Find companies:
U.S. Marine Corps
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5,666 reviews

U.S. Marine Corps Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job in the world
Platoon Sergeant (Former Employee), San DiegoNovember 25, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: the few the proud
I love every bit about being a Infantry Marine seeing different places, traveling, and being in different wars.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama filled and under paid
Sales associate (Current Employee), Cherry Point, NCNovember 25, 2014
All the women bicker and fight constantly and there is no extra pay for working on holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job only a few will love.
Squad Leader (Former Employee), Camp Lejeune, NCNovember 25, 2014
I was fortunate to have no disillusions about the Marine Corps before I joined. I knew it would be a lot of work on my end to make it a positive experience in my life. the brotherhood you develop with your coworkers cannot be matched anywhere else. The management can be off putting at times, but you have to realize that they also have a job to do. The – more... hardest part of the job isn't the physical aspect, it is knowing, and more importantly embodying, the fact that you are a Marine at all times, not just when you're at work. I found that the most enjoyable part of the job was when everyone was miserable. I am not a sadist, not in the least. It is when the times are the toughest that everyone has to depend on one another to get through. It builds a relationship that is so strong that it cannot be broken. I would do it all over again in a heartbeat. Semper Fidelis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for growth
Motor Transportation Operator (Current Employee), FLNovember 24, 2014
Provide safe, courteous, and efficient transportation of passengers, Ammunition and Hazardous equipment.

Notify dispatcher regarding no shows or availability for additional assignments whenever extra time exists on the schedule.

Maintain order and proper discipline of passengers while on scheduled routes, attempt to resolve disputes, document and – more... report severe incident/disciplinary cases.

adjust to driving methods including traffic, road, weather, load and various terrain conditions.

