Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18,589 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be all you can be
Human Resources/Compliance Manager (Former Employee), Various locationsDecember 20, 2014
Excellent leadership, great travel, and great educational opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy but well worth it
Food Service Specialist (Former Employee), Ft. Hood TX, Okinawa Japan, Ft. Riley KansasDecember 20, 2014
Pros: free medical and dental
Cons: long hours sometimes with just one meal for the day
Physical training in the AM
Learned team work
leadership skills
My co-workers are family one team one fight
The hardest part of the job is the hours
The most enjoyable is the traveling
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experenice
First Sergeant (Former Employee), Dallas, TXDecember 20, 2014
Pros: learned responsibility, be true to one's own self, take criticism, pounce back to do better
Cons: the thought of possibility of killing some one
First job come in, have inspection of appearance, break in to your groups or areas, then do your job. I was a Fuel Driver, Artillery Cannon-er, Personnel Record Specialists, Drill Sargent, First Sargent, Section Sargent. To be able to do different things and learn to do new things to the best of my ability. You could never please them. Dealing with – more... officers. Made some friends,see some new places, have good times, going home to my family – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment and takes alot of dedication.
Tank Operator, Staff Sergeant (Former Employee), FT. Wainwright, AKDecember 20, 2014
Pros: responsibilitys and leadership opportunities.
Cons: distance and time away from family
worked from 530am-600pm time varies.
Learned the value of dedication, honor, loyalty.
Learned a great value of leadership with the position held.
Hardest part of the job had to be the long overseas tours.
most enjoyable part of the job is the opportunity to see the world and chance to work with different type of personnel with different backgrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for those who love to travel alot
13 bravo cannon crew member/11 bravo infantry (Former Employee), monroe ncDecember 20, 2014
Pros: traveled alot
Cons: not to much sleep
a lot of hard work but the brotherhood was unbelievable experience .
i learned how to outsmart and out work your opposition no matter what the odds are against you.learned about medical life saving Technics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Sergeant (Current Employee), fort campbellDecember 20, 2014
Workout required 630am-800am
worked on weapons and inventory 930am-500pm
deployments away from family was hard
management very untrained
all the leave time was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best organization in America
Radio Communication Device Repair (Former Employee), Fort Carson, CODecember 20, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: deployments
Great opportunity to serve my country. Downsides were rapid deployments and being away from family for over a year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive management, Hands on with paid training, Cultural skills.
Forward Observer (Former Employee), Fort Drum, NYDecember 20, 2014
Pros: cultural benefits, paid traveling expenses, paid to go to school.
Cons: dangerous, low pay wage, stressful at times.
Typical day consists of an early wakeup, needing to be highly motivated, and always accurate and proficient at ones job as well as physically fit.
I learned management skills, Computer/Targeting skills, Surveying and Fitness readiness training.
My coworkers were always motivated, and ready to engage fully within their jobs as accurately as possible, – more... under a high-stress environment.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with stress however still being able to make cogent decisions that pertained to any mission or task given.
The most enjoyable part of the job is feeling self worthy at fully accomplishing tasks others would say are impossible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job.
Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee), Various US Army bases around the world.December 19, 2014
Pros: unbeatable benifits
Cons: tough on family life
While it takes some getting used to, the camaraderie is unbeatable. There were not many days when I didn't look forward to going to work and usually each day was different.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics Tech
Senior Ordnance Logistics Technician (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXDecember 19, 2014
Pros: the experience
Cons: n/a
Responsible for the safety and welfare of 27 soldiers and 6 Officers while stationed at Ft Hood and during deployment to Iraq. Responsible for the Division's Maintenance posture, Movement of equipment, repairable parts and other supplies as need. Learned how it improve transportation of all supplies and equipment in a war zone. During this time I was – more... working 18 hour days which consist of meeting briefing and managing my soldiers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My life as a soldier.
