Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16,136 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Data Engineer (Former Employee), Fort Huachuca, AZAugust 28, 2014
Pros: pay, travel, benifits
Cons: less sjob security
Good options for travel, pay and advancement. Job security is less secure now due to cutbacks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something new and new challenges daily
Avionics, Electrical, Armament System maintainer (Former Employee), Hunter Army AirfieldAugust 28, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: long hours, too much time away from family
The Army required early mornings and late evenings, every morning started with morning formations at 6:30 am. Punctuality and accountability were required of not only myself but for my soldiers as well. Time management and working with others, not only those near me but with those in other units completely, are essential for ensuring success. The hardest – more... part of the job was the late hours and time spent in the field/deployed away from my family. I enjoyed teaching and managing my soldiers, meeting people from all walk of life, people I would have never met if it weren't for the military. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One meal a day
SANITATION WORKER NUTRITION CERTIFICATION (Current Employee), Sandston, VAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: i get to eat good, & i get paid.
Cons: to much not doing nothing
My job is Boring. I only cook one meal a day for one weekend out the month. I mostly just sit around and do nothing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different lifestyle
Motor Transport Operator (Current Employee), Colorado Springs, COAugust 28, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: not a lot of home time
Being a US Army soldier is not just a job but a different life style that challenges you and changes you for the better regardless of your demographics and background.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Defending Americas FREEDOM
Army Infantryman (Current Employee), Fort Polk, LAAugust 28, 2014
A typical day consists of maintaining accountability of the soldiers under you. By ensuring that their health and welfare are being met by the Army. The hardest part of the job is constantly deploying and spending a long time away from family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U.S. Army best experience
Senior Group Career Counselor (Former Employee), South CarolinaAugust 28, 2014
Being in the U.S. Army for over 20 years was a great experience. I learned and received so many different skills, met so many different people from different cultures, and was able to live in countries I might otherwise not ever be able to see.
The benefits while serving were more than I could have ever asked for, and helped me provide for my family.

The – more... hardest part for me was the times I had to be away from my family, I did miss things I will never be able to get back, but my family understands the sacrifice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product work place
Transportation Manager (Current Employee), Fort Sill, OKAugust 28, 2014
Pros: support my family
Cons: being away from family long periods of time
Being in the US Army has been a very challenging and very humble experience. I really enjoyed leading soldiers and supervising them and the equipment I was signed for. I was deployed to Iraq 3 times and it was a honor to support the united states of America. The most enjoyable part of my job was taking care of soldiers and watching them grow and mature.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee), Fort Sill, OKAugust 28, 2014
I just not a career soldier. It got to the point where the army had way to much control over my life and I felt as if they didn't value my life as I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place sometimes
Satellite Communication Systems Operator (Former Employee), Ft Bliss, TXAugust 28, 2014
Pros: free medical, dental housing if single, decent pay
Cons: leadership, no life, always working
Can be a rewarding career, can also ruin your life. Job work/life balance is very low. You are always working and you have very little home life. The benefits almost make it worth it. The leadership is very lacking. Sometimes they just tell you to do busy work to make it look like you are working hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workes for every type of career goal
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Germany, Texas, Iraq, NebraskaAugust 28, 2014
Pros: job sucurity, good benifits (on active duty), you get on the job training for a career in civilian life
Cons: called to war at any time, way time is hard on family and relastionships.
