Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16,096 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Unit Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Carson, CoAugust 25, 2014
Pros: healthcare, compensation
Cons: on duty 24hrs 7 days a week. work 24hrs straight.
A typical day at work consisted of physical training, vehicle maintenance, and paperwork. We learned how to remain fully mission capable at all times. The hardest part of the job was not knowing. Not knowing when or if you would be deployed, what to tell your family, when you would be home. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting different types – more... of people from all walks of life. Different countries, different states. Just the diversity of everyone, but in all aspects, the same. All fighting for the same purpose, freedom. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall benefits and job security
Area Recruiting Manager (Team Leader (Former Employee), Provo, UTAugust 25, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: subject to deployments; sometimes hampers family life due to seperation
The US Army allows for a great environment and offers room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Experience Possible
Human Resource Specialist (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: p.t.
A typical day would begin with 1 formation. Daily task after that , lunch, formation, class, dinner, final formation.

I learned how to take initiative, and to take responsibility for my own actions.

Management was great. Not really much to say about that. They tell us to do something , we just get up , and do it .

We may not all like each other , – more... but we have to respect , and love one another .

Hardest part of the day in my opinion would be morning p.t.

The most enjoyable day would have to be lunch chow. Nice meal after a hard half of day . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US ARMY
First Sergeant (Upper-Level Manager) (Former Employee), Fort Benning, GAAugust 25, 2014
What can be said about the Army. Its a job that not everyone can do, but I did it for 25 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extraordinary Job
Recruiting Battalion Family Readiness Advisor (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: benefits, enjoyment
The opportunity to work for the US Army and serve our Soldiers who are constantly putting their lives in danger defending our nation is a blessing in itself. I will recommended it to anyone!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun hard working team!!!
Human resources/Administrative Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Hood, TXAugust 25, 2014
Pros: alot of down time and off days that make up for the long work days
Cons: long work days and very early mornings
The two units I was stationed with the first at Fort Meade and the current at Fort Hood, were very different as far as their missions. Each unit taught me how to better myself as a Human Resource Specialist and how to make the most of an array of situations. I worked with some of the greatest people that I think in any other career you would not meet – more... this many different type of people in one place. It is great to just come in and be able to work as a team on a good or bad day and get the mission done and still laugh and joke without anything being looked over. The environments are so positive it makes you want to come to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Active Army Veteran
Unit Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCAugust 25, 2014
Pros: i loved to travel and had the chance to travel alot.
Cons: not much time with my family while in the army.
Active Supply Sergeant
Jan 2011-12
U.S Army, 188th Military Police Company
Camp Walker, Republic of Korea
Supervised a Two man team consisting, Performs duties shown at preceding level of skill and provides technical guidance to lower grade personnel. Inspects completed work for accuracy and compliance with established procedures. Coordinates supply – more... activities. Reviews and annotates changes to unit material condition status report. Post transactions to organizational and installation property books and supporting transaction files. Determines method of obtaining relief from responsibility for lost, damaged and destroyed supply items. Organization and installation supplies and equipment. Scheduled and performed preventive and organizational maintenance and inventories. Prepared unit/organizational and sensitive item supply documents. Determined fast effective methods of obtaining relief from responsibility for lost, damaged and destroyed supply property. Reviewed and annotated changes to unit material condition status reports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging,rewarding
United States Army Infantryman (Former Employee), JBER, AKAugust 25, 2014
PT, Classes, Training, repeat. Train, deploy, repeat. Loved it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Squad Leader (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXAugust 25, 2014
A typical day in the Army while not deployed would be getting up and doing P.T. (Physical Training) at 0600 for a couple hrs. Followed by work call at 0900. This is job specific, but in a combined arms battalion it could consist of weapons maintenance, or qualifying, Maintenance on equipments such as Strykers or Tanks, or training out of the warrior – more... tasks and drills book to make sure as leaders our subordinate soldiers get the basic training the Army says they should have to effectively do their jobs. After all the training has concluded we go home at 1700. The Army has a type of high risk, high reward element to it. Very rewarding. Your buddys are the best in the world and the best part of being a unit that takes the fight to the enemy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the Army...
Shop Office Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYAugust 25, 2014
What do you expect? Make the most of it and suck it up.

