Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,122 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work and train.
SUPERVISOR Logistics Management Specialist, (Former Employee), Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickam, HIJune 30, 2014
I love working in the United States Air Force, one of the best experience in life and I wouldn't change it for anything. I work 12 hour shifts, 4 days on and 3 days off. I would report to work at 0530PM and work until 0600 am. I have learned how to get the mission done and work with all different types of people, from different countries. The hardest – more... part of the job was the long hours and being called in on your time off to work or for meetings. The most enjoyable part of the job was bonding with your co-workers and seeing that all the new workers were trained and ready to take on the mission. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job
Flight Chief (Current Employee), Little Rock AFBJune 30, 2014
Same as flight chief
Loved the job
Great people
Nothing was hard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiences with numerous learning opportunities
RF Transmission System Supervisor (Current Employee), Biloxi, MSJune 30, 2014
The Air Force has been a fantastic experience for myself. I have enjoyed learning and have been given the opportunity to grow as a leader.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attempting to do more with less Air Force wide.
Hydraulic System Craftsman (Former Employee), KansasJune 30, 2014
Pros: benefits, core values
Cons: work ethic, leadership vision
In my personal experience, the work environment was toxic and the job satisfaction was non-existent. Unmotivated co-workers along with trainees and first term Airmen who are lazy and have no desire to work led to a desire to terminate employment with the Air Force. Management were inefficient at administrating corrective actions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Police Officer
Okay to contact this Supervisor (Former Employee), Bossier City, LAJune 30, 2014
Pros: community involvement
Cons: long hours, no family time
The typical day being a police officer involved taking charge of a vehicle, and patrolling the base. I would respond to calls and assist other officers if they needed assistance. Also, I would involve myself with community assistance to help keep the peace in the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience!
Aircraft Armament Systems Technician, 2W131E (Former Employee), RAF LakenheathJune 30, 2014
Pros: benefits and job security
Cons: rank beats knowledge
Load/unload bombs, missiles and rocket propellant devices. Repair/inspect bomb racks, launchers and pylons for F-15E jets.
I learned a wide variety of mechanical, engineering and electrical skills. The other Airmen were great people. Management was always there helping if needed. The hardest part of the job for me was being stationed clear across the – more... world so far away from family. The most enjoyable part of the job was the traveling and meeting new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to work
Mechanic (Former Employee), Edwards Air Force Base, Mojave, CaliforniaJune 30, 2014
Pros: great work hours, great benefits
Cons: location, middle of the desert (death valley)
Get to work and start on PM's. Continue Pm's throughout the day in your personal work space with your own tool box an laptop assigned. I learned a lot about so much but much was just refreshing my knowledge from 20 years in the navy. Management was bent on Air Force and discounting all other services. No hard parts that I recall. Co-workers were all – more... brother in arms an the commodity shared was invaluable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Air Force
Vehicle Operator (Current Employee), Spokane, WAJune 30, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: deployments
Great job, Starting from nothing to something is a great way to go. The Deployment are becoming too much for me and my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, great training
Power Production Craftsman (Current Employee), Tucson, AZJune 29, 2014
Pros: extended weekends/time off, family-oriented, time off for appointments
Cons: too much "micro-management" and "good 'ol boy system" attributes.
overall I give it four stars because I feel there are areas for improvement. At least on the local base level of things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for training & education
Data Analyst (Former Employee), Peterson AFB, CO / Air Force Space CommandJune 29, 2014
I learned:
Computer System support & IT
Website Content Manager
Space Systems Operations
Mission Planner
Space Situational Awareness
Orbital Analyst
Logistics
Military readiness operations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding place to work
Senior-level Manager/Supervisor (Current Employee), US Air Force, Colorado Springs, CoJune 29, 2014
Hold current U.S. Government Top Secret/SCI security clearance. Astute, results-focused professional offering more than twenty years of comprehensive leadership experience and exceptional knowledge, skills, and abilities in the following areas: operational and emergency planning, disaster preparedness/emergency response program administration, information – more... security, communications security, logistics management, public health and safety, education and training, field training/instruction, staff development/leadership, and personnel administration. Ability to apply critical judgment and the rules of reason to develop the hypotheses necessary to explain the facts. Strong analytical ability and skills in data collection, problem solving, program management, and program development. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Military
Jet Engine Propulsion Specialist (Former Employee), Misawa Air BaseJune 29, 2014
I learned a necessity of teachings and skills from the military. During my time I traveled and met plenty of interesting and dependable people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Fuels Distribution Supervisor (Current Employee), MacDill AFB, FLJune 29, 2014
It is a phenomenal workplace and great place to expand your horizons
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED IT
Contract Specialist (Former Employee), Dayton, OHJune 29, 2014
See my review on WPAFB. The Air Force rocks.

I would go back to the base in a heartbeat!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, high tempo and enjoyable environment
Security Forces Member (Current Employee), Currently stationed at Creech AFB, NevadaJune 28, 2014
Pros: great health insurance and medical benefits
Cons: always on call
Truly enjoyed my time in the United States Air FOrce. Allowed me to see the world, experience different cultures in different countries and learn many new traits. Placed me in positions to manage programs, supervise people and work with all different types of personalities and personal issues. While the job was a great experience it did keep me away – more... from my family a lot and at times the hours were a burden on my family life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Sheet Metal Mechanic (Former Employee), Edwards AFB, CAJune 28, 2014
This was great opportunity to work with great people and serve this great country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable environment, but lack of growth opportunities
Budget Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 28, 2014
Working for the government during tight financial times leads to lack of employee growth opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly work environment
ALARM MONITOR/BASE DEFENSE OPERATIONS CENTER (Current Employee), Hurlburt Field, FLJune 27, 2014
Pros: healthcare, traveled the world
Cons: dangerous situations
No such thing as a typical day in the Air Force. I learned that I can handle more than I thought in life and can make split sec decisions in a life threatening situation. Great camaraderie with coworkers it was like everyone was part of a big family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this work
Youth Development Professional (Former Employee), Elmendorf AFB, AKJune 27, 2014
Working to help develop kids and teens in a positive direction is always a positive experience. Working in part with the USAF was also great because they had larger budgets than other non-profits, better benefits and all the families and youth were working together towards a goal and ideal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive environment with oppertunites to advance
Equipment Control Officer (Former Employee), TXJune 27, 2014
Pros: great benefits, hour lunches, friendly environment
Cons: na
I been in the military for seven years and throughout that time frame the work has always been steady. The work environment maintains a well balance of strictness and determination to complete the task at hand, The people is a mixture of all races working together as one for the same common goal. There are many opportunities to advance and to become – more... a supervisor within a few short years. – less

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more