Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16,110 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Infantry Team Leader and Recruiter (Former Employee), Louisana, Italy, IndianaAugust 26, 2014
Pros: benefits, pay, advancement.
Cons: move location every two to three years
Great place to work and have a long career with excellent benefits. Only reason I left was because I wanted to settle in one location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Changing
Infantryman (Former Employee), Fort Drum, NYAugust 26, 2014
Pros: job security, promotions, benefits, brotherhood
Cons: deployments, long work days, training all the time
Great career for those that want to make it one. Feels good to serve for your country. Just hard on the family and your body.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with professional co-workers
Infantryman, Team Leader, Soldier Representative (Current Employee), Fort Drum, NYAugust 26, 2014
Pros: extremely good benefits
Cons: some cons but not worth listing
I lead and mentored junior soldiers on a daily and made sure that were given the proper guidance for the day's tasking and to make that they were where they needed to be, when they needed to be there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CHALLENGING, STRUCTURED PLACE TO WORK.
Dental Lab Technician/Manager (Former Employee), Ft Gordon, GAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great hours, travel, 30 day vacation time
Cons: time away from family
PHYSICALLY AND MENTALLY DEMANDING. TRAVEL REQUIRED. EXCELLENT TRAINING AND UNLIMITED OPPORTUNITY. JOB SECURITY. EXCELLENT BENEFITS AND TIME OFF. OPPRTUNITY TO TRAVEL. BEST MANAGEMENT EDUCATION AND HANDS ON TRAINING IN EXISTENCE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allows you to be successful
Large Group Supervisor (Current Employee), Fort Drum, NYAugust 26, 2014
Pros: ability to succeed under stressful circumstances
Cons: doesn't allow for much family time
My time in the service allowed me to be very successful. There are plenty of opportunities for advancement and career progression. It allows you the opportunity to handle a lot of responsibilities with little to no supervision which helps you become a more reliable asset to anyone you work for in the future
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYAugust 26, 2014
Cons: having to say good-bye
I would not take back one day of my life with the military. In fact, I need to be the one thanking the military and citizens! It was an honor to serve!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and team work oreinted work place
Prime Power Unit (PPU) Section Chief (Former Employee), Ft Bliss, TexasAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great group of guys to work with
Cons: none noted
Lead 4 other Prime Power team members in daily operation and maintenance of the two 1.3mw power generation units.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Hazardous Materials and Safety Coordinator (Former Employee), Saint Clair, MOAugust 26, 2014
hard and fullfilling work always adapting and challenging
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveling is a plus
25Q (Current Employee), Fort Bragg, NCAugust 26, 2014
Pros: food, housing, and medical are all taken care of
Cons: being away from family, sometimes living in rough conditions.
A typical day at work-Sitting at a computer desk.
What you learned- I learned a little bit of everything especially beneficial things on the IT side.
Management- Management is good.
Your co-workers- Co-workers are great, everyone tends to work together.
The hardest part of the job- Waking up having to do Physical training at 0545 in the morning. Cleaning – more... up after a bunch of grown people.
The most enjoyable part of the job- An hour and a half lunch break. You will receive a 4 Day weekend around once a month, sometimes 2. Going home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Supervisor US Army (Current Employee), Fort Riley, KSAugust 26, 2014
Pros: education, training, mentoring, coaching
Cons: not enough time
I've grown up alot since joining the Army. I've met alot of wonderful people and traveled all over the world. What I like most about my job was to get a chance to interact and work with different nationalities. As I got older, I enjoyed mentoring, training, and educating young Soldiers. My overall goal was to educate and train young junior Soldiers – more... to be better leaders, which resulted in higher graduation rates at military training schools. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Unit Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Carson, CoAugust 25, 2014
Pros: healthcare, compensation
Cons: on duty 24hrs 7 days a week. work 24hrs straight.
A typical day at work consisted of physical training, vehicle maintenance, and paperwork. We learned how to remain fully mission capable at all times. The hardest part of the job was not knowing. Not knowing when or if you would be deployed, what to tell your family, when you would be home. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting different types – more... of people from all walks of life. Different countries, different states. Just the diversity of everyone, but in all aspects, the same. All fighting for the same purpose, freedom. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall benefits and job security
Area Recruiting Manager (Team Leader (Former Employee), Provo, UTAugust 25, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: subject to deployments; sometimes hampers family life due to seperation
The US Army allows for a great environment and offers room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Experience Possible
Human Resource Specialist (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: p.t.
A typical day would begin with 1 formation. Daily task after that , lunch, formation, class, dinner, final formation.

