U.S. Department of the Treasury Employee Reviews in United States

Found 15 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great - if you want to stagnate
Correspondence Examination Technician (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 8, 2015
I can't really offer a glowing review. They are very good with work/life balance, but terrible for compensation and pretty much everything else.
Cons
Expensive healthcare, terrible compensation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place that definitely gives you the opportunity for growth
Public Relations (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 22, 2015
You afforded the opportunity to meet a lot of great people. Outside training is smiled upon that will help enhance your day to day skills. Once hired, your able to move around and really find your fit.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wide range of work projects, great coworkers
Data Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 5, 2015
OFS has a unique environment that has helped me navigate through several different projects, adding new skills along the way. The office is about to wrap up its mission, so there are no more opportunities for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Home for nearly 8 years
Windows Server Engineer (Current Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDMarch 17, 2015
What started as a summer job became my career.

My role has changed and evolved over the course of my time with the Treasury. Most recently, I have worked in an R&D position, developing solutions for upcoming circumstances or changes. This includes a great deal of time using Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager for many purposes: application packaging, OS deployment, software updates deployment (patching), reporting.

The greatest challenge I have experienced in my career with the Treasury is determining ways to convey upcoming challenges to management, by way of our governance process. Often times, they would not understand my concerns until a problem had fully presented itself. This means our operations were often reactive rather than proactive.
Pros
benefits, flexibility, training, networking
Cons
bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Wok Environment
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 30, 2014
Always busy. Not enough time for work and family balance.
Great co-workers, but not everyone does their part.
Good benefits
Job is secure, but I see no advancement in the near future
Long commute
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bro shop
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 30, 2014
hard for women to move up/ have job security among the bros. the culture was typical happy hour every week bro culture which is different from the rest of the federal government
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for an internship
Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 29, 2014
Got substantive assignments and chance to interact with very impressive staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extensive travel/Job security
Associate National Bank Examiner (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 28, 2014
The job requires about 30-50% local travel per year. Each assignment lasts about 3-4 weeks, making for a constantly changing environment. Each assignment is made up of teams ranging in 2-20 individuals, which changes for each assignment. Teamwork is required for this job.
Pros
benefits, job security
Cons
lacks creativity, travel
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 10, 2014
The government, especially the Treasury Department, is an important facet of the United States of America and a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Internal Revenue Agent (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLOctober 10, 2013
Great Place to Work. Diversity is present in the workforce.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revenue Agent Review
Internal Revenue Agent (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 4, 2013
Meet with taxpayers and representatives of taxpayers. Review tax returns and correlating records. Make audit decisions with adjustments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment for federal community development policymaking
New Markets Tax Credit Program and Policy Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 14, 2012
Great environment for federal community development policymaking
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 11, 2012
Co-workers and some managers were outstanding. Overall, poor workplace moral.
Pros
job security
Cons
lack of promotional potential
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees at mid-level are "dispensable" and not encouraged to stay and not likely to be promoted above the GS-13 level
Management Analyst, Treasury (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 30, 2012
Treasury is a prestigious agency to work for and I enjoyed being "on the front line" of what was happening in Washington.
Pros
lunch is one hour; time is usually flexible, and some people work early or late as they wish.
Cons
management is very unfriendly to employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

See more U.S. Department of the Treasury reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Department of the Treasury. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.4

U.S. Department of the Treasury Reviews by Location