Find companies:
U.S. Cellular
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
649 reviews

U.S. Cellular Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Service Technician & Inventory Coordinator (Former Employee), Kenosha, WIDecember 15, 2014
I really enjoyed my time at US Cellular. The job provided me with something new to troubleshoot everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place, but politics and management ruined it
Retail Wireless Consultant (Former Employee), Webster Groves, MODecember 10, 2014
Pros: good pay, you get to meet cool people. as long as your trying and they can see that your job is secure.
Cons: felt like cult, my managers sucked, so badly micromanaged
they were all drinking the corporate kool aid too much, we had to memorize the comnpanies values and repeat them at meetings. They made you do busy work because well they were failing and didnt want to pay you to sit and twiddle your thumbs. "role plays were so dumb and too long. My manager was very critical and not fun to work for. we had low morale – more... because sales were always down at the store.

Pros- good pay, you get to meet cool people. As long as your trying and they can see that your job is secure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as good as it once was
Retail Wireless Consultant (Former Employee), Racine, WIDecember 7, 2014
US Cellular has gone through massive changes in 2013 and 2014.

New computer systems slows down transactions and can be the cause of long wait times.

With the right attitude and patience a sales rep can make a lot of money and hopefully have fun while doing so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job i ever had!
Retail Wireless Consultant (Former Employee), crestwood ilDecember 5, 2014
it was so much fun working for USC! my team was my second family to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant team atmosphere and great staff
Sales / Technical support (Former Employee), Keysville, VirginiaDecember 4, 2014
Pros: discounted cellular handsets
Cons: healthcare
My total experience and time at U.S Cellular afforded me a variety of educational opportunities and experience in a fast-paced work setting. This also allowed and helped me to increase to ability to problem-solve abilities while face to face with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gotten Really Bad over the last 2 years!!
Retail Wireless Consultant (Former Employee), Galax, VADecember 1, 2014
Pros: benefits, pay
Cons: no work life balance.. long days, stressful hard to meet quotas, poor communication!!, high expectations, no positive reinforcment, except from the sales manager.
This company used to be GREAT to work for. However, a lot has changed over the last couple of years. They have become GREEDY, and could care less about their associates! You don't have work life balance. They want you to have contact with them at all times. Even on your days off. The pay is good, but has continually gone down over a 5 year period. They – more... tell you, that they have a set annual rate, you are supposed to aim for, but, with that said, that is not true, because, I was making the yearly income goal, but not making quota. Most Sales Associates pay has been cut 50%. The last couple of months, they have put into place, extremely HIGH sales quotas or goals, of which they are writing people up, for not meeting. They are all about, how much you sale, and if you don't sell it, you are questioned on how you plan to do better. Their focus has went from pleasing the customer to how much you are filing their pocket books!! They are firing their experienced, well trained, seasoned staff, and rehiring younger associates, at much lower hourly pay. I hope the company gets bought out! Especially for those tenured associates still hanging on under the enormous pressure they are under. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best company ever, always training there employees as network are changing.
Senior Network Field Engineer (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXNovember 26, 2014
The best company ever, always training there employees as network are changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Cashier (Former Employee), Kinston, NCNovember 25, 2014
Typical day I greeted customers, took payments, and assisted co-workers. Co- workers were great to work with, very positive environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paid and very good people
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Spencer, IANovember 21, 2014
Pros: phone service
Cons: travel
I started with the company and was doing very well, and kept doing very well. I was an award winning sales person and sales manager. They are a very fair and well compensating place to work. Most of all my friends and even best friends are people that I worked for, or with. When I was relocated to Spencer Iowa, the hardest part of my job was the travel – more... for meetings. Most of them took place in Cedar Rapids or Des Moines. My manager ended up being one of my better friends and was an advocate for moving to Spencer for my own management position. Because of US Cellular I learn a lot of empathy and how to think outside the box sometimes. I also learned that I can solve problems better than anyone else! :) As soon as I know the ropes I can figure out the best option. I was always able to work for the company AND the customer at the same time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fun fun
Multi-Unit Store Manager (Former Employee), Carpentersville, ILNovember 20, 2014
Obscenities, discriminatory language, or other language not suitable for a public forum
Advertisements, "spam" content, or references to other companies, offers, or websites
Email addresses, URLs, phone numbers, physical addresses, or other forms of contact information
Critical or spiteful comments on other reviews posted on the page or their authors
Allegations – more... of illegal activity - this is not a forum for reporting crimes – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and great organization
BILINGUAL RETAIL WIRELESS CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Delafield, WINovember 17, 2014
Pros: benefits, work life balance
Cons: short breaks
I enjoyed working at the Retail location very fun and professional atmosphere, company was big in supporting their employees and treating them right. Work life balance was awesome as well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Store Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 13, 2014
I enjoyed coming to work everyday. I actually learned a lot from management .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to Work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), South Portland, MENovember 13, 2014
The culture at US Cellular was wonderful. The management cared about each employee and used positive reinforcement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated it!!
Customer Service (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNNovember 11, 2014
Pros: free cell service
Cons: management, inconsistency, salary
I worked at the Knoxville TN call center as a customer service rep. I HATED every single minute I spent there. Yes, like most I drank the company kool-aid but not long after it was bitter and unsatisfying. The management sucks and there is no consistency which I told my supervisor, her supervisor and so up through the chain of command. There's favoritism – more... and a bunch of brown nosers. The D.O.? Yeah, that goes out the window once you get out of training. Oh, and the billing system that was" upgraded" a year and a half ago is still horrible and slow and makes the job difficult. You're micromanaged from the minute you walk in the door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and pleasant place to work at
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 11, 2014
Working at U.S. Cellular was a little different from what I'm used to doing, although it is in the legal department, learning how to draft amendments for cell towers is very interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Cellular turned into Totally Cellular
SALES ASSOCIATE/ SITE MANAGER (Former Employee), Susanville, CANovember 10, 2014
Pros: free phone service
Cons: advancement was hard
When I worked for US Cellular it was fun and the office was ran nice and neat. But they let an authorized dealer come in and take over. It was a mess. I was the only one working there, 6 days a week with no breaks. The store eventually closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Waukesha, WiNovember 4, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: distance
The most difficult part of the job was learning the computer systems in the technical department. Overall, it was a great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, declining culture.
NA (Former Employee), ChicagoOctober 30, 2014
Pros: empower you to act. people you enjoy working with.
Cons: declining culture, work life balance bad, and pay is below industry norms.
There are a lot of great people to work with at US Cellular, but since downsizing a few years ago the culture, advancement opportunities, and pay have all declined.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work but no longer.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNOctober 28, 2014
Was a great company to work for until they made changes and started laying people off and started acting dirty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Retail Wireless Consultant (Current Employee), knoxville, TNOctober 22, 2014
Very fun exciting place to work.. changing constantly.. great benefits and pay is amazing ... hourly plus commision in retail stores

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Cellular

United States Cellular takes calls from sea to shining sea. Doing business as U.S. Cellular, the company provides wireless phone – Read more