Find companies:
U.S. Coast Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
434 reviews

U.S. Coast Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working Environment
Office/ Exams Clerk GS-4 (Former Employee), Memphis TNNovember 24, 2014
Great place to work for summer hire. Only was able to work about 2 months but would have accepted a full time position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intelligence Specialist/Honor Guard
Intelligence Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 21, 2014
Pros: active duty has free health care/ generous salary-benefits
Cons: constant relocation
Screen, research, analyze, and interpret all-source intelligence information, including HUMNINT/IMINT/MASINT/OSINT/ELINT/FININT/SIGINT for area of responsibility in order to produce detailed written analytical products. Work directly with interagency intelligence partners to insure projects are completed as scheduled, routinely inspecting projects work, – more... and overall project completion. Additionally responsible for conducting follow-up assessments with project coordinators from various intelligence partners to re-evaluate project planning, budgeting, and efficiency – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, great clientel
Sales Clerk Leader (Current Employee), Westhampton, NYNovember 20, 2014
Pros: work schedule
Cons: salary
Great job, I gained a lot of experience in retail and customer service.
I learned how to complete operations from opening to closing the store, and my strongest skill is customer service interactions. I work on the N,Y, Air National Guard Base in Westhampton and have a very large customer interaction on a daily basis and on Drill weekends when the customer – more... number doubles. Working among Military members has been very rewarding and have made my experience at the Coast Guard Exchange something I will never forget. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best years of my life
Aviation Maintenance Technician PO3 (Former Employee), San Diego CA Sitka AK Coos Bay OR Port Clarence AKNovember 19, 2014
Pros: flying everyday, helping people, saving lives, being proud of what you do
Cons: in the aviation world, advancement is terrible, huge amounts of responsibility without the financial reward
To the core, the USCG is in my opinion one of the greatest organizations on the face of the earth. I can't express in words how amazing it is to be surrounded by an entire community of individuals who's primary goal in life is to help people. I'll probably never enjoy a job as much as I did the USCG.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good ol boy
Officer (Former Employee), Atlanta GeorgiaNovember 16, 2014
good ol boy management. has its pros and cons. it is what you make of it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing of the Watch
Facility Supervisor (Current Employee), Galveston, TXNovember 13, 2014
Pros: opertunity to work or train in different fields
Cons: to much of a push to make it a business and forgetting thier military roots.
Coast Guard is still a great adventure. Choosing the right rate/mos/job makes large difference in what your experience will be. Todays Coast Guard struggles with an increased tempo and increased responsibilities, but a depleting budget. We are being pushed to do more with less. That is less, personnel power, less budget for building, maintenance and – more... repairs. Coast Guard is also struggling with the push to fit the changing market and commercial industry, but still wants to hold onto it's military roots. It needs to stay a military with the military structure and discipline. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Life experience
Boarding Officer (Current Employee), Key West, FLNovember 11, 2014
Pros: serving your country
Cons: spend alot of time away from home
Joining the Military is very rewarding and challenging. Not for everyone, but if your looking to do something with your life this is a great place to start.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, but unforgettable experience on how to handle life- threatening situations.
Seaman Recruit (Former Employee), Cape May, NJNovember 10, 2014
Basic training, mandatory physical training, lack of sleep, but all necessary to prepare you for any type of danger you will face inside the military.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, lots of travel oppurtunity
E-3 Engineer/Fireman (Former Employee), Honolulu, HINovember 7, 2014
A typical day on the job while in port was pretty easy going not to stressful, but the workday while underway was a different story. While underway the work done in the engine room was vital to mission success so it got pretty stressful at times. Management was hit or miss. The hardest part of the job was leaving love ones and friends while underway. – more... Most enjoyable part of the job was the fulfilling work we did and the travel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced, Highly demanding Military Station
E-3 Seaman (Current Employee), Hampton Bays, NYNovember 4, 2014
Throughout my time with the United States Coast Guard, I grew as an individual, capable of handling a fast paced, demanding workplace. This four year stretch of my life fine-tuned tools such as effective communication, teamwork and operational planning. Without this building block, I would not be where I am today, in a position ready to flourish in – more... my next assignment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A true life changing experience
Petty Officer Third Class (Former Employee), Seattle, WANovember 3, 2014
One of my greatest accomplishments was joining ands successfully completing my service time with the United States Coast Guard where I took full advantage of every opportunity for additional training and taking on leadership roles even at a low rank. Within the 2nd year I was the manager for multiple departments including personnel ranging from 10 -40 – more... persons at any given time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and work that employee can take pride in
Security Analyst II (Former Employee), Kearneysville, WVOctober 31, 2014
Pros: independent work and coast guard functions (get togethers)
Cons: not a lot of training on tools that we had to use and constant changes in all procedures
continuesly interacting with systems regarding their security and framework. Opening and closing POA&M's (weaknesses that the systems have). Having meetings with key stakeholders to address all the system's boundaries, security incidences, risks and overall structure of system.

