Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18,020 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good times and long days
Power Generation Repair Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Richardson, AKNovember 19, 2014
Pros: great job security
Cons: long hours, deployments.
There were great people to work with, a great family based work environment. Long hours, usually always busy. Working on generators, water purification units, vehicles, and heaters.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different from active duty a little backwards
Supply Sergeant (Former Employee), Schofield Barracks, HINovember 19, 2014
Received, inspected, inventoried, loaded, unloaded, segregated, stored, and issued, delivered and turns-in organization and installation supplies and equipment. Prepared all unit/organizational supply documents. Maintained automated supply system for accounting of organizational and installation supplies and equipment. Issued and received small arms. – more... Secured and controlled weapons and ammunition in security areas. Scheduled and performed preventive and organizational maintenance on weapons. I have also worked the in Grand Isle for the BP oil spill for a total of 11 months, In keeping accountability of all the different materials to clean up the oil in the gulf. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is challenge and quite fun and feel personally you are really accomplish a great task.
Food Service Manager/Coordinator (Former Employee), Los Alamitos, CaliforniaNovember 19, 2014
Pros: everyone worked together as a team.
Cons: none.
The day were long. It is a real challenge each day as learn something new from each member of your team. The work have to accomplish and every minutes count ensure everyone do their part of he work. Being part of a team make a difference both peronally and knowing each member earned the respect among their fellow workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Band of Brothers
Automated Logistical Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Bliss, TXNovember 19, 2014
Always a good environment, a lot of classes to attend to progress your career. Sometimes their is long hours but worth the experience in the long run.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military trained professional with a keen attention to detail and an analytical mind
Signals Collector (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, CONovember 19, 2014
Pros: co-workers, location, relaxed environment
Cons: lack of leadership at times, passdown of information from supervisors, poor planning of events, last minute changes
Start work at 0900, go to lunch at 1130, come back to work at 1300, and then close of business at 1630. Perform operations in support of SMDC mission, and help protect National Security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great teamwork getting the job done at a fast pace
All-wheel mechanic (Former Employee), ft.gordon-ft jacksonNovember 19, 2014
Pros: the breaks were on time
Cons: getting the job done
very safe and we were unitized to do the job and make it a lot easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunties
ASSISTANT OPERATIONS OFFICER (Former Employee), Fort Bliss, TXNovember 19, 2014
Wonderful Leaders and great opportunities to develop valuable skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US ARMY
Unit Supply Clerk (Former Employee), Fort Wainwright, AKNovember 19, 2014
Pride honor respect for of unit and the army is self I enjoy each moment of my career in the army. One of the most best decision I mad din my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
Air and Missile Defense Avenger Crew Member (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXNovember 19, 2014
Active duty member from 2008 to 2012. Air defense artillery background.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership and Training
Senior Advisor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 19, 2014
A typical day at work would be to provide leadership and training of personnel under my supervision. Provide a stress free environment so that all was able to conduct their day mission. I enjoyed working with my co-workers and how they provided team work to each other. I really did not see anything hard about the job that I was doing. The most enjoyable – more... part of my job, was my ability to take care of personnel and provide each of them way to help them advance in their careers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Satellite Communications Operator/Maintainer (Current Employee), Fort Campbell, KYNovember 19, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: hectic schedule, fast past, austere environments
Got a lot of hands-on time and first hand experience while working here. You have to be driven to learn more than the basics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, but very rewarding
Captain (Former Employee), United States, Iraq, KoreaNovember 19, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: deployments, time away from family
0500 wake up, PT at 0600, work from 0900-TBD on daily basis. I learned that leadership requires putting those under your command ahead of your own needs; holding personnel accountable for right and wrong, being the example, always challenging yourself and doing your best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive learning environment
Dental Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCNovember 18, 2014
Ever since the first day of basic training, this was the best time of my life. A great learning environment, although quick teaching and not a lot of time to study. This was a great first job for an 18 year old with no real plan. It helped me to find what my real passion was for through hands on learning and getting "thrown" into unfamiliar territory. – more... There is so much I'm thankful to the Army for, and one of the big ones is that it helped me to mature more quickly than i would have if i were to have been on my own. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work place
Air Defense Artillery Team Leader (Current Employee), Fort Campbell, KYNovember 18, 2014
Pros: long lunch breaks, steady pay check
Cons: 24hr on call
busy work place.
timely schedule.
a lot of book reviewing.
long work hours.
friendly people.
great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army Strong
Sergeant - Information Systems Analyst (Former Employee), United StatesNovember 18, 2014
Pros: everything but stop loss
Cons: stop loss
It is the best work experience you could ever ask for. Do not settle on flipping burgers, join the Armed Forces!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, safe, high production work place.
Field Maintenance Team Squad Leader (Former Employee), Fort Bliss, TXNovember 18, 2014
Pros: having an extreme sense of trust in your co-workers. very professional atmosphere.
Cons: the work is extremely demanding and eats up alot of your personal time after hours.
Work day starts at 9:00 AM with full preventative maintenance checks and services. Preform needed quality assurance/ quality control inspections. Hang all parts received, troubleshoot all faults using proper technical manuals, tools and procedures.
Lunch at 12:00 PM
Return to work at 1:00 PM
Continue maintenance as stated above, order parts needed.
Work – more... day ends at 5:00 PM
Stay late only if deadline parts are received or until deadline parts are installed and tested.

Learned team building, safety discipline, Time management

Co-workers were well disciplined and eager to get the work done on time and safely.

The hardest part of the job was being away from my family for extended periods of time. Deployments, Field rotations, etc.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being a part of a team and knowing that your co-workers to your left and right have your best interest in mind at all times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army
Team Lead and Trainer (Current Employee), Ft. Hood, TXNovember 18, 2014
Typical work day starts at 4:30am. You have physical training then it's work call. I managed multiple soldiers on a daily basis consisting of different job duties. My co-workers are pretty easy to get along with great attitude so getting work done is easy. The hardest part of my job is working long hours and not being productive the entire time, which – more... means alot of standing around. I enjoy being part of a team that comes from different walks of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits and overall good coworkers
UAV Technician (Former Employee), FT. Hood, TexasNovember 18, 2014
Pros: healthcare, room and board are all payed for.
Cons: pay is not good, especially not for the hours worked
good work environment most of the time, excellent benefits and retirement plan,and generally pleasant coworkers. the pay is not good, especially considering the long hours and often hostile working conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Experience
Explosive Ordnance Disposal Team Sergeant (Former Employee), Schofield Barracks, HINovember 18, 2014
The military has the best benefits of any job I have seen. With paid medical, dental, housing, and even subsistence allows for food every month. The retirement benefits are also excellent with the ability to retire after twenty years of service. It is not for the faint of heart but once in it is a place where you can build a future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical DoD experiance
US Army Explosive Ordinance Disposal (Former Employee), AAFB MD.November 18, 2014
The Army is the army no matter how you slice it. I got some good training out it and made some friends.

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more