Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16,498 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), Killeen, TXSeptember 15, 2014
Learned cooperation skills, proper inventory procedures, and some truck driving skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, strict, and enhancing work environment
Trainee (Former Employee), Fort Jackson, SCSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: great health benefits, learning atmosphere, great coworkers, and varied jobs.
Cons: occasional sleep deprivation, harsh punishment, and long work days.
A typical day at work was consisted of waking up at 3 am, falling into formation, and going to chow. From there the holdovers (people getting sent home for various reasons) would go back to the company and go down when called. From there, we would go to different job locations, which would include warehouse work, filing, cleaning, issuing uniforms, – more... or escorting trainees to various locations. Probably my favorite part of the job was working in CIF and working in a psuedo-assembly line where holdovers would fill duffel bags with Camelbacks and Eye-Pro. The was always the most fun job and I loved the people I would get assigned to work with. The hardest part of the job was probably working through sleep deprivation some days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very "Single Soldier" Friendly
Supply Clerk (Former Employee), Fort Stewart, GASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: excellent health care benefits/educational benefits
Cons: being away from family and friends, and not being treated as a human being with feelings.
A typical day being a single Active Duty Soldier, Began for me at 5 am with Physical Exercise. I learned the in and outs of Logistics. The hardest part of the job, was being away from my friends and family for years at a time. The most enjoyable part of the job was traveling around the world seeing different countries was an amazing experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace and Discipline environment
Logistical Ammunition Manager (Current Employee), Fort Carson, COSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: benefits, holiday breaks, leave time, professiuonal growth oppurtunities
Cons: no set work hrs, untimely missions
Typical day of work include Managing personel, assets, and ordnance material by utilizing logistice data bases. ( usaully 10-12hr work days).

Gained lots of experience in leadership, leadership development, and management on a broader scale

Co-workers were family and together we work continiously to create a safe and productive environment; promoting – more... growth, mentoring, and advancement in our careers.

Difficulties in my field varied from mentoring subordinates, juggling multiple task/duties and operation, and managing postional responsibilities.

The most exciting part of this job is training and developing subordinates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Army
Multichannel Communications Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Gordon GaSeptember 15, 2014
-Maintained, supervised, installed, and perform unit level maintenance on multichannel line of site and tropospheric scatter communications systems, communications security (COMSEC) devices
-Operated and performed preventive maintenance checks and services (PMCS) on assigned vehicles
-Installed, operated, and performed PMCS on power generators.
-Delivered – more... verbal commands and instructions to other soldiers in time of emergencies
-Administered numerous oral presentations in the subjects of Fundamentals of Army Leadership, Weapons Marksmanship, Financing and Managing Your Money, Logistics and Embarkations Specialist, and Applying Team Concepts
-Analyzes BIT/BITE diagnostics to isolate faults to the Line Replaceable Unit (LRU)
-Installed and operated, performed strapping and re-strapping, and unit level maintenance on COMSEC devices
-Operated and performed Preventive Maintenance Checks and Services (PMCS) on assigned vehicles
-Counseled subordinates in professional, educational and personal matters
-Supervised operations and assisted team members in the installation and operation of multichannel line of site and tropospheric scatter communications systems
-Prepared input for statistical and other operational reports
-Supervised and prepared work schedules for subordinate personnel engaged in the installation, operation, and unit level maintenance of multichannel systems
-Provided subordinates technical assistance in resolving connectivity problems, complex maintenance faults, and during contingency situations
-Demonstrated effective leadership and encouraged team concepts – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor /Manger Experience
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Fort Carson, COSeptember 15, 2014
A typical day of work for me starts at 0630 for a hour and a half of physical training than I work from 800 AM to 6 PM.

I have been a supervisor for over 20 years, I have matured and grown to be a leader of few to a leader of many personnel. At any given time i supervised over 100 personnel daily.

