Find companies:
U.S. Coast Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
383 reviews

U.S. Coast Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constantly working out, and learning in the classrooms
Seaman Recruit (Former Employee), Cape May, NJAugust 26, 2014
Pros: good pay, healthcare, dental
Cons: long hours, short breaks
During my time as a seaman recruit we were also looking sharp, in shape, and learning new thing on the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the Military.
Safety Specialist (Former Employee), Norfolk, VaAugust 24, 2014
Pros: pay is better than it used to be.
Cons: you get yelled at a lot, even if it isn't your fault or if you were not even there.
Show up on time and keep a clean uniform and life is good. Otherwise you will not work out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stable fun job
Machinery Technician (Current Employee), virginiaAugust 23, 2014
* very well managed
* Job security
* great co-workers
*deployments are great and fun
* free schooling
* family life can get stressful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of a Coast Guardsman
Petty Officer 3rd Class (Former Employee), Virginia and TexasAugust 20, 2014
Pros: benefits, learn a special skill
Cons: being away from your family
A day in the life of a Coast Guard person includes waking up and immediately jumping into a day where anything can happen. As an engineer you make sure all the boats and machinery are operable because at any time you could get a call that there are 5 people aboard a sinking vessel that need your assistance. I learned to always expect the unexpected – more... and of course i learned a lot about fixing engines and machinery. at the start of the day you are given a work list and you and your co-workers have fun completing the tasks by working together and sharing personal stories to pass the time. The hardest part of the job is getting a call about a missing person, doing a search for 3 days and knowing there's nothing you can do because you already know the outcome. On the other hand when you get a call and rush over to the scene and you happen to save the lives of those in need, it's such a rewarding feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lifetime exerience
Petite Officer (Former Employee), Galveston, TXAugust 18, 2014
life lesson, an unforgettable opportunity , dedication, responsibility discipline, endurance, compassion overall feeling the unity of my pierce and my country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good experience
Machinery Technician third class (Former Employee), Bradenton, FLAugust 18, 2014
the coast guard was a good time but they rip you off. i didnt do much at work until there was an alarm. my managment was not very good. i learned a lot about engines, boat systems, being a mechanic, troubleshooting, tools and water.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very family friendly environment
Information Systems Technician (Current Employee), Petaluma, CAAugust 17, 2014
This branch of the military focuses a lot on the individual and making sure that he/she has all of the resources available to make their lives as easy as possible (given the circumstances).

*Great Benefits
*Good pay
*USUALLY good management
*Very family-friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saving lives and protecting the U.S.A.
Maritime Security boarding team member (Former Employee), Ocean City, MDAugust 15, 2014
A great way to give back to your country. A typical day consists of working on boats and responding to the needs of the boating public.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 year Coast Guard retiree
Marine Science Technician (Former Employee), all over the United StatesAugust 12, 2014
After sixteen years in the military I have developed great skill sets that will translate into the private sector. I enjoyed my career in the Coast Guard and if it weren't for an accident that left me temporary disabled I would have retired after 20 years of service instead of 16. I received an early retirement due to a job related accident. I have – more... since recovered from my accident and look forward to joining the workforce again. I have a lot to offer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience.
Logistics Specialist (Current Employee), Port Arthur, TXAugust 12, 2014
Pros: pay scale, steady work schedule
Cons: inexperienced supervisors
I personally love working in the Coast Guard. Every day I learned something new and your shipmates are like family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military you either love it or hate it, I loved it.
BOATSWAIN MATE THIRD CLASS (Former Employee), Astoria, ORAugust 11, 2014
Pros: room for advancement, stability, feeling good about your service
Cons: the military owns you, they can move you if they want.
While in the USCG I was aboard a buoy tender where I serviced aids to navigation, trained subordinates on their tasks, and maintained our ship. My time in the CG taught me how to take pride in my work (which already was instilled by my parents, but concreted with my military time), how to work in vast environments, and how work in a fast paced/dangerous – more... environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USCG
E-5 Boatswains Mate (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIAugust 7, 2014
I was tasked with training new personnel assigned to the station and we held firm to the motto of Always Ready. I was lead of the weapons department and training division were I scheduled training to make sure everyone was up to date and current with required training. I also spent countless hours in the communications/watch room were I monitored all – more... radio traffic, dispatched assets, and inquires regarding emergency situations. It often was hectic and chaotic at any given moment so it was important to remain calm and apply my risk management skills to ensure a safe rescue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable place to work
Office Automation Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 6, 2014
Pros: n?a
I enjoy my time working as a Civil Government Employee with the US Coast Guard. While working a Coast Guard I learned very different thing in the short time I was there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommend Coast Guard for a career
Chief Engineer (Former Employee), Station Calumet Harbor Chicago IllinoisAugust 6, 2014
Pros: excellent learning environment
Unparalleled learning experience for all. Instrumental in the development of leadership and management. Focused on doing the best job for every evolution. Maximizes on safety for the crew and the customer. Hardest part of the job is it is a challenging career, you learn to take a weakness and turn into a strength. Mentoring and inspiring other to succeed – more... enhanced and motivated me to achieve the highest standard possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great life experience
Seaman (Former Employee), Galveston TXAugust 5, 2014
Pros: great life experience
Cons: being away from family
I really enjoyed this experience. The military helped me grow as a person. My duties were standing duty, making sure the boat and base were properly maintained
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
2nd Class Store Keeper (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAJuly 29, 2014
Typical day at work would consist of reconciling government accounts, creating purchase orders, contract solicitations and modifications.

Best part would be that they would allow us to work out every day, and we always had morale events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maritime search and rescue
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Astoria, ORJuly 28, 2014
I worked as an Operations Specialist doing distress communications for Maritime Search and Rescue. I saved multiple lives and assisted hundreds of others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Service
Assistant Deputy Branch Chief - Administration (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 25, 2014
Military Service - Federal Service - Great Organization with limitless opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling Career
AIRCRAFT MAINTENANCE SUPERVISOR/QUALITY ASSURANCE (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAJuly 24, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: time away from family
Exciting and rewarding career in Search and Rescue and Aviation Maintenance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding
Independent Duty Health Services Technician (Former Employee), Cape May, NJJuly 21, 2014
Pros: free health and dental plus a compensation for housing
Cons: moving every 3-4 years.
A typical day at work includes running sick call for the crew to assess and treat minor ailments and being always ready to treat major injuries and life threats. Also including routine daily sanitation and pest inspections as well as being a mentor and counselor to everyone. I learned time management, attention to detail and customer satisfaction. The – more... management varies from outstanding to someone just showing up to work. However, there is always someone else to go to if you need to get the job done. Co-workers for the most part, are outstanding and friendly and typically helpful with a "can do" attitude. The hardest part of the job is functioning alone and learning how to balance time to accomplish all tasks. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping people and knowing that you are the reason that they are safe and feeling good and able to go home to their families. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Coast Guard

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) is a branch of the United States Armed Forces and one of the country's seven uniformed services. – Read more