Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18,626 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Tool Room Manager (Current Employee), Fort Campbell, KYDecember 23, 2014
Every day was a fast paced and productive day. I am a supervisor of 5 Soldiers with families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a real friendly place to work and you could move up within the company
Section Sergeant (Current Employee), Fort Carson, CODecember 23, 2014
I really enjoyed working here. The people were friendly and the management took care of the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unforgettable
Nike Hercules Atomic warhead specialist (Former Employee), Missouri,Texas,GermanyDecember 23, 2014
Pros: got to see the world
The things I learned were limited to few people. Highly top secret and very interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job ever.
Mechanic (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXDecember 23, 2014
If i could go back in right now i would but i cant becuase of my medical conditions that resualted from it but beside that i love to go back in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its the Army, and about what you'd expect
Tank Crewman (Former Employee), United StatesDecember 23, 2014
Pros: good benefits, rewarding work
Cons: physically and mentally demanding
As an Armor Crewman I found the US Army to be a demanding but rewarding job. I traveled all over the United States (and a little beyond) in my work, adapting to and overcoming a variety of challenging situations. It is hard to review the Army, given the nature and scope of it as an employer, but I mostly have good things to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, rewarding
ARMAMENT/AVIONICS REPAIRER (Former Employee), Ft. Carson, CO., Ansbach, Germany, Ft HoodDecember 23, 2014
Pros: responsible for a muti million dollar aircraft
Cons: responsible for a mutli million dollar aircraft
There would be a PC meeting first thing. I would receive what information I needed to priorities which aircraft needed to be fix first. Assign personnel to particular aircraft that need to be fixed. Once all assignments are handed down, its time to go to work. Trouble shoot, find problem, get parts from supply to repair problem, get calibrated tools – more... as well, repair, get QA to sign off on work that was done. order test flight if need be to make sure problem is corrected. If job not completed by the start of next shift, then work needs to be stopped at appropriate time for adequate hand over. Also all jobs are completed using aircraft manual. All notes are written down. clean area, put away tools. The hardest part of any aircraft repair is the trouble shooting part. You never just shoot from the hip. You must take your time to test the basic components: battery, electrical current, plugs, pins first. The most enjoyable part of my job in the military was repairing a problem in a efficient manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EXCELLENT OPPOURTUNITY!
HEAVY EQUIPMENT OPERATOR (Former Employee), Fort Leonard Wood, MODecember 23, 2014
AJKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team orientated
Army Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Sill, OKDecember 23, 2014
As a cannon crew member in the US army you were forced to work as a team. The environment was very stressful but the rewards the job produced was outstanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. You will love this company. I cant say enough good things about them.
Sergeant E-5 (Former Employee), Hampton, VADecember 22, 2014
Great place to work. You will love this company. I cant say enough good things about them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved being a infantry soldier
infantryman (Former Employee), Germany, Kansas, AfghanistanDecember 22, 2014
Pros: advancement in rank, travel opportunities, serving my country!
