Find companies:
U.S. Air Force
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,657 reviews

U.S. Air Force Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once in a lifetime opportunity
Forecaster & Regional Manager (Former Employee), South KoreaSeptember 6, 2014
Pillars of success

Integrity First...
Service Before Self...
Excellence in all I do...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self Discipline and Attention to Detail
B-1 Bomber Lancer Crew Chief (Former Employee), Ellsworth AFB, South DakotaSeptember 6, 2014
A day at work all starts when the squadron you work for asigns you, your own aircraft. For Four years i had the same Aircraft and knew everyinch of the aircraft. Once you recieved turn over , you start your maintenance actions to get your aircraft to fly that day. There were occaionally enough people to recieve help from other crew chiefs but it was – more... very rare. The hardest part of my job was the severe ice and snow storms in -50 degree weather, wich made working outside very difficult. I enjoyed every aspect of my job. I love aviation and seeing my hard work and dedication, pay off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Experience
Department of Defense Courier (Current Employee), McChord AFB, WASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: the appreciation i felt for serving
Cons: inconsistent schedule
Nothing could have prepared me for the time I have spent in the military. I am appreciative for the skills they have given me, the many fields of study I have benefited from, to add the many KSAs I now have
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military SF
Security Forces (Former Employee), Portland, ORSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: excellent training
Cons: horrible politics
Was a Military cop, i don't really have have much i can say. Day to day was either air base defense or general cop duties. Learned tons about weapons systems, security, CCTV. At any given time i was in charge of anywhere from 2 to 65+ people. I Enjoyed my co-workers for the most part. The hardest part was dealing with all the politics being in the military – more... comes with. Most enjoyable part was all the traveling i did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Client Systems Manager (Current Employee), Hampton, VASeptember 5, 2014
I am ready to separate from the military. I appreciate the education I received, but I am ready to move on. This is a great organization and I recommend it to people that are willing to sacrifice a lot of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An honest profession and many benefits.
Airman First Class (Former Employee), Lackland Air Force BaseSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: medical coverage and va loans.
Cons: strict rules and relocation.
You learned to work with different people everyday as well as new duties and assignments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wrong company Should be MSC Industrail Supply
Account Executive (Former Employee), Fort Worth TXSeptember 5, 2014
For some reason this web-site loaded US Air Force.

Good company with lots of potential. Magment tends to take negiitive approch to managing sales force.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding mission
Staff Officer (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 5, 2014
The Air Force allows you to serve something larger than yourself. While doing so, you partake in a rewarding mission, working with outstanding people and you get to experience unique opportunities and see parts of the world you'd never see otherwise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Regional Human Resource Manager (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 5, 2014
During my 20 year career, I found it the most rewarding place to work at. I have met some amazing people and traveled the world. The Air Force taught me valuable leadership and management skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and Professional Organization
Knowledge Operations (Current Employee), MultipleSeptember 5, 2014
- Your opportunity to serve your country in a demanding yet rewarding profession

