U.S. Marine Corps Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None.
Infantryman (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 23, 2017
The United States marines was one of the best experiences I have ever had the brotherhood and friendships gained have still been kept to this day and always will
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caustic Leadership Atmosphere
Assistant Operations Officer (Former Employee) –  Quantico, VAOctober 22, 2017
Hindsight is 20/20. What I experienced was nothing like what was advertised.The Leadership is weak and does not put the best interests of the Marines first.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Aviation Support Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 22, 2017
Pre-operational inspections, periodic maintenance.
Knowledge on wide array of equipment. Strict management. No nonsense workplace environment. Daily expectations.
Pros
Housing and meals free.
Cons
High stress enviornment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 21, 2017
The Marines is fast paced and can be hard to keep up with at times. Neverless it is well worth the time and the experience that you will receive in the process.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience
Fixed-Wing Aviation Airframe Mechanic (Former Employee) –  USAOctober 21, 2017
It was not easy but it was worth it. There were a lot of advancement opportunities but not necessarily at the base that I was at. It was hard to balance family with work but I would still highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  US EmbassyOctober 20, 2017
My time with the US Marine Corps was stressful, fast paced, but very rewarding. I worked through many different hours of the day and held many different billets.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Stressful; Not for Everyone
Corporal E-4 (Former Employee) –  Yuma, AZOctober 20, 2017
As an airfield firefighter my work periods were very stressful. Emergencies at any moment. 48-120 hour work weeks. I do not recommend. Great medical benefits though.
Cons
Stressful. Long work hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the Military
Cryogenic Equipment Operator; Corporal (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 20, 2017
The Marine Corps is the pinnacle of the United States Armed Forces. You join because you want to do something and make a difference, not just to pay for school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family
F18 AIRFRAMES MECHANIC (Former Employee) –  United StatesOctober 20, 2017
The marine corps is something you dedicate your full attention too, highly competitive and long work hour. The benefits out-weight the cons. YOU get full health care and dental with access to free gyms. You gain a family from your co-workers around you.
Pros
family, full health care, paid time off and housing allowance if married.
Cons
highly stressful, long hours, competitive and on call 24/7
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job in the World.
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 20, 2017
I love the United States Marine Corps! The tradition, pride, integrity, are some of the things that I still carry with me some 20 plus years after being honorably discharged. Would highly recommend this occupation.
Pros
Great Tradition
Cons
Time away from family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some units are great some are the most toxic you will ever see
Heavy Equipment Mechanic~Honerable discharge (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 19, 2017
they are actively trying to fix the whole institution, they are just doing it in the worst way. forcing the good marines out and keeping the bad ones if i could have helped fix it i would have. too bad i was lied to about re enlistment
Pros
your coworkers become your family
Cons
literally everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I cannot wait to get out.
m1a1 tank mechanic (Current Employee) –  Twentynine Palms, CAOctober 19, 2017
The marine corps has been an interesting experience for me. unfortionately in my mos I have not had much of an opportunity to move on in my career. I can make much more out side of the marine corps with my newly learned skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best
Heavy equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Camp Lejeune, NCOctober 19, 2017
The military is always an amazing option and the Marine Corps is the best branch in my opinion, great place to grow and learn new skills all while doing so serving your country and making the best friends and family you'll ever have. Benefits are the best you'll ever see.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USMC Service
Motor Transport Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 19, 2017
The Marine Corps is an extremely tight nit, close group of members. It is a life changing experience only for the mentally and physically tough individual. Great career.
Pros
Days off, pay and benefits
Cons
High stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Recommend
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  Camp Lejeune, NCOctober 19, 2017
Excellent oppurtunities for advancement and travel.
Paid time off.
30 vacation days a year.
Get to travel all over the world.
Meet people from all over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting
3521 Motor T Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Camp Pendleton, CAOctober 19, 2017
get up work out
go to your job
work hard everyday
guaranteed pay
highly stressful
worth the effort
never wanted to leave but due to draw downs it had to happen
Pros
loved it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my Country and every job that I can do to help.
Team Lead/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Albany, GA 31704October 19, 2017
It's an honor to serve those on the battle field and to have served in the USMC for over 20 plus years. Semper Fi. Great organization to work for. The Marine Corps is where the rubber meets the road.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creates great work ethic
Calibration Technician/Quality Control Technician (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCOctober 19, 2017
This branch pushes you and make you an all around better and more prepared individual. I enjoyed my time in but it is not what I want to do for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retired
Gunnery Sergeant, Rank E-7, Retired (Former Employee) –  EverywhereOctober 18, 2017
retired from the military after 15 years. Deployed plenty, trained a lot, managing schedules, personnel, and training are high paced, and can be very stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its the military
Maintenance Management Chief (Former Employee) –  HawaiiOctober 18, 2017
The military isn't for everyone and you should only join if you really want to. The Marine Corps is the hardest branch to join, but its also the most rewarding because you will know you are a part of the best fighting force the world has ever seen.
Pros
multiple benefits
Cons
Not for everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Marine Corps. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 16,060 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.5
Management
4.1
Culture
4.5