tucson,AZApril 10, 2014
My schedule was Monday - Friday 730-430. A typical day in this position included writing annual employee reviews, drafting award packages, handling disciplinary issues, compiling and reporting an array of statistics to commanders, leadership and government agencies, performing standard office duties such as printing, faxing, scanning, copying and using – more... Microsoft programs extensively. Management was the best part to me. I loved leading individuals and helping them model and shape their futures in the work force. The hardest part of the job was fulfilling all of the military's demands with personal desires such as school. This opportunity gave me so much that I am grateful for and will carry with me for the rest of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Dental Assistant (Former Employee), all over the worldApril 10, 2014
Pros: customer service
Cons: different personalities clashing
typical day at work was seeing 8-10 patients a day. I have learned a lot over the years of doing dental. My most enjoyable part was my patients, they make everything better. You never know whose day you will make. No one ever likes going to the dentist, but it made my day knowing that i made their visit enjoyable, hardest part of any job i believe is – more... getting used to all the different types of people and their personalities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment, always keeping me on my toes.
Security Forces Member (Former Employee), Spangdahlem GermanyApril 10, 2014
Working for the military was a one of the greatest decisions I have made. And it will be very hard to find a job close to how amazing that job was.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics Management
Logistics Management (Former Employee), Andrews AFBApril 10, 2014
Pros: stabilty
Plans and direct the timely execution of program activities through a subordinate staff to include; planning work assignments and schedules for subordinates; assigning work to be performed based on the priorities of assignments and the skills and capabilities of staff; evaluating the performance of subordinates; providing advice and guidance to employees – more... on technical and administrative issues; resolving complaints from subordinates; effecting minor disciplinary measures; identifying and addressing the training and developmental needs of staff; and approving/rejecting leave request. Plans and conducts experimental analyses that result in new design guidelines, and have a profound effect on program or mission capabilities and/or operating procedures. Develops new methods and techniques to address novel or obscure problems for which guidelines or precedents are not substantially applicable. Documents and reports study results to management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MIlitary
EXECUTIVE ACTION OFFICER / CHIEF OF STAFF (Former Employee), Bossier City, LAApril 10, 2014
Its the military...a wide range of duties with varied leadership and work environments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DEFENDING THE WORLD
Master Sergeant (Former Employee), VariousApril 10, 2014
Pros: promotions are easy if you study
Cons: lots of favortism
Protecting the freedom that so many take for granted. Must be willing to leave your family for long periods of time to protect others at a moments notice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
EMT (Current Employee), Minot AFBApril 10, 2014
Enjoyed it while I was enlisted. I am moving on to better opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work and raise a family within
Alarm Monitor / Dispatcher (Former Employee), Vandenberg AFB, CAApril 10, 2014
Pros: best benefit package amongst all jobs
Cons: longer hours without overtime possibilities
A typical day at work differs all depending on your job or career choice

I learned the value of service before self, commitment to excellence, and Integrity

Co-workers came from all walks of life and are a pleasure to get to know while in the career field

The hardest part of the job may be the time spent in combat zones away from family, or working – more... long hours

The most enjoyable part is reuniting with family and friends after long periods away or helping others though any possible avenues – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
NCOIC; Technical Information Liaison (Current Employee), KoreaApril 9, 2014
Serving in the USAF was a great experience that helped me grow to be the person I am today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Opportunity
Aircraft Metals Technology Craftsman (Current Employee), Abilene, TXApril 9, 2014
The Air Force has given me tremendous leadership skills and a very good job skill.

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more