Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,773 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the military
Electronics Technician (Current Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 23, 2014
Pros: decent wage, free medical and dental, free legal counsel
Cons: good ol boy system, sometimes insane working hours, doesn't matter how old you are, they'll treat you like a child until you put on khaki's
Like a lot of things in life, you get out of it what you put in. It's not for everyone and only 1% of American's serve in all the military services put together. It can sharpen you and hone you, but it can also make you bitter and weary. Always look out for yourself, because you can't rely on your chain of command to do what's best for you.

You have – more... to be a real idiot to get yourself kicked out of the Navy during your first enlistment, but when you actually start getting time in they will look for reason's to kick you out (mostly high year tenure, PTS). They don't want to have to pay retirement for people, so they'll offer bonus's to people coming in to get large numbers, then say that they're overmanned and start cutting from the mid-level personnel so they don't make the retirement mark. This happens over and over again and you see a lot of good Sailors forced out while the good ol boys stay in and run the Chief's mess. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provided me with vast amount of knowledge and character to build upon!
Corrosion Prev. & Control Program Manager VFA-22 (Current Employee), Lemoore, CADecember 23, 2014
Pros: great overall experience for anyone undecided on what they want to do after high school
Cons: spend most of your time away from home
Typical days work consist of a daily maintenance meeting to discuss what the days and weeks objectives are and how we're going to accomplish them. After that, information will be passed down accordingly and managers/supervisors direct the completion of assigned task to subordinates in the most efficient, and safest way possible to meet production requirements. – more... Learned a vast amount of knowledge about the F/A-18 Hornet, and Recruiting as far as my jobs were concerned. Learned how to manage my work load in a fast paced work environment and how to lead and mentor people. The hardest part of the job for me was being away from my two daughters and my wife. Family is important to me and the backbone of my life. The most enjoyable part is the travel. I lived and traveled all over the United States meeting new people and making friends all over. Had the opportunity to trave the world as wel,l seeing countries i never would have gotten the chanve to see if it weren't for the Navy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military life is not for all
Petty Officer First Class (Former Employee), worldwideDecember 23, 2014
The military is great for some people and not so great for others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for leadership experience
Submarine Officer Advanced Course Student (Current Employee), Groton, CTDecember 23, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: time away from home, poor family life
The Navy is a great place for Officers to learn about leadership and the skills required to make the transition into the civilian sector. The amount of leadership that you are immediately submerged in is unmatched. Maintenance, human resources, training, operations and engineering are only a few of the things that are learned while serving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but rewarding place to work
Quality Assurance Specialist (Former Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 23, 2014
Pros: liberty at the end of the work day
Cons: standing watch
A typical day at work started with morning meetings to determine available aircraft for flight schedule determined by what level of maintenance had to be performed and what mission configurations were required.
I always learned something new everyday
Management was rewarding and challenging. The bottom line at the end of the day was to bring aircraft – more... and flight crews back in one peice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work experience
Engineer (Current Employee), San Diego, CADecember 23, 2014
Pros: a lot of benefits
Cons: leaving your family for deployment
I love everything about my job although it's challenging sometimes especially as a female in the military, there's nothing about it I would change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced and Learned many new things.