I learned how to take initiative, and to take responsibility for my own actions.

Management was great. Not really much to say about that. They tell us to do something , we just get up , and do it .

We may not all like each other , – more... but we have to respect , and love one another .

Hardest part of the day in my opinion would be morning p.t.

The most enjoyable day would have to be lunch chow. Nice meal after a hard half of day . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US ARMY
First Sergeant (Upper-Level Manager) (Former Employee), Fort Benning, GAAugust 25, 2014
What can be said about the Army. Its a job that not everyone can do, but I did it for 25 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extraordinary Job
Recruiting Battalion Family Readiness Advisor (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: benefits, enjoyment
The opportunity to work for the US Army and serve our Soldiers who are constantly putting their lives in danger defending our nation is a blessing in itself. I will recommended it to anyone!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun hard working team!!!
Human resources/Administrative Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Hood, TXAugust 25, 2014
Pros: alot of down time and off days that make up for the long work days
Cons: long work days and very early mornings
The two units I was stationed with the first at Fort Meade and the current at Fort Hood, were very different as far as their missions. Each unit taught me how to better myself as a Human Resource Specialist and how to make the most of an array of situations. I worked with some of the greatest people that I think in any other career you would not meet – more... this many different type of people in one place. It is great to just come in and be able to work as a team on a good or bad day and get the mission done and still laugh and joke without anything being looked over. The environments are so positive it makes you want to come to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Active Army Veteran
Unit Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCAugust 25, 2014
Pros: i loved to travel and had the chance to travel alot.
Cons: not much time with my family while in the army.
Active Supply Sergeant
Jan 2011-12
U.S Army, 188th Military Police Company
Camp Walker, Republic of Korea
Supervised a Two man team consisting, Performs duties shown at preceding level of skill and provides technical guidance to lower grade personnel. Inspects completed work for accuracy and compliance with established procedures. Coordinates supply – more... activities. Reviews and annotates changes to unit material condition status report. Post transactions to organizational and installation property books and supporting transaction files. Determines method of obtaining relief from responsibility for lost, damaged and destroyed supply items. Organization and installation supplies and equipment. Scheduled and performed preventive and organizational maintenance and inventories. Prepared unit/organizational and sensitive item supply documents. Determined fast effective methods of obtaining relief from responsibility for lost, damaged and destroyed supply property. Reviewed and annotated changes to unit material condition status reports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging,rewarding
United States Army Infantryman (Former Employee), JBER, AKAugust 25, 2014
PT, Classes, Training, repeat. Train, deploy, repeat. Loved it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Squad Leader (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXAugust 25, 2014
A typical day in the Army while not deployed would be getting up and doing P.T. (Physical Training) at 0600 for a couple hrs. Followed by work call at 0900. This is job specific, but in a combined arms battalion it could consist of weapons maintenance, or qualifying, Maintenance on equipments such as Strykers or Tanks, or training out of the warrior – more... tasks and drills book to make sure as leaders our subordinate soldiers get the basic training the Army says they should have to effectively do their jobs. After all the training has concluded we go home at 1700. The Army has a type of high risk, high reward element to it. Very rewarding. Your buddys are the best in the world and the best part of being a unit that takes the fight to the enemy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the Army...
Shop Office Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYAugust 25, 2014
What do you expect? Make the most of it and suck it up.

Some poor leaders but some stellar ones and great people.

You will never know brotherhood as well.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more