Find companies:
U.S. Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18,063 reviews

U.S. Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical DoD experiance
US Army Explosive Ordinance Disposal (Former Employee), AAFB MD.November 18, 2014
The Army is the army no matter how you slice it. I got some good training out it and made some friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a soldier
Diesel mechanic/Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Fort Lewis, WANovember 18, 2014
Very rewarding however very fast paced but the best thing you could ever do in your life time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial life experience
Orderly/Training Room NCO in Charge (Current Employee), Fort Hood, TXNovember 18, 2014
Pros: free lodging, medical and educational benefits
My typical work day included the supervision of 5 Soldiers, data in processing and out processing, file up keeping for over 300 Soldiers. Processed personnel actions such as finance, legal, promotions, leave of absence, and training.

I learned a lot of clerical work and became proficient at my duties. I had to handle a large sum of documents and utilized – more... organizational skills to set priorities to complete tasks in a timely manner.

Management/Leadership was very helpful in my personal and professional growth and always supported me.

The hardest parts of the job were meeting sudden deadlines. Being in the military, several deadlines would happen on a weekly basis. It was my duty to stay calm, remain proficient, and complete the task at hand with 100% accuracy.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the constant work load. I always had something to work on and if I did not, then I found something to do such as updating forms, routing slips, or training Soldiers to complete new tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army Strong
Power Generation Manager, Germany (Former Employee), FayettvilleNovember 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no family time, lots of hours.
The work place was always changing which is sometimes good. You are never complacent. The travel and benefits are good. My co-workers were fantastic. The management was great. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Career Choice
Corporate Operations Manager (Current Employee), Fort Knox, KYNovember 18, 2014
The United States Army is an excellent career choice for anyone starting out. The typical workday starts with physical fitness training before normal duties in your selected job field begin. I learned a wealth of transferable skills that will prove valuable to any company that I gain employment with in the future. Careers start at entry level and gradually – more... move toward corporate level management level. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to know team members who will become friends for life and serving in all different places across the globe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challange awaits you
Electronic Warfare Operator (Former Employee), Fort Carson, CONovember 18, 2014
Pros: fullfilling work environment
Cons: long works hours
An incredibly challenging, yet satisfying, workplace environment that will push you to the limits of what you can do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady rewarding career
Army Officer (Current Employee), Fort Leavenworth, KSNovember 18, 2014
Pros: great bennifits, very rewarding career, and opportunities to test ones metal.
Cons: can find oneself in a hostile environment where someone is trying to litterally kill you.
Overall my career with the Army has been a steady progression of challenging assignments. Majority of the management has been competent with leaders more than willing to help you advance and provide mentorship and guidance. Until recently I would have recommended this career field to everyone, but with the current domestic political environment, it – more... has become a very narrow and difficult career path to succeed in, and it will only get worse as our politicians fight over limited budgets. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that most are unable or unwilling to do
Commissioned Officer (Former Employee), WorldwideNovember 18, 2014
Tremendously fulfilling and frustrating profession that quickly exposed you to the best and the worst that the world has to offer. Demanding and rewarding at the same time...The Army will afford your opportunities and experiences that many will only read about or play in video games. Simultaneously, this profession will make you stronger, physically – more... and mentally, and more capable to take on the challenges of whatever you choose to pursue. It is an honor and a privilege to lead the sons and daughters of America both abroad and domestically. I wouldn't trade this experience for anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job lots of travel to combat
Infantry /combat engineer (Former Employee), Lebanon, TNNovember 18, 2014
Pros: travel excitement
Cons: combat and danger
The army was a great place to learn leadership adventure a lasting friendships The job was physical all weather hard work long hours. The job was dangerous in training and combat situations. I enjoyed traveling the world seeing new thing cultures and people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Job
Diesel Mechanic 91B (Current Employee), Cadiz, OHNovember 18, 2014
Performed PMCS
Diagnose and repair.
............................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving my country.
Supervisor responsible for the training (Former Employee), Fort Carson, CONovember 18, 2014
Pros: the variety.
Cons: always away from home.
I served over 14 years of active duty in the U.S. Army. I was assigned multiple jobs/missions in a variety of situations that provided great life experience. It introduces a person to multiple cultures around the world and with in the United States and provided a culture of loyalty and pride.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The army is what it is
Health Care Specialist/ Team Leader (Former Employee), Ft. Bragg NCNovember 18, 2014
Its a difficult place to work with long hours and little care for the employee (YOU). The benefits are amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Drill Instructor, 2/354th 95th Division (Current Employee), Bossier City, LANovember 18, 2014
Challanging, but great place to work and great communication between the workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very team oriented and a GREAT place to learn new trades
Petroleum Supply Specialist (Former Employee), Hunter Army Air FieldNovember 18, 2014
As my Army career has progressed, I have had the opportunity to work in a variety of diverse jobs ranging from managing supply warehouse operations to petroleum, air traffic control, Supervising a team, loading and unloading various of top dollar Army Equipment and navigational assistance, mechanical as well as welding. Currently, my military job is – more... Petroleum Supply Specialist. Recently, I had the opportunity to continue my Army Career as a Reserve soldier as a Human resource Leader.

My current job requires me to test vehicles, their components and systems, supervise material flow, storage and global order fulfillment, operate and maintain over $100K worth of equipment, attend/participate in all driver safety meetings and assist with the Safety Risk Management (SRM) process. This is only a partial view of my work experience and background. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic work enviornment
Officer - 2nd Lieutenant - Fire Direction Officer (Current Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 18, 2014
Pros: commrodery, job culture, benefits
Very dynamic work environment. Every day is never the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOGISTICS
Logistics Manager (Current Employee), Fort Bliss, TXNovember 18, 2014
Personally responsible for over $3,000,000.00 of unit command equipment with no deficiencies
Maintained 100% accountability of Units equipment worth over $35,000,000.00 during multiple deployments overseas to Iraq, Afghanistan and Bahrain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel experience and Challenging career that builds character
Supply Technician (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VANovember 18, 2014
Pros: job security, benefits, good health care
Cons: long deployments away from home, to much focus on career then family
My experience in the US ARMY included a number of things from maintenance to refueling aircraft's. I learned how to gauge 2500 gallon fuel tanker trucks, and how to refuel aircraft while the engine was still engaged. Management consisted of a chain of command based on a ranking system starting from Team Leader, Squad Leader Section Sargent etc. My co-workers – more... where more like a family. The hardest part of my job was being away from my friends and family during deployments. The most enjoyable part was the serious training that came along with being a US soldier next to my chosen career path . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to get to know and help people.
General Construction Worker (Former Employee), Schofield Barracks, HINovember 17, 2014
The Army teaches you values that you will use on a day to day basis. Your typical day usually starts out early in the morning with a good physical fitness workout and you start your job around 9:00a.m. Your supervisors teach you to work as a team in order to accomplish the mission at hand. There are some long hours that you will put in throughout the – more... day, but it is well worth it at the end as the results that may help someone in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding
system administrator (Former Employee), Fort Irwin, CANovember 17, 2014
I enjoyed my time in the Army. Now I am looking to try something different.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army
Signal Support Specialist (Former Employee), Fort Gordon, GANovember 17, 2014
would recommend this job to anyone willing to try something challenging

About U.S. Army

The Army is a key component of the U.S. Armed Forces, providing expeditionary land forces wherever and whenever they are required. – Read more