U.S. Department of Commerce Employee Reviews

Found 560 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting Workplace, lots of fun and a rewarding experiences
Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJuly 20, 2017
It has been a big privilege working for the United States Department of Commerce. At first, I didn't know what to expect as working as an enumerator. From house to house, I have met all kinds of people from all walks of life. Not only that I took down the necessary information that was needed, but I also met some great people out there. I would give anything to work for the BUREAU OF THE CENSUS again. This job took me places that I thought that I would ever go.
Pros
Longer breaks
Cons
You are your own person on the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for the Census
Bureau of the Census Enumerator (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, CO 80215July 19, 2017
I loved working for the Census and would recommend it to anyone who could qualify. The hours were great and the pay good, however, it is only a temporary position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding job with a top heavy management structure
International Trade Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 18, 2017
Work at the International Trade Adminstration in the Department of Commerce can be truly a rewarding experience when you are able to affect positive change that betters the international environment for US businesses.
Unfortunately the top heavy management structure creates a bureaucratic environment that makes it nearly impossible to have this impact. A large majority of the senior leadership have been promoted to their positions not because of their skills and abilities to lead, but because their previous supervisors no longer wanted to put up with their incompetence. As they were unable to fire these poor performers, they simply transferred them to other offices within the organization. Promotions based on merit are virtually non-existent in this organization.
Pros
Rewarding experience in the rare instances you can affect possitive change
Cons
Top heavy bureaucratic environment; A toxic, borderline hostile work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A position to visit various residents for the US Census Bureau
Enumerator - US Census Bureau (Former Employee) –  Westbury, NYJuly 17, 2017
It was a good opportunity to visit residents and collect information needed for the 2010 Census. We would start with a week of training and would arrange our own hours to gather the information that is needed.
Pros
Flexible hours, good hourly pay
Cons
Temporary position, dealing with hostile residents
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
U.S. Commercial Service Intern (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 14, 2017
A great experience where I was able to do hands on work and not just busy work that some places have interns do. I learned a lot and did work in the field that I was studying at the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anonymous
Attorney (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJuly 11, 2017
Workplace culture could be better. Management is very top heavy and not able to effectively perform multiple job duties at time with staff. Favoritism is apparent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company to work for
Field Representative/ lead field representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 10, 2017
great company and was willing to work there forever but fulltime employment with benefits werent available at the time. liked working alone and it gave me the ability to solve problems without the help of others. the pay was pretty decent and i wish i could have had a career with the company.
Pros
working without supervision
Cons
no fulltime with benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 2nd Job!
Statistical Clerk, GS (Current Employee) –  Jeffersonville, INJuly 9, 2017
This is a wonderful part time position for people who just want a few hours to supplement their income. The job itself is easy, but be prepared to be yelled at by 50% of the respondents on the phones. With so many scams circulating, it is tough to get people to believe you are legitimately a government employee. Hours are scarce unless you have part/full time status. Great way to get your foot in the door to apply for positions within the government if you have a degree or military experience.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Can be self defeating if people are rude
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work gets great rewards
Field Representative (Former Employee) –  Reno, NV 89502July 6, 2017
guaranteed amount of work hours; with new faces everyday. Open air atmosphere; Need to love to travel; Know your GPS; and road maps; have cellphone for trouble.
Pros
Money
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Software Engineer
Software Developer Intern (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COJuly 6, 2017
It was a great place to work. I loved working there as so much stuf fto learn. Most of the time the job is pretty relaxed but once in a while it gets really high paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about U.S. Department of Commerce?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Process Centered Organization
Operations Policy & Compliance Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 4, 2017
This organization has been recommended for elimination by the President of the United States in the 2018 budget. It is staffed by persons who are dedicated to economic development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring & Tedious
Patent Examiner (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJuly 3, 2017
Not the job for most people. 95% is sitting at a computer screen scrolling through a database. Little creativity allowed or required, most examiners will probably be replaced with robots or foreigners.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping students with loans for school
Enumerator (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJune 28, 2017
Take incoming calls from student borrowers about loans, repayment, helping freeze loan in time of difficulty, also helping delinquent loans get reestablished.
Pros
steady work schedule
Cons
No room for advancement unless alot of experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for seasonal work
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Corbin, KYJune 27, 2017
It was a great place for seasonal/contract work. I had learned a lot there and was able to really get into the inner works of a government agency. There were many thrilling 'adventures" at the job.
Pros
great environment
Cons
short term/contract job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive resourceful company.
Field Representative (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 23, 2017
Productive company that gathers information that is very important if utilized, for the economy. Good resource for housing, health, employment and educational purposes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favorable review
Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MD 20910June 23, 2017
NOAA overall is a great place to work. Great staff and team work environment is encouraged. Everyone works hard to ensure that the job get done. Not much time for training, however online training is encouraged.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
No upward mobility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, friendly people, fair work
Crew Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Steubenville, OHJune 20, 2017
The first impression I had of this job was that your position was based off general knowledge test scores. Which I find brilliant, productive and possibly the most reliable way to ensure the worker hired is competent. Wages were more than fair for the area. Meet new people and make new friends.
Pros
Great pay, fair advancement/opportunity for growth
Cons
A lot of driving if you happen to not desire travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay for contract job
Regional Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Southern California locationsJune 12, 2017
Too bad it was only a temporary position to collect all the census info in a couple years time.
Having Veterans preference definitely opened the doors to advanced positions.
Kind of cut throat when it came time to downsize though.
Upper management was extremely uptight.
Pros
Fantastic pay. Veterans given preference!!
Cons
Temporary only.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable company with potential
General Clerk III (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJune 11, 2017
Worked with various levels of management to learned different task of the contract.

Planned team building events to enhanced morale.

Worked with a diverse culture of people.
Pros
Diverse Environment
Cons
under staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Field Representative/ Survey Lead (Current Employee) –  Denver, COJune 6, 2017
Great Work from home position! You have the ability to work your own time and hours, Excellent job!
You can set your own schedule and location. Most work is done from home and little management supervision
Pros
work for home
Cons
no opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Department of Commerce. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 590 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9