U.S. Coast Guard Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government service focused on public safety.
Asst. Mgr., Policy Planning & Procurement Staff (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 6, 2017
This position was located in CG Headquarters.
Work was focused on management of the Coast Guard's training facilities and budget. The US Coast Guard is an outstanding US Armed Service dedicated to the safety of life at sea, environmental protection, maritime law enforcement, drug interdiction, search and rescue, maritime navigation, and response to natural disasters.
The Coast Guard gives back to the American public $4 in service for every dollar in its budget. It is the only government agency that can make that claim.
Pros
Exciting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not applicable
Boatswain's Mate Third Class (Current Employee) –  United StatesNovember 2, 2017
prefer not to say, locate nearest recruiter if you are interested. Military life is the best decision you could make. Culture is military based. Best part of the job is traveling and helping others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting at first
Branch Secretary (Former Employee) –  Governors Island, NYNovember 2, 2017
Two hour commute by bus, subway and ferry boat in the morning and another two hours going home was exciting in the beginning but became exhausting over several months. Learning how update and schedule a bidding board that was reviewed by private contractors and military personnel was exciting to learn. I also supervised and assigned workflow assignments to six procurement clerk typists and taught them how to use a color-coding filing system I created. Regulated incoming correspondence for 28 office personnel; drafted, proofed, edited documents for 7 contract specialists. Maintained time sheets for 11 civilian employees; updated job descriptions; scheduled hotel and travel arrangements for seminars and conventions.
Pros
First time to supervise other people
Cons
4 hour commute back and forth was exhausting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiences
Information Systems Technician (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAOctober 30, 2017
The Coast Guard is what you make of it. Do your job, follow the rule and standards and you will have no issues. Love my job as an IT. I have learned so much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As an E-6, I did lab work and supervised
Health Service Technician E-6 (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 29, 2017
The USCG is a top notch employer. My unit was the first reserve unit to work totally independent of the active guard. We did all the physicals for the 13th district reserves.
I retired after 23 years.
Pros
Best people in the world to work with.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military life
Damange Controlmen 3rd Class (Former Employee) –  United StatesOctober 29, 2017
It was a great experience. Learned skills i now use in the civilian sector. i was able to travel and grow as a person. i made friends and memories that will last a life time.
Pros
great life experiences
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful management and the BEST overall work environment
Senior SharePoint Developer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 29, 2017
Best management anyone can hope for. A cohesive working team environment. Productive group overall, great clients and able to work well with sister Agencies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Career in the US Coast Guard
First Class Yeoman, United States (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 27, 2017
The Coast Guard will provide you with great educational opportunities, health benefits and pay. You can travel the world while still feeling like you are home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provide search and rescue mission and law enforcement on the waters
Petty Officer Third Class (Former Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLOctober 27, 2017
typical day could range from maintaing the cutter to boarding an vessel to inspect for illegal cargo
Management was very well trained
the workplace was sometimes difficult but overall provided a sense of well being.
Pros
enjoyed patrol
Cons
away from family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first experience
Petty Officer Third Class (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 26, 2017
good first experience, lots of fun. tought hard work. boot camp was very challenging so make sure you are in excellent shape. dont mess up or the coast guard will nothave your back.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced hard work
Machinery Technician (Former Employee) –  Rehoboth Beach, DEOctober 26, 2017
You must complete alot of things goimg in you think its boot camp then im out rescuing people on the water. It doesnt work that way at all because its worse then school since you must know how to do everything and know every inch of every boat that your qualified to be on and much more since you must first be watch qualified before anything and for that u must know your aor and everything in it.
Pros
Great benefits and family atmosphere
Cons
Bad apples too young people getting advanced and having big heads fpr it
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micromanagment
Contract Specialist (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAOctober 25, 2017
People do not quit their jobs, they quit their boss! Eliminate micromanaging; Establish a formal contract writing system; Establish a forma financial system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military career
Junior Military Officer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 25, 2017
Rewarding career as a junior officer with multiple opportunities for advancement and various job descriptions. Great relationship building and character development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complete game of Chance
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  NCOctober 25, 2017
You never know if you will have a supportive healthy environment to work in or if your next duty station will be full of cut-throat abusive people. Great retirement if you can hold on that long and you are lucky enough to get good commands to work for/with. But if something goes wrong with you medically, family, etc., it's like sharks swarming after blood in the water.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Marine Science Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 24, 2017
Military brings close work and long hours but you can count on your co-workers to have your back. There are long hours and the pay is not great, but you get comprehensive insurance and 30 days time off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Dinning Facility General Manager (Former Employee) –  USAOctober 24, 2017
Life in the military was not easy but I am glade I got to experience all that I did. I would recommend people to join but I know it is not for everyone. It’s a fast paces and very stressful, not because of the people you work for but the work the job demands.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government work at its finest
Marine Science Technician (Current Employee) –  St. Petersburg, FLOctober 24, 2017
A role in the military is always going to be similar wherever you go. You will have the supervisors with too much power and not enough sense to think before acting and the lower ranked employees with great ideas and sense but not enough power. Some roles are very fulfilling but there are also those that are mundane and seemingly unnecessary. The benefits are great as expected and as a reservist, they far outweigh the negatives.
Pros
Discounts, Health insurance, teamwork
Cons
Customs and courtesies, Red-tape hurdles, mundane work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the coast guard
Team Leader - Petty Officer (Current Employee) –  San Pedro, CAOctober 23, 2017
great career, great benefts, awesome travel oppertunity. Good oppertunities to advance and excel in your career. Minimum 4 year service contract, 20 year career to collect pension.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training environment
Port State Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  HoustonOctober 23, 2017
The Coast Guard is an excellent place to learn new skills and take on new responsibilities. If you are think about joining the Coast Guard you need to be a person who is flexible many times the roles and responsibilities you are asked to taken on are unexpected and outside your comfort zone.
Pros
Benefits, excellent co-workers
Cons
Lots of travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and very rewarding
CWO , Aircraft Maintenance Officer (Former Employee) –  Sitka, AKOctober 23, 2017
I retired from 30+years of a challenging and rewarding career that started as a Structural Mechanic and blossomed into and ended as a extremely well rounded highly trained Maintenance Officer.
Although my job carried stresses from the environment in which we worked and operated it was greatly rewarded by the results of the missions that we completed and the lives we positivly effected.
Pros
Saving lives and property
Cons
No regrets, would absolutely do it all over again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Coast Guard. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 1,422 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.4
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3