Find companies:
U.S. Marine Corps
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,469 reviews

U.S. Marine Corps Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career
Recruiter (Former Employee), Auburn, NYOctober 20, 2014
Pros: benefits, serving your country, job satisfaction
Cons: long hours with no over time
Great opportunity for advancement and do things only the few, the proud get to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Marine
Maintenance Supervisor, Quality Assurance Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 20, 2014
The duties of a Quality Assurance Manager consisted of training individuals amongst the unit, evaluating personnel, enforcing safety and publication procedures, the auditing of programs and divisions, investigations, program management. This division is only filled with the most knowledgeable personnel who are required to learn other division jobs/maintenance – more... as well as teach and hold personnel up to the highest standard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private to Officer
Chief Warrant Officer (Former Employee), WorldwideOctober 20, 2014
Pros: challenging and always learing
Cons: away from home for months to year at a time
Commander of multiple operations accomplishing organizational goals and vision while ensuring laws were complied with, objectives were realized, and aims were met.
Participated in strategic planning conferences that established the U.S. Marine Corps’ future 15 year telecommunications maintenance objectives and goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Logistics and Embarkation Chief (Former Employee), CaliforniaOctober 20, 2014
Pros: great oppurtunities for growth, great benefits, amazing worldly knowledge, and good people
Cons: harsh working environments, stressful situations, strenuous missions, and strick guidlines
Typically you're put into situations that you never thought you'd be in. This pushes you to grow and find abilities you never thought you had. The leadership in this organization is among the best in the world balancing mission accomplishment and troop welfare. The benefits are great and if you can make a career of it then go for it!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, and a high stress environment.
Marine Recruit (Former Employee), Parris Island SCOctober 20, 2014
Fun while it lasted. It was extremely challenging, but overall a great experience, I learned you always work as a team, everything you do is a team effort and I believe it's that way in the working environment as well, if one part, or person, isn't functioning correctly, I believe it adversely affects the team as a whole. Everything was hard about the – more... job, but the most enjoyable part was being able to meet new people and to challenge myself and do things I would have never thought I would have done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USMC
Infantryman I (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCOctober 20, 2014
provides numerou skills towards advancing a career in the military or outside of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and competitive environment with character defining moments
Korean Linguist and Intelligence Specialist (Former Employee), Kaneohe Bay, HawaiiOctober 20, 2014
Pros: discipline, motivation, self-esteem
Cons: stressful, dangerous
The Marine Corps represents a life of adaptation and transformation. My personal culmination of experience while in the military ranges from immediate life-saving skills to satellite dish repair. A person in the military might be learning about surviving a helicopter crash one day and studying for their college class the next. It's impossible to give – more... you a good representation of what life is like in the military because there is so much freedom on a day to day basis, so long as you're accomplishing your basic task. The key to a successful term in the military is project completion: knowing when the deadline for your task is and accomplishing it by that date. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place/environment. Leadership was great.
Airframe Structural Mechanic (Former Employee), Cherry Point, NCOctober 19, 2014
Pros: great supervisors and work place.
Cons: job time was always pressured when it should not have been
A typical day at work consisted of fixing and maintaining airplanes in accordance with the appropriate manual. I learned a lot about hydraulics, sheet metal work, and leadership. The supervisors and co-workers were always supportive and positive and fun to be around. The hardest part of the job was getting into very tight places to work with little – more... room to move and the most enjoyable part was successfully completing a task safely and confidently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Naval Reserve Officer Training Corps Reserve (Former Employee), Savannah, GAOctober 19, 2014
I had an amazing experience and i learned a lot about myself everyone should serve in a branch of the service on a basic level before they enter the work force.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a Godd Option
Machine Gunner (Former Employee), United StatesOctober 18, 2014
The Military is always a good option for any patriotic person it is a difficult challenge but it will show you the type of person that you really are
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marines
Recruiter (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, KYOctober 18, 2014
Pros: insintives
Cons: long hours
Great job to have really enjoyed I,t got to see the lives of young men and women being changed for the better while serving there country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, hit or miss with your Chain of Command
Marksmanship Coach (0933) (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCOctober 17, 2014
Tons of training and great people to work with. Free medical, dental, and gyms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marine Corps Experience
Corporal - Machine Gun Squad Leader (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAOctober 17, 2014
Pros: great benefits, job security, fun work enviroment
The Marine Corps is a career and unique professional setting that in my experience, separates itself from other work environments. Each day is faced with a unique and different challenge! This allows you to use multiple skills you have acquired, learn new skills, and the ability to make fast decisions on a constant basis. There is no typical day. For – more... example, you could be faced with helping train other Marine personnel or international troops, be a spokesman and ambassador at an event to maintain positive public relationships, physically and mentally challenge yourself by successfully completing critical missions through arduous environments and situations, conduct humanitarian missions where a natural disaster has occurred, and be ready at a moments notice to tackle any problem that could arise in any clime and place around the world.