Is a good way to see the world and get training for a job you want to do in the civilian world. This is a good way to go for a young single person to get started.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Work Day
Training and Development Manager (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYAugust 28, 2014
Woke up and went to work. Was give the daily taskes that need to be done from leadership, if there was stuff to be done. If there was nothing to do that day, we did training or conducted classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place good leadership and managment
Operation Manager (Current Employee), Fort Campbell, KYAugust 28, 2014
Pros: brother hood
Cons: never get to see family
Typical day is about 12hrs long we conduct battle focus training with training on land navigation weapon systems and maintaining vehicles and equipment. Higher leadership is always very proficent and knowledgeble and profesinal at all times lower junior soilders we all are like a brother hood everyone looks out for each other hardest part about my job – more... is being able to see my family. The thing i enjoy most is no one in the world can do the things ive experinced in the military – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army Review
CAPTAIN (Former Employee), Ft. Riley, KS and Ft. Benning, GAAugust 28, 2014
While in the army a day would start at 6am and ended after 6pm, but while deployed your day only ended to get some rest. I learned that your work can affect everyone to the lowest level. As an officer in the army I was giving management positions. I worked with many co-workers over the last 8 years with one goal. The hardest part of the job was the – more... stress of being deployed and preventing the stress of the deployment preventing the job from being completed. The most enjoyable part of the army was the Honor of serving our great country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very diverse working envirnment encompusing multiple trades
Manager (Current Employee), Fort stewart Georgia, and Vilseck GermanyAugust 28, 2014
Pros: traveling, learning, teaching, comradery.
Cons: being away from loved ones for extended periods.
constantly training my team members in order to ensure that they stay current on their specific job skills placing members at positions that would better benefit the team. Ready to deploy to anywhere in the world at anytime. Constantly conducting cross training so that every team member knew everyone else's job so that if we lost a team member there – more... was always another person to take their place. The hardest part of the job was having to move constantly. the most enjoyable part of the job is working with people from all different backgrounds and being able to travel the world. I also love to teach and in the military you have to continually train your men so that they do not fall behind on there job skills. A typical day at work is coaching counseling and mentoring my team members ensuring that they are always ready to accomplish any task that gets given to them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Millitary enviroment, Great benifts, steady pay.
91B - Light Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXAugust 28, 2014
Pros: benifits, stable pay
Cons: term based employment
Military service was a great honor to participate in. I learned how to become a Diesel mechanic. Management was the best I have experienced due to military environment. Co-worker interactions were more like a family then a actual mechanic shop. The hardest part of the job as having 24 hr shifts from time to time. The most enjoyable part of the job was – more... fixing and seeing equipment work properly after services or repairs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations Officer
Assistant Operations Officer (Current Employee), Fort Bragg, NCAugust 28, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: deployment
-stressful environment
-manage day-to-day operations
-plan and conduct daily meeting schedule
-manage over 800 personnel
-oversee operations and training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good work place
Petroleum Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Riley KSAugust 27, 2014
daily tasking, what command wanted done and keep up on what you need to do to advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Distribution Coordinator Mission Commander
Distribution Coordinator (Former Employee), Scholfield Barracks, HawaiiAugust 27, 2014
Pros: leadership, health care, military benefits
Cons: assignment duration was too short
I was Mission Commander responsible for every aspect of freight from configurations, scheduling, shipment and disbursement.
• Established secure communications between customers
• Created and implemented configurations prior shipping
with a vast array of freight
• Lead cross-functional teams with high level of accuracy
• Finished contracts before/established – more... due date
• Reported back to the Convoy Commander – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retiring after 20yrs of service
Staff Development (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXAugust 27, 2014
Pros: benefits, experiance
Cons: long work hours, deployments
Being in the Army has taught me how to deal with stressful situations and to adapt to any enviroment. It has also given me the great pleasure of leading young Soldiers in combat and peace keeping operations across the world. Had the chance to be in a Supervisor and Management position. I have lead up to 30 Soldiers at a time, and I also taken care of – more... their personel issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part of a bigger picture to protect and serve our State and Country
1st Lieutenant (Current Employee), New Iberia, LAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: advanced training
Cons: away from home during crisis situations.
2LT (Infantry Rifle Platoon Leader) – Currently assigned to B Co. 2-156 Infantry Battalion
I am responsible for the welfare of my platoon which consists of 30 personnel. My duties include but are not limited to safety, writing operation orders, executing operation orders, conducting inventory, counseling, physical fitness, morale, and the overall success/failure – more... of my platoon. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more