Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,608 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wrong company Should be MSC Industrail Supply
Account Executive (Former Employee), Fort Worth TXSeptember 5, 2014
For some reason this web-site loaded US Air Force.

Good company with lots of potential. Magment tends to take negiitive approch to managing sales force.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding mission
Staff Officer (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 5, 2014
The Air Force allows you to serve something larger than yourself. While doing so, you partake in a rewarding mission, working with outstanding people and you get to experience unique opportunities and see parts of the world you'd never see otherwise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Regional Human Resource Manager (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 5, 2014
During my 20 year career, I found it the most rewarding place to work at. I have met some amazing people and traveled the world. The Air Force taught me valuable leadership and management skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and Professional Organization
Knowledge Operations (Current Employee), MultipleSeptember 5, 2014
- Your opportunity to serve your country in a demanding yet rewarding profession

- Invaluable skills gained through training and certification

- Mission driven objectives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various level of military/Air Force activities
Information/Personnel Manager (Former Employee), Travis and Beale AFB, CASeptember 5, 2014
Senior manager for Air Force activities at various levels. Managed and supervised military work sites and personnel. Serviced as Civilian Personnel Manager in oversea locations. Supervisor both military personnel, civilian employees and local national overseas. Responsible for Information Technology programs and base level Administration and Documentation – more... programs. Responsible for the management of base-level publications, regulations and programs. Managed military personnel programs within support, maintenance and operations units. In charge of personnel programs, i.e., retention, reenlistment, retraining, training, personnel management, disciplinary/military justice system, morale and recreation programs. Served as Superintendent of Operations for the Defense Courier program at Travis AFB. Planned and managed all activities concerning the movement of military, and federal and state government classified systems, material and documention. Responsible for Senior and Junior couriers assigned to various activities throughout the Western Region. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flight line officer
Security Specialist (Former Employee), Fairchild AFB, WASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: medical was great
Cons: called in at any time
⦁ Maintained 100% accountability of all assigned equipment worth more than $1,000,000,000
⦁ Reviewed disciplinary and others adverse actions and made recondition
⦁ Maintained security of the local areas and performed routine clearance for visiting high-ranking officials
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work good group of people
Building Maintenance Carpenter (Former Employee), Wpafb, OHSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: good healthcare benefits. retiredment pland. saveing plands
Cons: can't thank of any cons.
Come in to work and great your co workers. You start with a meeting and received work orders. Go check your truck out for safety and maintenance. Do what the work order is for. Go meet your customer to see what the job is. Go to supply to get parts you need for the work order. Repaired what is needed. Some days we have a hot job and every worker is – more... on it. We have training on some days. The hardest part is trying to find the person that put the work order in. Some jobs you need help and finding supplies. The best part is getting to meet other people trying new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love being a flight nurse
Major, Flight Nurse (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 4, 2014
This job is the best in the Air Force! By combining the difficulties faced by complex patients and the fact that we are flying at 35,000 feet requires extensive critical thinking and time management skills. it can be hard work, requires long hours and time away from my family but I wouldn't trade this job for anything
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with a purpose
Assistant Director Aircraft Engine Repair Facility (Former Employee), Hurlburt Field, FLSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: benefits, camaraderie
Cons: long hours, travel far from home and family
There is a sense of duty and purpose ingrained into your daily routine when you know that if you aren't successful warheads won't be put on foreheads. Seeing the results of what you've done played at least some part of a major news story time and again gives a certain satisfaction that you've done your duty and can sleep at night. Not every job in the – more... USAF is so close to the "fight" but they all play a part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good place
Assistant Propulsion Flight Chief (Former Employee), Robins AFB, GASeptember 4, 2014
I spent over two decades here. I believe that states well enough how I felt about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job with mentoring opportunities
Space Battle Management Duty Technician (Current Employee), Vandenberg AFB, CASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: great leadership position w/tie into vault national systems community
Cons: location and proximity: can't leave jspoc while on shift, this includes working in a small proximity work environment.
My typical day of work has its challenges with priorities and responsibilities (as a Space Battle Management Duty Tech), anywhere from space launch support, satellite tracking, updating the ISS, or accommodating laser range operations to name a few.
Management is very structured in enlisted tier there as Space Systems Operations is extremely officer – more... heavy and otherwise negates some enlisted management opportunities. Enlisted are generally technicians more than managers due to the numbers of officers.
Co-workers on the JSpOC floor are nice, young, energetic, and eager to get the mission done type of folks. They are definitely another breed of people that I've experienced before as a LE cop in the AF.
The hardest part of my job would be situational depending on unforeseen events taking place. For instance, if my position has trouble tracking a priority satellite, or problems with laser range operations.
The most enjoyable part of this job is probably the satisfaction associated with knowing how important the Space Battle Manager job is to the Space Situational Awareness and the Intelligence communities (including those who directly work on the floor with this position). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Volunteer (Former Employee), Italy, TXSeptember 4, 2014
Discipline and integrity were learned as well as warehousing strategies and survival skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration and Safety Procedures
Cargo Agent (Former Employee), Hill AFB, UTSeptember 3, 2014
I performed weekend Administrative duties in making sure that all Air Force Reserve documents and files were in compliance with Air Force standards. I would perform weekend safety inspections in the local Aircraft Hangers to make sure that there were no safety violations. My interaction with fellow Airman and Officers was always professional--and I – more... learned that respect and Integrity are driving forces in a successful organization. The least enjoyable aspect of my position was in getting behind in paperwork. The most enjoyable part of my position was in interaction with fellow Airman/Officers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The military was fastest way to grow.
Aircraft Structural Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Warner Robins, GASeptember 3, 2014
Pros: i'm a veteran with veteran benefits.
Cons: the military is tough, but maybe that is a good thing.
A typical work day in the Air Force is not very typical for an aircraft structural maintenance technician. One day you could be prepping and painting a plane. The next day you could be repairing an advance composite laminate in the shop. Another day or months you could be on a temporary duty assignment, half way around the world in Japan.

