Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,109 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disassemble, trooubleshoot, assemble and test aircraft/ engines
Production Team Chief (Current Employee), Tucson, AZJune 26, 2014
My primary job is a Production Supervisor. I ensure all maintenance actions are done properly by the technical data. My job consists of disassembly, inspections, assembly, troubleshooting, and testing aircraft engines and systems. I also ensure the safety of the work area. I have learned how to manage production with over 30 maintenance personnel. The – more... most enjoyable part about my job is completing the task. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding experience and honor to serve my country
Tactical Aircraft Maintenance (Former Employee), 8 different basesJune 26, 2014
The United States Air Force will teach you life skills that would be almost impossible to attain in a civilian career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start a career
Media Relations Specialist (Former Employee), Peterson Air Force BaseJune 26, 2014
Pros: great people, great places, good money
Cons: red tape
The AF provides a lot of essential training and support but is not sustainable for a long term career minded individual.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great military
Vehicle Management Analyst Journeyman (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJune 26, 2014
Very fast paced office, wonderful co-workers, Long days, steady changing management team, loved serving my country
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience but sometimes the management doesn't do what we are taught.
Technical Sergeant (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJune 26, 2014
The Air Force is just like any civilian job with the work schedule. I would go to work and then come back home. The training was excellent. I loved going to other countries and experiencing different cultures. The hardest part about the job was being away from the family for long extended periods of time. I learned my military job, which is, air transportation – more... and business management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enlisted in the US Air Force
Application Developer (Former Employee), Randolph AFB, TXJune 26, 2014
Active duty military as a computer programmer.
Required deployments and service commitment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
air force review
FMT/HICS Team Chief (Former Employee), F E Warren AFB, WYJune 26, 2014
Pros: salary, job security, benefits, 30days per year paid leave, job experience
Cons: rules and regulations, long hours, demanding work load
The U.S. Air Force provided a challenging work environment that demanded long hours and 24/7 dedication to the mission. However, they do allow for ample time off more than most employers can offer and are understanding when it comes to personal issues. They strive to better both their Airman and Family. While serving you can learn a vast amount of skills – more... from Leadership and Supervisory skills to OJT related to your career field. Some of the hardest things for me while serving were the long hours and strictly enforced rules and regulation. All in all at the end of the day you have a great sense of accomplishment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and spacious work areas
Hydraulic Systems Craftsman (Former Employee), Cannon AFB, Clovis NMJune 26, 2014
Pros: 30 days paid vacation a year
Cons: short to no breaks given and shops undermanned
Launch/recover and repair aircraft
Fully qualified on C-130 cargo aircraft Hydraulic, Electrical and Engine systems
Hardest part of the job was dealing with the constant deployment rotation
Enjoyed working on the aircraft and seeing the end result when the planes took off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Good Working Atmosphere, Great People
Staff Sergeant FSS (Former Employee), Davis-Monthan AFB Tucson, AZJune 26, 2014
Pros: healthcare, job security, advancement
Cons: time away from home
Working in the Air Force is a 24/7 job
Peers and Subordinates were great
There was a clean cut guideline for everything you do and an expectation for what was to be accomplished
Mission Requirements were easy to achieve and maintain
Time away from home was hard to deal with and overcome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Air Force
Operations Officer (Current Employee), Holloman AFB, NMJune 26, 2014
Military Service providing Air and Space Defense for the United States of America.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best and worst experiances you can undergo.
Facility Systems Manager (Current Employee), Patrick Afb, FLJune 26, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: deployments (depends), constant micro managing
Upper management can really make or break you depending on where you are stationed. You learn more life experiances through the military then you could have ever imagined.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding opportunities and environment for personal and professional growth and development.
Chief, Inspector General Support Branch (Former Employee), Randolph AFB, TXJune 25, 2014
I'm a recently retired Lt Col and career Air Force Personnel Officer with active-duty service from 1991 to 2014. The Air Force's core values of Integrity First, Service Before Self, and Excellence In All We Do shaped my professional and personal life. I've had the opportunity to hold positions at tactical, operational, and strategic levels and loved – more... every one of them. The toughest part of serving is the "sacrifice" that must be made--not just by those in uniform, but by our families. By the same token, the "sacrifice" is a large part of what defines our dedication to duty and commitment to the preservation of freedom. Knowing you are part of something bigger than yourself and giving back as a patriot to our nation is the the greatest part of being an American Airmen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to see travel the world and server your counrty.
Inspections (Current Employee), Mountain Home AFB, IdahoJune 25, 2014
In my current position we are on a m-f schedule from 7:30am-4:30pm. Of course being in the military we are really on duty 24/7.
My office is in charge of inspecting our corporations effectiveness, quality and timeliness of work. We also plan and conduct readiness exercises to assess the ability to react to large scale events such as a aircraft crash, – more... active shooter event, wildfire or other natural disasters. In addition we evaluate the response to simulated military attacks such as chemical,biological, radiological and nuclear. All results are backed against a set standard, graded and documented into official reports that are sent to higher headquarters. The most tedious part of the job is the preparation. The most enjoyable is the amount of personal interaction we have with outside agencies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Structural Lead/Supervisor (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 25, 2014
Challenging but at the same time is rewarding. The diversity is quit an experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Electro-Environmental Systems Specialist (Former Employee), Clovis, NMJune 25, 2014
liked people
nice working hours
nice environment
helpful technicians
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mostly an ok enviroment to work at.
Aircraft sheet metal mechanic (Current Employee), oklahomaJune 25, 2014
mostly a good place to work wide range of jobs to do so you never get bored. has good benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Air Force
Response Force Leader (Current Employee), Kunsan, KoreaJune 25, 2014
Pros: traveled a lot, networking, great on-the-job training
Cons: long hours, dangerous at times
On a usual day I would arm up, go to guard mount where we would be informed of any pass ons that were given by the flight that was working. After I would post out and patrol the whole installation and provide security over personnel and assets vital to the base. I was privileged to learn how to interact with the base populous in a professional manner, – more... how to respond to incidents varying from DUI's, domestic violations to simple alarm activations. There really wasn't a hard part in my day to day operations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive days, extensive training, and decent hours.
Senior Cyber Operations Analyst (Former Employee), Hickam AFB, HIJune 24, 2014
Pros: great benefits, and great people.
Cons: stressfull.
A typical day starts with a morning meeting to determine where we needed to focus our efforts to complete the days workload. From there we would break off and form teams to successfully complete the days tasks (analyzing data, customer service, briefing, report generation, and general office maintenance).

It was here that i was thoroughly trained on – more... MS Word, Excel,Power Point, and Office.
How to properly manage an operations floor, direct subordinates, train others, and how to be an effective part of the team.

The hardest part of the job was the constant testing the was required to remain current on our mandatory training.

The most enjoyable was the travel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and compensation
Helpdesk Systems Manager (Current Employee), Hampton, VAJune 24, 2014
Pros: bah/bas, healthcare, travel
Cons: jobs are inconsistent, not stable
The AF has given me the opportunity to do things normal people may not have the ability to do for free such as travel, medical benefits, BAH/BAS. The culture is also one that is seen as a family which is important for the younger people who move away from their family at a young age and also when have to leave your immediate family for a long period – more... of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Aircraft Maintenance Specialist (Former Employee), IDJune 24, 2014
Very hard, but satisfying work
Loved protecting my country
Would do it again if I could

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more