The management and personnel always changes, so you must be able to work with people from different backgrounds and comfortable collaborating with middle or even upper management. In the Marine Corps, even the lowest ranking official is expected to carry himself/herself as a leader.
The hardest part of the job in my opinion and experience is challenging yourself constantly to always perform at a higher level and to be the example at your profession that other Marines could follow.
The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you are making a difference and to always work in a dynamic and changing environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Security Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCOctober 17, 2014
Military work place. High pace work schedule pay and benefits are reasonably compared to civilian work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable for most of the time.
Personnel Clerk (Former Employee), Camp PendletonOctober 17, 2014
Pros: job security, benefits.
Cons: long hours, really exhausting at times.
A regular day at work would normally begin at 5:00am for a quick workout. At around 7:30 I would show up to work and begin with doing my routine work such as updating personnel status on the computer. As the day goes by it becomes either really exhausting by the amount of work I had to do on that day according to what was being passed down to me from – more... the Admin Chief. If there was any free time, I could just either spend it on increasing my job knowledge or talk with my coworker learning about each other. Typically, a work day ends at 4:30pm but occasionally if there was something else we had to do we could stay at work up until 8:00pm. There is also occasions when we have to stay for duty which is technically a security guard for a specific building for 24 hours straight. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going
Logistics and Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 16, 2014
The environment was pleasant and enjoyable. people treated you with respect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Co-workers on the planet
Non-Commissioned Officer (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCOctober 16, 2014
Pros: co-workers
Cons: hours, lack of time for family
I loved the job and my co-workers. Couldn't have had a better experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marine Corps AAV Mechanic
Combat Vehicle Basic Repairman (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CAOctober 16, 2014
A typical day at this job would consist of coming into work and being assigned around 3-4 tasks to be completed for that day on the vehicles. I learned a lot about leadership and taking charge of the men I supervised. The senior enlisted were slightly unorganized, but however, that's just how the military is. The hardest part of the job would be the – more... amount of micro managing that is present. I personally don't like someone hovering over my shoulder when I'm trying to get the task at hand accomplished. The most enjoyable part of the job however is that I was usually working to complete the tasks given with the friends I gained while in the service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look past boot camp commercials
Infantry (Former Employee), Twentynine Palms, CAOctober 16, 2014
Pros: friends
Cons: everything else.
If you are looking into joining any military branch, look past the commercials and recruiters. I joined and served my 4 years honorable with 2 combat tours. The leadership is a joke, your home life is non-existent, married Marines have it a little better. The biggest thing you'll learn is that you can get used to horrible conditions if your forced by – more... rules. The only good thing the military is the "benefits". Everything depends on who your chain of command is like. I only enjoyed my friends I met because you will be closer together than anybody else due to how bad it is. Individual experience may differ but don't fall for the hype. Join the air force if you want something easy, and before someone says "we have special teams that are super hard!" That may be true but your average day doesn't suck, you don't live in 30 year old barracks with 3 other guys. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honor serving
Field Radio Operator (Former Employee), CaliforniaOctober 16, 2014
During my tenure as a United States Marine I learned the value of teamwork. The ability to culminate so many different skills to work together as a well oiled machine during high stress situations solidifies the Marine Corps as the nations greatest fighting force. It has been an honor to be a part of this organization.

1 2 3 4 5