There was – more... plenty of work in the Air Force. Glad I did it, though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An honorable job
Air Traffic Controller Apprentice (Former Employee), Keesler AFB, MSSeptember 3, 2014
The U.S. Air Force gave me knowledge and skills that I will use forever. As and Air Traffic Controller I was able to obtain skills above and beyond the average worker.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 year career
Quality Assurance (QA) Superintendent (Former Employee), McGuire AFB, NJSeptember 3, 2014
For 24 years fixing aircraft was my specialty. As with most jobs the higher you climb up the ladder the further you get pulled away from the job you love most. SO....over the past 8 years I have held numerous supervisory positions that have kept me close to the action. I have had the pleasure of working with the finest men and woman this big blue marble – more... has to offer, and it's been a great ride, no complaints. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A world wide adventure
Electronic Warfare Specialist (Former Employee), U.S.A, S. Korea, GermanySeptember 3, 2014
Pros: the relationships you make
Cons: stressful in wartime
There are no typical "work days", there is always something new to learn due to cross training. If you have nothing to do (rare) you go help another specialty on the flight line to better expand your knowledge of the war fighting capabilities of your aircraft. Teamwork and the ability to troubleshoot complex system wide issues. You can never know everything – more... but if you know how to trouble shoot correctly, you can always get there. They say what to do, you do it. Some great people can be found there, also some not so great people. Stress is the hardest part of the job. My primary job entailed making sure that the systems that protect the plane from being shot down worked. My planes were in harms way everyday for 4 years. You get to travel and be exposed to different cultures. Made life long friends and got in-depth with some wonderful technology. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Services Specialist (Current Employee), SwatonSeptember 3, 2014
Productive place to work. I've learned to become a leader. GReat learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Force athletics is a great group of people
Game Day Promotions Intern (Former Employee), Colorado Springs ColoradoSeptember 3, 2014
The Air force academy athletic team taught me a lot about college athletics. I was able to participate in all game day needs and really see how they worked with partners.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You make it waht you make it!
Recruiter (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: benefits, travel, advancement, training, satisfaction
Cons: some leaders, force reduction
I busted my hump and earned everything I got throughout my time. I did do some crazy things and had a lot of fun and miss a lot of people. My typical days varied since I covered everything from logistics, purchasing and recruiting. My co-workers were ones that I know I could lean on in a pinch and know someone had my back regardless how they felt about – more... the situation. Leadership and management had their days but for the most part you learn from good and bad leaders and hone your own skills to improve yourself and the airman. The hardest part of my job was keeping my mouth closed and not saying something when I knew the process could have been done better. Most enjoyable was meeting so many people throughout all branches of service and seeing all the places around the world. In the end the I learned was expand my horizons in education, skills and improving myself. Spending more time with my family and never forget where you come from! – less

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more