Find companies:
U.S. Navy Reserve
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
178 reviews

U.S. Navy Reserve Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good/Moral Job to have.
Master-at-Arms (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMarch 12, 2014
Not a bad part-time job if you're looking for experience and the potential to go somewhere. I had my moral reasons for joining.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Construction Electrician (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYMarch 9, 2014
Good pay, good benefits, advancement is starting to become poor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Jump Start for a Career
Intelligence Specialist (Current Employee), Offutt AFB, NEMarch 4, 2014
The Navy has taught me many Civilian-relatable job skills working as an Intelligence specialist. Analytic techniques, a federal top secret clearance, and cultivation of a strong attention to detail are but a few of the career assets I have gained from serving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging environment, very productive, co-workers were always proficient and reliable
Senior Advanced Medical Lab Tech/QC Coordinator (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: rarely micromanaged; our supervisors trusted us
Cons: extremely busy, not always able to take breaks or spend time with family if called into work
Workdays consisted of approximately 8-12 hours depending on number of personnel. It was a military installation so we frequently lost people for random deployments without notice therefore work load was increased. Everyone did very well at their job, most were experienced in all areas of the laboratory. The hardest part of the job was mostly stress – more... when we were shorthanded and having to be called in at a moment's notice. However, it was mostly handled with good spirits and the knowledge that work had to be done. I generally always worked under good management. We had several experienced retired military personnel who as civilians were very good at their job and keeping order within the department. Most days consisted of working at your assigned station, whether Microbiology or Chemistry, all day. We had a lunch break and rest room breaks. If we needed help, we could ask another co-worker to cover for a while. We usually stayed at one station for about 1-3 months rotation then our supervisors liked to rotate us to another station to keep our skills up. The most enjoyable part of the job was feeling productive, seeing our work fall easily within the testing times and we had good communication with other healthcare professionals in the hospitals. We also typically tried to plan co-workers birthday parties or going away parties and if one had to work holidays, we tried to do something nice for them as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice and fun to work with those friendly shipmate.
Machinist (Current Employee), Alameda, CAFebruary 18, 2014
Muster early in the morning . gather around and the chief will pass down all the task need to get done of the day.
I have learn a lot about the Team work , discipline to work under all type of condition.
work and management on what ever the equipment that we work with.
co worker is always there to help out when ever is needed..
The hardest part of the – more... job is team work and have to have a good communication but we already pass through all of those .
good team work. friendly environment get the job done on time – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Military Life
EKG tech, Vital (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: stability
Cons: may require additional time from your day
Teamwork, advancement opportunities, travel opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, challenging and rewarding.
INFORMATION SYSTEMS TECHNICIAN CHIEF PETTY OFFICER (Current Employee), Pearl Harbor, HIFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: benefits, travel, pay.
Cons: long hours, separation from ohana.
Excellent place to work, challenging and rewarding.
Made a lot of contacts and seeking future employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, yet very rewarding place to work
Logistic Specialist (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: espirit de corps and feelings of accomplishment
Cons: trying to fit a month's worth of work into one weekend.
A typical day at work consist of me formulating requests for berthing, meals, uniforms and any necessary equipment needed for the Drill Weekend training and/or our two week Annual Training. I have learned a lot about the importance of logistics in the functioning of organizations. My co-workers are virtually all Master-At-Arms. The hardest part of my – more... job is trying to get everything done before the weekend is over as there are 30 plus members in my unit. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with a wide variety of interesting people from different walks of life, and yet all have a common purpose and unity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides challenging assignments to enhance you skill sets.
Chief Logistics Specialist (Current Employee), Gulfport, MSFebruary 3, 2014
It is an honor to serve this country in the world's greatest Navy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities to travel and a great sense of pride.
Construction Electrician (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: travel
Unfortunately, the military is downsizing especially in the construction battalion, leaving few opportunities to work outside the minimum requirements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive. Fun. Organized.