aviation maintenance administrationman (Former Employee), NorfolkDecember 23, 2014
In the Navy, I learned quite a bit about working with people from different backgrounds and leadership. It was nice to get a steady paycheck, but the whole job atmosphere is not for everybody. I have learned that although I need a steady paycheck, it can not buy me happiness. I want to keep pursing my career as a special education teacher, but I am – more... looking for work to help me with my transition. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Air Traffic Controller Supervisor (Former Employee), Key West, FLDecember 22, 2014
Pros: great experiences
Cons: unexpected travel
No matter what your particular job is in the Navy remember you are a sailors first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aviation Ordnanceman
AVIATION ORDNANCEMAN (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLDecember 22, 2014
Inspection, warehousing, handling, and processing of airborne weapons, ammunitions, and magazines
Testing, arming, and disarming of aircraft-associated ammunitions
Supervised operations of aviation ordnance shops, armories, and storage facilities
Conducted scheduled and random maintenance safety compliance inspections
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress High Demanding job. but rewarding
Supply Clerk / Logistic Specialist (Current Employee), oklahoma cityDecember 22, 2014
Pros: health care, g.i bill, travel (if on a ship)
Cons: 40+hour work weeks, poor management and incentives, can only go on vacation if it fits your commands schedule
The military is not for everyone. since you are salary based expect to always work more than 40 hours a weeks with no extra pay, you can be called in at anytime, but at least I have been able to go and see a lot of the world and it's one of the only jobs in the world were you will be thanked by total strangers for what you have to endure. overall, most – more... of the time it pays off in the end. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and proud to serve y country
Information System Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 22, 2014
Typical work day included troubleshooting phone, email, internet, and various other networking/help desk tickets.
MY co-workers have become life time associates/friends.
There was no hard part with us being able to constantly grow as US Navy sailors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we protect america
Yeoman E-4 (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDDecember 22, 2014
Pros: everthing
Cons: nothing
MY days were awesome in the Navy. I and many others wore the uniform proudly. There is nothing to say bad about the military we all served cause we wanted to not cause we were forced. It is the greatest feeling you can ever have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military
Culinary Specialist/ Training Petty Officer (Former Employee), Norfolk, VADecember 22, 2014
Loved the militay
Loved the people I worked with
Great enviorment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Values
Supervisor (Former Employee), Pensacola FL, Sandiego CA, Fallon NVDecember 22, 2014
Pros: great healthcare benefits
Cons: can pull you away from your family
The high paced and meaningful culture that the Navy provides allows for many opportunities to advance and grow as a person as well as a sailor. You learn a lot about your job and being a leader. It gives you a great work ethic and values.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for character building
Machinist Mate (Former Employee), Bremerton, WADecember 22, 2014
A typical day at work consisted of taking logs, cleaning and maintaining equipment. I learned leadership and communication while supervising other associates. The management were very capable at their position. My co-workers worked well as a group. The hardest part of the job was being away from my family when we left on deployment. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was being able to do my job without supervision from the higher ups. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not change a thing!
Maritime SIGINT Collection Manager (Former Employee), Various LocationsDecember 22, 2014
Can not say enough about the US Navy! The work experience and knowledge was second to none!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with very interesting people.
Supervisor (Former Employee), NAS Whidbey IslandDecember 21, 2014
Pros: great medical benefits and training
Cons: unpredictable breaks
A typical day at work revolved around completing the mission of the flight schedule. The one thing that I learned is to accept changes even if it meant upsetting someone. In management, I learned to be open minded but also strict. Circumstances arise and working with recent high school graduates was a great challenge. The hardest part of my job was – more... making the decision of disappointing a pilot that he or she would be unable to train due to a mechanical or technical malfunctions. The most enjoyable part of my job was having completed a full sortie set forth by maintenance control with no mishaps. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seabees Can Do!
Builder (Senior Chief) (Former Employee), Fort Bragg, North CarolinaDecember 21, 2014
Worked 26 years around the world as a navy Seabee builder. Spent my last three years supporting both Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting work environment.
Electronics Technician Second Class (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 21, 2014
Pros: travelling
Cons: strain on relationships
I enjoyed travelling the world during my enlistment in the Navy. Every country we visited was a new adventure and I loved to see the distinct cultural differences between each country. The only negative aspect of the Navy was putting your life on hold while you're gone for 6-12 months which puts a strain on interpersonal relationships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved serving my country
Personnel Specialist (Former Employee), NAS LemooreDecember 21, 2014
Pros: hour lunch breaks, health care
Personnel Specialist

I worked 8-10 hours a day in a professional work environment. It was a rewarding experience to work with DoD personnel. Payroll was very challenging at times but the dedication of the men and women I worked with motivated me to do more then I thought I could on a daily basis. Everyday was a new experience. I cherish the time I – more... spent serving my country in the Navy. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more