Find companies:
U.S. Coast Guard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
417 reviews

U.S. Coast Guard Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Seaman/Airman (Former Employee), Petaluma, CAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: long hours
I was a deck hand for small boats and cutters.
Storekeeper that made procurements
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Coast Guard - DHS
Chief Storekeeper (Current Employee), USCG AIR STATION CAPE COD, MAJuly 1, 2014
Part of the Armed Forces, advancement opportunities, seeing different places. Good health and retirement benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USCG Seaman small boat station military
E3 Seaman, Honorable Discharge (Former Employee), Destin, FLJune 25, 2014
Pros: save lives
Cons: lose lives
As an young member of the Department of Homeland Security,I joined the United States Coast, the nations first marine responce organization. I held great responsibility as a professional communication watch stander (eyes and ears of the station) as the dispatcher, information relaying and being held to the highest of responsibility covering over 50 nautical – more... miles radius for 48 to 72 hours work shifts. Another qualification I obtained while in the service is boat crewmember of the united states coast guard, having to learn basic casuality controling techqniues, line handeling, first response surface swimmer, helmsman, cpr,towing evolutions in every possible scenario , active helicopter vessel special operations and standing a good look out for 4 differencent vessel platforms.The last Qualification I obtained is Lethal weapon qualification, able to carry lethel weapons on vessel safety inspections or responding to violence related distress calls showing the highest level of responsibility earning the ability to carry deadly lethal weapons and to take legal actions to obtain compliance. While in down time I learned how to sand, paint and do almost any challenge that will unfold. I left the service Honorably Discharge to persue my dream carreer of becoming a proffesional stockmarketer hoping to meet a mentor to send me to the right direction, if your that person please contact me and thanks for reading! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marine Science Technician
Marine Science Technician (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 23, 2014
As an MST for the US Coast Guard I responded to over 300 spills/releases in the Houston area. I also conducted numerous harbor safety/security patrols ensuring the safety of our ports.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved being a part of the US Coast Guard.
Boatswain Mate, Petty Officer First Class (E-6) (Former Employee), US and OverseasJune 23, 2014
I loved being a part of the US Coast Guard. Saving lives was exhilarating. I also enjoyed being appreciated by local fishermen and others for providing security . Also got to see some beautiful parts of the world, such as, Guam, Hawaii, Alaska, Taiwan, Palau, Singapore, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A member of the U.S.Coast Guard
Personnel & Service Records Technician (Former Employee), Alexandria, VAJune 18, 2014
Pros: to say that you served in a unique branch of service.
A typical day changed everyday. While serving especially being stationed in Alexandria, VA was when you would learn so much about this branch of service. This unit housed the USCG Honor guard. These members typically performed for the President of the United States in award ceremonies, marched in parades, typically would bring light to the forgotten – more... branch of service. We handled the drug interdiction to keep drugs out of our country. We also provide search and rescue to those lost at sea all over the world. This was our primary mission. When you look back on tragedies our nation has encountered the Coast Guard was ready to step up to the job. I have always been thankful for joining this great branch of service. Many were not aware of our existence until something major happened i.e. Hurricane Katrina, Countless Hurricanes, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Petty Officer 3rd Class, Machinery Technician (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYJune 18, 2014
The Coast Guard is a great branch to join in order to develop leadership skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career
Substance Abuse Prevention Specialist (Former Employee), Yorktown, VAJune 17, 2014
Enjoyed my years in the Coast Guard. The years were tough but I managed with a lasting memories.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Boatswain Mate (Former Employee), Port Aransas, TxJune 17, 2014
Typical military job. I was a boat crewmember, watch stander, cpr/first aid qualified.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and stressful Search and Rescue based experiences
Fireman - E3 (Former Employee), San Diego CAJune 9, 2014
Pros: pay, benefits, people
Cons: hours
Being in the Coast Guard is a very diverse task. It is hard to explain a normal day at work considering it differed every day. Some days we were working on the boats or helicopters, working out and normal daily routines. Other days we were chasing drug runners, assisting in towing disabled vessels to the harbor, and search and rescue. It gave me the – more... opportunity to learn how to be very diverse and multi-task. People that i worked with all loved the job we all had a passion for helping people and protecting our country so it made it easy to get along with everyone. The hardest part of the job was being away from home and some times no sleep for 48 hrs. But for the most part it was very enjoyable. There is nothing more enjoyable and rewarding then saving a life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honored to have Served
