Find companies:
U.S. Coast Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
383 reviews

U.S. Coast Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced and learned things I have never done
Preventive Medicine Technician (Former Employee), Cape May, NJMay 29, 2014
Pros: lots of trade educations and experience
Cons: long hours and being away from family
Joining the US Coast Guard was the best thing for me. I joined at 21 years of age in 2000. I've done everything from working with the President to seeing patients. I learned a lot in the Coast Guard. I learned how to adapted to an environment, learned how to do something quickly from not having any experience with. The most enjoyable part about being – more... in the Coast Guard was going and seeing parts of the world that I never seen before. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as good as you might think
SNSK (Former Employee), CaliforniaMay 29, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: work environment
If you have the opportunity to attend post secondary education, do yourself a favor....DO IT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job
Logistics Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 29, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: low pay, constant travel
Typical day in the US Coast Guard is very fast paced and always handling a new situation or task each and everyday. Ive learned more things working for this organization than I can type, but the number one thing I took from this company was the power of teamwork. Please review my resume for all other information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Office Automation Clerk (GS1) (Former Employee), Arlington, VAMay 26, 2014
Pros: friendly workers
Cons: unrealistic expectations
Days were not too challenging, I learned how to use Microsoft excel, how to do inventory, and how to be professional. The management was excellent, and my co-workers were very polite and friendly. The hardest part of having this job was that i was expected to know how to do a lot of things i never had done before. The most enjoyable part of this job – more... was learning new things everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommend
Petty Officer 3rd Class (Former Employee), Tillamook Bay, ORMay 22, 2014
Pros: college tuition, travel, housing allowance, retirement funds, healthcare benefits, shopping discounts, rotating duty shifts, 30 paid vacation days a year
Cons: can be out to sea for months, no choice in duty station usually, long work hours
I served 4 years on a 378ft cutter and at a motor lifeboat station. As a female in the military there are certain challenges but I feel the pro's outweigh the cons. Boot camp is challenging, and it sets you up to have tough skin, follow directions, communicate effectively and if you follow the rules you will have no problems. I recommend any young people – more... that don't have a solid plan for college to take a look at the Coast Guard. It is a smaller organization than the Army, Air Force and Navy, you make life long friends while working along side others to save lives. In my 4 years I traveled to 5 different countries and was stationed in 3 states. After you get out, the Post 9/11 GI Bill pays for college. It was well worth the 4 year sacrifice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job every
E6/Storekeeper (Current Employee), Elizabeth City, NCMay 22, 2014
Pros: getting job training, meeting new people, and travel
Cons: moving every 3 to 4 years, having to leave friends
I experienced a lot of things a places some people will never get the chance to see. The opportunities the Coast Guard provided me were once in a lifetime. I will miss the mission, the people, and the great times I shared will everyone. If I had the chance to do it all over again I would not hesitate. I look forward to my future but will miss my past.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Busy, Always something to do.
Storekeeper/Purchasing agent/ Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLMay 20, 2014
Pros: self satisfaction, vacation days, skills and values gained.
Cons: slow advancement, low funding.
There is no typical days of work in The USCG. Every day is something a bit different. There is always something new to be learned and multiple ways to apply your skills. The hardest part of the job is the advancement process. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you are making a difference in the world, that everything you do is to protect – more... and look out for your fellow man. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, Rewarding career with high degree of responsibility
Substance Abuse Prevention program Supervisor (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 7, 2014
Pros: training and education opportunites
Cons: arduous missions and long stretches of time away from home/family
23 Years of Military service divided by 9 unique units/stations. Each unit presented a particular set of challenges and rewards. The diversity of the staff and missions made the 23 years pass quickly and filled my life with numerous wonderful memories.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work with great co-workers and job satisfaction
Maintenance Mechanic Alpa Technologies (Former Employee), SeattleMay 7, 2014
A job where hard work was rewarded and job satisfaction was an important part of everyday life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunities
Branch Chief (Former Employee), Mobile, ALMay 6, 2014
-exposure to project management
-industry relations
-good working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible for business partnerships
Marine Science Tech/Signals Intelligence Analyst (Former Employee), Willowbrook, ILMay 2, 2014
•Responsible for seeking and developing local business/organization relationships to promote and gain military outreach partnerships.
•Follow up and maintain current business partnerships to ensure satisfaction and partner loyalty.
•Meet with local businesses to offer opportunities to support a cause and purpose, while remaining within their budget.
•Consult – more... and advise current partnerships on new and exciting proposals that offer mutual benefit.
