Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,333 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone!
Machinist Mate 3rd Class Petty Officer (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: culture
The Navy was a stepping stone for most younger enlistees and a place to grow up from after serving. I was a boiler technician/operator/ trainer. I served on USS Peleliu LHA5 in the Aft machinery room performing everything from general maintenance to extensive engine/boiler over haul. There was not much to know after my years of service and time was – more... wasted sticking around doing the same thing over and over.

I enjoyed the travel as a former service member but I did not enjoy the culture we were engaged in. It is comparable to prison except no killings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The US Navy was a wonderful experience & I learned a lot about electronics.
Electronics Technichian (Former Employee), Everett, WAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: monthly paycheck, medical and dental for family & free meals and a bed.
Cons: being placed on the west coast while my family was on the east coast.
The Navy taught me a lot about electronics and working with others. I did 14 years in the Navy and got out on 21AUG14 due to HYT. The Navy supplied me with 2 "C" schools and 3 aircraft carriers as permanent duty stations. I worked on Nato SeaSparrow Missle Systems and 48E Radar systems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive military work place
Master at Arms (Current Employee), Amityville, NYOctober 22, 2014
Pros: teaches you to be a strong minded person
Cons: no sleep
After being enlisted in the military for over 2 years I learned responsibility, dedication and hard work. The military is teaching me to always look sharp, take good care of people, be willing to listen to everyone, act decisively even with limited information, and to stay calm under pressure. The military has also taught me to be, know, and do everything – more... ask of me of subordinates and to always give 100% of my effort, never to do things halfway. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team-like environment
CTT/Middle East SIGINT Analyst (Former Employee), Aurora, COOctober 22, 2014
Pros: healthcare, education, honor of defending the country
Cons: low pay and small yearly pay raises, too many bosses, long deployments overseas
Typical day included a full shift of signals intelligence (SIGINT) analysis as a CTT in the U.S. Navy. The shifts varied from days to nights which was good and bad at times but taught me how to be very flexible with my schedule. The military forces a person to be flexible and patient although at times it can be very difficult as you have no choice in – more... regards to your work schedule. My co-workers included both civilians and military. It was a team-like mentality which was the most beneficial and enjoyable aspect of the job. The most difficult aspect of the job was the possibility of deployment at any given time along with constant changes in management and leadership. There was a very high turnover ratio where people would come and go constantly where new rules where always being implemented from the chain of command. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mentors
U.S.NAVY CORPSMAN (Former Employee), Beaufort, SCOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great people to work with
Cons: military 24 hour duty, the lack of family time.
A typical work day involved greeting and checking in multiple patients. Then issuing them any paper work that needed to be completed, I would then take their vital signs, and get a brief history of why they had come to the clinic. On most days there were pelvic exams to stand by for and prepare for. I also preformed EKG's on patients almost daily. We – more... had training every Wednesday, however the doctors and nurses were always willing to teach me anything I wanted to learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U.S. Navy
Information Systems Technician (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIOctober 21, 2014
The work/life balance depended on where you were stationed and who you worked for. The benefits were great and couldn't compare to most civilian jobs. The opportunity for advancement is up to the person and how hard they work. The job and lifestyle is what you put into it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable 4 years of my life.
Communications Specialist (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAOctober 21, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: time away from home.
I enlisted right out of High school and went through Basic and Tech school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Life
Aviation Structural Mechanic (Former Employee), USOctober 21, 2014
Pros: free training
Cons: deployments
Sometimes your out to sea for month's at a time. It is what you make it in the military. Some people leave after 6 or 20 years with every tool they need to succeed in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience
Material Control Supervisor (Current Employee), Lemoore, CAOctober 21, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: seperated with family
Long hour everyday.
I learned how to be a leader.
Co-workers all cool people.
Long hour and seperated with family hardest part of the job.
The most enjoyable part of the job is being a Logistics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military service
Yeoman (Former Employee), Gulfport , MSOctober 21, 2014
A typical say at work is lots of customer service, helping service members with varies things from record books information, pay, also typing awards, instructions and other correspondence dealing with military duties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of the Navy
Hospital Corpsman and Civilian Health Tech (Former Employee), FL, Italy, San Diego, Camp PendletonOctober 21, 2014
I will always be honored to have served my country. I served 8 years active duty as a hospital corpsman in the United States Navy and two years United States Navy Reserves.
Continued my career as a health tech and now working as a full time mom to my first child.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Information Technician 3 (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAOctober 21, 2014
Some of the best years of my life, I made friends for life and feel everyone should have to serve!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great learning experience.
Machinist Mate Third Class Petty Officer (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 21, 2014
a typical day at work was talking to officers and important contractors every day, organizing future projects on systems that needed work to be done,reviewing verifying and planning; diagrams, sketches, verbal and written orders in order to keep the ships goal afloat. one of the hardest parts of my job was learning and understanding the different ways – more... people want work to be done and understanding safety measures. a part that i believed to be the most enjoyable was getting to know so many people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to advance and educate your professional skills
BM,LS, DC (Former Employee), WashingtonOctober 20, 2014
Pros: develops a great ability to work in all situations mindset
Cons: really tough specially overseas
Navy was one of the hardest jobs I ever had, but at the same time I learned many skills and learned to cope with numerous different jobs .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Hospital Corpsman (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TexasOctober 20, 2014
I enjoyed being apart of the Navy organization. I traveled the world in service of my country. I received the best training in the medical and dental fields and formed some amazing relationships. I learned the meaning of hard work and developed outstanding work ethic. Most of all, I had the pleasure of serving with the most diverse group of people, – more... which I've learned so much from and grew to be a better person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electrician's Mate Nuclear (Submarines)
ELECTRICIAN'S MATE (NUCLEAR) (Current Employee), Kings Bay Base, GAOctober 20, 2014
Pros: unparalled training, the smartest and most hard-working peers you will ever meet, the experience of being a salty submariner
Cons: the navy has a terrible business model, low compensation in comparison with respective civilian jobs, loss of autonomy due to being in the military, leaders which you cannot change or transfer from
I spent 6 years in the US Navy, ultimately serving as an Electrician's Mate Nuclear on a ballistic missile submarine.

