Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13,615 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work that can pay off
Special Operations Crew Chief (Former Employee), JBLM, WAApril 17, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: lots of time on the road
A typical day at work was 14 hours. Hardly worth the salary that was received in comparison to working 14 hour days in other careers. The army teaches loyalty, professionalism, discipline, and respect to top it off. Your co workers are your brothers. You live more time with them than with your personal family at home. The hardest part of the job was – more... always saying goodbye. The most enjoyable part was being able to make a difference in so many lives. whether it was your own through personal growth or the little boy at the airfield who "really wanted to see the helicopter", it was very enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, unpredictable and productive work environment
25B Information Technology Specialist (Former Employee), CONUS and OCONUSApril 17, 2014
Pros: travel, benefits, experience
Cons: time away from home and loved ones, mass punishment
A typical day at work consisted of physical training at 0630 to 0745. 0900 work call til 1700 or later. Management could change at any time along with expectations and policies. My co-workers were very friendly and hard-working for the most part. The hardest part of the job is standing in formation for extended periods of time. The most enjoyable part – more... of my job was the ability to travel and meet all types of new people and I enjoyed serving as an Information Technology Specialist.I learned extensively time management, discipline, organization, cleanliness, and keeping myself presentable at all times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good advancement towards my future, excellent career choice for me to just have been graduating high school
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee), schofield HIApril 17, 2014
Pros: amazing benifits
Cons: short time to be spent with loved ones
LONG DAYS, I MET INTERESTING PEOPLE, AND I LEARNED THE IMPORTANCE OF PAYING ATTENTION TO DETAILS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Changing Experience
Power Generation Technician (Former Employee), Fort Stewart, GAApril 17, 2014
Challenging but worth every minute of it . Learned lots of life lessons
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training and experience
Staff Sergeant (Former Employee), Mesa, AZApril 17, 2014
•Supervise and train, as well as ensure welfare, morale, discipline and development of at least three subordinate soldiers.
•Maintain combat readiness of various equipment and weapons systems valued in excess of $150,000.
•Supervise Law and Order operations and processing as a Desk Sergeant in a combat environment.
•Provide mounted, dismounted and flight – more... physical security for VIP’s in a combat environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving the lifestyle
Motor Transport Operator (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 17, 2014
Pros: good team members, treating each other life family
Cons: once a month visits
Its hard to give a Review for this because Being Reserve you dont really see much. But i love being apart of the army , from training to know i have seen a lot about life and having a good team on my side i love being apart of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cook/Server
92G (Current Employee), Lacey, WAApril 17, 2014
a typical day was serving breakfast, and lunch. Co-workers were good to work with. The hardest part of the job was standing on your feet for over 10hrs a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional atmosphere
Field Artillery Cannon Crewmember (Former Employee), Fort Drum, NYApril 17, 2014
had a fun time working for the us army it was laid back I did 2 tours in Afghanistan
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult Employer
EMERGENCY CARE SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Fort Carson, COApril 17, 2014
There is parts of the army that I love, others not so much. I did my four years with them as a combat medic and I learned a lot of very powerful things but none of the information at all was transferable to the civilian world due to budget restraints.,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Member
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYApril 17, 2014
Pros: working within a team
Cons: less personal time
“Infantryman,” covers a fairly broad category, encompassing several definitions, and a plethora of responsibilities. On a day to day basis having the ability to give and follow orders is a daily task, giving the experience to work with men and women. From working around schedules to planning out schedules for the week ahead, I was familiar with the – more... men around me. Able to keep track of things going on around me the goal was to know your team as well as individual members. I had to be direct with key tasks and able to be flexible and able to adapt to any change that could occur at a moments notice. Being in the Service gave me a better outlook on things as well as having the sound judgment of interpersonal skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace.
cannon crew member (Former Employee), Killeen, TXApril 17, 2014
I did training course that transforms civilians into Soldiers. Over the course of ten weeks these recruits learn about the Seven Core Army Values, how to work together as a team and what it takes to succeed as a Soldier in the U.S. Army.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel the World!
