Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18,656 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I acquired a lot of experiences with the US Army
Armor Crewman (Former Employee), Fort Carson, CODecember 25, 2014
I acquired a lot of experiences with the US Army like working under strict instruction, intelligence and many other duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Know what you want to get out of the job.
Infantry Team Leader (Current Employee), Fort Campbell, KYDecember 25, 2014
Pros: decent benefits
Cons: work hours, unknown hours at work, work takes over life, no control
My typical day being in a combat job is directed mostly to training and training other Soldiers. Show up 5am and be home usually by 5 or 6 pm. I learned a lot of supervisor and technical skills that are more geared toward the securities sector. Management was lacking professionalism and more common sense to accomplish tasks. Communication to lower work – more... force lacking and created bad morale. Hardest part of the job is the long hours at work that take a toll over time and dealing with other people and handling all of their life problems as if they are your own. Most enjoyable part is being a part of brotherhood of people you go through some of the most difficult events and situations in life without being able to explain what you have just done and the impact it had on you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet rewarding
Senior Trasportatiom Segearnt (Former Employee), Austin, TXDecember 25, 2014
Pros: training/on the job
Cons: sleep deprivation
A workday in the military is like no other job. Your workday at times have no limits that could result in 24hrs around the clock. Training and been trained is one of the greatest rewards that you will never forget and the importance of that training. The military provides you with the necessary tools to complete mission(s) and the respect that goes – more... along with the smallest detail that a soldier provide. Working together to ensure America's safety while deployed in combat areas this is where all the training received is put the test. Co-workers work as one to make things happen based on a need-to-know basis. Following orders are the sole importance for success, and with the absence of orders the soldier still understands what to do to ensure a positive outcome. The most enjoyable part of the job is safety and coming home with all members of the team/unit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance Supervisor
Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Current Employee), Fort Bragg, NCDecember 25, 2014
Pros: satisified that i served my country proudly
Cons: getting called back to work late night and weekends
Reviewed all maintenance worksheets with stating faults.
Verified all faults were accurate. If parts were on hand, made sure parts were installed, taken off the worksheet. If parts were not on hand, made sure the right part was ordered for the right vehicle. Maintained service schedule on each piece of equipment, making sure they didn't go past due – more... or delinquent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was in boot camp
Army Specialist (Former Employee), fort jackson NCDecember 25, 2014
i was in training and got discharged.training was very hard for me. That's why i decided not to continue with army life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very fun working environment
Nuclear Biological Chemical NCO (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCDecember 25, 2014
Work started from 0630 -1600. I learned to work hard no matter what the conditions may look like. I learned to have a more profound respect for time and the opinions of those that I may work with. My co- workers were great and taught me how to push myself to the limit. The hardest part of the job is not being able to have more of a say in how the work – more... was done. I really enjoyed always being on the move and traveling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Motor Vehicle Operator (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXDecember 25, 2014
Pros: good experience
Cons: no cons
a soldiers for our country keeping freedom in america and our family free safes to enjoy life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great learning environment
M1A2 Abrams Tank System Maintainer (Current Employee), Ft. Riley, KSDecember 24, 2014
Pros: always room to become more successful
Cons: undetermined and always changing work schedule
Throughout my tenure in the U.S. Army, I have learned a great deal. I started my career as a Cavalry Scout performing reconnaissance, operating in observation and listening posts while trying to detect enemy movement, location, disposition, ect.

