Find companies:
U.S. Navy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7,457 reviews

U.S. Navy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics and equipment specialist
Team logistics and equipment team member (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJuly 12, 2014
Pros: loved being relied upon to make good decisions
Coordinated between foreign militaries/companies to ensure I could get the specific equipment required by my team for operations overseas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was the military.
Aviation Ordnanceman Third Class Petty Officer/E-4 (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 12, 2014
Pros: got to see different places around the world.
Cons: it was very political
If you want a review of the Military join it yourself i just need a job and want to work why must you make it so hard for veterans to find work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went to deferent islands every year
Missile Technician (Former Employee), Charleston, SCJuly 11, 2014
Pros: traveling to deferent countries
Cons: drills almost every day
Maintenance on everything in your division. Got alone with all that was in my division and some in other divisions. Hardest part was the drills. The most enjoyable part was the traveling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Night Shift Supervisor, Collateral Duty Inspector (Former Employee), Oak Harbor, WAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: health care and dental free. constant pay check
Cons: long hours some times
A typical day at work was busy. Getting the workload and tasks that need to be done for our aircrafts. Making sure our programs are on track. Standing 8 hours of watch (looking over jets making sure the area is secure and challenging any person in the vicinity.) Hardest part of the day was working more than 12 hours on some days. The most enjoyable – more... part was just being around those who has the same ambition, the same mentality as me. Being able to work on these multi-million dollar jets was an honor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Aircraft Director (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 11, 2014
The Navy is a great place to work. You get to set a lot of things first hand that not many people will have the chance to. The skill set you learn as a sailor is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open Doors to Oppurtunity.
United States Corpsman (Former Employee), BRANCH HEALTH CLINIC JACKSONVILLEJuly 11, 2014
Pros: healthcare, room and board if necessary, food allowance, allowances for family
Cons: the term "navy needs", disorganized, no guarantees
As a Corpsman in the United States Navy, I was able to work in both hospital setting and field setting with the Marines. Ive learned many skills ranging from paper work to treating trauma based injuries. The Navy was a great place to develop who I am as a person, and it gave me the confidence and the resources I needed to help me move on out of the – more... military. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good experience
Gas Turbine Electrical Technician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: great bennefits
Cons: lack of time to take care of personal issues
everyday in the Navy is a different experience. Balancing fire, toxic gas, and flooding drills along with daily gas turbine and auxiliary equipment maintenance keeps an individual on his/her toes.
Management is extremely micro-managed but can be very efficient if done properly.
Hardest part of the job was going on seven or eight month deployments and – more... trying to take care of family at home.
traveling around the world was a very enjoyable part of the navy also having a sense of pride in what we do for America. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Oceanside, CAJuly 11, 2014
I loved my time in the Navy. My co-workers were awesome and I really enjoyed being a team member. The military is all about being a team player because we trust each other with our lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A flawed system
Electronics Technician (Former Employee), Greatlakes, ILJuly 11, 2014
Pros: benefits post military through va
Cons: benefits did not adequately compensate for substandard pay at enlisted level, management likes to threaten careers on a whim, tasking people unrelated to profession like personal slaves
I appreciated my contributions to the military as well as enjoyed the troubleshooting aspects of my job as I was quite proficient, but that is about where the positivity ends.

People may talk about how rigid the military was while I will say simply, it was not rigid enough. The room left-over from the direction of the UCMJ(thanks mainly in part to – more... article 34) simply allowed anyone of higher rank over you to basically ruin your life at their leisure. If it really was tight knit and controlled, surviving the military would be simply about understanding and following the rules...but the problems arose when the ones in power over you started making the rules up to suit their personal vendetta's or interest rather than adhere to the original core values of the system or its motto.

Hierarchical standards may have proved efficient for the purpose of combat, but at what point do those standards allow bosses to walk on subordinates backs like kings? I was painting divisional spaces so that my bosses could garner special favors from other bosses, I was working many hours of the day, not for the military or for my slated function but for the satisfaction of a higher-ups sense of sadism and ego. It became prevalent that rank no longer became as much about your personal performance as it would be in your ability to take advantage of another person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Petty Officer Second Class (Former Employee), San Diego Naval Station, CAJuly 11, 2014
The U.S. Navy was an excellent job that I would recommend anyone participate in. There is nothing like it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great experience learning the NAVY operations and just the Team work One Team one fight.
ADMINISTRATION ASSISTANT/MAIL OFFICER, OTCN (Former Employee), Newport Rhode IslandJuly 10, 2014
Pros: training, work ethics and level of discipline
Cons: focus more on the team been healty and giving time spent working out.
Look forward to working with the Navy daily always was about growing each day with the Changes that the Navy challenge presented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but insane amount of stress
Electronics Technician (Former Employee), USJuly 10, 2014
Pros: benefits, pay, experience, education, travel
Cons: long hours, stressful work environment, severe consequences for minor transgressions
A great way to see the world while earning an honest living; however, there is always an emergency, coworkers lash out regularly due to excessive working hours and countless political hoops must be jumped through to be even mildly successful. The benefits and pay are significant as well as the GI bill: which makes this opportunity worth your consideration.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great oppurinty and awesome work experence
Security Guard (Former Employee), Mayport, FLJuly 10, 2014
Every day was a different adventure that I enjoyed. learned many skills and jobs on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fulfilling environment to work in
All-Source Intelligence Analyst (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 10, 2014
Hard work does not take a day off in the Navy. I am currently rotating 12 hours on shift with 12 hours off shift, for four days at a time with a three day break to follow. I work in a diverse environment and, for the most part, everyone works as a team. It's a nessesity to work as a team in the military otherwise a job goes unfinished or someone gets – more... injured. The hardest part of the job is task management. To determine tasking and delegation are some of the hardest aspects of the job. And determining who is elegible enough to carry out those tasks and making sure the mission is accomplished on time. The most enjoyable aspect of my job is seeing the end result of people's hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning and growth can be done in the military
Security Patrolman (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 10, 2014
Hard but rewarding, great benefits and chances to further education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work.
Seabee Construction Mechanic (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: paid holidays
rewarding place to work with great healthcare. Always has a heavy focus on trainning and the advancement of employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with people and families
Ombudsman (Current Employee), Joint Base Pearl Harbor/ HickamJuly 9, 2014
Pros: dealing with people and families.
Cons: job is not long enough.
I enjoy helping people with anything they need. Information and contacting there spouse if they are in need. I want to give something back to the military by volunteering myself for this position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
US Navy
Gas Turbine Electrician (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 9, 2014
Got to see the world and meet great people. Miss a lot about it. Worked on engines and learned a lot about computer system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineer
Machinist Mate 2nd Class (Current Employee), San DiegoJuly 9, 2014
Long days and short nights, hard work, rotating shifts, lots of maintenance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service to my Country
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: serving my country and family
Cons: away from home too long
Early days and working on our day to day duties. there I learned how to be a leader, take care of those who work for you and always accomplishing you tasks as a team or when assign individually. management were there to give guidance when need, but you were responsible to lead the troops through the day to operations. great group of guys and girls to – more... work with, you would always count on them to get the job done right the first time. the hardest part of the job was been away from family for a long period of time. the most enjoyable was traveling and then coming home to the USA!!! – less

1 2 3 4 5

About U.S. Navy

The US Navy maintains a variety of military equipment like ballistic missile submarines, aircraft carriers, surface warships, – Read more