Some poor leaders but some stellar ones and great people.

You will never know brotherhood as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Former Employee), Fort Stewart, GAAugust 25, 2014
As a first job it helped me learn how to work in a real work place, and provide the necessary knowledge i needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Requires hard work and determination.
Unit Supply Specialist 92Y (Former Employee), Fort Riley, KSAugust 25, 2014
My experience with the United States Army was a great experience all the benefits were an extra bonus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place where we learned the true definition of teamwork
Infantryman (Former Employee), clarksville, tennesseeAugust 25, 2014
Pros: benefits, learning cool things, meeting new people
Cons: short breaks, heavy hours, no sleep
a typical day was training always training you do something long enough and repeat it for so long it becomes almost reflex
we learned and trained in combat situations but always how to work well with each other as a team as a family
Management had its ups and downs mostly because we the younger group felt like our opinions and voices didn't want to – more... be heard but the military is about structure and honor its hard to be heard sometimes
the hardest part of the job in my opinion of course was getting used to people yelling in your face day in day out all day
I enjoyed learning new things and working with my friends getting to know their lives as they got to know mine – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job
Signal Support Systems Specialist (Former Employee), Ft. SillAugust 25, 2014
life in the military is great. You get to meet a lot of people on a daily basis. If you like to travel to different places this job is for you. like every job, it has ups and downs but the friends you make will help you get over it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a high volume job
Carpenter (Former Employee), Fort Leonard Wood, MOAugust 25, 2014
During construction days, we always prepared for multiple changes through out the day. With that being said, I gained the ability to be very flexiable to adapt with the days events. I also learned a wide variety of skills. From taking measurements to constructing and disecting blueprints. Management usually varied from leader to leader, but during my – more... time as a leader. I made it my duty to make sure all work was completed with no fault and in a timely manner. The hardest part of the job was working in weather ranging from over a hundred degees to as low as ten degrees. All in all i loved the hands on experience and the knowledged that was obtained in my time as a carpenter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanic/ soldier
Light and Heavy Vehicle Mechanic (Current Employee), Fort Hood, TexasAugust 25, 2014
My day would start at 0630 for physical training till 0730. I'd be at work about 0830. The days would really change depending on what they need to get done. I would be most of my time working/running the service shop. I had about 15 to 20 people working for me at a time. I would have to balance out the work flow and schedules for service due that month. – more... I learned how to adapt to any type of work environment. The hardest part was the deployments . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
Operations NCO (Former Employee), Augusta, GAAugust 25, 2014
A wonderful company with different jobs, with different skill levels. The Army has excellent benefits. You get to work with different people from all over the world with different backgrounds. The hardest part of this job are the deployments. We are a country at war and sometimes you are called on to do the job you've trained for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job!
Echo Team's Officer in Charge (Former Employee), Camp Atterbury, INAugust 25, 2014
This was a great assignment, unfortunately title 10 orders (year at a time) are becoming harder and harder to get.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We were a maintenance company that supported other units.
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Riley, KSAugust 25, 2014
Pros: interaction with different people, learning a new job
Cons: sometimes it was late nights due to dealines having to be met
A typical day at work would be doing an accountability formation of all personnel, emailing up the personnel reports to higher headquarters, having a meeting with my senior peers to see what the tasks were for the day. Checking my outlook to see if anything important had came down or any deadlines that had to be met for the day. I learned how to become – more... proficient using Microsoft Office, Word, Excel, Outlook and Power Point. I also increased my words per minute with typing. I had great co-workers. If I needed any type of documents they would do their best to get it to me in a timely manner. I became better with my attention to detail and being meticulous about documents being done correctly before turning them into my senior leaders. I would in process and out process personnel that were leaving the unit and I kept 100% accountability of their personnel files. The hardest part of the job was being short on personnel. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning something new that I could use later on in my career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXAugust 24, 2014
The hours are long the work difficult but the experience gained and the honor of serving made it a great job.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more