EM's own essentially every major electrical piece of equipment on a submarine, from components directly related to power production (Turbine generators/motor-generators), to appliances (Hot-plates/ovens in the galley), and essentially – more... everything in between.

As such, the life of a submarine electrician is most probably one of the hardest jobs which requires both an extremely high level of knowledge and an immense amount of grunt work. I think a coal miners job is worse than mine, however, the coal miner isn't expected to have a high level of knowledge and work at an hourly rate which is much lower than his civilian counterpart.

Not only will you troubleshoot and repair equipment that is constantly breaking, but you will have scheduled periodic maintenance that is mind-numbing and long (Consider wiping out the inside of a motor-generator twice a month for 8+ hours straight).

On top of maintenance, you will stand watch as part of a team operating a nuclear reactor, either critical or shutdown. This is probably the most rewarding part of the job. I truly enjoyed being a nuclear operator.

During intense maintenance periods, such as refueling of the reactor core or shipyard availabilities, it will NOT be uncommon for you to work 14+ hour days, without weekends off, for the same pay you always receive, because you are salaried.

Lastly, on a submarine, you will stand a 24 hour duty day, in which you cannot leave the close proximity of the boat, usually every 3 days, but sometimes you will be Port and Starboard, meaning you will have duty every other day.

In conclusion, the only, let me reiterate, only reason that a person should be a US Navy Submarine Electrician is so that they know once they survive the paces of their tour, that no job that they will ever have again will be as bad. The civilian opportunities that the naval nuclear community affords a person are essentially endless, but I would recommend being a Nuclear Electronic's Technician or Machinist Mate before an EMN. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Recruit (Former Employee), Great Lakes, ILOctober 20, 2014
Being a recruit in the US Navy is hard work but in the end it is worth it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot.
Personal Specialist (PS) (Former Employee), bremerton, waOctober 20, 2014
Learned a lot. Made a lot of friends for life. computer skills are better then ever now.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work 15 to 20 years ago
Personnel Specialist/HR Specialist (Former Employee), World-Wide, WorldOctober 19, 2014
Pros: guided missile destroyers
Cons: frequent deployments on above referenced ddgs
World's greatest Navy, way too many politicians. One of the greatest experiences of my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved serving my country
Aviation Ordnance (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 19, 2014
Greatest joy in my life was working for my country, a great sense of pride in this job

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more