Master at Arms (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJanuary 10, 2014
I currently serve in the U.S. Navy Reserves, it is my pleasure to serve my country. One weekend out of the month I go to my base and train in my specialty which is the Military Police. I stand guard at the entry point of the base this part of the job varies from checking I.D. to searching cars and personnel. I learned that I will never have the same – more... scenario twice so I'm always alert ready for anything to happen. I am the first line of defense for my base so i control who comes in and who leaves the base. My co-workers are always on the same page as me so we work together very well. The hardest part of the job is staying awake for 13 hours at a time, sometimes even more than that. The best part about my job is an opinion. It depends on who you are but to me I like maintaining the security of the base. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting thing to join! No regrets!
Hospital Corpsman (Former Employee), Moreno Valley, CAJanuary 7, 2014
Learning how to work with others no matter how different they are and being able to rely not only on yourself but others. Looking at things in the bigger picture to make sure everyone completes our missions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Part Time Career
Lieutenant (Current Employee), Augusta, GAJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: great part time benefits. learn great leadership skills.
Part time service to my country as a reservist. Drill once a month and a minimum of two weeks active duty a year. Officer In Charge of 30 personnel. A very enjoyable career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U.S. Navy Reserves
Ship's Serviceman (Current Employee), MariettaJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: discounts, and freebes
Cons: few leave dates
As a sailor in the Navy Reserves, I encounter much diversity and hands-on training. I do only work one weekend out of the month. The advancement is only as hard as one would make it. The benefits are great for education and health care and retirement. The job also balances out very well with civilian life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun ride
Administrative Manager (Current Employee), San Juan, PRDecember 18, 2013
Very demanding job with lots of responsibilities in a fast pace environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A brotherhood in a difficult environment
Motor Pool Departmental Leading Petty Officer (Current Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 17, 2013
Pros: work enviroment, esprit d'corps
Cons: being cast into the "reservist" stereotype
The Reserve's mantra is "One Weekend A Month. Two Weeks A Year." However, in the community my unit is a part of, that couldn't be further from the truth. We are a high tempo unit that strives on excellence and being ready for the nation's call whenever that may be. Because of this, we work longer hours and more days than most reservists though we try – more... our best to keep it confined to the monthly two days. We also hold ourselves to a higher standard and expect more from our members than other Reserve units may require. While we work ourselves pretty hard, there is a bond formed that is unlike any that I have found in the real world. It is truly a sight to see when 70 young adults from various backgrounds and jobs come together on a mission and exceed expectations, even expectations set forth for active duty commands. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall being in the Navy Reserves is very fun and laid back, if and only if you get your work done.
Hospital Corpsman 3rd Class (Current Employee), Columbia, SCDecember 15, 2013
Pros: organized and team oriented work place with plenty of benefits
Cons: wish the drill period was a day or two longer
A typical weekend at drill is very busy. We only have two days to make sure all of our sailors are up to date with medical and dental readiness.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
incredible experience
Petty Officer First Class (Current Employee), San Diego, CADecember 4, 2013
Pros: off early if job is done
Cons: long hours if job is not done.
The military is a once in a life time opportunity to experience every part of society. Traveled to many countries. The only bad part is long hours and being attached to the military while doing professional jobs. I would like to do the same job, but not in the military. The co workers are from different backgrounds. I learned all the things in the resume – more... in the military. I'm in the navy reserve which is different from active duty. 1 weekend a month, 2 weeks out of the year. The management in my opinion needs more work but it isn't necessarily there fault. I did serve active duty for 6 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Construction Electrician (Current Employee), Everett, WANovember 21, 2013
Pros: medical benifits
Cons: extremely hard work
Made me a stronger more adaptable team member,I have grown to be a better person and more enthusiastic when it comes to newer opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USN-R
Avionic Technician (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 18, 2013
Good Benefits, One weekend a month, learned avionics, have to be advanced by exams to take on new responsibilities

U.S. Navy Reserve Photos