U.S. Air Force Employee Reviews in United States

Found 10,990 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Security Forces Journeyman (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 11, 2016
I learned a lot about security and law enforcement. The job is very taxing on your body but co-workers made it easier to manage.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Fuels Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Travis AFB, CAJuly 11, 2016
Loved serving my country and would do it again! Great place to get good life experiences. Great family of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs in the world.
Utilities Foreman (Former Employee) –  Hurlburt Field, FLJuly 11, 2016
Dealt with all plumbing issues that arose at the base. Supervised 35 Airman and supported the Air Force mission.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work environment with a close knit unit.
Executive Officer (Former Employee) –  Dyess AFB, TXJuly 11, 2016
I enjoyed and had a good relationship with fellow soldier and civilians alike. I learned how to be a leader and help run an organization from both those above and below me in rank.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
COMMUNICATIONS SYSTEMS OPERATIONS APPRENTICE (Former Employee) –  Ellsworth AFB, SDJuly 11, 2016
I loved every minute I spent in the Air Force and wished I had stayed in. Great benefits you will have a hard time getting as a civilian. Paid for my college degrees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentors
Logistics Manager (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCJuly 10, 2016
While serving I have greatly benefited from having some outstanding mentors. In the Military teammates are needed to get the job done. the relationships that are build is invaluable.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 10, 2016
I learned so much working for the military, but management made it difficult to work with a family schedule. Morale was low at most facilities. The most enjoyable part of this job was knowing at the end of the day, you did a little more to serve your country than you did the day before.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Life & Career Training
Military Policeman (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJuly 10, 2016
The Air Force was my first position after High School. I learned discipline, leadership and life skills. It was great valuable experience.
Pros
Learned Skills, Development Opportunites, Disclipine and Integrity
Cons
Work Related Stress
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivated co-workers, long hours
Military Police (Former Employee) –  EverywhereJuly 10, 2016
Wake up early, head into guard mount. Once done head out to your post and direct traffic and check IDs. Highly motivated employees and great leadership.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low manned
Security For (Former Employee) –  Edwards AFB, CAJuly 9, 2016
Not enough people to do the job. Long hours, not paid enough. Like working for a corporation. Everyone is out for themselves. It's a dog eat dog. It's all about who can get promoted fastest.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job!
Senior Materials Manager (Current Employee) –  Eielson AFB, AKJuly 8, 2016
Join the AF...its amazing! Great pay and you are able to see the world. Quick promotions and excellent training opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Career Field
Aircraft Armament Journeyman (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 8, 2016
This career field provides working in a backshop working on specifc components, working on the flightline on the actual aircraft, and finally working in a weapons depot. Great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Family Oriented
Guidance and Control (Former Employee) –  Wichita KsJuly 8, 2016
A typical work day included working on KC-135s electronics systems including navigation systems and avionics, ordering parts, installing and updating software systems.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great career
Enlisted Airman (Current Employee) –  worldwideJuly 8, 2016
lots of hard work and time on the road, got to see the world. Good career oppourtunities...not for the faint of heart. Merica
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good experience
Information Manager (Current Employee) –  Warner Robins, GAJuly 7, 2016
Very great job and culture, they provide you excellent benefits and really take care of their people. I learned how to not only become a hard worker, but also how to lead employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More of a corporation than a military branch
Many (Former Employee) –  VariousJuly 7, 2016
A typical day at work was spent trying to appease higher supervision while they in turn look to displease subordinates. I learned that the culture that they try to impose on us is only valid until it comes time to actually summon the "one team, one fight" mindset, it's usually every man for themselves. The majority of people you work with will get along with you for the most part, but there's always a few members that you cannot wait to leave in the past. 75% of the time the Air Force was an enjoyable experience with a lot to offer, but that does leave a quarter of the percentage where you have to do some soul searching on how you feel about the branch.
Pros
Steady benefits, travel opportunities, promotion at your own pace
Cons
Dog & pony show
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
Unit Training Manager (Current Employee) –  Grand Forks AFB, NDJuly 7, 2016
It is a great place to see the world and get an education while serving your country. It will help teach a person structure and responsibility. Will turn young men into leaders.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome as first job out of High School
Cargo Handler / Military Training Instructor (Former Employee) –  Pacific Bases and Stateside BasesJuly 7, 2016
Traveled the world .
Opportunity to advance in the ranks .
Learned to speak with individuals on first meetings .
Learning to train others .
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very honorable to work for.
Financial Manager (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJuly 7, 2016
You meet great people and travel! It's a way of life that has stuck with me every since I left. Would definitely work for the AF again if given the chance.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning Enviroment
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee) –  Sumter South CarolinaJuly 7, 2016
0700-400pm
I have learned a tremendous amount of knowledge while working with the Air Force. I have been able to use the knowledge that I have learned to better myself as an individual and lead other to success as well.
Pros
Full Benefits, Roth TSP
Cons
Small office
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Air Force. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 11,583 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.6
Job Security/Advancement
4.5
Management
4.1
Culture
4.4