Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,645 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding Career with Benefits
Departmental Manager- Japan (Former Employee), Yokota Air Base, Fussa-Shi, JapanSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: long hours
With dwindling benefits and the doing more with less attitude the Air Force is not what it used to be. Demand for productivity continually becomes more pressure filled. However, for the self-motivated individual making a career in the US Air Force is definitely the place for you.
As with anything military service requires separation from your family – more... for many times months on end. This can be very discouraging and rewarding at the same time. Mission accomplishment is the key. Set your eye on the prize and it's the most rewarding career in the world. Personally I loved my time and would do it all over again if asked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable employment with great benifits
Section Supervisor (Current Employee), Charleston, SCSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: depends on what you make of the af what the cons are.
I was given a free education and shown places of the world that I never would have known existed. I grew personally from being around so many people. I grew professionally by taking advantage of all the opportunities afforded me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producive workplace
Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee), Kirtland AFB, NMSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: learning a new career
I am a seasoned aircraft technician strong in ensuring the safety and coordinating maintenance for 67 aircraft that has resulted in revenue savings of over 2.39 billion dollars for the United States Air Force over the past 6 years. During the last 6 years, I have been expanding my knowledge of aircraft maintenance and flight line procedures through – more... different positions held. My responsibilities included:
• Troubleshoot, repair, and service aircraft and engine systems.
• Performing FOD, Intake and exhaust, and maintenance inspections on T56 turbo prop engines.
• Preflight/thru flight/basic post flight and FOD inspections on the aircraft.
• Conducting face-to-face debriefs/discrepancies with customer flight crew.
• Launch, recover, jack, tow, and moor, lube/clean, repair interior/exterior of aircraft surfaces and service aircraft systems.
• Direct and coordinate all flight line maintenance actions of four Aircraft Maintenance Units.
• Completed courses in Principals of Management, Public Speaking, technical training directed towards aircraft engines, hydraulics, fuel, hazardous waste, and rigging systems.

Serving in the United States Air Force, some key procedures I have learned are; how to successfully lead safe flight line practices, tool accountability, Foreign Object Damage prevention, and proper disposal of hazardous materials. I enjoy aircraft maintenance, and will further pursue that career field. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
HVAC Service Tech (Former Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 7, 2014
I enjoyed the time and days I worked with United States Air Force. I found that I learned a lot about my self after joining the military. I was taught self discipline that will be a very great trait to have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work
Fuels Front Line Technical Supervisor (Current Employee), Rapid City, SDSeptember 7, 2014
Military Veteran looking for an equally stimulating career as I make the transition from the United States Air Force. I have fifteen years of experience as a front line technical operations supervisor, with comprehensive knowledge in fuels storage, transfer, issue and accounting of petroleum products. I have performed dual roles, with extra duties such – more... as facility manager, environmental coordinator, equipment manager, supply purchasing controller and safety officer for the Air Force Fuels Management team. I am knowledgeable in Occupational Safety and Health Administration regulations, Environmental Protection Agency policies, and federal regulations in regard to industrial and vehicle maintenance facilities. Furthermore, I compiled 10+ years of controller experience with Fuels Manager Defense and Fuels Manager Operate (fuels storage automatic tank gauging system) and gained adept knowledge of windows based computer systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family-oriented workplace
Student Researcher (Former Employee), WPAFB, OHSeptember 7, 2014
Working at the base was an amazing experience. It was my first time working in an engineering field and it was opposite of what I expected. I expected everyone to be all into their research and not be sociable. On the contrary, everyone was into their research and very nice. They are always asking how things were going in your personal life and if you – more... needed help they were always offering a hand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but rewarding work of keeping aircraft in the air
C-130 Crew Chief (Former Employee), Fort Walton Beach, FLSeptember 7, 2014
Job is hands on. Work culture is good. Crew members you work with varies but overall the job is what you make it out to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
face paced never boring
Avionics technician (Former Employee), Tucson, AZSeptember 7, 2014
I was avionics so the job wasn't an easy task. out on the flight line in the heat working on jets day after day can and will take its toll on you, but to be able to look back and see one of the jets you repair fly off into the sunset or into battle and then come back the same way she left, and to also have the respect and the appreciation of people. – more... It gives you that sense of accomplishment that you cant get anywhere else – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience, camaraderie, and very beneficial.
Aerospace Maintenance Journeyman (Former Employee), Jacksonville, ARSeptember 6, 2014
Strenuous, but necessary labor. Gained knowledge on preventative aircraft maintenance. I matured as a worker and learned the importance of working w/ others and obeying your superiors w/ respect. The hardest part of the job was remembering not to take work home w/ you. The most enjoyable part was the certifications and education I was introduced to – more... during my career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once in a lifetime opportunity
Forecaster & Regional Manager (Former Employee), South KoreaSeptember 6, 2014
Pillars of success