Cons: being away from my family
Being in the military is not just a job, but it's also an opportunity for advancement in life. Becoming a soldier taught me discipline, got me physically in shape, and also boosted my morale than it was as a civilian. It's definitely a positive experience in my book.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Petroleum Supply Specialist (Current Employee), Ft. RileyDecember 22, 2014
A typical day at work starts right when you walk into the company. First and foremost physical training is completed. Then hygiene. Then head first into your daily task. What I like most about the US ARMY is the structure and the guidance you receive from leadership. No man left behind. Work as one. Hoah!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelling while pursuing military standards
Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 22, 2014
Pros: excellent camaraderie
Working at the Motor Pool, where I fix military vehicles is very dangerous but it is great knowing the senior mechanics are always enforcing how safety is always first. They make sure all personnel is safe and accounted for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, team oriented, cohesive work environment
Chemical Operation Specialist (Former Employee), Ft. Stewart, GeorgiaDecember 22, 2014
Pros: stability, learn discipline, good environment for networking
Cons: long periods of time away from loved ones
The day to day activities included physical fitness, mentoring of soldiers, maintaining equipment, and completion of any task given. I learned how to be a good leader, motivator, and how to assemble a successful team. I learned how to manage and prioritize work task with personnel, paperwork, and equipment. I have had some co-workers that where both – more... a challenge and a great help both have helped me to be a better professional. The hardest part of my job was being away from my family for long periods of time(anywhere from a month to a year). The most enjoyable part of work was to see my subordinates progressing in there careers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drill Sgt
Automated Logistic Instructor and Writer (Former Employee), Fort Lee, VADecember 22, 2014
Serves as the Supply Support Activity (SSA) NCOIC responsible for maintaining 500 lines of Authorized Stockage List (ASL) valued in excess of $400,000 provides logistical support to 68 customers throughout the group; responsible for the health, welfare, training, and employment of seven Soldiers and four civilians. Provides technical guidance to lower – more... graded personnel. Ensures that inventories and location surveys are performed in accordance with established procedures. Instructs warehouse personnel in loading, unloading, segregation, dunnage , palletizing, and selection of stock and storage areas. Performs property disposal storage functions. Ensures application of special procedures for handling, storing, packaging and shipping retrograde material. Retrieves and analyzes history and activity files pertinent to system rejected documents. Assigns duties, instructs and supervises subordinate Stock Control personnel by providing guidance in proper work techniques and procedures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
E4- Specialist, Equipment Operator (Former Employee), USDecember 22, 2014
Hard work and determination is what this employer will encourage anyone worthy enough to join. Great people and NCO's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging atmosphere.
Marksmanship Instructor (Former Employee), Fort Jackson, SCDecember 22, 2014
Pros: health care, benefits
Cons: u.s.army
Trained up to 200 soldiers a day in marksmanship fundamentals. Assessed soldiers ability and consulted subordinate Drill Sergeants about training program and methods.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life in the military
Fire Support Specialist (Former Employee), tampa,FLDecember 22, 2014
Life in the military has its ups and downs. Comes with a price of giving your life for the country we live in. Benefits are a plus with health care and dental. Traveling all over the world just to keep your country safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and Structured workplace
ARH Armament/Electrical/Avionics Sys.Repairer (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYDecember 22, 2014
Pros: health benefits
Cons: personal space and time
A typical day starts off with checking logbooks for any scheduled maintenance and finishing any work orders that may have came in. I learned the basics on keeping a log on any maintenance that was performed, being able to troubleshoot and familiarize myself with electrical and avionic components. Management were held to highest expectation of the NCO – more... creed and remain professional at all times. My peers lived the army values in every aspect of their lives – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best time of my adult age group.
62B MOS. Line mechanic (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KentuckyDecember 22, 2014
Pros: i think that you learn the real meaning of "you get what you put in".
Cons: the long periods away from your loved one such as a years long time.
Wake up and do exercise at 6:30 am and work on military equipment until the shop sergeant says its time to go home. I learned that the team is the key factor to getting the job accomplished because there is no I in team. The hardest part of this job is coping with the fact that we are on call 24 hours a day 365 days a years at a moments notice at such – more... a young age as an adult; but almost seems fun in the process because of innocence. As much as I can remember, I enjoyed everyone that I served with and would not discourage anyone from doing the same as a young person joining a branch in the military. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
Human Resource Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Carson, CODecember 21, 2014
I loved being a part of something that did good for the world. I had amazing supervisors teaching me everything I needed to know, to the point I was able to train and teach higher ranking personnel shortly before I ETSed out of the military. A typical day for me, was making sure all paperwork was submitted on time to the correct personnel, updating – more... my Commander on any issues or on going HR data within the company. I attended weekly, sometimes daily meetings with higher ranking Command making HR data aware to them as well, as I was in charge of financials, awards, NCOERs, OERs and every HR status. Before I ETSed, I trained two non-HR clerks the ins and outs of my daily job since I had no replacement, I created a book full of every action, detailed step by step, that they may come across and actions they will do daily. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more