- Invaluable skills gained through training and certification

- Mission driven objectives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various level of military/Air Force activities
Information/Personnel Manager (Former Employee), Travis and Beale AFB, CASeptember 5, 2014
Senior manager for Air Force activities at various levels. Managed and supervised military work sites and personnel. Serviced as Civilian Personnel Manager in oversea locations. Supervisor both military personnel, civilian employees and local national overseas. Responsible for Information Technology programs and base level Administration and Documentation – more... programs. Responsible for the management of base-level publications, regulations and programs. Managed military personnel programs within support, maintenance and operations units. In charge of personnel programs, i.e., retention, reenlistment, retraining, training, personnel management, disciplinary/military justice system, morale and recreation programs. Served as Superintendent of Operations for the Defense Courier program at Travis AFB. Planned and managed all activities concerning the movement of military, and federal and state government classified systems, material and documention. Responsible for Senior and Junior couriers assigned to various activities throughout the Western Region. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flight line officer
Security Specialist (Former Employee), Fairchild AFB, WASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: medical was great
Cons: called in at any time
⦁ Maintained 100% accountability of all assigned equipment worth more than $1,000,000,000
⦁ Reviewed disciplinary and others adverse actions and made recondition
⦁ Maintained security of the local areas and performed routine clearance for visiting high-ranking officials
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work good group of people
Building Maintenance Carpenter (Former Employee), Wpafb, OHSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: good healthcare benefits. retiredment pland. saveing plands
Cons: can't thank of any cons.
Come in to work and great your co workers. You start with a meeting and received work orders. Go check your truck out for safety and maintenance. Do what the work order is for. Go meet your customer to see what the job is. Go to supply to get parts you need for the work order. Repaired what is needed. Some days we have a hot job and every worker is – more... on it. We have training on some days. The hardest part is trying to find the person that put the work order in. Some jobs you need help and finding supplies. The best part is getting to meet other people trying new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love being a flight nurse
Major, Flight Nurse (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 4, 2014
This job is the best in the Air Force! By combining the difficulties faced by complex patients and the fact that we are flying at 35,000 feet requires extensive critical thinking and time management skills. it can be hard work, requires long hours and time away from my family but I wouldn't trade this job for anything
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with a purpose
Assistant Director Aircraft Engine Repair Facility (Former Employee), Hurlburt Field, FLSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: benefits, camaraderie
Cons: long hours, travel far from home and family
There is a sense of duty and purpose ingrained into your daily routine when you know that if you aren't successful warheads won't be put on foreheads. Seeing the results of what you've done played at least some part of a major news story time and again gives a certain satisfaction that you've done your duty and can sleep at night. Not every job in the – more... USAF is so close to the "fight" but they all play a part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good place
Assistant Propulsion Flight Chief (Former Employee), Robins AFB, GASeptember 4, 2014
I spent over two decades here. I believe that states well enough how I felt about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job with mentoring opportunities
Space Battle Management Duty Technician (Current Employee), Vandenberg AFB, CASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: great leadership position w/tie into vault national systems community
Cons: location and proximity: can't leave jspoc while on shift, this includes working in a small proximity work environment.
My typical day of work has its challenges with priorities and responsibilities (as a Space Battle Management Duty Tech), anywhere from space launch support, satellite tracking, updating the ISS, or accommodating laser range operations to name a few.
Management is very structured in enlisted tier there as Space Systems Operations is extremely officer – more... heavy and otherwise negates some enlisted management opportunities. Enlisted are generally technicians more than managers due to the numbers of officers.
Co-workers on the JSpOC floor are nice, young, energetic, and eager to get the mission done type of folks. They are definitely another breed of people that I've experienced before as a LE cop in the AF.
The hardest part of my job would be situational depending on unforeseen events taking place. For instance, if my position has trouble tracking a priority satellite, or problems with laser range operations.
The most enjoyable part of this job is probably the satisfaction associated with knowing how important the Space Battle Manager job is to the Space Situational Awareness and the Intelligence communities (including those who directly work on the floor with this position). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Volunteer (Former Employee), Italy, TXSeptember 4, 2014
Discipline and integrity were learned as well as warehousing strategies and survival skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration and Safety Procedures
Cargo Agent (Former Employee), Hill AFB, UTSeptember 3, 2014
I performed weekend Administrative duties in making sure that all Air Force Reserve documents and files were in compliance with Air Force standards. I would perform weekend safety inspections in the local Aircraft Hangers to make sure that there were no safety violations. My interaction with fellow Airman and Officers was always professional--and I – more... learned that respect and Integrity are driving forces in a successful organization. The least enjoyable aspect of my position was in getting behind in paperwork. The most enjoyable part of my position was in interaction with fellow Airman/Officers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The military was fastest way to grow.
Aircraft Structural Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Warner Robins, GASeptember 3, 2014
Pros: i'm a veteran with veteran benefits.
Cons: the military is tough, but maybe that is a good thing.
A typical work day in the Air Force is not very typical for an aircraft structural maintenance technician. One day you could be prepping and painting a plane. The next day you could be repairing an advance composite laminate in the shop. Another day or months you could be on a temporary duty assignment, half way around the world in Japan.

There was – more... plenty of work in the Air Force. Glad I did it, though. – less

About U.S. Air Force

The mission of the United States Air Force is to fly, fight and win...in air, space and cyberspace. To achieve that mission, the – Read more