Find companies:
U.S. Cellular
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
585 reviews

U.S. Cellular Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good call center
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKMay 13, 2014
Pros: free phones
Cons: can't use internet at hour desk
US Cellular is a decent call center to work for. As will most call centers it is the same routine day in and day out, however USC makes it a little better
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great folks to work for!
Team leader (Current Employee), South Portland, MEMay 11, 2014
Pros: good benefits and opportunity
Cons: no bathroom in store
Best job I ever had! Benefits were very good..Good atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Us Cellular
Retail Wireless Consultant (Current Employee), Waterville, MEMay 10, 2014
Pros: great pay, great co-workers
Cons: life is what you make it...
A great place to work, They recognize hard and reward accordingly. While working at Us Cellular I have learned a great deal and have sharpened my skills; not only for Us Cellular but for the rest of my career.. AN INCREDIBLE PLACE TO WORK!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Financial Service Representative (Former Employee), Madison, WIMay 7, 2014
Pros: free cell phone service, no dress code, tuition reimburstment
Cons: schedules based on tenure
Increase revenue via telephone.
De-escalate customers.
Coworkers are very friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changes, changes
Store Manager (Current Employee), OklahomaMay 5, 2014
Company believes in culture and is transitioning to being numbers oriented. Although there is a change needed in performance to attain the goals that are being set, there is still an old mindset of culture that is keepin the componay from progressing the way that they would like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning
Technical Support Associate (Former Employee), Bolingbrook, ILMay 2, 2014
This a learning experience that taught me to never go back to work in a call center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the enjoyable part about the job
Customer Service (Fulltime) (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKMay 2, 2014
Pros: diversty atmosphere
Cons: location location location
the most enjoyable part of the job is the customers they are so easy going and are easy to talk to and make you feel good as a person. And there aren't all the same and are unique in there own way, which makes you as a customer service rep love your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going downhill fast
Sales Representative (Former Employee), TNMay 1, 2014
Pros: benefits, hours
Cons: failed above store leadership, employees threatened daily
In the last year, turmoil is the best descriptive word for the state of this once great company. Leadership continues to make and enforce very poor ideas. New computer system activated last summer is a prime example. Good customers continue to be double / triple billed, many face service interruptions and employees are unable to help customers due to – more... a user unfriendly system. Many times we sell products with the inability to even turn on and give the customer a working device, many go days without working phones. Upper management is terrified about losing their soft / high paying jobs and put blame on store and call center employees (taking no ownership for their poor decisions that have caused a mass customer exodus in the past year). Everyone from store management to sales reps are threatened daily about being terminated, causing a morbid work atmosphere. All the while our poor customers continue to suffer (research their facebook customer posts) paying above industry average costs while being on a smaller less dependable network, governed by leadership that is completely out of touch and enslaved to a failed computer system that is utterly useless (a system that was written for AT&T over 10 years ago who was smart enough to realize it did not work and not buy it, but US Cellular sure did). Company objective has changed from providing customer value to "making US Cellular money". Check out quarterly financial results for the last several years, the ship is sinking. Used to be a wonderful company to work for, now it's a workplace driven by anger, fear and desperation. If you seek job security with a growing, financially stable company please look elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, ping pong table in break room, opportunites for advancement
Financial Services Collections Manager (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKMay 1, 2014
Pros: positive and supportive environment, growth opportunites, great benefits
Cons: entitled employees
Focus was on creating the ideal experience for the customers. This was done by training, developing and supporting the account representatives to ensure they do the best job they can do. US Cellular was very community conscience and each year participated in Martin Luther King Jr. Day. Also, time was taken from the office to volunteer with various locations. – more... Ideas and feedback were encouraged and the company recognized difference makers with the organization. My opportunities within US Cellular contributed to my professional growth. The hardest part of the job was the entitlement that could be created with some employees. Because there was so much emphasis on employee satisfaction, some took advantage of this and forgot it was about the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Began as a dream job many years ago... Currently a dysfunctional nightmare.
Store Manager (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNApril 30, 2014
Pros: compensation & benefits
Cons: culture, crippling system flaws, lack of company vision or customer value proposition
Many years ago, U.S. Cellular was home of the good guys. The company focused on leadership excellence and valuing people. Today, the company's billing system and culture are equally broken. A severe lack of executive leadership has led the company to an exceptionally unhealthy place. I struggle to see a future in which U.S. Cellular is again thriving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet place
Data Entry Analyst (Former Employee), chicago, ILApril 28, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
work on your own pace.
complete the work without supervisor over your back
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry and organization are in change. Culture is suffering.
Billing Development Team Manager (Current Employee), WIApril 28, 2014
Pros: salarly
Cons: work life balance, culture
The company and the industry are in a state of change. This has put a great strain on the company. Specially the IS department. Culture and work life balance have suffered as a result.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales rep
LEAD ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Salem, VAApril 27, 2014
assisting clients with sale phone sales, training other associates,
how to help customers, counting till, entering all the data into inventory, all the management and co-workers was great to work with and fun, nothing was hard about the job, and the most enjoyable thing about the job was the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail/Business Sales
Retail Wireless Consultant (Current Employee), Roanoke Rapids, NCApril 24, 2014
Great place to work. Rotating Schedule with weekends and holidays.
Love the fact that you constantly are meeting new people. Never a dull moment. Fast pace at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A professional atmosphere
Retail Wireless Consultant (Current Employee), Appleton, WIApril 22, 2014
Pros: great people to with with
Cons: ability for growth
A typical day at U.S. Cellular consisted of me printing login/logout reports, reviewing the forecasted service level report, listening/viewing screen shots to determine the strengths and
opportunity areas of my associates, shadowing calls, weekly discovery sessions and weekly team huddles, sales and leading by example.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Senior Software Developer (Former Employee), Bensenville, ILApril 21, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: poor senior leadership
At US Cellular you will be asked to always do the right thing for the business and the customers. They have a very unique culture focused on the Dynamic Organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Money...
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), VirginiaApril 20, 2014
Pros: money, benefits
Cons: lack of advancement
Great money if you are goal driven. Downfall is that being promoted is nearly impossible. Company has awesome benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent culture
Enterprise Project Manager (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 16, 2014
U.S. Cellular is a fantastic, Chicago based company. They have a strong leadership team, flexible work life balance and understanding management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Proactive, and a great place to work.
Customer Service Coach (Former Employee), Bolingbrook, ILApril 14, 2014
Pros: awarded productive behaviors, career growth, free popcorn, juice bar, reduced lunch coupons, and front door parking.
Cons: i was not informed of date and time i would be laid off in a timely manner.
A typical day at U.S. Cellular consisted of me printing login/logout reports, reviewing the forecasted service level report, listening/viewing screen shots to determine the strengths and
opportunity areas of my twelve associates who reported directly to me, shadowing calls, weekly discovery sessions and weekly team huddles discussing how our I will – more... implement a holistic approach and effective ways to improve their overall call performance, proactively creating projects to build team morale, how to become an effective team player, improve sales numbers, and future career opportunities within the company,corrective action up to separation from the company, and annual reviews.