Automated Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Lee, VAApril 17, 2014
Pros: free living and food
Cons: long work hours
I loved being able to travel to other countries and meet new people. I met my husband in the Army! I would do it all again in a heart beat. Being in the military has given me a sense of pride I never felt before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another day
Civil Affairs Non-Commissioned Officer (Current Employee), Fort Carson, COApril 17, 2014
Pros: commraderie
Cons: long hours
Most days as a Reservist, have a variety of tasks included from physical training to weapons maintenance and PowerPoint presentations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lessons Learned from my time in the United States Army
Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYApril 17, 2014
Allow me to first point out that this is my personal opinion, and I am, in no uncertain terms, a spokesperson for the US Army or any unit or element within the organization. My career in the Army was a catalyst to my ambitions. I enlisted with three specific goals: 1. Attain the rank of Sergeant; 2. Start and Finish an Associates Degree; 3. Successfully – more... complete a deployment to a cobat zone. Every goal was met with diligence and dedication. Through the Army I received top of the line training and equipment. I was able to be a part of tasks one could only dream of. I am proud to have served in the United States Army/ – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best decision I have made in my life.
LPN Student (Current Employee), Fort Gordon GaApril 17, 2014
wake up is usually 4am and work day ends around 6-6:30. I have learned how many different tasks ranging from personal courage to knowing how to save someones life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Unity Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Ft. Lewis, WaApril 17, 2014
The Army is great for a few things:
Discipline
Physical Fitness
Job experience
Travel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is definitely what you make of it
Sergeant (Former Employee), World wideApril 17, 2014
Pros: overal great life experience
Cons: long deployments and training away from home
I would say my experiences in the US Army were more positive than negative. The truth is that the military is what you make of it. In my experience I enrolled in as many specialty schools as I could and sought after every opportunity for promotion. I have spent much of my time in the military as a team leader or a squad leader managing anywhere from – more... 2-30 individuals at any one time. In addition to managing them, I was responsible for their individual counseling and professional development. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This experience opened up a lot of un-tapped potential about myself and my leadership abilities that I didn't realize I had.
Recovery Supervisor (Former Employee), Afghanistan & Fort Carson, COApril 17, 2014
Pros: well structured work.
Cons: too much time away from my family.
This is only a 2 year segment of my 11 years of active duty that I performed. This was the pivotal moment of my career where I was entrusted with the most responsibility. I loved it, it drove me to always want to do better not only for myself and my employees but also the organization that we were all working for. It took a lot of personnel management – more... as my employees were spread out to different locations and tasks and missions were ever compiling. I definitely fine tuned my team leading skills during this time. My team and I constructed a small building from the ground up with 2 x 4's, ply wood, insulation and corrugated steel. Aside from that we set a shelter up for our welding operations. Everyday we would process our work orders that other soldiers had requested for us to either repair or construct using the stock piles of metal that we had. We repaired, maintained and troubleshoot and deficiencies with our 10 ton Wreckers that we had. We used our vehicles to rescue stranded equipment stuck in hazards or the remains of an explosion. We have saved a few vehicles that were on the verge of rolling over with vehicle occupants trapped inside. Our team was highly awarded for its operation. I was in charge of our fleet of vehicles and supervised all the operations and took full responsibility for all my employees actions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provided a fun work enviorment while completing task
Computer Technician (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCApril 17, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: n/a
while being in the army was fun and i enjoyed every minute of it. it became extremely hard to see my kids when in time of need. overall the military was a great experience for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and Fast Pace
Recruiter Processor (Current Employee), Ann Arbor, MIApril 16, 2014
Set daily plans with flexibility to accomplish daily requirements. Interaction with the community on a daily basis. Providing the community with the information on the US Army and the Opportunities with in. Processed qualified personnel to join the Army. Motivated those that I worked with to continue bring qualifying personnel to join the Army.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more