Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18,063 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great career and opportunity!
E4/Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Opelika, ALNovember 23, 2014
Been in the service for 6 1/2 years doing both food service and supply jobs. Has great benefits especially for school. Has great job security. Numerous opportunities for advancement and salary raises. It has truly been an honor serving my country with such an amazing group of people!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military was excellent for building work ethic and self-discipline
Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Current Employee), kenova wvNovember 23, 2014
Pros: long lunch mostly used for additional work, great benefits, job security, and training.
Cons: 70+ hour work weeks, dealing with negative people which can also be a pro in enhancing people skills
The hardest part of the military is leaving your family in the U.S. while working in other countries. I learned to get the job done under any circumstances.Great opportunity to accomplish all your goals if you are motivated and not lazy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of an military service member.
Heavy Equipment Operations Manager (Current Employee), JBERNovember 23, 2014
Pros: fitness
Cons: working in extreme enviroments
The Army is all you make of it. Typically you get up around 5A.M and head to the company for accountability and physical training. Your day after that is filled with tasking's from your section sergeant. Your day usually ends around 6P.M.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disciplined work environment with an emphasis on attention to detail
Signals Intelligence Analyst (Current Employee), Fort Drum, NYNovember 23, 2014
Much of our time was spent in a Sensitive Compartmentalized Information Facility (SCIF) where we analyzed our organization's mission requirements and priorities. We supported our intelligence and security section by research current threats and presenting them during round table discussions. We actively participated in group discussions to create a – more... fused and tailored product for the customer. The work place is demanding but our leadership provided constant guidance to ensure that we fully understood Signals intelligence concepts along with the intelligence and security production cycle. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning something new and technical and applying it to support customer requirements and accomplish mission priorities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had. Hooah
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCNovember 23, 2014
Opportunities are limitless, see foreign countries, serve country with honor and pride. Learn valuable life lessons and skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Operational Temperature
Sergeant First Class/ Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYNovember 23, 2014
It was worth the risk for the amount of reward that it has given me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect and Selfless Service
68D Operating Room Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Carson, CONovember 22, 2014
In the Army I live by the core values and it had truthfully made me into the person I am now. I appreciate life more and it makes me want to continue a civilian career in the medical field. I really enjoy hospitals and staff, in Evans Hospital I worked long shifts but the environment and job responsibilities make it all worth while. Helping people is – more... a plus and I hope to continue in tradition of providing great care to patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Stepping stone
Cable InstallerSergeant (Former Employee), variousNovember 22, 2014
Very good for you to learn a craft or trade skill. Good for people to learn a craft and develop skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good learning
Sergeant (Former Employee), VariousNovember 22, 2014
It is the army, good stepping stone to learn a trade or craft.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supply Administrator
Unit Supply Specialist (Former Employee), US Army Ft Bragg NCNovember 22, 2014
Pros: you make the military work for your future desire's. school, salary, health benefits.
Cons: all the good soldiers have retired or forced out, the over whelming poor leadership. that kill your experience.
I have worked really hard and excelled in every thing with that confidence the army really instilled in me that I can be someone. I did not imagine me working longer than a four year contract but, I enjoyed the aggression and role that I played in my career. I served proudly for eight years and with out the military guiding me for success I couldn't – more... have turned out more confident in my self. My job consisted of long aggravating hours and back breaking work. I worked threw lunch and many times threw the night and weekends and holidays by my self. My co-workers I enjoyed meeting many of them but you cant love everyone. Hardest part of the job ( not having personal time ) If you are going to set records and stand out above your priers. The most enjoyable part of my job ( Making my self aware of my self worth ) You practice who you are (You don't get fired over a bad week. There are always second chances to improve in all expectations of your self and job.) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Signal Systems Support Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXNovember 22, 2014
Pros: exercise and trips and new friends
Cons: sometimes long days
good job and perks
meet new life long friends
working with others
learn a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extremely satisfying
19D (Former Employee), Fort Benning, GANovember 22, 2014
Pros: organized, cultural, and above all amazing benefits.
Waking up and performing our morning P.T. routines. Throughout the day, we perform difficult and well organized tasks to prepare us for serving and protecting our country!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple Launch Rocket Systems Fire Direction Specialist - 13P
M.L.R.S. Fire Direction Specialist - Germany (Former Employee), Fort Sill, OK and GermanyNovember 22, 2014
Pros: getting a security clearance can help with getting a job after service.
Cons: injuries endured are not always during service and can arise later in life.
The Army in all is tough. I was active duty where I trained at Fort Sill and was stationed in Germany. The typical day was physical training in the morning (PT) which is absolutely necessary. Being in shape reduces injuries among other things. It's also guidance for life, working out in the gym 10 years later and so on. After cleanup, there's a morning – more... meeting with assigned tasks. Completing tasks on time is part of the Artillery motto - On Target On Time, and helps with having time to adapt as things arise during the day. I wish the civilian world adapted this ideology. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the Army
Motor Transport Operator (Current Employee), Fort Bliss, TexasNovember 21, 2014
Pros: steady income, benefits
Cons: 12 plus hour work days, 12-22 weeks in the field, cannot plan family events
Still on active duty cannot say to much as I could get in trouble. It's the Army and it is what you make of it. A person can only sacrifice so much. It put a severe strain on my relationship with my wife and kids and created distance between all of us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Property Book NCO (E-5) (Current Employee), SCNovember 21, 2014
It is what you put into it. Nothing more, nothing less.

Gives you the opportunity to lead soldiers and gain leadership experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work with a rewarding experiance
diesel mechanic (Former Employee), WashingtonNovember 21, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits and you get to travle
Cons: long hours
As fun as the military was it is hard work. The hours were long and the hardest part of the job which didn't allow for much of a social life. i did learn better team working skills and discipline.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An all around the world Experience.
Sergeant (Former Employee), N. Little Rock, ArNovember 21, 2014
Pros: wearing my uniform everyday
Cons: going overseas for long periods
A typical day of work can vary to training soldiers, to getting trained on different ideas and prototypes. I learned in the army how to work well with others to complete the mission at hand. I got to the rank of E-5 in my six year of my service. With that being said I know how to follow instructions as well as give and direct them. With being in my – more... position I am not allowed to say what was the hardest part of my job. I can tell you that I enjoyed what I did while it lasted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best readiness position of my life
WHEEL AND TRACK MECHANIC (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXNovember 21, 2014
Pros: training
Cons: low pay
A typical day was being up early and pt before starting the day. I learned leadership and professionalism and a certain degree of readiness. My co-workers were Vietnam vets and new troops most well prepared. The hardest part of the job was being away from home. I had a small daughter at home at the time.. Job satisfaction was just doing my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training and prepared
Team leader (Former Employee), Fort Polk, LANovember 21, 2014
I would start out 0545 to conduct physical training until 0630. Then return at 0930 until 1130 to prepare for whatever training would be on the schedule that day. Then from 1300 until close of business would be notes and preparation for the following day. After that it was gym and personal time to get ready for the following day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
army
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Fort Hood, TXNovember 21, 2014
Pros: advancement, benifits
Cons: leadership, work schedual
Great opportunity's and benefits. leadership can be less then par.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more