Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17,377 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good job
91M-Bradley Vehicle System Maintainer (Former Employee), Fort Irwin, CAOctober 23, 2014
i loved the army sad to go. i did learn alot. the hardwast part of the job is when i had to leave my family for weeks at a time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very valuable work experience
LOGISTICAL OPERATIONS SPECIALIST (Former Employee), fort riley kansasOctober 23, 2014
learn more work experience in your job field more than anywhere else
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Unit Supply Sergeant (Current Employee), Killeen, TXOctober 23, 2014
leadership was horrible. coworkers were not nice. and the time schedule were not fair
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the Military.
Office Management (Former Employee), Fort Riley, KSOctober 23, 2014
It's exactly what you'd expect. The military is the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the Army. You love it or hate it.
Signal Soldier (Former Employee), ManyOctober 23, 2014
Pros: everyday is different, and your peers are great people.
Cons: benefits suck, healthcare sucks, no work/life balance.
No two days are ever the same. Get up, do PT, then report for work. You may be on night shift, day shift, swings, 12 hour shifts 6 days a week; rain, shine, snow; in an A/C cooled building one day, out in the field the next.
Great place to get a start on a career.
Co-workers become brothers and sisters; You can't beat the camaraderie.
The job itself – more... is hard. You're a fighter first, servant second, then you have your everyday job (IT for me). Long hours, sometimes days without sleep. Year(s) away from family. Low pay. Lousy healthcare system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with professional coworkers
Infantryman (Current Employee), Fort Polk, LAOctober 23, 2014
Pros: competitive in nature
Cons: unknown or varying work schedule
Typical day at work included meetings, reports analysis, making and receiving phone calls varying in nature. Also resourced various training, conferences and project management groups. Able to manage facilities, including scheduling and resourcing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the US ARMY
Infantryman (Current Employee), FORT BLISS TEXASOctober 23, 2014
A typical day at work at the US ARMY is very challenge and you learn a lot of skills like management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exelent Oppertunitys
Infantry Soldier (Current Employee), Fort Hood, TXOctober 23, 2014
Pros: health care, tranning, long lunch, 30 payed vacation a year
Cons: lot of relocating, long hours
The Army is well rounded and has grate leaders with a lot of knowledge and experience to pass on. They have so many opportunists for bettering yourself in so many different forms of training. I feel iv grown a lot as a person and developed my skills a lot as a soldier and a leader with the mentors above me. A normal day we would show up 6 am to do physical – more... exercise come back around 9am and do training based on the events that are going on the week go to lunch around 12pm and come back at 1 pm do preparations for training event, paperwork or duties and we would get off around 5pm. Co-workers are respectful, attentive ,task oriented, and work grate as a team. Hardest part of the job is also the most enjoyable its the intense training we do. Iv learned a lot in my time in the army. If I had to pick one I would say teamwork. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
Enhanced Patriot Operator/Maintainer (Current Employee), Fort Hood, TXOctober 23, 2014
It's the United States Army it doesn't change it stays the same there is no way to change the what has been said a million times before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to Serve.
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Fort, DROctober 23, 2014
Pros: ability for promotions
Cons: work / family balance
I was very proud to serve as a soldier in the United States Army. The Army enstilled integrity, loyalty, courage, sense of pride, accountability, and many other attributes in me each day. I attribute the US Army and all of the leaders I have had the priviledge to serve under for the man that I have become.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding and challenging career
Automotive Maintenance Warrant Officer (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXOctober 23, 2014
a career choice that teaches you diversity, hard work, discipline, motivation and structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I should of went active duty
Chemical Operation Specialist (Current Employee), Fort McClellan, ALOctober 22, 2014
I love the military and everything about it. I should of listened to my father and go active duty. A drill day is basically everyone going over their duties and responsibilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXOctober 22, 2014
The most important part of the job would be being a part of an organization that made a positive impact in the lives of others while improving the security and stability of various geographical regions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to start a career
Information Technology Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Campbell, KYOctober 22, 2014
Joining the military was a great decision. It really gave me a baseline to build off of to pursue a career. I enjoy everything from meeting different people to the skills I developed. You really learn to be flexible because of the fast pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet rewarding career
Squad Leader / Team Leader (Former Employee), Oklahoma, Hawaii, Kuwait, Iraq, TennesseeOctober 22, 2014
Pros: comradery
Cons: time away from home
Ten years in the United States Army with time in both the Active Duty and National Guard sections. Several deployments, including tours to Kuwait and Iraq. Squad leaders/Team Leaders are assigned a team of four to eight soldiers. Training, regulation compliance, and mission essential guidance were my primary responsibilities. Experienced leader with – more... proven techniques for high pressure/important work place decisions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only for the dedicated
Unit Movement Manager (Former Employee), Fort Sill, OKOctober 22, 2014
With the way the times are going you must really want to serve your country to do this, your pay will no longer be comparable to jobs on the outside and your benefits are being attacked each month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Internment/Resettlement Specialist (Current Employee), PROctober 22, 2014
A typical day of a Internment and Resettlement Specialist starts with a headcount of the detainees in the facility. During the shift you will make sure that personnel and detainees are in a safe environment. If there's any altercation between detainees, we have to intervene and break the altercation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever.
Cargo Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Campbell, KYOctober 22, 2014
Pros: plenty of learning experiences.
Cons: alot of hurry up and waiting.
Start the day off with a little physical training then go to work and check the lines of rolling equipment. Do a physical and visual inspection of our equipment and proper pmcs. Possibly go on a mission on post to assist another unit moving containers and heavy cargo etc. I learned attention to detail, Always be on time at the right place in the right – more... uniform. Along with respecting my leaders its important to respect the rank and not the person and everone has a boss. My co-workers consisted of a large company and which team work and having a good crew was always ment looking out for every one. Hardest part of the job i guess was standing in formation for hours at a time and waiting on the next information. The best part of the job was always having something to do and trying to do it at my best and also being deployed was an interesting aspect to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress High reward employment
Manager (Howitzer Section Chief) (Former Employee), FT. Riley, KSOctober 22, 2014
Pros: benifits are amazing
Cons: long hours and little family time
A highly rewarding source of long term employment. However it is not for everyone if you cannot handle intense amounts of stress and a constantly evolving job description then look elsewhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and productive work environment under lots of stress.
Information Support Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Drum New YorkOctober 22, 2014
Pros: work with people from all walks of life.
Cons: most challenging mental and physical ever
Early days start about 530 AM and will go to about 6 PM.
on call many days of the week and some times over 24 work days.
Basic LAN and WAN management and user management threw Active Directory and the army training system ATCTS. You get to work with many different type of people from all walks of life and ranks in my job field. Opportunity to grow as – more... a professional and man was well intact threw the army. My years in the army have made me a great leader. Deployments over 12 months, being separated from my wife and kids that long was the hardest part of the job. I enjoyed the every day challenge for leadership growth that my peers give me as a NCO. – less

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more