Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15,244 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Light Wheeled Vehcile Mechanic (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJuly 12, 2014
Days start at 9:00 and from there I would PMCS my vehicle I was incharge of which consistent of checking tires to troubleshooting a vehicle to solve a problem such as getting it to start. My work day usually ended at 5:00. My co-workers were different people of all different parts but we all fit together like family and I really enjoyed getting to know – more... and learn many things from them. I think the hardest part of it was learning from your mistakes and the most enjoyable part was just the overall experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Career for many people
Parachute Rigger (Former Employee), Ft. BraggJuly 12, 2014
Hurry up and wait.....then wait some more in the rain......then go back to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Military Police Officer Supervisor (Current Employee), Fort Bliss, TXJuly 12, 2014
Pros: rank structure
Cons: nothing
great place to learn things that you would never learn in a civilian employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Signal Officer (Current Employee), Fort Bragg, NCJuly 12, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: had to leave
My first job in the military. I enjoyed it and the people were the best
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a variety workplace.
Aircraft Maintenance Supervisor and Technician (Current Employee), Fort Bliss, TXJuly 12, 2014
Pros: long lunch breaks, able to go to appointment with no issues.
Cons: long work hours, deployments.
workday starts with exercising then work call at 0900 where you will get a list of tasks to be completed for that day lunch was from 1130 to 1300 then finish tasks by 1600 clean up 1600 to 1700.

Learned how to be flexible with day to day tasks and learned how to work with all types of people.

management cared about everyone, I was management and took – more... care of my employee needs and help address personal issues.

co-workers were easy to get along with fun to be around and very helpful.

hardest part of the job was deployment.

most enjoyable part was learning new things on a day to day basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Radar Section Chief
Staff Sergeant (Former Employee), Fort Sill, OKJuly 12, 2014
Responsible for a team of 12 men on the emplacement and march order of the military's strongest radar system. With the team we would set up the radar in under 20 minutes meeting all safety requirements and then track enemy fire up to 50K out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Hardworking Job setting
Effective decision maker (Current Employee), Dover,DEJuly 12, 2014
This job makes you mature as a person
Teaches one to be dedicated
No time for slacking theres always more work to be done mentality
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving with integrity and honor
Specialist (Former Employee), JBER, AKJuly 12, 2014
Pros: good structure, great training
Cons: hard lifestyle, some terrible environments
Additional duties: Cleaning, vehicle maintenance, weapon maintenance, physical exercise, battle drills, clerical work, and various garrison evaluations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
#1
11B - Infantry (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYJuly 12, 2014
Hoorah! Best fighting army in the world. Very happy with my 3 years in the US army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aviation
Aviation Officer (Current Employee), Sandston, VAJuly 12, 2014
• Gained essential knowledge of aerodynamics and weather analysis.
• Thoroughly planned missions, which were successfully executed.
• Learned to operate numerous military aircrafts.
• Gained skills in crew coordination and establishing an environment of teamwork.
• Successfully completed field-training exercises when put in charge of a group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to serve your country and achieve amazing benefits
Motor Transport Operator (Current Employee), Shelby, MSJuly 12, 2014
Pros: free food, clothes and education
Cons: often train under adverse conditions, time away from loved ones
Answering the call of duty is not only an honor but a privilege. Work typically starts with a roll call formation, followed by physical training (exercise), followed by a few hours for personal hygiene. Work/duty hours start at 9am-1130am, break for lunch and return at 1pm-5pm. Training and daily duties differ based off of job description and position. – more... Management has your best interest in mind at all times. Your co-workers are your best friends. The hardest part of the job is saying good bye to loved ones for a deployment to a combat zone. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you are making a difference in serving. Doing what very few are capable of doing and doing it with honor is the best part of the job, along with compensation and benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leadership building atmosphere.
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lee, VAJuly 12, 2014
Pros: health care.
Cons: time away from family.
The Army taught me a lot about myself and people. They gave me an opportunity to lead, teach, coach and mentor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
training training training is key
Combat Engineer (Former Employee), ft lewis waJuly 12, 2014
in order:
1. to physical training. maintain vehicles. train soldiers
2. how to be an adult. appropriate behavior. work ethic.
3. horrible at times
4. tracking down soldiers who weren't on time
5. training. training my team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Proffesional Environment
Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Current Employee), Fort Pickett, VAJuly 12, 2014
A typical day at work for me includes learning in a training environment. Also office work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and productive environment, with many challenges.
Family Readiness Support Assistant (FRSA) (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYJuly 12, 2014
Pros: adequate paid time off for vacations or emergencies; flexiable work schedule..
Cons: exspensive health care package
The FRSA program was designed to be the conduit between the soldiers and the family members while at home or deployed. Depending on the unit's needs the FRSA's job description may vary slightly while working under the strict guidelines laid out in the army regulations.

As a FRSA, I performed various administrative tasks to the unit commander while – more... juggling the needs of family members and their soldiers. A typical day would include writing reports, prepping for AR Inspections, giving briefs to family members, setting up and caring out unit activities, and briefing the brigade FRSA on future events.

The hardest part of this position is providing the delicate balance needed to family members when lose of life occurs and at the same time it is also the best part of this position due to the challenges and stress that everyone faces. Specific tasks, and people work together to provide the right kind of support necessary for the grieving family members along with the soldiers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life in the OR
Operating Room Technician (Current Employee), Landstuhl,GermanyJuly 12, 2014
Pros: hour lunch
Cons: additional duties that were distractors
The shifts that I worked varied on a month to month basis,and I was able to learn alot from everyone I worked with from Anesthesia to the various surgical services. The majority of the staff was willing to help and teach what they learned from their life experiences and lessons. I believe the hardest part of the job was being able to continually balance – more... being a Soldier and a Surgical technician.The most enjoyable part of the job is when the surgeons come up and thank me for my help in the case. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Field Artillery Tactical Data System Operator (Former Employee), Hawaii. texasJuly 12, 2014
this is a great way to start your career off in the right direction. benefits are a plus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of Military soldier
Data System Specialist (Current Employee), New YorkJuly 11, 2014
Pros: free housing, long breaks
Cons: low wages
I have been in the military for two years looking to transition into a new job enviroment. I enjoyed my military career, I learned many skills from it and met many diverse individuals. The most enjoyable part to my job is meeting many differnt people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the U.S. Army
Recruit (Former Employee), Fort Leonardwood,MOJuly 11, 2014
Pros: lots of travel
Cons: not all travel is good.lol
Army life isn't for everyone thats for sure,but if your willing to travel and can stomach past basic training your home free once you hit AIT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment that felt like a family of brothers.
Crew Chief/ Aviation Hydraulic Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYJuly 11, 2014
Pros: great healthcare, hour for lunch, and getting to fly.
Cons: physical training every day, long hours, and deployments.
I got to learn about different cultures while traveling the world through deployments and assignments to different countries. I enjoyed aviation work and took a lot of pride in it. A typical day on the flight line was going out to the aircraft and checking the log book for an maintenance that had to be done, like an up and coming 100hr maintenance phase. – more... I would check the blades for damage and repaint them if the need it or put a patch on them, if the blades had struck something. I along with my flight team did our daily checks on the aircraft which included checking the hydraulic fluid levels, engine oil levels, and the fuel levels. The hardest part of my job was being away from my family for such a long period of time while on a year deployment. The most enjoyable part of my job was to getting to be a crew chief and flying daily whether it was training or real missions. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more