Drive Armored Vehicles, bus, 7 ton - 15 ton – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Marine Corps
Clerk Typist day (Former Employee), San Diego CANovember 24, 2014
My day started by getting up and cleaning room inside and out going to office and starting my day of various types of correspondence for the unit, company or base then various types of training when necessary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively attitude with success as a goal.
team leader (Former Employee), twentynine palms, CANovember 24, 2014
-Enjoy taking tasks that some would consider the challenging ones.
-Learns best from experience
-Always acceptant of constructive criticism
-Always setting daily goals for myself and the company I represent
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Marine Officer Leadership Program
Officer Candidate School (Former Employee), Quantico, VANovember 23, 2014
Marine Officer Candidate School is regarded as one of the best leadership programs in the world and I completely agree. This Program helped shape me into not only a responsible leader, but potentially more important; a better team player. I lost 30lbs in three months as a result of the physical demands of this program. I was expected to perform in stressful – more... leadership positions and academic tests while sleeping fewer than three to four hour per night. Approximately 50% of the Class graduated and I consider graduation day one the most rewarding days of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for working and learning.
Administration (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 22, 2014
Pros: mon-fri, no weekends, no holidays, family oriented
Cons: on-call
I have learned to push my limits. To go above and beyond, to get the task completed. The majority of my time was enjoyable, working with a great group of military men and women. Always having your back and helping out where ever needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but fun at the same time
Military Police (Former Employee), Yuma, AZNovember 21, 2014
Pros: always made sure i had a roof over my head
Cons: long hours
A typical day at work would be 3:00am, pt time; 5:00am, morning brief; 6:00am, either patrol, gate sentry or desk sergeant; 6:00pm, change over; 6:30pm debrief. I learned a lot of interesting things while enlisted in the Marine Corps. The list could go on forever. For some, I learned how to properly handcuff a suspect, use defensive tactics against – more... a suspect, proper and safe way to use a firearm. Like I said, it could go on. Management was a "hit or miss" for me. Sometimes I would get management that would take care of their "employees" (Marines), sometimes I wouldn't. Co-workers were like brothers. I would have to say the hardest part of the job, was in Yuma, AZ, and standing outside in the Summer for 12 hours. The heat would get up to 120 degrees most days. The most enjoyable part of the job was the "adrenaline rush" being dispatched to "crazy" calls. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Manager/ Computer IT/ Intelligence Chief (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CaliforniaNovember 21, 2014
All the life skills needed to become successful. Well worth the experience and the time given.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Artillery Operations Chief (Operations Manager) (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CANovember 21, 2014
Professional environment that practices sound leadership and mentoring principles. The Marine Corps challenged me and caused me to become the leader I am today. Building the bond between fellow Marines daily is the thing I valued the most.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging and rewarding experience
Legal/Administrative Clerk (Former Employee), kaneohe Bay hawaiiNovember 21, 2014
• Maintained and kept accountability of all records back dated up to three years
• Kept accountability over 15,000 military personnel and their location
• Worked with other co-workers to complete the daily goals
• Analyzed, designed, and posted a weekly Excel spreadsheet which allowed High Risk Instructors to know their weekly instructor duties
• Supervised – more... over 6 employees, trained and checked over work to make sure all task given, were completed correctly and in a timely manner
• Responsible for aiding in the training of new employees
• Postal clerk, pick up, sorted, and delivered mail for over more than 4500 personnel., supervised over all regimental and Battalion mail, includes sorting, and delivering and completing weekly inspections – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding people with an even greater goal!
Marine Corp Recruiter HAZMAT NCO (Former Employee), Greenville, SCNovember 21, 2014
Pros: exceptional community with a common goal.
Cons: not enough time in the field.
Backing by leaders on multiple levels to succeed! Once you advance you begin to develop yourself as a leader. Experience gained will stay with you forever. Recognition for accomplishments, awards for success, & satisfaction knowing you did your part to keep our nation safe. Weather you were deployed 10 times or none (rare) you could be proud knowing – more... that every little thing counted. Inspiring others to do better, be better, and seek more than the average. Never a dull moment. I only wish they would issue new bones and joints at the end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Worker/ Unit Cohesion
Machine Gun Team Leader (Former Employee), Camp Pendleton, CANovember 21, 2014
During my time in the Marine Corps higher leadership held several functions to create better bonds between team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent life lessons and work experience
"Aviation Maintenance Administration Supervisor" (Former Employee), San Diego, CANovember 20, 2014
A typical day would include working 11-12 hours and ensuring that all inspections for our 12 aircraft were accounted for and tracked properly. I have learned how to manage my time wisely and how to be a leader. Working with people from all over the world has taught me how to interact with others. The hardest part of the job was being away from family – more... while on deployments. The most enjoyable part was building working relationships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job hard work.
Squad Leader (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCNovember 20, 2014
the bonding with friends you will experience is by the far the best work experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oohrah Marine Corps
Financial Technician (Current Employee), Camp Pendleton, CANovember 20, 2014
A typical work day begins at 6am and ends at 6pm for my specific job. I learned how to be a great leader as well as a reliable subordinate. There is good management and there is bad management. I have learned to use all the different kinds of management skills as a reference for what I will and will not do when I reach a higher echelon. The brotherhood – more... is second to none. You learn to love everyone you work with in your own way. That is definitely something I hope to carry with me to my next job. The hardest part of the job for me, being a single mother, was the long hours. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that everything I did was in support of the troops in country. I was a key part in the machine that is the Marine Corps. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career for anyone
Marine Staff Non Commissioned Officer in Charge (Former Employee), Durham, NCNovember 19, 2014
This is a great workplace. A day normally consist of goals set and goals accomplished for the advancement of the federal government.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and challenging career
Information Security Technician (Current Employee), Fort Dix, NJNovember 19, 2014
Pros: life long friendships
Cons: harsh conditions at times
World travel and experiences
Life changing events
Learned solid work ethics
Incredible learning experience
Manage over 50 people
Numerous educational experiences
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Marine Corps
Staff Sergeant (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 19, 2014
Manage
Supervise
Avionics Technician
Logistics
Quality Assurance

1 2 3 4 5