Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,585 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience.
Aviation Structural Mechanic (Former Employee), Lemoore, CANovember 24, 2014
Pros: knowledge and experience
Cons: i can't say there are any cons.
In the Navy there was no typical day. Everyday was different. In the Navy I was an Aviation Structural Mechanic. I work on A/C F-18 Hornets and Super Hornets. As an Aviation Structural Mechanic I worked on hydraulics, and maintained all aircraft main and auxiliary hydraulic power systems, actuating subsystems and landing gear. Was very interesting and – more... very enjoyable work.

I really enjoyed the fact that I worked with people from all over the world and had the chance to see so many different cultures whether they are management or co-worker of the same rank. The Navy's management system works but can be very difficult to agree with, but you are in the military.

The hardest part of the job was going on deployment and not knowing when you will be back in the states.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the knowledge that I learned being a mechanic in the Navy, and the experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved being in the Navy, It made me the man I am now. Its like a brotherhood.
Aviation Survival Training Instructor/ Supervisor (Current Employee), Pensacola, FLNovember 24, 2014
Pros: health care, job security, team building skills, comradery
Cons: away from family for long periods of time
On a typical day I supervised my work center division with 7 personnel assign with the perform detail inspections before, during, and after every flight. We perform processes daily for workflow to unify and streamline step-by-step repair and maintenance procedure, job owners, timeline and expectations. We also provide instruction and technical support – more... for high-risk aviation physiology training. I love working with those guys and girls, we take care of each other and we look out for one another in and out of the work place. The hardest part of my job way leaving my family for months at a time to protect my counties freedom. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work place
Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Pearl Harbor, HINovember 24, 2014
Professional coworkers
Hardest part of the job was the long hours
Most rewarding part of the job was solving the problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard but fun
Heavy Mobile Equipment Instructor (Former Employee), Fort Leonard Wood, MONovember 24, 2014
had a great time as a instructor and made good money and great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok but i wouldnt go back
Culinary Specialist/Master at Arms (Former Employee), norfolk, vaNovember 24, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: management
It is hard to balance life with work and the conditions are not ideal.the people you work for only care about themselves and will work you relentlessly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sturctured place of learning and Comraderie
US Navy Chief (Former Employee), Kings Bay, GeorgiaNovember 24, 2014
Pros: health and medical benefits
Cons: long periods away from home
The Navy teaches leadership, work ethic, and core values. Its technical programs help build good foundations for the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy shipman
Seamen Apprentice (Former Employee), Charleston, SCNovember 24, 2014
Pros: being out on the ship. learning how to manage and take care of the ship.
Cons: required length of time on the water.
One year military service as a navy shipman. Responsible for the docking of incoming of the ships. Performed maintenance on the ships. Scheduled spot checks prior to rescheduling the ships for departure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned lots of job skills here
RM1(SS) Leading Petty Officer (Former Employee), Cheltenham marylandNovember 23, 2014
met many interesting coworkers and enjoyed the navy
I traveled on two submarines and worked the navy software test site to develop good communications systems for the navy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 years as a Hospital Corpsman in the U. S. Navy
Chief Hospital Corpsman (Former Employee), Many, LANovember 23, 2014
Pros: serving one's country in a job one loves
Cons: not a single one
A typical day at work during my last six years in the Navy were operating a sickbay aboard two Naval warships staffed by 200 or more sailors.
I learned how to keep them safe and healthy.
I had no co workers, I worked alone.
There was no hard part to it as I loved everything about it.
We all had sea to shore rotations and mine were 3 and 3 so the most – more... enjoyable part was going back to sea where everyone's job on a small warship is important and all 200 of us got along and operated smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great step forward.
