Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,504 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics Management
Logistics Management (Former Employee), Andrews AFBApril 10, 2014
Pros: stabilty
Plans and direct the timely execution of program activities through a subordinate staff to include; planning work assignments and schedules for subordinates; assigning work to be performed based on the priorities of assignments and the skills and capabilities of staff; evaluating the performance of subordinates; providing advice and guidance to employees – more... on technical and administrative issues; resolving complaints from subordinates; effecting minor disciplinary measures; identifying and addressing the training and developmental needs of staff; and approving/rejecting leave request. Plans and conducts experimental analyses that result in new design guidelines, and have a profound effect on program or mission capabilities and/or operating procedures. Develops new methods and techniques to address novel or obscure problems for which guidelines or precedents are not substantially applicable. Documents and reports study results to management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MIlitary
EXECUTIVE ACTION OFFICER / CHIEF OF STAFF (Former Employee), Bossier City, LAApril 10, 2014
Its the military...a wide range of duties with varied leadership and work environments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DEFENDING THE WORLD
Master Sergeant (Former Employee), VariousApril 10, 2014
Pros: promotions are easy if you study
Cons: lots of favortism
Protecting the freedom that so many take for granted. Must be willing to leave your family for long periods of time to protect others at a moments notice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
EMT (Current Employee), Minot AFBApril 10, 2014
Enjoyed it while I was enlisted. I am moving on to better opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work and raise a family within
Alarm Monitor / Dispatcher (Former Employee), Vandenberg AFB, CAApril 10, 2014
Pros: best benefit package amongst all jobs
Cons: longer hours without overtime possibilities
A typical day at work differs all depending on your job or career choice

I learned the value of service before self, commitment to excellence, and Integrity

Co-workers came from all walks of life and are a pleasure to get to know while in the career field

The hardest part of the job may be the time spent in combat zones away from family, or working – more... long hours

The most enjoyable part is reuniting with family and friends after long periods away or helping others though any possible avenues – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
NCOIC; Technical Information Liaison (Current Employee), KoreaApril 9, 2014
Serving in the USAF was a great experience that helped me grow to be the person I am today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Opportunity
Aircraft Metals Technology Craftsman (Current Employee), Abilene, TXApril 9, 2014
The Air Force has given me tremendous leadership skills and a very good job skill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, better locations
Senior Weapons Controller (Current Employee), Fairchild AFB, WAApril 9, 2014
Pros: health care, steady pay, great opportunites for advancement
Cons: little to no choice where you live or are sent.
I loved my time in the military for all intensive purposes. I liked living in different parts of the country and met my wife in the military. I enjoyed being challenged on a day to day basis with difficult maintenance problems that sometimes required little to no resources to solve effectively.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the Military yrs ago.. But as all good things.. they come to an end.
Load Crew Member (Former Employee), Hill AFB, UTApril 9, 2014
F-16 Armament Weapons Crew Member
Responsible for maintaining and installing bombs, rockets, guns and gun accessories.
Used electrical circuitry skills to identify faulty wiring
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very social and a exciting job
Logistics Coordinator (Current Employee), Bellevue, NEApril 9, 2014
There has not been a day that goes by that your not briefing someone of a high position. The best part of the job is problem solving. There are always problems that pop out of no where and you have to solve them fast and in a smart way. I like to be able to think on my toes and find a solution. I love to train people. We are always training people how – more... to do the job. I like to feed them all the information I know to make them better at their job. I enjoy talking to people and helping people out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with wonderful people
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 9, 2014
A wonderful way to pay for college and travel the world. Had the opportunity to meet a lot of people and experience other parts of the world, all while working and having fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Knowledge Operations Manager (Former Employee), Scott AFB, ILApril 9, 2014
Pros: great job, nice people
Cons: physical training
a typical day would start with me going to Group PT out on the field. we would then go back home for 30 min to get dressed in our uniform then go to work. i went to p9 which was the Help desk for the base. i would go to morning meeting where we would be updated on what needed to be done, usually long term, and then go to my computer. i would log on – more... to a web site we used to put customers information in and would then wait for a call on one screen. the other screen i would be remote accessing someone on the bases computer and putting updates on them. management was difficult at times because we never had the same higher rank with us. it would change every so often. the hardest part of my day would be having to fix a software problem, as my specialty is hardware. the best part would be having people, majors for example, coming to me to fix their computers, printers, fax machines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
AVIONICS (Current Employee), hurlburt fieldApril 9, 2014
Great experiences while working for the Air Force, a very diverse environment allowing exposure to various cultures and ideals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
military
Instructor Rated Operator (Former Employee), Hurlburt Field, FLApril 9, 2014
twelve hour shifts, panama schedule, geospatial and full motion video training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding career
Maintenance Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Abilene, TXApril 9, 2014
Pros: experience, education, benefits
Cons: time away from family
I have had the opportunity to learn and perform various different duties within a very complex environment. I have been able to see different aspects of the service through my volunteer efforts. Furthermore, I have taken advantage of the benefits and services that comes with service within the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Deputy Director, AEF and Operations (Current Employee), Randolph AFB, TXApril 9, 2014
Led 220-person directorate responsible for AEF planning/execution critical to AF force presentation to generals downrange. Oversaw 4 divisions interfacing daily with Commanders, AFFORs, Air Staff, Major Commands and deployed commanders. Executed a $550K budget for training, education and production of multiple expeditionary programs overseeing $320K – more... in IT asset accounts. Created professional reports and metrics for “health of the force” used by generals, higher headquarters, Secretary of the Air Force and Congress – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Air force
Complete Engine Repair crewmember (Former Employee), Spandelam GermanyApril 9, 2014
Pros: using skills
Worked steady hours. Good hard work with the benefit of seeing final product. worked well with others, good environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Development Instructor Chief (Current Employee), Hill AFB, UTApril 9, 2014
Best experience of a lifetime. Provides you with a skillset you can use a lifetime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 20 Year experience
Production Superintendent/Weapons section Chief (Current Employee), Shaw, AFB, SCApril 9, 2014
All should join. It is a great place to learn how to manage and lead people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very time consuming
Air Force SSgt (Former Employee), Goldsboro, NCApril 9, 2014
Pros: health insurance
Cons: deployments away from family
I love serving my country. However, with upcoming pay cuts, and retention boards, I am interested in looking for a job outside of the military.

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more