Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,452 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Opportunities
Functional Manager (Current Employee), Andrews AFB, MDAugust 12, 2014
Pros: professional growth
Cons: limited to your own abilities and initiative
Professionally developing leaders to accomplish any functional or personal task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Information Manager (Former Employee), MSAugust 12, 2014
Go to college even if you have to borrow the money. It is a much better decision. The rewards are much better pay off in the long run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits
Propulsion Flight Chief (Former Employee), Marysville, CAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: travel, education benefits, medical
Cons: n/a
If you like to work hard, travel this is the job for you. The Air Force offers you job training, and the ability to obtain certifications for your job as well as an undergraduate or graduate degrees using the Air Force tuition assisstance program. Managment is great, promotional and job opportunities are available. The hardest part of the job was deployments – more... in austere locations. The best part of the job all the benifits I just mentioned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad at start, turn for the worse towards end of my career.
Air Transportation Craftsman (Former Employee), Charleston AFB, SCAugust 12, 2014
Pros: medical, dental, pay
Cons: deployments, micro managing, no say in opinion, yes sir attitude
Co-workers were great. Deployments were getting out of hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and proactive place to work
Airman (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 12, 2014
Great place to work. There really is no typical day. Everyday brought something new for me to work for and I grew as a person. The management is exactly how you would expect it to be in the military. Co workers were a huge part of my day to day life in. They made the time worth while. Hardest part was not being able to see family. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was the fact that I was serving my country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Radar and Communication Technician (Former Employee), Tampa, FLAugust 12, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: life style
Great place to start life for a young man. Great place to gain experience for life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get to meet new people to learn from
IT Project Manager, Shop Supervisor (Current Employee), Barksdale AFB, LAAugust 12, 2014
The Air Force changes with the times and you are constantly getting training to keep up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start
Aerospace Ground Equipment Technician (Current Employee), Tyndall AFB, FLAugust 12, 2014
The Air Force has provided me with a great start for not only me, but my families life as well. I loved the work and the feeling of accomplishment that comes with figuring out a difficult troubleshooting problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
927th Air Refueling Wing
Services (Former Employee), Mt. Clemens, MichiganAugust 12, 2014
Pros: protecting usa
Cons: should have moved to florida when they did in 2003
SUPERB Veterans serving America. Enjoyed the Airshows annually. While there was in the MIchigan Civil Air Patrol. Teaching kids to fly....AWESOME..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aircraft weapons maintenance
Aircraft Armament Systems Specialist (Former Employee), Tucson, AzAugust 11, 2014
Pros: serving my country
Cons: being away from your friends and family.
Maintain the weapons system on the aircraft, unload weapons, load weapons, and shop housekeeping. The management was very good. I was blessed to have very good co workers. The hardest part of the job was working until all the work was done which could be up to 16 hours from time to time. The most enjoyable part is to get to see the planes take off and – more... complete the missions they were ordered to do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
HVAC/R Technician (Former Employee), Montana, Afghanistan, Korea, IdahoAugust 11, 2014
A great place to work. Some drawbacks but that part of being in the military. Always had great co-workers and a change in scenery was never far around the corner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding career
Pavement & Construction Equipment Manager (Current Employee), Minot AFB, NDAugust 11, 2014
Pros: bennefits, people
Cons: lots
You get out what you put in to it. work hard play hard. it takes a commitment to join
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel options
Fire Protection Crew Chief (Former Employee), Rapid City, SDAugust 11, 2014
8 years with this company was a wonderful experience and is completely family oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and diverse team of professional who care not only about completing the mission but also about the people.
Master Resilience Training Program Director (Current Employee), Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, New JerseyAugust 11, 2014
Pros: diverse team, family feel, ability to grow
Cons: lack of solid direction
Provides direction and oversight over the resilience training program throughout the Air Force and to leaders of active duty, Air Reserve Component personnel. Conducts curriculum development using lesson plans, visual aids, visual presentations and student workbooks; administers and analyzes tests and validates interactive training products in accordance – more... with Instructional System Design principles. Oversees and conducts classroom instruction of over 400 Master Resilience Trainers annually encompassing the entire subject area of resilience. Coordinates, manages, and conducts mobile training teams (MTT) which entails some TDYs (30 days annually). Manages USAF Master Resilience Trainer SharePoint site. Performs courseware analysis after each course. Manages the online MRT Preparation Training WBT. Knowledgeable in all resilience and core family matters programs applicable to material being presented. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The perfect life, if you're the right person.
Transport Logicstics (Former Employee), Fairfield, CAAugust 11, 2014
The military takes people from all walks, so it's pretty impossible to sum up the entire range of possibility. You might have insanely micro-managing bosses, or really helpful laid-back bosses. You might work with some of the most amazing people you've ever met, or you might work with brain-dead scumbags. I was once told that the military is really – more... a microcosmic representation of the rest of the world - and that's very true.
If you get the right job, at the right place, at the right time, then you've got it made, though. The pay, promotion, and other benefits all add up to a pretty good career, if you can take what you've been given. If you're a family person, though, things can get pretty tough, as the military owns you, and your family comes in second place to any national concerns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A chance to serve my country .
Material Facilities Specialist E-4 (Former Employee), Pease AFB. Portsmouth , New HampshireAugust 11, 2014
This where I grew from teenager into man. Learned to develop my self discipline and work ethic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Great Opportunity to Serve and Protect our Country
Superintendent (Current Employee), Honolulu, HIAugust 11, 2014
Pros: professionalism and skills gained from being in the usaf
Cons: transitions can be somewhat difficult at times
Valuable and Challenging Opportunity to serve the United States of America.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doing More with Less
Military Pay Technician (Current Employee), Washington, D.C.August 10, 2014
Pros: people, somewhat job security, tricare+++, training, retirement+++
Cons: work life balance
Military as a whole is making drastic cuts to manning and resources. A huge burden is being felt by everyone who is still in service. 60+ hour weeks are becoming the new normal. Work/Life balance is declining. The comradery and the people you share experiences with are great and make up for most of the negatives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
take pride in what you do and try your best
hydraulic aircraft mechanic (Former Employee), mcchord afbAugust 10, 2014
Pros: retiment, insurance, and good traing
Cons: lots of time away from family and alawys working outside
a typical day at work was get there check out tools and get turn over from the shift before you. from there you work the jobs you have turned over wich could involve troubleshooting problems on the aircraft then fixing the problem wich could be anything from the tires to the actuators on the tail of the plane. then you take time for the jobs you completed – more... order parts tool acountabilty a bit of eveything.
i have learned alot but the biggest thing i learned is be aware of your surroundings safty has been a large area of importance to the military you wanna make sure and all your co-workers make it home thats the #1 thing at the end of the day
i have had my chance to train my fellow airmen as well i have been to train the trainer classes in the airforce to assure my proficiency at being able to train people at a high level.
the worst part of the job was deployments having to be away from my family for months at a time that takes a toll on most people but i managed it and after all it was done i think it makes you mentally tougher.
the best part of the job has to be the comrodery with your co-workers and just having a sense of accomplishment when you know you have done all you can that day and you know you worked your hardest a sense of pride in that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Medical Acquisitions & Contracts Manager (Former Employee), Eglin AFB, FLAugust 10, 2014
free healthcare, education, and job security. Hours are sometimes long and location requires world-wide involvement

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more