Chief Petty Officer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJune 4, 2014
I am Honored to have served as a member of the United States Coast Guard for over 20 years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Lead Inspector for Foreign Vessel exam teams (Current Employee), Portland, ORJune 4, 2014
My chain of command at this unit is excellent. There is a lot of communication from the top down and everyone is very personable. I work with a very tight knit group of people who enjoy working together and spending time with our families outside of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Machinery Technician (Former Employee), Governers Is N,YJune 3, 2014
Pros: open sea great sunsets
Cons: being away from home
Being on ship going out to sea was great. Responable for all engine room operations including,Main deasels generators. boilers, gas turbines and evaops. Loved my boss and and tne people i worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military service that provided me with exceptional work ethic
Hospitality Services Manager (Current Employee), St. Ignace, MichiganMay 31, 2014
In a typical day, I am the manager of the Food Services to a crew of 25 personnel. I also manage the laundry services and hospitality services to provide the crew with quality living conditions while on duty.
In my time, I learned my potiential to multi-task and be flexible to meet demanding operating conditions and situations.
The most rewarding part – more... of the job is that I learned to see the bigger picture than what I alone and responsible for and how my contributions help make a difference in people's lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced and learned things I have never done
Preventive Medicine Technician (Former Employee), Cape May, NJMay 29, 2014
Pros: lots of trade educations and experience
Cons: long hours and being away from family
Joining the US Coast Guard was the best thing for me. I joined at 21 years of age in 2000. I've done everything from working with the President to seeing patients. I learned a lot in the Coast Guard. I learned how to adapted to an environment, learned how to do something quickly from not having any experience with. The most enjoyable part about being – more... in the Coast Guard was going and seeing parts of the world that I never seen before. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as good as you might think
SNSK (Former Employee), CaliforniaMay 29, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: work environment
If you have the opportunity to attend post secondary education, do yourself a favor....DO IT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job
Logistics Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 29, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: low pay, constant travel
Typical day in the US Coast Guard is very fast paced and always handling a new situation or task each and everyday. Ive learned more things working for this organization than I can type, but the number one thing I took from this company was the power of teamwork. Please review my resume for all other information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Office Automation Clerk (GS1) (Former Employee), Arlington, VAMay 26, 2014
Pros: friendly workers
Cons: unrealistic expectations
Days were not too challenging, I learned how to use Microsoft excel, how to do inventory, and how to be professional. The management was excellent, and my co-workers were very polite and friendly. The hardest part of having this job was that i was expected to know how to do a lot of things i never had done before. The most enjoyable part of this job – more... was learning new things everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly recommend
Petty Officer 3rd Class (Former Employee), Tillamook Bay, ORMay 22, 2014
Pros: college tuition, travel, housing allowance, retirement funds, healthcare benefits, shopping discounts, rotating duty shifts, 30 paid vacation days a year
Cons: can be out to sea for months, no choice in duty station usually, long work hours
I served 4 years on a 378ft cutter and at a motor lifeboat station. As a female in the military there are certain challenges but I feel the pro's outweigh the cons. Boot camp is challenging, and it sets you up to have tough skin, follow directions, communicate effectively and if you follow the rules you will have no problems. I recommend any young people – more... that don't have a solid plan for college to take a look at the Coast Guard. It is a smaller organization than the Army, Air Force and Navy, you make life long friends while working along side others to save lives. In my 4 years I traveled to 5 different countries and was stationed in 3 states. After you get out, the Post 9/11 GI Bill pays for college. It was well worth the 4 year sacrifice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job every
E6/Storekeeper (Current Employee), Elizabeth City, NCMay 22, 2014
Pros: getting job training, meeting new people, and travel
Cons: moving every 3 to 4 years, having to leave friends
I experienced a lot of things a places some people will never get the chance to see. The opportunities the Coast Guard provided me were once in a lifetime. I will miss the mission, the people, and the great times I shared will everyone. If I had the chance to do it all over again I would not hesitate. I look forward to my future but will miss my past.

About U.S. Coast Guard

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) is a branch of the United States Armed Forces and one of the country's seven uniformed services. – Read more