Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15,972 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well-organized establishment and mission-oriented environment
Network Automation Manager (Current Employee), Fort Irwin, CAAugust 15, 2014
Cons: deployments
Early morning time used for physical activity to increase personal health and fitness. Excellent working environment. Team-concept and very supportive co-workers. Hardest part of work is deployment and field training that separates employees from spending time with family or having a day off work. Most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you are – more... contributing to the success of the organization as well as making a difference in people's lives daily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive structured work place
LOGISTIC OFFICER (Current Employee), San Antonio TXAugust 15, 2014
Pros: working together as a team
Cons: projects were 16-18 hour days
The U.S. Army is a well discipline organization. The military is a great experience that teaches values.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be all you can be, I did.
Staff Officer (Former Employee), USAAugust 15, 2014
Would still be in if they military would promote and recognize true leaders based on ability and not a quota.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter Job or even carrer
Transportation Managment Specialist (Former Employee), world WideAugust 15, 2014
Pros: benefits unmatched
Cons: pig headed supervisors
This was an awesome experience. Hardest part was getting used to the early mornings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Friendships, and knowing what your job is
FIRST SERGEANT (Sergeant First Class, E7) (Current Employee), Fort Hood, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: hard on the body
Always knowing who to count on and you know what you will be doing from day to day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Changer
Petroleum Supply Specialist (Current Employee), Fort Hood, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: benefits, job security
Cons: time away from family
Great experience/excellent benefits/great opportunities for advancement. Working for the US Army has been a great experience. I have got to travel the world, have friendships that will last a lifetime. The feeling of being a part of a great team is second to none.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Army
Contracting Specialist / Chaplain Assistant NCO (Former Employee), Fort Polk, LAAugust 14, 2014
Pros: long lunches, benefits, and able to accel in rank
Cons: deployments
A good job for eleven years. I was stationed at Fort Carson in Colorado and Fort Polk in Louisiana. I have learned a great deal about other cultures and the world. Most days consisted of coordinating for my boss. Quarterly every year we ran conferences for 50 plus couples. Administratively it was an amazing career, I have learned to keep great records – more... with an ability to recall information. I have also had the opportunity to deploy in service to this great nation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very busy enviroment
Army Officer (Current Employee), Gainsville, GAAugust 14, 2014
. A typical day at work is honestly skeptical because each day has a different challenge and mission that you must complete and I ensure that the job is accomplished.

. I have learned that you must be willing and ready to learn each day because you never know whats instore for you and I have the enthusiasm and motivation for any challenge.

. I currently – more... hold a positon of a Platoon Leader and I manage over 40 soldiers. I sign for millions of dollars of equipment as well

. My co-workers are easy to get along with very motivated individuals to accomplish any mission.

. Hardest part of my job is having the energy each day becasue there can be many early mornings and very late nights but if you have the dedication to place the mission first you shall be fine

. The most enjoyable part of my job is taking care of soldiers and making sure the mission is accomplished and everyone is satisified. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U.S. Army
Communication (Former Employee), Fort Riley, KSAugust 14, 2014
Pros: people, second to none benefits, sign on bonus
Cons: long hours away from family, constant change
I spent 3 years in the U.S. Army on active duty including a year in Iraq. I was a multichannel transmission system operator and maintainer. I set up communication networks for multiple branches of the military, The lifestyle was fast and long. The benefits were second to none. Senior leadership seemed at many times to not be on the same page. I met – more... and maintain multiple relationship from the amazing, diverse, and truly unique friends i met while serving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Rocket Systems Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCAugust 14, 2014
Multiple launch rocket systems. Received physical fitness excellence award for achieving top 1% scores.
Trained out on the field survival skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best/Worst Experiance ever; wouldn't trade my time back for the world.
Network Administrator (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCAugust 14, 2014
Pros: free breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a place to stay; weekends are off.
Cons: little to no advancement, and you dont have hours go to work until they say go home.
Gave me everything to work with, it was hard, always under pressure; The army will make or break you, its given me the confidence I lacked, the pressure that you wouldn't get in the regular world. it had great job security, however you have no advancement. I was the leading technician; and systems manager for our S-6 shop, with 3 junior Technicians – more... that where under me; you wont find an atmosphere as frustrating, but totally worth it in the end like in the military. You had no hours, you worked until your command let you go home, however you are guaranteed lunch, and dinner, and you have a place to stay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding
Computer Systems Operator (Former Employee), El Paso, TXAugust 14, 2014
Very team orientated. Lots of structure, Still given the opportunity to be individually and professionally driven
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Unit Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, NCAugust 14, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: no breaks
The US Army made me more responsible and to look at life a diffent way. I was proud to serve my country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days and training events, but rewarding with a good life style
UNIT SUPPLY CLERK (Former Employee), Schofield Barracks, HIAugust 14, 2014
Pros: great experience and benefits
Cons: long training events with no days off
Days were usually busy and full of work. Early start, longish lunches and ended at a decent time. I learned much about supply management and inventory. My coworkers were very different, from understanding and nice, to some that were very steadfast in their choices and opinions, which I felt made us a very good team. The hardest part of my job was planning – more... the amount of supplies and services we would need for extended training events on limited resources. The most enjoyable part was some of the locations I had visited during training events, such as South Korea. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great opportunity to serve my country
Senior Manager (Sergeant First Class) (Former Employee), Fort Carson, COAugust 14, 2014
The best part of being in the military was the people. I had the privilege of working alongside some great battle buddies from all walks of life and this experience gave me the opportunity to develop and refine my own leadership style. A typical day at the office was never dull as our team was constantly focused on taking care of soldiers, meeting daily – more... mission demands, planning and implementing future individual and collective war time training outlines, daily vehicle maintenance readiness, and of course taking care of soldier family issues. I think the hardest part of the job was dealing with discipline issues. Most organizations spend the majority of the time dealing with the 2%ers who made bad life decisions and subjected themselves to disciplinary action. The most enjoyable part of the job was watching young soldiers grow up and mature. Watching them go to promotion boards and being recommended for the next level of responsibility is very rewarding especially when you see them displaying some familiar traits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and expanding enviorment
Wheeled Vehicle Mechanic (Current Employee), Fort Sill, OKAugust 14, 2014
The military was a good and useful tool to help prepare me for the civilian world and how to maintain a good positive attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love my fellow soldiers
Supply Specialist (Former Employee), El Paso, TXAugust 14, 2014
I love going to work everyday and being around people from different places and back rounds. It gave me an opportunity to get to know people. My leadership was amazing and always helped with anything that I needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fulfilling lifestyle
Joint Nodal Network Operator Maintainer (Current Employee), Fort Hood, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: paid time off
Cons: deployments
I learned to work as a team. I worked with many different people and accomplished all tasks and missions. The hardest part was deployments and field training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training
FORWARD SIGNAL SUPPORT SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Fort Richardson AKAugust 14, 2014
Training is the number one thing that the army gives you and helps you strive for the future through proper management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging organization to work for.
Air Defense Artillery Officer (Former Employee), El Paso, TXAugust 14, 2014
The physical demands of the job was a challenge although it was personally rewarding. The responsibilities required was demanding but not impossible to accomplish. I enjoyed learning about leadership and management. I also loved the diversity in the people you worked with.

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more