Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,578 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned lots of job skills here
RM1(SS) Leading Petty Officer (Former Employee), Cheltenham marylandNovember 23, 2014
met many interesting coworkers and enjoyed the navy
I traveled on two submarines and worked the navy software test site to develop good communications systems for the navy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 years as a Hospital Corpsman in the U. S. Navy
Chief Hospital Corpsman (Former Employee), Many, LANovember 23, 2014
Pros: serving one's country in a job one loves
Cons: not a single one
A typical day at work during my last six years in the Navy were operating a sickbay aboard two Naval warships staffed by 200 or more sailors.
I learned how to keep them safe and healthy.
I had no co workers, I worked alone.
There was no hard part to it as I loved everything about it.
We all had sea to shore rotations and mine were 3 and 3 so the most – more... enjoyable part was going back to sea where everyone's job on a small warship is important and all 200 of us got along and operated smoothly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great step forward.
Firecontrolman (Former Employee), great lakes, ILNovember 22, 2014
I just wish i had been able to remain active duty. I was medically discharged rather than had my surgery taken care of. But i did learn alot and had many good experiences
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great schools
Avionics Technician (Former Employee), Duty, VANovember 22, 2014
Pros: travel to places you might not ever go
Cons: duty schedule - long hours
Long work days but a rewarding job when you fix the airplane and it is back in service. A lot of wonderful people come into & leave your life. Go to a lot of wonderful countries or US cities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An oustanding place to live and learn
Administrative Manager (Former Employee), Mayport, FLNovember 22, 2014
The US Navy is the greatest Navy in the world. The things that you can learn there are lessons that will carry you throughout your life. It isn't hard and you get paid to travel. You learn what the real meaning of honor, courage and commitment is. You will be using the most advance technology on the planet. There is no greater place to learn the meaning – more... of team work and attention to detail. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiences in the US Navy
Aviation Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 21, 2014
While hard at times being away from family and loved ones, had a great time. Training and travel was great. The training I received while in has helped me shape my career. I had fun, met life long friends, and received valuable training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Navy
Ship Serviceman (Former Employee), San diegoNovember 21, 2014
Get place to start a career and build lasting friemdships. i wouls tell any of my friends to come to the navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great skills that can be transferrable to civilian life
Base patrol officer (Former Employee), Gulfport, MSNovember 21, 2014
Pros: healthcare, transferrable skills, career choices, travel opportunities
Cons: work/life balance, long periods away from home
I joined right out of high school and it was the best choice I could have ever made. I learned a lot about diversity since I came from the country in Indiana. I learned about how to effectively manage your time, how important accountability and attention to detail are. Daily activities ranged from going to a plumbing class all the way to doing disaster – more... recovery drills. Every day was something new and challenging. The management aspect was something that I had troubles with. You could possibly work for 3 different people on the same project and everyone of them has a different leadership style that you have to adapt to. You learn what kind of leader you want to be not from the leaders you like, but the ones you don't mesh with. The co-worker aspect of the job was amazing. I thrive in teamwork driven environments and that is every single aspect of the military lifestyle. Everyone coming together to get the job done the most efficient and safest way possible. The hardest part of the job for me was to separate work from personal life. You're always on call 24/7, so if you're out with your spouse and work needs you to come in, you have to drop everything and come support the mission at hand. The most enjoyable part of the job was all of the opportunities the Navy has given me the past 9 years. I went to technical school to be a plumber and HVAC technician. They have provided me with everything I have in life so far and I can't express how grateful I am for the opportunity to serve the country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy Review
Gunner's Mate Second Class (Former Employee), Japan, San Diego.November 21, 2014
Pros: healthcare, paychecks, people, travel, going over seas.
Cons: long days, management, making rank, and deployments.
My typical day would very. It all depends on the situation that we needed to get done for the day. Some days were long and others were short. My management was alright. Some people where in it, to make rank and a lot of people were in it to help other with there military goals. My co-workers were great. We knew we needed each others back to get the – more... job done right. If one person messed up and a lot of people might pay. The hardest part of my job was being away from home when we went on deployment. That also was the most enjoyably part of my job going to different country's and learning new cultures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working experience and very fast unpredictable schedule.
Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Groton, CTNovember 21, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: irregular schedule.
Typical day at work would be maintenance for the morning and then administration in the afternoon and scheduling for the next week in the evening when import. Out to sea was 18 hr schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experince
US Naval Instructor (Former Employee), Great Lakes, ILNovember 21, 2014
Every day is different in the Navy. Days range from lots of strenous work, to very light easy days. The hardest part of the job was being away from family and friends while deployed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is more than a job!
Nuclear Electricians mate (Former Employee), Groton CT SubaseNovember 21, 2014
Duty days were long and hard, sometimes boring. Left the Navy with unlimited skills as I Qualified many positions outside my rating. Captains regarded me as the go to guy if anything was broken. "He is the one guy on board that can fix it!"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A ship life enviroment
Aviation Boatswain Mate Handler (Former Employee), Norfolk, VaNovember 21, 2014
A typical day at work included muster in the morning. Jobs of the day was given out. Any announcements that needed to be put out was put out. After that everyone would disperse and go do the job they was assigned to do. I worked in the office. I managed all the files, photocopying, training reports, muster reports, correspondences, ect. The hardest – more... part of the job was when we had to go out to sea and leave behind our family. The most enjoyable was going to different places and meeting different people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud To Be A Veteran
Engraving Seaman (Former Employee), Great Lakes, ILNovember 20, 2014
Pros: public service
Cons: family separation
A typical day is nonexistent in the United States Navy. There is always something changing and challenging to make your day far from typical. I learned a set of skills that only the military could teach me: dependability, credibility, accountability, strength, strong character, honor, courage, commitment and a pride in public service. The management – more... was like no other management in the civilian world for the management were individuals that could directly relate to you because they had to start at the entry level of the armed forces as well. The co-workers were always diverse and allowed for you to learn things that you would not have learned staying in your hometown. The hardest part of the job was being away from your family but the most enjoyable part of the job made up for that physical absence. The most important part of the job was sense of pride you felt for sacrificing your life to serve your country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Building Block
Aviation Ordnanceman (Former Employee), San Diego, CANovember 20, 2014
With the Navy there is no typical day, that what makes it so unique. The Navy taught me how to adapt to any situation that will come my way in the workforce and in life. The best part of the Navy was my co-workers and the satisfaction to serve and protect my country everyday I woke up. The hardest part of the job is learning the ability to become flexible – more... with your work and becoming strong minded. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifelong experience within a diversified global operation.
Logistic Specialist First Class Petty Officer (Current Employee), Mayport, FLNovember 20, 2014
Pros: experience, travel
Cons: deployments
I have been at sea over 1,000 days. I have visited over 10 different countries and I have worked 36 hours straight with no sleep standing in the rain with no rain gear and a shotgun in my grip. I have seen, experience things no other can emulate. I have worked with the best and the worst in the best and in the worst conditions. The hardest part of the – more... job is leaving your family behind while you go out to sea and work for 6-9 months. The most enjoyable part of the job is when you pull back in from deployment and see the looks on your families faces and everyone around and the appreciation you receive for just doing your job. Chilling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best career choice.
E7 - Chief Petty Officer (Former Employee), Oak Harbor, WANovember 20, 2014
Pros: great training and compensation. finacial security
Cons: long periods deployed
The Unites States Navy was an exceptional profession. The mission and vision were extremely important. The benefits and travel were extraordinary. The best financial security I experienced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had.
SK1/E6 (Former Employee), variousNovember 20, 2014
Pros: got to see alot of europe
Cons: being away from family.
It was hard being away from home and family.
Good advancement
Great benefits
Meeting new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Time Of My Life
Construction Mechanic and Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), World wideNovember 19, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: nothing bad to say
I spent 20 years in the Navy and traveled all over the world. The advancement opportunities are totally up to you and what you do. Everyone should join for at least 4 years. Contact you Navy Recruiter today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out to sea
Aviation Ordnanceman (Former Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 19, 2014
Pros: free breakfast, lunch, and dinner
Cons: deployments
Busy underway, boring inport. Military lifestyle. Meet new people.

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more