Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15,227 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of Military soldier
Data System Specialist (Current Employee), New YorkJuly 11, 2014
Pros: free housing, long breaks
Cons: low wages
I have been in the military for two years looking to transition into a new job enviroment. I enjoyed my military career, I learned many skills from it and met many diverse individuals. The most enjoyable part to my job is meeting many differnt people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the U.S. Army
Recruit (Former Employee), Fort Leonardwood,MOJuly 11, 2014
Pros: lots of travel
Cons: not all travel is good.lol
Army life isn't for everyone thats for sure,but if your willing to travel and can stomach past basic training your home free once you hit AIT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment that felt like a family of brothers.
Crew Chief/ Aviation Hydraulic Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYJuly 11, 2014
Pros: great healthcare, hour for lunch, and getting to fly.
Cons: physical training every day, long hours, and deployments.
I got to learn about different cultures while traveling the world through deployments and assignments to different countries. I enjoyed aviation work and took a lot of pride in it. A typical day on the flight line was going out to the aircraft and checking the log book for an maintenance that had to be done, like an up and coming 100hr maintenance phase. – more... I would check the blades for damage and repaint them if the need it or put a patch on them, if the blades had struck something. I along with my flight team did our daily checks on the aircraft which included checking the hydraulic fluid levels, engine oil levels, and the fuel levels. The hardest part of my job was being away from my family for such a long period of time while on a year deployment. The most enjoyable part of my job was to getting to be a crew chief and flying daily whether it was training or real missions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Disciplined Organization with Strong attention to detail
Executive Assistant/Accounting Manager (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYJuly 11, 2014
Pros: hazard pay, bonuses while overseas, tax free shopping, military discounts, medical, dental, savings plan and life insurance
Cons: not a 9-5 job, its a 24/7 job especially getting up in ranks
As an executive assistant and office manager in the US ARMY it is a very rewarding and noble job to be able to serve the soldiers and take care of their administrative needs whether they are overseas or stateside. I will never trade this military experience in the world. I learned to be the best of the best and I was always above and beyond the standards. – more... I learned to be independent and figure things out on my own. I also learned teamwork and mentored over 48 soldiers in my 13 year career. The hardest part of the job is being away from home and having to maintain the right attitude no matter how stressful the environment is. The most enjoyable part of the job is just the passion that I have every single day because I love what I do and now that I have transitioned to the civilian world, I plan to be an asset to a company who is willing to hire me base off my experience and expertise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet stressful workplace.
Visual Information Equipment Operator/Maintainer (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, North CarolinaJuly 11, 2014
I have learned so much and gained a lot of experience from the army that no other company could or would do. They taught me so much on photography so that I can now take professional photos for any situation. I was also able to utilize the knowledge I obtained in college and use it to help create magazines and pamphlets that were distributed to units – more... downrange to be used for their missions.

My co-workers were very helpful and always had each others backs. Without them everyday would have dragged on. The hardest part of the job was to keep everyone motivated, but the most enjoyable part was seeing the work you created actually being used and being commended for your effort. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U.S. Army has its ups and downs.
Logistics Team Leader (Former Employee), Ft. Polk, LAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: medical benefits, housing, life insurance, steady pay.
Cons: difficult to separate work and home. always on call.
The nature of the U.S. Army is such that the day to day routine varies wildly dependent upon the type of unit you are assigned to and in which location you find yourself. Overall, however, the benefits are tough to beat elsewhere and the pay is steady. A typical day will have you awake and conducting physical training from 0630 - 0730, sometimes more – more... or less depending on your unit. "Office hours" are typically 9-5 with an hour or so lunch break. Emergencies may require deviation from a normal schedule and virtually anything can be declared an emergency. Week or month long stretches of training and field exercises can deviate from this garrison schedule and of course deployments are an entirely different beast completely.

Even on the worst day, however, you will develop lifelong bonds with your coworkers and team members. They become family and will be there to help through both good and bad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone to learn the discipline you need to survive in the civilian workplace
Human Resource Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYJuly 11, 2014
Pros: disipline
Cons: too much time away from family
A typical work day every customer leaves happy! You cant always be right you do have to try to find a solution to every problem and when you need help ask for it. My co workers and i may not always like each other but professionalism is placing difference to the side in order to achieve a higher goal. i enjoy happy customers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience! Enjoyed the U.S Army while I served
Construction Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Fort Bragg, NCJuly 11, 2014
Pros: 1 1/2 lunch, great benefits, paid vacations and weekends
Cons: 0500 wake up, random physical fitness test, 24 hr duty days
A typical day at work would consist staying the motor-pool where all our equipment is located and do maintanence checks on the vehicles to keep them 100% fully mission capable. There is alot of room to move up in the ranks and become a leader and train soldiers. The atomsphere from all duty locations that I was stationed at was friendly and family oriented. – more... The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to train and lead soldiers in many different ways and teach the soldiers all the knowledge that I had learned throughout my career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job in the world.