I then reclassed to be an M1A2 Abrams System Maintainer. Throughout working in this job I have learned a – more... great deal about diesel turbines, hydraulic systems, charging systems, the theory of operations for turbines, and fuel systems. I was also in charge of 9 subordinates in making sure the daily tasks were constantly accomplished. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
in the army
Operating Room Specialist (68D) (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TxDecember 24, 2014
Responsible for preparing the operation room prior to the operation and verify the necessary supplies and tools, provide equipment to surgeons anticipating the need and physicians' preference during operation procedures, locate the contaminated instruments and place them in proper cart system to avoid spread of infection, coordinate with the X-ray, – more... pathology and SPD departments to acquire necessary reports, provide training to new personnel regarding duties of a surgical technician on a routine basis. Clean and maintain equipment in the operating room, supply gowns to the members of the surgical team. Responsible for adjusting lights and other machines in the operation room, prepare and transport patients for surgery, restore surgical specimens as per policy requirements, decontaminate, processes supplies, instruments, and equipment for sterilization for the OR and the needs of other clinical areas, maintains accurate records of sterilization information and equipment operation, keeping records of sterilized items daily, prepares, maintains, and distributes scheduled and emergency surgical case carts, and delivers medical equipment as needed following the established procedures and protocols. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
Electrical Hydraulic Mechanical Technician (Former Employee), Ft. Lee VirginiaDecember 24, 2014
As a soldier in the United States Army I learned to utilize every available talent and means to ensure Hard work Duty Integrity and Personal Courage was displayed everyday. I learned a plethora of leadership qualities while also learning to always be tactically and technically proficient in all that I do. In my military job I am a mechanic so I learned – more... to efficient use both sides of my brain to always get the job done in a timely manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiting Command
Supervising Attorney (Former Employee), Radcliff, KYDecember 24, 2014
Pros: experience in working with different people
Cons: shortage of human and capital resources
The most enjoyable part of the job is the real-time logistical and administrative support you provide to the people on the front line who conduct the recruiting outreach and mentorship with America's public on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just getting started, but will continue
US Army Training (Current Employee), Fort Sill, OKDecember 24, 2014
Im a new soldier but I look forward to advancement in the Army.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They get the job done.
Information Management Office Manager U.S. Army (Current Employee), Fort Carson, CODecember 24, 2014
I worked as an information systems specialist. This job entails being a system and network administrator and architect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Signal
Signal System Support Specialist (Current Employee), Clarksville,TNDecember 24, 2014
Pros: health care, guarantee to get a pay check
Cons: away from family
A typical day would range from 0400 to around 1700 Monday through Friday. While serving in the Army went to AIT to be a communications soldier. While its a easy job day to day there’s not much advancement opportunities. The hardest part is being gone for training monthly. Not a lot of time with the family, however you get to meet some of the best people – more... and build a unbreakable bond. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ARMY STRONG
Mortuary Affairs Sergeant (Former Employee), Ft. Lee, VADecember 24, 2014
Pros: job security, promotions, benefits, education, and travel
Cons: when my battle buddies weren't with me
Basically I grew up in the Army. I was an Army Brat; then I became a Soldier myself. I learned how to be strong, how to hold my ground, how to give respect were respect is due, and most importantly, I learned that my Battle Buddies loved me just as much as my family did, if not more. The hardest part of my job was staying behind; of course that was – more... before I had a child. I was secure in every way imaginable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
be all you can be
Section Chief (Former Employee), Schofield Barracks, HIDecember 24, 2014
Try army before college! Develop value beyond measure; work ethic is unrivaled, as are the benefits. Very diverse work environment, but also very hazardous. Be prepared to make sacrifices in every dimension of your life. Would do it again in a heart beat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place for family orientation.
Paralegal (Former Employee), Fort Sill, OKDecember 23, 2014
Pros: free housing
I do not wish to speak of my experience in the military. Honorably discharged, per medical reasons. My experience there was not a good one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Tool Room Manager (Current Employee), Fort Campbell, KYDecember 23, 2014
Every day was a fast paced and productive day. I am a supervisor of 5 Soldiers with families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a real friendly place to work and you could move up within the company
Section Sergeant (Current Employee), Fort Carson, CODecember 23, 2014
I really enjoyed working here. The people were friendly and the management took care of the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unforgettable
Nike Hercules Atomic warhead specialist (Former Employee), Missouri,Texas,GermanyDecember 23, 2014
Pros: got to see the world
The things I learned were limited to few people. Highly top secret and very interesting.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more