U.S. Army Reserve Employee Reviews

Found 4,483 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and productive experience
Bridge Crewmember (Current Employee) –  Barling, ARJuly 22, 2017
During training I learned many different pieces to 3 different bridges. I got to work with explosives as well I loved that part the most! But because of my height and weight I wasn't able to pick up some bridge pieces, they weighed too much for me, I still helped! The small things matter.
Pros
Helps you build communication skills etc.
Cons
Heavy Equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army Reserves
Unit Supply Specialist Technician (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJuly 21, 2017
A typical day at work.
What I learned?
Workplace Culture.
The hardest part of the job was boot camp.
The most enjoyable of the job was meeting new people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience overall
Signal Support Systems Specialist (25U) (Current Employee) –  Statham, GAJuly 21, 2017
I enjoy going to drill every month. Still being able to participate in Army life while still maintaining a civilian life is great. Coming in to the unit every month gives a great sense of purpose.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect if you don't want to join the military
Ammunition Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cross Lanes, WVJuly 20, 2017
Perfect if you don't want to join the military. You may literally get paid to sit on a couch and read magazines, or watch people take multiple attempts to put up a tent out of boredom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hooah
Senior Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 20, 2017
I enjoyed my time in the Reserves, we deployed to Egypt and El Salvador, each mission was to either build facilities for US troops or schools/medical facilities for the local population.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its the military
Military Police (Current Employee) –  PAJuly 20, 2017
its the military you should know what you are doing before you go in. if you arent sure if you should do it than dont waste everyone elses time while you are in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Review for the Army Reserve?
Psychological Operations Instructor (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJuly 20, 2017
Seriously? A review for the Reserves. I just need 150 characters so I can get past this useless job review process and get back to looking for jobs myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding
Military Policeman (Current Employee) –  New Kensington, PAJuly 20, 2017
The U.S. Army Reserve has definitely provided me with the necessary skills, attributes, determination, work ethic, and motivation to be successful in the civilian sector.
Pros
Physically demanding, ability to "keep sharp"
Cons
Uncertain drill days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I miss it
Dental Specialist (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJuly 19, 2017
It was very rewarding and I learned a lot.
I just wish I had joined as active duty.
the traveling to different prts of the country was most enjoyable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Career Paths
Team Leader for job 74D (Current Employee) –  Belton, MOJuly 19, 2017
Easy Career paths with easy promotion lanes
fast paced learning early in career really slows down as you get further along.
Management changes frequently
Others in unit(s) are the best part of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Automated Logistic Supervisor [Sergeant] (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 19, 2017
I had a great experience working the reserves, we had a staff with high morale, it really helped me shape myself as an individual. I highly recommend it if you're looking for a change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique Motivational Experience
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Joplin, MOJuly 19, 2017
I have gained a true family through my time in the military. I have learned things I never thought possible in my life time.
The skills and discipline the military has instilled in me is something I will never be able to repay fully.
Pros
Discipline and Routine
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purdy Group LLC
Senior Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fort Bragg, NCJuly 19, 2017
Working for this government contracting company has been a good experience. They are thoughtful and keeping current with technology and HR items. They offer 401K and other benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Us army instructor
Instructor/Writer (Current Employee) –  San Juan, PRJuly 19, 2017
Military instructors are former and current soldiers, recognized as skilled enough in their profession to teach new and veteran service members. These officers and NCOs bring their invaluable experience and knowledge to the learning process. Whether slogging through basic training with a pack of raw recruits or teaching prospective second lieutenants about the finer points of warfare, instructors are important and necessary fixtures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very beneficial for future career
Multichannel Systems Operator-Maintainer (Current Employee) –  Sterling, VAJuly 18, 2017
it has plenty of benefits in life, the army will teach you skills that no other profession can teach. you have the opportunity to learn yourself as well as you leadership ability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honors Coordinator
Military Honor Team Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ILJuly 18, 2017
Enter missions into TAPS data base. Communicate effectively with soldiers through text, calls and emails. Communicate with Funeral Homes and Casualty assistant centers to effectively get missions cover over Illinois, Wisconsin, and Minnesota.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but enjoyable
Chaplain Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicopee, MAJuly 18, 2017
Very demanding work on your weekends, however lots of time off and many chances to improve if someone doesnt have guidance in their life i would reccomend it.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
full time commitment for part time job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army
Military Police (Current Employee) –  Grafton, WVJuly 18, 2017
When activated you don't get to see your family for a year at a time. However you drill one a month on a weekend and two to four weeks a year usually in the summer. The environment and promotion is good and the benefits are amazing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no
Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 17, 2017
you are there two days a month and two weeks out of a year from early in the morning to late in the afternoon. It is a six year contract with an option for a bonus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Character building with great opportunity for advancement
Transportation Management Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 17, 2017
The USAR is a great branch of service with plenty of room for advancement and knowledgeable individuals.Also great benefits individuals and family. provides great technical and field training
Pros
Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Army Reserve. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 4,551 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.5
Management
4.2
Culture
4.4

CEO Approval

87%
880 ratings
Add your rating