I learned how to be a direct in communication and concise. The hardest – more... part of the job is the amount of work that needed to be completed during each day. There was a lot of multi-tasking and not easy to get one task completed at the given time. Switched around doing many different things at one time.

The most enjoyable part of the job was feeling a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction in the work that was produced and feeling that we made a difference in the security of the Coast Guard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD
Law Enforcement Instructor (Current Employee), Alameda, CAOctober 31, 2014
it was very good if you like to travel and meet and work with people from all over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adventures daily
Sr. Enlisted Communications Specialist PO2 (Former Employee), ClassifiedOctober 30, 2014
Pros: serving my country
Cons: bureaucracy
Best job I ever had. Stopping drugs, saving immigrants, and part of the first counter terror operations after 9/11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U.S. Coast Guard
Electrician, Supply Petty Officer (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CaOctober 30, 2014
Pros: decent wage, adventure, experience and the people.
Cons: erratic work schedule and relocating regularly.
A normal day in the Coast Guard requires a diverse skill set. One day I would be troubleshooting electrical issues on a boat, the next I would be ordering items such as: parts, office supplies, cleaning supplies and rescue equipment. My co-workers were excellent people with diverse backgrounds. The hardest part of my job was having to move around the – more... country every three years. The best part would be the friendships and team-work I experienced throughout my service time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Semper paratus!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAOctober 29, 2014
This was a very busy position. I supported six to eight recruiters and all of their applicants. The hardest part of the job was trying to get the applicants to complete the extensive amount of paperwork they needed to enlist. I really enjoyed the people I worked with and the fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest working agency in the Federal government
Marine Science Technician (E-5) (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 29, 2014
Continually providing more service and value to the public with less and less funding. Wide ranging missions from life saving, aids to navigation, law enforcement, maritime safety, hazardous material and oil spill response and many others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retired
Storekeeper Chief Petty Officer (E-7) (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCOctober 28, 2014
• Contracting Officer (Purchases for supplies under $25,000, services under $2500, and construction under $2000; Credit card holder)

• Purchasing Agent (Purchases for supplies under $3000, services under $2500, construction under $2000; Credit card holder)

• Inventory Management (Shipping and receiving; Quarterly/Annual Inventories)

• Accounting – more... (Tracking accounts payable; Balancing accounts weekly against purchases made)

• Office Manager (Supervised office team of 6 personnel; Ensured that office was manned during normal working hours) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DETT
Deployable Law Enforcement (Former Employee), Cape May, NJOctober 16, 2014
Pros: out on the ocean, protecting our country, travel
Cons: some of the situations with boarding boat(s)
I can not fully disclose what I did for the Coast Guard, but I was a type of law enforcement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USCG
Personnel Supervisor, Sector (Current Employee), Detroit, MIOctober 16, 2014
Pros: work life balance, benfits, the people
Cons: resistant to change, budget constraints, bureaucracy
Overall it has been a great experience. I've traveled all over the country, buit a strong foundation, and was part of a cause. Best part of the job is helping others. Worst part of the job is bureaucracy and tough to make changes.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Coast Guard

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) is a branch of the United States Armed Forces and one of the country's seven uniformed services. – Read more