•Track daily activity to meet and exceed personal and departmental monthly and yearly goals.
•Continuing education in business, leadership, partner retention and growth, time management and hands on training.
•Problem solving.
•Responsible for keeping the department running efficiently, organized and on target for monthly and yearly goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VTC Facilitator, System Admin for SIPRNET and Unclass network
Information Systems Technician-E-8 (Current Employee), Alameda, CaliforniaMay 2, 2014
My final tour in the Coast Guard as I prepare to retire. I was responsible for user assistance for 100 people at my work place, as well as VTC facilitation that included 5 ISDN VTC systems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, Play harder attutide.
Bouy deck worker/ security watchstander (Former Employee), Newport, RIApril 29, 2014
Pros: pulling into ports, benefits, hard work.
Cons: family hardships, short breaks.
This location was a cutter that went out to sea 1-2 weeks at a time. Work was servicing Aids to navigation from Portland, ME to Long island, NY. We were responsible for maintaining and servicing of over 1,000 aids to navigation. There was a since of job satisfaction just looking back at the aid you just completed service to knowing that it will be used – more... by boaters every single day. I was responsible for making sure the lights were the right color and flashing characteristic(light technician). The job can be tough at time with long days and nights working to finish up a set number of aids every year around 600 a year. After the work was completed we pulled into the nearest ports like; New London, Portland, NYC, Nantucket, Martha vineyard, and many more. There is an episode of dirty jobs on the work we did there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phenomenal workpalce
Health Services Technician (Former Employee), Opa-locka, FLApril 29, 2014
The work environment was surrounded by individuals who enjoyed their jobs. The people made my experience at the workplace very entertaining and comfortable. A typical work day included screening patients by obtaining vitals, medical history and purpose of visit before seeing the physician. I learned the importance of having patience with people, how – more... to manage a medical laboratory and administration procedures. The hardest part of the job was not being able to leave work on time. The most enjoyable part of the job was the morale days all the employees took together. The administrator would clear the work schedule and we would all visit the beach. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to retire
Petty Officer Second Class Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Miami, FLApril 29, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great people to work with, not sitting at a desk all day
Cons: a rotating schedule made it difficult to commit to things in outside of work.
The Coast Guard was a wonderful place to work. I would have loved to retired from there. It was just difficult to balance work and life with a job with required one to be on call 24 hours a day 7 days a week. As much as I love work, I think a life outside of work is important, as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with a diverse range of ancillary departments
Health Services Technician (Former Employee), New London, CTApril 29, 2014
I worked in various departments throughout a large military clinic with a focus on patient care. I worked directly under highly qualified physicians who were eager to teach and very knowledgable. I was given a large amount of responsibility and was able to expand my knowledge by rotating through many ancillary departments including laboratory, dental, – more... and outpatient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active Duty Military with United States Coast Guard
Electrician's Mate (Current Employee), San Francisco, CaliforniaApril 27, 2014
• Installations of motors, transformers, and distributions panels.
• Trouble shooting pertaining to all electrical equipment on shore & marine
• Knowledge of all electrical test equipment
• Skills to read wiring diagrams to diagnose the faulty component or piece of machinery.
• Inspect electrical systems, equipment and components to identify hazards, – more... defects, and the need for adjustment or repair to ensure compliance with codes.
• Knowledge and experience with 440VAC,240VAC, 208VAC & 120 VAC
• PLC Control systems
• Usage of metering equipment
• Retrofits with incandescent lights to LED’s
• Skilled in soldering
• Experience with working with circuit cards – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Supply Technician (Former Employee), New Haven, CTApril 25, 2014
Pros: keeping good relationships with vendors
Cons: low morale
Purchasing, receiving, and shipping materials.
Inventory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Service
Gunner's Mate (Former Employee), San Pedro, CaApril 25, 2014
• U.S. Coast Guard Achievement Medal, Received for Supervising and Establishing of a New Unit
• U.S. Army Achievement Medal, Received for Supervision and Management of Unit During Deployment
• U.S. Coast Guard Letter of Commendation, Received One for Successfully Completing an Independent Duty Assignment and Another for Assisted Duty Assignment.
• U.S. – more... Coast Guard Good Conduct Medal, Received Four for Satisfactory Conduct for Twelve Years of Service – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a life changing job
Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 25, 2014
I was very blessed to have served my country. Being on the US coast Guard was a life changing event for me. I was able to experience and learn a variety of skills, knowledge and discipline. for the time i worked there my superiors were very open to my concerns, improvement and well being. When i completed my time in order to go back to school i was – more... happy to have honorably served the military. – less

About U.S. Coast Guard

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) is a branch of the United States Armed Forces and one of the country's seven uniformed services. – Read more