Firecontrolman (Former Employee), great lakes, ILNovember 22, 2014
I just wish i had been able to remain active duty. I was medically discharged rather than had my surgery taken care of. But i did learn alot and had many good experiences
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great schools
Avionics Technician (Former Employee), Duty, VANovember 22, 2014
Pros: travel to places you might not ever go
Cons: duty schedule - long hours
Long work days but a rewarding job when you fix the airplane and it is back in service. A lot of wonderful people come into & leave your life. Go to a lot of wonderful countries or US cities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An oustanding place to live and learn
Administrative Manager (Former Employee), Mayport, FLNovember 22, 2014
The US Navy is the greatest Navy in the world. The things that you can learn there are lessons that will carry you throughout your life. It isn't hard and you get paid to travel. You learn what the real meaning of honor, courage and commitment is. You will be using the most advance technology on the planet. There is no greater place to learn the meaning – more... of team work and attention to detail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiences in the US Navy
Aviation Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 21, 2014
While hard at times being away from family and loved ones, had a great time. Training and travel was great. The training I received while in has helped me shape my career. I had fun, met life long friends, and received valuable training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Navy
Ship Serviceman (Former Employee), San diegoNovember 21, 2014
Get place to start a career and build lasting friemdships. i wouls tell any of my friends to come to the navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great skills that can be transferrable to civilian life
Base patrol officer (Former Employee), Gulfport, MSNovember 21, 2014
Pros: healthcare, transferrable skills, career choices, travel opportunities
Cons: work/life balance, long periods away from home
I joined right out of high school and it was the best choice I could have ever made. I learned a lot about diversity since I came from the country in Indiana. I learned about how to effectively manage your time, how important accountability and attention to detail are. Daily activities ranged from going to a plumbing class all the way to doing disaster – more... recovery drills. Every day was something new and challenging. The management aspect was something that I had troubles with. You could possibly work for 3 different people on the same project and everyone of them has a different leadership style that you have to adapt to. You learn what kind of leader you want to be not from the leaders you like, but the ones you don't mesh with. The co-worker aspect of the job was amazing. I thrive in teamwork driven environments and that is every single aspect of the military lifestyle. Everyone coming together to get the job done the most efficient and safest way possible. The hardest part of the job for me was to separate work from personal life. You're always on call 24/7, so if you're out with your spouse and work needs you to come in, you have to drop everything and come support the mission at hand. The most enjoyable part of the job was all of the opportunities the Navy has given me the past 9 years. I went to technical school to be a plumber and HVAC technician. They have provided me with everything I have in life so far and I can't express how grateful I am for the opportunity to serve the country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy Review
Gunner's Mate Second Class (Former Employee), Japan, San Diego.November 21, 2014
Pros: healthcare, paychecks, people, travel, going over seas.
Cons: long days, management, making rank, and deployments.
My typical day would very. It all depends on the situation that we needed to get done for the day. Some days were long and others were short. My management was alright. Some people where in it, to make rank and a lot of people were in it to help other with there military goals. My co-workers were great. We knew we needed each others back to get the – more... job done right. If one person messed up and a lot of people might pay. The hardest part of my job was being away from home when we went on deployment. That also was the most enjoyably part of my job going to different country's and learning new cultures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working experience and very fast unpredictable schedule.
Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Groton, CTNovember 21, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: irregular schedule.
Typical day at work would be maintenance for the morning and then administration in the afternoon and scheduling for the next week in the evening when import. Out to sea was 18 hr schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experince
US Naval Instructor (Former Employee), Great Lakes, ILNovember 21, 2014
Every day is different in the Navy. Days range from lots of strenous work, to very light easy days. The hardest part of the job was being away from family and friends while deployed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is more than a job!
Nuclear Electricians mate (Former Employee), Groton CT SubaseNovember 21, 2014
Duty days were long and hard, sometimes boring. Left the Navy with unlimited skills as I Qualified many positions outside my rating. Captains regarded me as the go to guy if anything was broken. "He is the one guy on board that can fix it!"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A ship life enviroment
Aviation Boatswain Mate Handler (Former Employee), Norfolk, VaNovember 21, 2014
A typical day at work included muster in the morning. Jobs of the day was given out. Any announcements that needed to be put out was put out. After that everyone would disperse and go do the job they was assigned to do. I worked in the office. I managed all the files, photocopying, training reports, muster reports, correspondences, ect. The hardest – more... part of the job was when we had to go out to sea and leave behind our family. The most enjoyable was going to different places and meeting different people. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more