I work with both military and civilians

The hardest – more... part of my job is learning my new job. I just moved to a new position and am still learning

The most enjoybale part of my job is learning new things. Challenging jobs and positions are what I am always looking for – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, and great experiences
Food Service Manager (Former Employee), Fort Drum, NYSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: work weekends, holidays
Great trainging and schools on the highest of Army Life as a Food Service Manager. In charge of Food Service personnel military and civilian in a good environment. Most enjoyable would be communicating with your peers and civilians on the same sheet of music.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of training
Senior Manager (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches and good health care
Cons: not much free time
We would be in the field 90% of the time. Training on our tactical and technical skills all the time. To stay physically and mentally tough. Both my leaders and my co-workers became very tight an a close nit group. It was always hard but we got through together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!
Petroleum Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYSeptember 15, 2014
A typical day at work was unpredictable, fast paced, and exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my review
Communications (Former Employee), Augusta, GASeptember 15, 2014
I really enjoyed my time in the military. It made me push myself in ways that I didn't know that I could be pushed. I loved serving my country and meeting all the different people along the way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
Operations & Training Manager (Former Employee), Fort Sill, OKSeptember 15, 2014
Great work when it is there, but with the draw down a lot of good people are loosing careers that should not have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life changing
Health care specialist (Former Employee), Fort Drum, NYSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: chance for growth
Cons: deployment
early morning
physical task
professional development
learning opportunities
leadership ooportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Army Changed My Life!
Logistics Management Supervisor (Former Employee), GA, VA, KY, Iraq, AfghanistanSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: teamwork, team building, traveling, benefits
I think that's one of the things I miss about the military in general is the structured environment and the fact that your success or failure is entirely dependent upon how much effort you yourself put into it. Once I'd matured a bit and knew the military wouldn't always be there, I started to pursue my college education and finally finished with a – more... BA in Veterinary Technology I was able to accomplish my main goal in the military, learning supply distribution and managing a company.

I got to see places I know I'll never see again. I participated in events that shaped today's world and preserved freedom for other people in different countries. I met my enemies in the Iraq, and Afghanistan and learned they were human too, with the same concerns and problems I had. I made new friends with allied military people and learned we had so much in common; especially because of our service to our respective countries. But most of all, I made friends that, to this day, I would gladly give my life for if necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Civilian Contractor (Former Employee), Camp Attebury (Endinburgh), INSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: excellent work environment. genuine concern from leadership.
Cons: the unknown of contract work (no guaranteed longevity)
Outstanding daily work environment. Team-work personified!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting job/multilevel skillsets/Great benefits/
Headquarters Platoon Sergeant (Current Employee), Fort Polk, LASeptember 15, 2014
Pros: developed multi facet skillsets/worked with c-level executives
Cons: no room for financial advancement
Remained in Leadership positions, see resume for different facets of my career and the numerous advances as a professional that I displayed. Project Development and Team concepts were a highlight of the experience. Worked alongside and advised C-Level Executives on Project outcomes, how to develop a plan and implement the plan most effectively to be – more... cost, time and work efficient. Ensured that the company stayed 4-7 weeks scheduled out giving good future oversight/insight. Co-workers performed progressively from day to day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very mentally and physically challenging job.
Avionics Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Fort Campbell, KYSeptember 14, 2014
The Army provided me with a very professional outlook on life. Not only did it mature me but also made me a very diverse individual. I had a some good and bad experiences in the Army. Good experiences range from being promoted to competing in various competitions that tested my skills against my peers. Some bad experiences have been separated from my – more... family for a couple years serving our nation. Some of the most enjoyable parts of my job include helping Soldiers and training Soldiers on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the military
Water Treatment Specialist (Former Employee), Berlin, Germany and Ft. Lewis,WASeptember 14, 2014
Pros: learning discipline
Cons: being in the field all summer
Typical day at work when on base was motor pool and building repairs as directed by First Sgt. When in the field set up on a river or some water source and purified water for troops and set up showers.

I learned building maintenance, water purification and plumbing.

Management- they were military ENCO's that expected discipline and hard work.

My – more... co-workers-we all got along great since that was kind of your family.

Hardest part of the job was being the go between with the enlisted and the platoon Sgt.

The most enjoyable part of the job was in the field setting up water points and showers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized and structured environment
Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXSeptember 14, 2014
A well organized organization to work for. There are no typical days in the military, things change everyday and every hour. The Army provides you a sense of security and stability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I got the chance to serve.
Tactical Satellite / Microwave Systems Operator (Former Employee), Fort Monmouth, NJSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: the opportunity to serve my country
Cons: that my military career ended too soon
Military life with communication stations

satellite communications, work ethic, eletronics, how to efficiently manage my work and my team

Great commanding Officers and NCO's

We were a very good team

Maintaining the physical requirements

Sending successful communication from the mote remote of locations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work till they closed their doors.
First Lieutenant Security Supervisor (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 14, 2014
Forklift certified on every fork truck. I did a lot of shipping and recieving and spotting trackor trailers.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more