Communications Information Security Officer (Current Employee), Kaiserslautern GermanyJuly 11, 2014
Pros: see the world, fight for freedom, go to college.
Cons: time away from the family...
Imagine a job where, everyday, you are serving your country and helping to keep your friends and family safe from harms way. Communications in the military is far reaching and multi-faceted. In my career, I've done tactical (satellite, LOS, radio, frequency management, bandwidth management, planning, project management, information assurance, knowledge – more... management, Cisco systems, etc.) and enterprise or strategic level communications at a garrison or civilian setting. It's overwhelming the information you can learn in the military. I would highly advise any young person to start out for at least a couple of years in the military, if only to get your head on straight! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and fast paced environment
Chaplain's Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Rucker, AlabamaJuly 11, 2014
Pros: good management
Cons: bad co-workers
A typical day would be showing up for physical training around 530 and than showing up to work by 9:00. Cleaning the building and unlocking all doors. Filling out paper work for the church. Providing support for services and any special events held at the church. I learned how to handle couples wanting to get married and also how to inspect the buildings – more... for any damages. Management was great and noticed everything that had been done. Some of my co-workers were great to work with while others wanted me to fail. The hardest part of my job was working with people that did not want to help me with simple tasks. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing the smiles on my customers faces after I had helped them with their problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Organization
Information Technology Sergeant (25B) (Former Employee), WorldwideJuly 11, 2014
Great advancement opportunities, wonderful learning experiences, increasing knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Police
Military Police Officer (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJuly 11, 2014
Pros: learned so much
Cons: long days but other than that i have nothing bad to say
- Responsible for patrolling a community of 500+ families, creating a safe environment for all on post housing, as well as conducting traffic enforcement operations
- Lead police investigations to closure by developing an investigation plan, gathering facts, interviewing witnesses and acting on conclusion
- Identify solutions to critical problems and – more... help guide individuals in the right direction
- Great leadership unforgettable people
- Hardest part was pushing myself harder to be even better than I was the day before – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Fun
All Source Intelligent Analyst (Current Employee), Wiesbaden, GermanyJuly 11, 2014
In the military, the day usually starts at the crack of dawn, but it is always about team work and cooperation. My co-workers are fun and good to be around. We established strong bonds and grew as people. Hardest thing about my job was sometimes there wasnt much to do in your specific field so you would get tasked to do things you knew little to nothing – more... about. But the most enjoyable part was meeting so many different people, from so many different places. The diversity in the work environment was outstanding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work
Senior Technical Inspector (Former Employee), Fort Irwin, CAJuly 10, 2014
Positive environment. Co-workers are always willing to help and assit. The opportunity to progress is abundant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured, disciplined, integrity.
Patriot Missile Fire Control Operator (Current Employee), El Paso, TXJuly 10, 2014
Pros: variety of tasks, so i'm never bored.
Cons: not being able to voice my opinion, disorganization
The past 4.5 years in the Army has taught me leadership skills, it has provided me with a structured workplace, where I am required to act with integrity. It also taught me to be disciplined by being required to be at work every single day other than days I had scheduled leave on. A typical day at work starts at 0615 where we form up to make sure each – more... soldier within my squad is present. From there we have at minimum one hour of physical training. We then are released until work call which is typically at 0900 where we work on equipment, have various training courses whether it be physical, or written. Each days work varies greatly within the Army, so it has also taught me flexibility and patience. Our release time each day can also vary depending on tasks that need to be done. The hardest part of the job is not being able to voice my own opinion. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the vehicles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
Computer Detection System Repairer (Current Employee), Fort Hood, TXJuly 10, 2014
Long Hours and little pay but you learn a lot. A typical day Starts at 6 am and ends at 5pm. You will stay late all the time and you will work work work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joined to serve my time as a U.S. soldier.
Infantry Officer (Former Employee), Ft. Polk, LAJuly 10, 2014
Great experience leading soldiers and training young individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
Wire Systems Installer (Former Employee), World WIdeJuly 10, 2014
Pros: traveling, medical benefits, lots of freebies
I spent 9 years in the US Army. I am not sure how to explain a typical day in the Army. Lots of training, inventories, and a lot of training drills. I learned how to lead, how to have pride in what I do and work hard. I had many leaders and for the most part they were good leaders. Co-workers were almost like family. The hardest par of the job was moving – more... around so much. I spent about 4 years overseas or traveling within the USA. The most enjoyable part of the Army was finishing a training drill and spend time relaxing with my co-workers. There was a lot of camaraderie.I liked working in harsh conditions. Sure, at the time it wasn't enjoyable but I accomplished what most people could not and under less desirable conditions. At time of war, those are the least desirable conditions and you have to be trained for that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ever changing Governmental Agency
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Fort Leavenworth, KSJuly 10, 2014
Through my 22 years it has been an amazing and challenging experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Infantry Team Leader and Trainer of 10-20 (Former Employee), Afghanistan/GermanyJuly 10, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: very little downtime
Always traveling and training. Traveling and great countries to explore! Never regret.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more