Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15,209 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured, disciplined, integrity.
Patriot Missile Fire Control Operator (Current Employee), El Paso, TXJuly 10, 2014
Pros: variety of tasks, so i'm never bored.
Cons: not being able to voice my opinion, disorganization
The past 4.5 years in the Army has taught me leadership skills, it has provided me with a structured workplace, where I am required to act with integrity. It also taught me to be disciplined by being required to be at work every single day other than days I had scheduled leave on. A typical day at work starts at 0615 where we form up to make sure each – more... soldier within my squad is present. From there we have at minimum one hour of physical training. We then are released until work call which is typically at 0900 where we work on equipment, have various training courses whether it be physical, or written. Each days work varies greatly within the Army, so it has also taught me flexibility and patience. Our release time each day can also vary depending on tasks that need to be done. The hardest part of the job is not being able to voice my own opinion. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the vehicles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
Computer Detection System Repairer (Current Employee), Fort Hood, TXJuly 10, 2014
Long Hours and little pay but you learn a lot. A typical day Starts at 6 am and ends at 5pm. You will stay late all the time and you will work work work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joined to serve my time as a U.S. soldier.
Infantry Officer (Former Employee), Ft. Polk, LAJuly 10, 2014
Great experience leading soldiers and training young individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
Wire Systems Installer (Former Employee), World WIdeJuly 10, 2014
Pros: traveling, medical benefits, lots of freebies
I spent 9 years in the US Army. I am not sure how to explain a typical day in the Army. Lots of training, inventories, and a lot of training drills. I learned how to lead, how to have pride in what I do and work hard. I had many leaders and for the most part they were good leaders. Co-workers were almost like family. The hardest par of the job was moving – more... around so much. I spent about 4 years overseas or traveling within the USA. The most enjoyable part of the Army was finishing a training drill and spend time relaxing with my co-workers. There was a lot of camaraderie.I liked working in harsh conditions. Sure, at the time it wasn't enjoyable but I accomplished what most people could not and under less desirable conditions. At time of war, those are the least desirable conditions and you have to be trained for that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ever changing Governmental Agency
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Fort Leavenworth, KSJuly 10, 2014
Through my 22 years it has been an amazing and challenging experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Infantry Team Leader and Trainer of 10-20 (Former Employee), Afghanistan/GermanyJuly 10, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: very little downtime
Always traveling and training. Traveling and great countries to explore! Never regret.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive always something to do
Human Resources Sergeant (Former Employee), Fort Drum, NYJuly 10, 2014
love environment
love people
daily workload
nothing boring; always something to do
room for training always
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot
Private (Former Employee), Fort Leonard Wood, MOJuly 10, 2014
Pros: great job
Cons: away from family
PT everyday so was in shape, a little stressful at times. Met lots of people from different places. learned knew skills that probably would've never learned in the "normal" life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Army was an excellent learning experience. I enjoyed the time I spent in the Army.
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), Ft. Benning Columbus, GAJuly 10, 2014
Establishes and maintains stock records and other documents such as inventory, material control, accounting and supply reports. Establishes and maintains automated and manual accounting records, posts receipts and turn-ins, and performs dues-ins and dues-outs accounting. Corrects error and exception documents
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
physical and mental training
nuclear specialist (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COJuly 10, 2014
Pros: good training and workouts
Cons: long hours little pay
getting up at 4:45 in the morning for pt
work begins at 9:00
lunch at 11:30-1:00
work ends at 3:00

I have learned you have to work with many different people and must overcome differences in order to accomplish a goal
the hardest part of the job is going above and beyond what is required.

I most enjoyed working with a multitude of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your life when you are young and single.
Senior Trainer (Current Employee), Fort Rucker, ALJuly 10, 2014
You can gain a lot of leadership experience, because you will find yourself in understaffed situations and suddenly become the closest thing to the subject matter expert. Family must be willing to except long periods of time being apart or frequent shorter seperations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Combat Medic/Health Care Specialist (Current Employee), El Paso, TXJuly 10, 2014
The military was an overall learning experience. I grew professionally as well as personally. Upon from training, I found that this lifestyle wasn't for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaches you how to work with all different people
Administration Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Hood TXJuly 10, 2014
fast passe, high stress but you learn to work with a big group of different people and how do a lot of different things at the same time, you also learn time management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCJuly 10, 2014
I love being a soldier. I gained great skill and learned how to be a leader.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Start Your Career
LINE SUPERVISOR/COMBAT ENGINEER (Current Employee), Fort HoodJuly 10, 2014
Pros: wonderful benifits
Cons: don't get in trouble
Always teaching and learning new things. Around a lot of new personal, and everyone understand what you are going through when you arrive back from overseas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity for advancement and the organization instills dicipline and self motivation.
Multichannel Transmission Systems Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYJuly 10, 2014
Pros: tricare benefits, every vacation is paid for, dental benefits, school benefits
Cons: sometimes the working conditions were not that suitable, but you learn to push throuhgh the small discomforts.
Working for the United States Army was an experience. I was able to travel as well as work with different individuals from diverse backgrounds on a daily basis. The most enjoyable part of the job was when I obtained my supervisor positions and was able to mold young soldiers and train them in their skilled positions. It is always an exciting feeling – more... when you are able to monitor an individuals progression. Like any job, you have your good days and your bad days, but I am a firm believer that every opportunity is what you make of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYJuly 10, 2014
Typical day consists of training and improving our skills as intelligence analysts.
I learned valuable skills that have improved my job performance as well as discipline.
Management was strict and dedicated to accomplishing all of our objectives.
Co-workers are loyal and great teammates. They have helped me grow as a person and as an intelligence analyst.
Hardest – more... part of the job would be the stress of meeting tough deadlines and maintaining your credibility as an analyst. However, these challenges you face are what drives you to do better and become better at the job.
Most enjoyable part of the job is accomplishing the mission and knowing that what you did made a difference or had some impact on real time decision making. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service
Automated Logistical Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCJuly 10, 2014
Pros: fascinating work
Cons: no life outside work
Typical day was working out in the morning, morning formations and alerts.I reported to my place of duty by 9am and occasionally I had field work or an airborne operation to train for. My Job was basically to procure parts and services for the maintenance and upkeep of the vehicle in our fleet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, a job that makes individuals go beyond limits they never thought they could.
System Administrator (Former Employee), Wahiawā, HIJuly 10, 2014
My time in the Army made me grow and learn tremendously. I gained experience that I never would have had the opportunity to gain if I didn't join. I learned a lot, grew a lot, and gained an amazing work ethic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great experience
Information Technology Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Gordon, GAJuly 10, 2014
Long days, didn't learn job, medical care wasn't good. Not for everyone.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more