Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16,474 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding!
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee), Conroe, TXSeptember 11, 2014
The Army is a great place to go to offer your services to the United States of America. At the same time, you can earn a trade or skill that could be very useful in the civilian world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operational and Human Resources Manager
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee), Camp Atterbury, INSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: responsibility, leadership development
Cons: too many opportunities to take advantage of in a short amount of time.
A truly challenging and diverse work place which offered opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More than coworkers more like family
Petroleum supply specialist (Former Employee), fort hood txSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: good healthcare
Cons: long periods away from loved ones
I loved the soldiers I worked with, we all got along and made sure we accomplished whatever we needed to for that week. It was more than coworkers we were a family. We went to war together and came back home together. I loved being a soldier and if I had the chance to go and do it all over again I wouldn't hesitate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking and motivated with the ability to work in high passed environments
Bradley systems maintainer and recovery supervisor (Current Employee), Fort Riley, KSSeptember 11, 2014
Military life is highpassed and requiers alot of self-discipline. Most everyday starts with an early morning workout that keeps all of its men and women in shape and then pushis into the work day were we complete task quickly and efficiently by the end of the day.
My job consits of troubleshooting and repairing diesel engines and its supporting systems – more... while supervising and training 7 personnel on the basic and advanced skills they will need to perform there daily duties. I am also the supervisor for the emergency recovery assets in our organization. I enjoy working with and helping others to accomplish tasks while learning from other peoples experiences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
Corporal - Gulf War Veteran- Honorable Discharge (Former Employee), Atlanta GASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: serve your country
I enjoyed being in the Military, the work at times could be hard but at the end of the day it was very satisfying. I was able to travel, and I made a lot of friends that are still friends today. The hard part about the military is during conflict and war. I was stationed in Saudi Arabia during Desert Storm/Desert Shield and just losing one American – more... soldier is hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its what you put into it
Helicopter Pilot (Former Employee), Fort Rucker, ALSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: free travel
Cons: you can die at any moment
typical day at work start at 6 ends when you finish. There is an infinite amount of stuff to learn. Management cares as long as it doesn't interfere with work in any way. Co-workers become great friends. Hardest part of the job is leaving home, fighting wars, breaking yourself to be ready to fight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better when you have no family
Military Police Officer (Former Employee), Fort Carson, COSeptember 11, 2014
A lot of experiences to be learned here. You will meet a lot of different people from all aspects of life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working with Soldiers
experienced problem solver (Former Employee), fort hood txSeptember 10, 2014
Outstanding organization who care for Soldiers. Supervised all logistics operations throughout the Brigade. Solid leadership provided motivation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging work experience
CI Team Leader/ Reenlistment NCO (Current Employee), Joint Base Lewis McChord, WASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: the opportunity to be in various leadership positions of responsibility
Cons: constantly away from my family
I have been in for 14 years and there is always a new challenge or something exciting that takes place everyday at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned valuable transferable skills to take to the civilian world.
Infantryman (Current Employee), South CarolinaSeptember 10, 2014
I learned how to effectively receive and give direction under stressful situations and perform when time is critical. I learned how to lead people and be confident in myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and diverse work experience
Combat Engineer (Current Employee), Leesville, LASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: payed vacations
Cons: little time off during training months
This organization is very diverse, from entry it offered a wide range of people to interact with, may with different backrounds; this lead to a very unique environment. On normal days it would begin at 0500 in the morning and end at 6 o'clock in the evening. A normal day started with physical training, followed by mauntance of an assigned peice of equipment – more... for several hours, after which I would begin job skills training with my fellow soildiers for the remander of the day. on none standard days we would sppend numerous hourse constructing advance plans on movement, tacticts, and palcement of materials. often many days would go into planning and muntiple computer program would be used in it creation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maturity kicks in very quick
Field Service Technician (Former Employee), Fort Benning, GASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: great benefits, travel
Cons: high school all over again, lots of drama
Formation early morning 15 min prior to the 15 min early.
Get off at 5 if you are lucky
Great benefits.
Have your NCO's on your good side and they back you up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Corporal (Former Employee), Fort Riley North, KSSeptember 10, 2014
Not for the weak of heart and mind. Overall the most rewarding thing I've ever done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military life is not good for family time.
Petroleum supply specialist (Former Employee), Ft. Stewart GaSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: benefits, co-workers
Cons: deployments, incompetent management.
Arrive at work at 5:45am and get home around 5:30pm. The Sargents and higher leaders seemed lacking in common sence and were rarely interested in ideas given by lower enlisted. Co-workers were fun and got along well. The hardest part of the job was the deployment, being away from home for long periods of time and not knowing if your coming back. The – more... best part was the leg up being a veteran will give me in my future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced organization with a long decorative history
Senior PSYOP Sergeant / Detachment Sergeant (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, North CarolinaSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: steady career with lots of advancement, building relationships, values....
Cons: leaving family members for long periods of time.
The US Army is a very fast paced organization with all kinds of personality. The one thing that everyone in the organization has in common is Values and a Code of Ethics. I have learned through the US Army that an individual can only do so much, with the help and guidance of others, we can do so much more. I have learned to manage personnel back in – more... the Garrison (Peace time) and in Combat Operations (OEF and OIF). The hardest part of being a leader is the losses. The most enjoyable part of being in the US Army is creating relationships with others that only another service member could understand. It is like a brotherhood / sisterhood and that everyone will watch your back and has confidence that you will have theirs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aviation Maintenance and Logistics Manager for 26 years working with the best soldiers and leaders that our Country could ask for.
Aviation Maintenance Manger/Test Pilot (Former Employee), Forts stateside, Korea and GermanySeptember 10, 2014
Pros: having a new challange every day and working with professionals to complete mission requirements
Cons: leaving loved ones behind on missions not knowing when you would see them again if ever.
Over 26 years experience, I learned leadership and personnel skills, decision making, logistical and aviation maintenance operations and learning to deal with stress from the most professionally trained and knowledgeable leaders within the best trained Army of our world. Learning that leadership is all about taking care of your boss and his goals for – more... the unit (company); taking care of the troops and making sure they understand the goals and allowing them to succeed versus fail; and taking care of not only my family, however; the soldiers families too. Along the way through my Military career I learned and put into practice to balance mission requirements to time off was very important and praise in public versus punish in private.

My co-workers were the best of the best!

Hardest part of my job was not knowing what was going to happen when I woke up in the morning. Every day was challenging, new and exciting. As a test pilot, I had to think on the move, to troubleshoot and come up with the best solutions that kept the air crews that flew them safe and sound. As a logistical manager, I had to make sure that the mechanics had the right supplies and tools to complete the missions required by the Army in some very ouster conditions and locations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive training enviroment
Army Instructor (Current Employee), Fort Benning, GASeptember 10, 2014
Pros: challenging job opportunity
Cons: to big student to teacher ratio
Give a class at a range to 200+ basic trainee soldiers on basic and advanced rifle marksmanship. Teaching the fundamentals and the safety aspects of the weapon and the range. Conduct and Operate range operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U.S. Army
Senior Diesel Engine Mechanic/ Shop Foreman (Former Employee), Germany/ Fort Drum, NySeptember 10, 2014
I loved being a part of the U.S. Army. My only complaint is that there is not a great way to balance family life with the military life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Senior Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 10, 2014
could not ask for a better assignment during my military career, too bad I had to leave so soon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Senior Fire Support Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCSeptember 10, 2014
Typical Day - 530am to 5pm
Mandatory Physical Training

Daily Duties - Job Training
Equipment Maintenance

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more