Integrity First...
Service Before Self...
Excellence in all I do...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self Discipline and Attention to Detail
B-1 Bomber Lancer Crew Chief (Former Employee), Ellsworth AFB, South DakotaSeptember 6, 2014
A day at work all starts when the squadron you work for asigns you, your own aircraft. For Four years i had the same Aircraft and knew everyinch of the aircraft. Once you recieved turn over , you start your maintenance actions to get your aircraft to fly that day. There were occaionally enough people to recieve help from other crew chiefs but it was – more... very rare. The hardest part of my job was the severe ice and snow storms in -50 degree weather, wich made working outside very difficult. I enjoyed every aspect of my job. I love aviation and seeing my hard work and dedication, pay off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Experience
Department of Defense Courier (Current Employee), McChord AFB, WASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: the appreciation i felt for serving
Cons: inconsistent schedule
Nothing could have prepared me for the time I have spent in the military. I am appreciative for the skills they have given me, the many fields of study I have benefited from, to add the many KSAs I now have
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military SF
Security Forces (Former Employee), Portland, ORSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: excellent training
Cons: horrible politics
Was a Military cop, i don't really have have much i can say. Day to day was either air base defense or general cop duties. Learned tons about weapons systems, security, CCTV. At any given time i was in charge of anywhere from 2 to 65+ people. I Enjoyed my co-workers for the most part. The hardest part was dealing with all the politics being in the military – more... comes with. Most enjoyable part was all the traveling i did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Client Systems Manager (Current Employee), Hampton, VASeptember 5, 2014
I am ready to separate from the military. I appreciate the education I received, but I am ready to move on. This is a great organization and I recommend it to people that are willing to sacrifice a lot of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An honest profession and many benefits.
Airman First Class (Former Employee), Lackland Air Force BaseSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: medical coverage and va loans.
Cons: strict rules and relocation.
You learned to work with different people everyday as well as new duties and assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wrong company Should be MSC Industrail Supply
Account Executive (Former Employee), Fort Worth TXSeptember 5, 2014
For some reason this web-site loaded US Air Force.

Good company with lots of potential. Magment tends to take negiitive approch to managing sales force.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding mission
Staff Officer (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 5, 2014
The Air Force allows you to serve something larger than yourself. While doing so, you partake in a rewarding mission, working with outstanding people and you get to experience unique opportunities and see parts of the world you'd never see otherwise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Regional Human Resource Manager (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 5, 2014
During my 20 year career, I found it the most rewarding place to work at. I have met some amazing people and traveled the world. The Air Force taught me valuable leadership and management skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and Professional Organization
Knowledge Operations (Current Employee), MultipleSeptember 5, 2014
- Your opportunity to serve your country in a demanding yet rewarding profession

- Invaluable skills gained through training and certification

- Mission driven objectives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various level of military/Air Force activities
Information/Personnel Manager (Former Employee), Travis and Beale AFB, CASeptember 5, 2014
Senior manager for Air Force activities at various levels. Managed and supervised military work sites and personnel. Serviced as Civilian Personnel Manager in oversea locations. Supervisor both military personnel, civilian employees and local national overseas. Responsible for Information Technology programs and base level Administration and Documentation – more... programs. Responsible for the management of base-level publications, regulations and programs. Managed military personnel programs within support, maintenance and operations units. In charge of personnel programs, i.e., retention, reenlistment, retraining, training, personnel management, disciplinary/military justice system, morale and recreation programs. Served as Superintendent of Operations for the Defense Courier program at Travis AFB. Planned and managed all activities concerning the movement of military, and federal and state government classified systems, material and documention. Responsible for Senior and Junior couriers assigned to various activities throughout the Western Region. – less

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more