Field Artillery Tactical Data Systems Specialist (Former Employee), FT. Stewart, GeorgiaDecember 19, 2014
Pros: consistent pay, great health and education benefits
Cons: long hours and spans of extended travel for work
The ARMY was and still is a very big part of my life. The time i spent in the service taught me many things not just about military life but also about the ways of the professional world and work force. This is made very apparent in the high standards of professional appearance, work ethic and the dedication needed to thrive in a high intensity work – more... environment. My day started at 6 AM and on most days finished at 5 Pm. Though it was very regular to work 24 hours straight threw or be in a secluded continuous work environment for days to months. A normal day would included physical fitness training, vehicle and gear maintenance, fixing any needed repairs, as well as performing audits to maintain the integrity of my units supplies and gear that were signed for in care of other soldiers besides the unit commander who is initially signed for. The leadership was a key part in the delegation of tasks and also a key part in completing those task by the scheduled time and to fished to the absolute best of your ability every time.This style of work and task delegation allowed for clear instructions and a set plan of execution for all jobs threw out the day. Working and being part of the military life style lead to the most enjoyable part of the job and that was the connection and pride for the work you do everyday that you share with your fellow soldiers. This sense of pride made everyone see every persons value and helped with any task you were struggling with. this made for a good work environment and a want to show up to work everyday with a positive look out each day. Though with every job there are bound to be things you do not enjoy and for me there were to things that made the job hard and that i did not like. The first of the two was the ammount of time i spent with out my family and the large distance between us. The second is to me the biggest because it was the reason i am not in the military and that is sustaining injuries to my back and foot that i now at age 24 collect service related disability for. As far as my work activities on a daily basis i loved my time in the service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning and motivating environment
Sergeant (Former Employee), kentucky, kansas, texas, iraq, afghansitanDecember 19, 2014
Pros: health care, learned leadership
Cons: away from family for periods of time
Nine years of maintenance experience on military vehicles specifically the Abrams M1A1 tank. I learned leadership skills and held many positions of leadership. I learned from my peers as well as my superiors and subordinates. The hardest part I would have to say were the deployments overseas, being away from family. The most enjoyable part was the experience – more... and knowledge gained from everyday work and lifestyle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved My Short Lived Career
Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Jackson, SCDecember 19, 2014
I was medically discharged, but the experience left me with a changed outlook on life. It is definitely a love it or hate it way of life. This is more than a career path, it is an entire change in lifestyle for anyone in your family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Invaluable experience
Kitchen Manager/Cook (Former Employee), Fort Myer Heights, VADecember 19, 2014
Pros: i had great bosses very understanding
Cons: the long hours
I would start my day at 4am and start warming up the ovens for the breakfast meal. My cooks would start coming in I would assign products and they would assemble to start cooking. My manager would should up around 630am and I would give her my report on the production of breakfast. I think the hardest part of my job is the continuation of maintaining – more... the line of food cause breakfast usually was the most busiest meal of the day. I loved my job cause there was a new challenge every day as more customers would show up than planned or a military obligation would pop up without warning and you had to adapt and overcome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A beautiful job in itself
Petroleum Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYDecember 19, 2014
Pros: compensation, work days, food.
Cons: extended hours and some of the leaders appointed over me.
Was 92F, Petroleum Supply Specialist in US Army, and was stationed at Fort Campbell, KY. Many benefits to this job as a whole.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great experience and love the guys i worked with
Vehicle Repair Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Bragg NCDecember 19, 2014
Pros: good work environment, respectful people
Engine swaps
fuel changes
fluid changes
tire replacements
tire rotations
PMCS:
Bi annual
semi annual
annual
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive life style
Weld trainer (Former Employee), MDDecember 19, 2014
Pros: travel
Loved the US Army and all the education and experience that i achieved . all the different job fields it offers and alot of adventure one will never get without going into the service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistic Management
Logistics Supervisor (Current Employee), El Paso, TXDecember 19, 2014
Management involving various logistic responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personally l have witnessed The U.S. Army become a great foundation for someone to build their life from the ground up.
Cargo Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Eustis, VADecember 19, 2014
Pros: diversity, opportunities to instruct and lead team members, opportunity for higher education, economical stabilty
Cons: long hours, seperation from family/deployment, harsh weather conditions
The U.S. Army paves the way for the future leaders of America. I have been priveledged with knowledge in learning how to become a leader throughtout the years that l have served. My supervisors have taught me how to train and show by example with lessons in personal experiences that they themselves had recieved. l will walk out of this organization – more... with my head held high in that aspect. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like no other job in the world.
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXDecember 19, 2014
Pros: learning opportunities
Cons: time away from your family.
Long hard hours at times, but you also had fun and created a great balance. This job had so many possibilities to learn and grow, everyday was something new. The friendships you create here are never ending, till today I am close to allot of the guys I was stationed with back in 1989.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more