I learned how to own my learning by holding myself accountable by proactively signing up and participating in the Learning Management courses offered by the company. The benefits of stepping outside of my comfort zone and establish relationships across the company and other call centers.

My management team constantly motivated and pushed me by facilitating weekly meeting regarding my performance as a Customer Service Coach. During each meeting I would discuss my take aways during my previous meeting, and provided my manager with my approach on resolving any/all issues that needed to be fully addressed with my team. My manager modeled the way on how to be a effective Customer Service Coach by consistently demonstrating the values and behaviors of the company and clearly communicating what she expected from me.

My peers and I were very positive individuals, and we had an open door policy regarding being ready and available to assist each other during our time of need.

Initially, the most challenging part of my job was separating associates from the company. However I was able to overcome that challenge by realizing that I provided associates with effective tips on how to connect with our customers, grow our customer base, and provided timely feedback and placed them on a performance improvement plan. The Performance Improvement Plan also included a deadline stating when they will be separated from the company if they choose not to eliminate any/all negative behaviors that negatively impact our business. In doing so, I was able to acknowledge and accept that the associate actually terminated themselves if they did not complete the company's requirements by their deadline.

The most enjoyable part of my job at U.S. Cellular was the ongoing support for career growth and development coupled with the open door policy that was practiced on all corporate levels. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with plenty of challenges.
Network Field Engineer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 14, 2014
Pros: friendly employee's
Cons: winter driving, and stinging insects.
Everyone I worked with was easy going including management. I learned a lot about managing my time and resources and the telecommunications industry in general. The hardest part of the job I would have to say was being available at any time of day or night to work on various projects, make repairs, or perform routine maintenance. Of course "Telecommunications" – more... is a 24 hour business so that's to be expected. – less

About U.S. Cellular

United States Cellular takes calls from sea to shining sea. Doing business as U.S. Cellular, the company provides wireless phone – Read more

U.S. Cellular Photos